Homme posted:

Now, Please articulate exactly what is offensive about the Dove ad.

If I have to tell you that an ad which implies that blacks are dirty and whites are clean is not something that must be confronted. Especially when it is done by a major and well regarded US corporation.  I cannot help you.

Maybe you are too isolated from zones of power to know how dangerous subconscious biases can be.

the ad "implies" nothing of the sort

that you and others like you think so says more about you than the ad creators

gross overreaction to phantom insult

there is nothing to "confront"

RiffRaff posted:

.....but most people focus on the black to white part.

I.

So why wasn't it black to white to black.  If the ad wasn't offensive.  

Blacks in this country face dangerous stigmas and it doesn't matter whether we are American, Guyanese or Nigerian. Look at how easily a cop can kill a black person driving a car with his wife and his kids.

Yes perceptions of blacks being "bad" can literally kill us.  And those black immigrants who think that it doesn't apply to use just need to remember Ahmadou Diallo. An immigrant returning home for work and ad 41 bullets because some one looked at him and made a decision.

A body wash is a body wash is a bloody soap. It is a perfumed cleanser. A body wash is not a pigment changer. Dove dealing wid devilry.

And Dove does not use the word soap

Perhaps, Dove has no market share among the prison population. 

LOL. You made spill my coffee. 

That is only because yuh like schupidness. 

Homme posted:

Have a bath and you cease to be black. 

I think you are a truly naÃŊve person.

I hope that you don't face a policeman with a gun in your face who has been told since birth that black is bad.  And yes this Dove ad reinforces these perceptions.  

This is like those ads of 100 years ago which said exactly the same thing.

Homme posted:

I hope that you don't face a policeman with a gun in your face who has been told since birth that black is bad.  And yes this Dove ad reinforces these perceptions.  

your response is unserious

btw, i have lived in the USA longer than you, and am certain I have traveled more widely in communities of color than you have

Homme posted:

btw, i have lived in the USA longer than you, and am certain I have traveled more widely in communities of color than you have

Unless you know who I am how do you know which communities of color I have been to?

Like I said let us hope that you don't have a cop with a gun in your face who did so only because he has been raised with subconscious messaging which says that blacks are bad.

I have had this happen to me.  Unless you have had this experience you really cannot speak to this.  And if it has happened to you examine why you minding your own business, looking nothing like a thug attracted that attention.

Homme posted:

Sometimes it happens,one of my daughter works part time at a kindergarten,one day this little white kid running around murmuring,so she went to inquire heard the kid saying run blackman coming,she was shocked.

Homme posted:

Unless you know who I am how do you know which communities of color I have been to?

Like I said let us hope that you don't have a cop with a gun in your face who did so only because he has been raised with subconscious messaging which says that blacks are bad.

I have had this happen to me.  Unless you have had this experience you really cannot speak to this.  And if it has happened to you examine why you minding your own business, looking nothing like a thug attracted that attention.

You're correct, I have never had a cop put a gun to my head

However, I have had a couple of bad experiences with poorly trained police who roughed up and arrested me just to prove how tough they could be to some mouthy guy trying to tell them how to do their job.

That you stretch, connect and think this kind of stuff has anything to do with an advertisement such as this is downright scary

fyi, there is a discussion with the black model in the ad that you should look into

There is something very American in being able to disagree without being horrid and disagreeable, so please don't bring that blacker-than-thou nonsense to me

you are singularly unqualified to tell me tell me what I can and cannot speak to regarding the Black (or any other) experience in the USA, OK?

it cheapens your education and makes you sound like a fanatic fool

stay in your lane

Homme posted:

Sometimes it happens,one of my daughter works part time at a kindergarten,one day this little white kid running around murmuring,so she went to inquire heard the kid saying run blackman coming,she was shocked.

no doubt, no doubt

I can literally come up with a hundred images from media that reinforce the obnoxious black bogeyman stereotype

but the Dove ad is certainly not one of those

and NO! 'Black is Ugly' or 'White is better looking' is not the (or a) driver of illegal, lethal police violence against Black citizens of this country.

c'mon people

Homme posted:

You're correct, I have never had a cop put a gun to my head

However, I have had a couple of bad experiences with poorly trained police who roughed up and arrested me just to prove how tough they could be to some mouthy guy trying to tell them how to do their job.

That you stretch, connect and think this kind of stuff has anything to do with an advertisement such as this is downright scary

fyi, there is a discussion with the black model in the ad that you should look into

There is something very American in being able to disagree without being horrid and disagreeable, so please don't bring that blacker-than-thou nonsense to me

you are singularly unqualified to tell me tell me what I can and cannot speak to regarding the Black (or any other) experience in the USA, OK?

it cheapens your education and makes you sound like a fanatic fool

stay in your lane

Caribj is an authority on Black Racism, world wide. He seems insecure. Perhaps, disagreeable of the race that he has been created into.

It is best to be at peace with things that cannot be changed.

Racism can only be tempered by attitudes of respect. Over two thousand years ago, a Rabbi said of the Greatest Commandment, "Have your brothers treat you as you would treat them."   

On the human level, it is a person to person relationship. The characteristics of the individual do not matter but it is the character of the person that counts. 

Caribj needs to get that.

A body wash is a body wash is a bloody soap. It is a perfumed cleanser. A body wash is not a pigment changer. Dove dealing wid devilry.

maybe it has skin whitener. Shah Ruk Khan peddles the stuff in Indian, suh women of color can whiten up.

Shah Rukh selling Dove Snake Oil fo lakhs of rupees. Doesn't mean he believes in that body wash.

Homme posted:

Clearly you are a liar, whites don't speak like this. 

Homme posted:

Clearly you are a liar, whites don't speak like this. 

So you are saying my Daughter is lying,banna kerr you r@ss.

No, just you, clearly your lying traits could not have been passed down to your off spring.  You are so desperate to be part of a conversation that you invent scenarios. No white child would would use Guyanese lingo like this "run blackman coming"  If you said, "run a black man is coming", maybe but highly improbable still.

Now you are expert on how ethnicities speak ??

I wrote what was said in my own words,this is a Guyanese site every one understands when what is written.

kerr you r@ss,are you not tired of taking blows.

I wrote what was said in my own words,this is a Guyanese site every one understands when what is written.

So now you took poetic licence and translated the child's words to Guyanese lingo? What other poetic licence do you take when perpetuating pnc propaganda?

Take a hike banna,

Whose propaganda are you perpetuating??

Conversation end,no time to waste with your nonsense,if you care to answer fell free.

Take a hike banna,

Whose propaganda are you perpetuating??

Conversation end,no time to waste with your nonsense,if you care to answer fell free.

Run djangy run!

Homme posted:

One of the most asinine 'protests' ever!

Naomi Blake and her crew are idiots

This is an oversight. They made a similar one previously and apologized.

Ads are about sending subliminal messages. Ones sees this in the selling of cars using a scantily clad woman or the shapes of perfume bottles ie Halston or Pierre Cardin perfumes etc.  The intent it takes these perfumes or cars to get the girl or sex. etc.

One knows exactly the impression conveyed here. Shower with dove soap and you become clean and refreshed. Using the switch of the dirty girl as black and the clean girl as white is a horrific mistake. I am happy they acknowledge this.

Homme posted:

One of the most asinine 'protests' ever!

Naomi Blake and her crew are idiots

This is an oversight. They made a similar one previously and apologized.

Ads are about sending subliminal messages. Ones sees this in the selling of cars using a scantily clad woman or the shapes of perfume bottles ie Halston or Pierre Cardin perfumes etc.  The intent it takes these perfumes or cars to get the girl or sex. etc.

One knows exactly the impression conveyed here. Shower with dove soap and you become clean and refreshed. Using the switch of the dirty girl as black and the clean girl as white is a horrific mistake. I am happy they acknowledge this.

They were not making a switch....I know that's how it came across (which is what is wrong with the ad)...they were showing that Dove could be used by many different people...the switch was from black to white to brown

Homme posted:

FACT. Dove understands that perceptions surrounding this ad are reinforce negative attitudes that some have of blacks.

While they didn't mean it to be racist given the history of this country is filled with negative perceptions of blacks which does include the notion that "blackness" is bad.

That very model stated that if she was aware of the full context of how that ad could have been interpreted by large segments of the population she wouldn't have done it.  

Dove admits that they made a mistake and if they can admit this then why don't you!  They meant to show diversity but many saw this as soap cleaning up a black person by turning them white.

Yes soap ads are often used to depict the removal of stains and to many people in this country and around this planet being black is a stain.

Amral posted:

People tend to look for racism in everything.  And if you do that you are just as guilty 

Sooo Burnham wasn't a racist and if you say so than YOU are a racist. Any who call Eric Phillips a racist are in fact racist.

Just throwing your argument back at you.

I guess that you don't know that within the life time of many people in this USA soap ads were used to imply that blacks were dirty.  There was one where some black kids were rubbed on a scrubbing board and became white as a result of the soap.

With the resurgence of racism since Trump with racists proudly walking through  major cities spare those who can remember those days who fear that they might return.

Look at Trump boasting that some white supremacists are "fine people".

Now how do you think that people of that ilk will interpret that ad?  Just as they did the ads shown as late as the late 50s and maybe even the early 60s.

As usual CaribJ trying to make something out of nothing, meanwhile I man waiting to see if I can cash in on the deal if dove really have a soap that can make a blackman white. 

In fact you just prove why that ad is wrong.  Anti black racist boasting, as if he thinks that the larger world sees you as being any different.