Dr Cheddi Jagan’s greatest achievement was the return of democracy – PPP

3:02 / 07.03.2019 Guyana Times, Source -- https://theworldnews.net/gy-ne...urn-of-democracy-ppp

22nd death anniversary

…as wreath laying ceremony hosted in Region 2

The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) on Wednesday observed the 22nd death anniversary of former President and Founder of the PPP, Dr Cheddi Jagan.

In a statement, the Party said Dr Jagan’s death saw Guyana losing a great fighter, politician, statesman and human being and March 6, 1997, is a day that will forever be remembered as one of the saddest in the history of the country.

“Dr Jagan is regarded as the Father of the Nation for his relentless and selfless struggles against the colonial masters for Guyana’s independence. A struggle he led to free our people from colonialism, to improve their lives and to return democracy following the dark, oppressive period when our people were subjected to a brutal dictatorship for almost three decades under the [People’s National Congress] PNC regime,” the Party said on Wednesday.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/Region-2.jpgPPP MP Nigel Daramlall among those gathered at the Region Two ceremony in remembrance of Dr Cheddi Jagan

The late President’s ideals and principles, it noted, are as relevant today as it was then, especially during this period owing to the total disregard for the Constitution of Guyana. “After about four years in office, the [A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change] APNU/AFC Government is swiftly pushing the country into economic ruin after 23 years of unprecedented prosperity under the PPP Government, started under Dr Jagan in 1992 and dubbed the “Return to Democracy”,” the Party said.

Dr Jagan’s greatest achievements, the Party added, would have been the return of democracy and the renewal of hope to all Guyanese, regardless of political affiliation, ethnicity, gender, religion or class. “Unfortunately, today, PNC-led Government impunity has returned, discrimination continues unabated and hope is once again fading into the sunset as it did during those dark ruthless days of the PNC rule.”

Dr Jagan was a champion of the working class, the Party said, adding that he truly believed in equal opportunities for all – a fundamental ideal of the People’s Progressive Party.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/IMG-20190306-WA0016.jpg

“The PPP will not relent from its responsibility to represent the Guyanese people and to free them from the oppression that the current Government is foisting upon the nation. Dr Jagan led the struggle, and it will be continued by our Party until Guyanese and Guyana can return to progress. There are some who are bent on distorting our history in a calculated effort to diminish the outstanding contributions made by this Guyanese hero, but his work will live on and its relevance will remain firm in the hearts and minds of our people.”

Wreath laying

Meanwhile, hundreds of persons turned out in Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam) on Wednesday at Anna Regina to pay tribute to the late President and leader of the PPP.

To observe his 22nd death anniversary on Wednesday, March 6, the Party held a memorial service at the Cheddi Jagan Play Park in Anna Regina where tributes, prayers, songs, and poem were done as supporters remembered the son of the soil.

In attendance were Regional Chairman Devanand Ramdatt; Regional Vice Chairman Nandranie Coonjah; MPs Cornell Damon and Nigel Daramlall; Deputy Mayor of the Anna Regina Town, Rudolph Williams; and other senior regional and party members. During the ceremony, the speakers called for the upholding of democracy and fight for free and fair elections just as Cheddi Jagan did all his life.

A wreath laying ceremony concluded Wednesday’s activity.

Source -- https://guyanatimesgy.com/dr-c...rn-of-democracy-ppp/

Guyanese must stop living in the past and let Cheddi name rest in peace. Cheddi Jagan doesn't want people to worship him like God. A new era calls for new leadership and vision for today's generation. 

I agree Cheddi Jagan should be put in the PNC hall of heroes. If it wasn't for his stupidly they would have never come to power in Guyana.

Jagan memorial site is a mini-mecca for ceremonial purposes where the PPP hope to keep Jagan spirit alive for Jagdeo and his compadres. The same thing PNC is doing to Burnham imagery. When you at the PPP/PNC, they are from the same coin. 

I read West on Trial and I realized this. It was never Jagan's fault he always blame someone else. For example, it was Ashton Chase who is responsible for Burnham coming into the PPP as a founding member not Jagan even though in reality he had to have given his permission for it to have happen.

The world should do the same for Mahatma Gandhi and Marin Luther King.

Is Cheddi Jagan still alive and well?

I read West on Trial and I realized this. It was never Jagan's fault he always blame someone else. For example, it was Ashton Chase who is responsible for Burnham coming into the PPP as a founding member not Jagan even though in reality he had to have given his permission for it to have happen.

Prash, I hope that's not all you picked up from that informative and informed book.

Cheddi should have remained in his dentist profession because he was a piss poor politician.

Before Cheddie passed away the country seemed to be on a even keel. It was after his passing things went sour.

How have you been , long time na see.

Cheddi should have remained in his dentist profession because he was a piss poor politician.

Before Cheddie passed away the country seemed to be on a even keel. It was after his passing things went sour.

anything would be better than the 28 PNC years. and that is all CBJ wanted. he had no insight on how the country should progress. get rid of the blackman was all his motivation. Jagdeo followed him.

So Siggy, was Jagan a PNC supporter or a descenter? In yuh earlier post yuh said that Jagan was the PNC best supporter or something like that. 😀

he was the "critical supporter." A SUPPORTER in any case, once there was anti-american sentiments in the play.

How have you been , long time na see.

Check your PM

I’m not a big fan but do respect CBJ and would never say that about him.  And this from you claiming PPP in your DNA and blood in your veins!   

Do the PPP people in NY you plan to have throw me out of their meeting know this is your opinion on the founding father?

You need checked out or checked in!

I’m not a big fan but do respect CBJ and would never say that about him.  And this from you claiming PPP in your DNA and blood in your veins!   

Do the PPP people in NY you plan to have throw me out of their meeting know this is your opinion on the founding father?

Listen stay in the PNC lane where you belong.  How is your award ceremony coming along?

Jagan made his share of mistakes. Indians in Guyana are not dumb and sheepish as some would like us to believe.  They think critically on issues much more than the average Afro-Guyanese.  The mistakes of CBJ and its consequences are not forgotten or deliberately shoved under the rug by Indians.  I am yet to hear Afros speak about LFS Burnham's mistakes and his vile disrespect for the democracy and the rule of law. 

Listen stay in the PNC lane where you belong.  How is your award ceremony coming along?

I know.  With friends like Ayuh who needs enemies.  How about the “thief and thug” thingy?

Anyway, seems Comrade got yuh number!!

The award party coming along fine. She might host it in Queens!

Bill R. Like you forgot about our boy the Carib. He claims that Burnham pickpocket him.

His mild criticism of Burnham is superficial. 

Unfrikenbelivable-ski.

Dude, Carib has spoken numerous times against Burnham...this is exactly why he comes over the way he does. Here the guy speaks out against the same shit as you do but that is not enough. Whatdafk you want he and other blacks do, grovel at your feet and beg forgiveness ..saying sarry massa we real bad to yall.

Bill R. Like you forgot about our boy the Carib. He claims that Burnham pickpocket him.

His mild criticism of Burnham is superficial. 

Unfrikenbelivable-ski.

Dude, Carib has spoken numerous times against Burnham...this is exactly why he comes over the way he does. Here the guy speaks out against the same shit as you do but that is not enough. Whatdafk you want he and other blacks do, grovel at your feet and beg forgiveness ..saying sarry massa we real bad to yall.

nuh.

dey should sey indians are not rucksan ppl.

we eat we mar and rice and stay quiet.

black ppl gat guyana red ants in dem pants.