Closure of Skeldon Sugar Estate takes toll on Corriverton businesses

The closure of the Skeldon Sugar Estate has taken a toll on the business community in the bordering town of Corriverton, Berbice, Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne). Nine months after the estate was closed, businesses are recording very low sales and many of them are operating at a loss.

Inside the Corriverton market, where some vendors have chosen to close their businesses

Following the closure of four sugar factories last year, and the displacing of almost 5000 workers, several communities recognised a slowdown in commercial activity.
Last year, 1851 workers were sacked from the Skeldon Sugar Estate, 1181 from the Rose Hall Estate, 1480 from the East Demerara Sugar Estate and 251 from the Wales Sugar Estate.
The impact on Corriverton as a result of the Skeldon closure is being referred to as great.
During a visit to the market area by Guyana Times, business persons complained about the low sales as they struggle to keep their heads above water.
“The reality is that income has been slashed by more than 50 per cent so that the business can continue to keep its doors open,” this newspaper was told by one business person.
Additionally, some persons reported that they were forced to reduce their staff while others have given staff reduced working hours.
The town, in which the estate once operated, is used to being a hive of activity but now the only movement is mainly due to the town’s geographical location in relation to Suriname – this keeps the commercial activity going in Corriverton.
In the market, the reality is evident. Some stalls were closed. Vendors reported that it is not profitable to operate every day. The market was in the past the busiest part of the town but now shows a dramatic change owing to the closure of the sugar estate.
Many of the operators there told Guyana Times that some days they record no sales. Fish vendors claim they are now spending more money on ice than they spend on purchasing fish. This, they explained, is so because of the length of time it takes to sell the fish they buy.
“Me use to buy one bakie fish and sell it out before afternoon. Now I only buying one bucket and it taking me three days to sell out… leave out how much I go to throw away,” one vendor told this publication.
Another one said since the estate closed, the Corriverton market has become very slow.
There have also been reports of persons in communities being barely able to provide one meal per day for their families and cannot find even meager jobs.
According to one businessman, despite the reality which the people on the Upper Corentyne are being faced with, attempts are not being made by the Government to put a comprehensive programme in place to assist the community. (Andrew Carmichael)

Well, they were were warned of PNC cake shop economics. More tough times to come under PNC.

Moses and the AFC conmen went right there and fooled up the Skeldon people to vote PNC and look what happened today. Skeldon is now a ghost town.

I bet that they are waiting with their 22 for Conman Moses to return.

The PPP, the BEST thing since SLICE BREAD. AS soon as PPP out of Govt Trump says Guyana is a SHIT HOLE

A week or so ago ah tink yuh admit that Skeldon was a Jagdeo mistake. Wha happen? Yuh tek senna and shit de memory part of yuh brain out?

The PPP, the BEST thing since SLICE BREAD. AS soon as PPP out of Govt Trump says Guyana is a SHIT HOLE

A bunch of fools believed them. Ha Ha.

Guyana is doomed under AFC/PNC. It is an official shyte Hole country.

I have no desire to contribute on Yuji's thread because every rass he has posted ends up blaming the Blackman about his stupid cakeshop business. This chap stuck in gear. He got the PPP flag as his avatar makes him look more like an idiot.   Laad, have mercy on him. 

Bhai YUji knows the PNC well, dem people in the PNC only know to destroy and collect bribes

How can a man who cut and run knows about the PNC,you probably will outshine him,did they not hurt you badly when holding the government gob.

I have no desire to contribute on Yuji's thread because every rass he has posted ends up blaming the Blackman about his stupid cakeshop business. This chap stuck in gear. He got the PPP flag as his avatar makes him look more like an idiot.   Laad, have mercy on him. 

That fella pedaling the myth that Afro Guyanese are not smart,while he was educated by the same folks.

Bhai YUji knows the PNC well, dem people in the PNC only know to destroy and collect bribes

You was part of dem. Civil service man. Would be ironic if yuh wuz in customs tekking bribe from dem Indian people everytime dem bring in lil potato.

I personally know/knew a customs officer who was a f**king vulture. Chap stole so much and took so much in bribes that he opened a poultry farm in the Soesdyke area. By the way, he was Indo and this was during Burnham days.

I know lots of them during those days,from top to bottom,all was cheating the system.

Bribery has been around probably as long as the oldest profession in the world has. As some have rightly said, it is the job of the current administration to do something about bribery and corruption but do not try to blame it on one party or the other. By doing something I mean decrease or eliminate not increase.

It tells me that the PPP are afraid of the GPF, the Army and that many of them were in the collection business.

I actually expected you to say something differently but you're right on the money. It also says that they didn't think, for whatever reason, that bribery and corruption were that high in priority.

Bai Mits, I am carrying the PPP flag. It is different from the antiman flag that you keep in your closet for Parades.

You didn't discuss what happened when Linden fell into depression because of PPP antics.

How come?  You only care for an industry when most of the workers are Indian?

Ah kno bai. Ah tink some ah dem does post hay now. Dem talk plenty balls, talking about Burnham dis and dat, but dem was part and parcel of de bribery operation unda PNC, fulling dem pocket at de expense of po people. Some ah dem same scumbags posting right hay puffing up dem biscuit chess and pretending fuh be "indo champions"!!!!

The closure of the Skeldon Sugar Estate has taken a toll on the business community in the bordering town of Corriverton, Berbice, Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne). Nine months after the estate was closed, businesses are recording very low sales and many of them are operating at a loss.

Inside the Corriverton market, where some vendors have chosen to close their businesses

Following the closure of four sugar factories last year, and the displacing of almost 5000 workers, several communities recognised a slowdown in commercial activity.
Last year, 1851 workers were sacked from the Skeldon Sugar Estate, 1181 from the Rose Hall Estate, 1480 from the East Demerara Sugar Estate and 251 from the Wales Sugar Estate.
The impact on Corriverton as a result of the Skeldon closure is being referred to as great.
During a visit to the market area by Guyana Times, business persons complained about the low sales as they struggle to keep their heads above water.
“The reality is that income has been slashed by more than 50 per cent so that the business can continue to keep its doors open,” this newspaper was told by one business person.
Additionally, some persons reported that they were forced to reduce their staff while others have given staff reduced working hours.
The town, in which the estate once operated, is used to being a hive of activity but now the only movement is mainly due to the town’s geographical location in relation to Suriname – this keeps the commercial activity going in Corriverton.
In the market, the reality is evident. Some stalls were closed. Vendors reported that it is not profitable to operate every day. The market was in the past the busiest part of the town but now shows a dramatic change owing to the closure of the sugar estate.
Many of the operators there told Guyana Times that some days they record no sales. Fish vendors claim they are now spending more money on ice than they spend on purchasing fish. This, they explained, is so because of the length of time it takes to sell the fish they buy.
“Me use to buy one bakie fish and sell it out before afternoon. Now I only buying one bucket and it taking me three days to sell out… leave out how much I go to throw away,” one vendor told this publication.
Another one said since the estate closed, the Corriverton market has become very slow.
There have also been reports of persons in communities being barely able to provide one meal per day for their families and cannot find even meager jobs.
According to one businessman, despite the reality which the people on the Upper Corentyne are being faced with, attempts are not being made by the Government to put a comprehensive programme in place to assist the community. (Andrew Carmichael)

It’s a chain reaction, sugar workers loses jobs, less spending, other businessss affected.  

This will be a big factor come next election and most likely we will see all these folks voting PPP.

I kinda see the PPP returning to office next elections!!

alena06 posted:

Fish vendors claim they are now spending more money on ice than they spend on purchasing fish. This, they explained, is so because of the length of time it takes to sell the fish they buy.

It’s a chain reaction, sugar workers loses jobs, less spending, other businessss affected.  

This will be a big factor come next election and most likely we will see all these folks voting PPP.

I saw this during my visit in March of this year. There were more vendors than customers. Instead of people taking a "short drop" (cab) to the market, they rode their bicycles. The place was becoming a ghost town.

alena06 posted:

Fish vendors claim they are now spending more money on ice than they spend on purchasing fish. This, they explained, is so because of the length of time it takes to sell the fish they buy.

I saw this during my visit in March of this year. There were more vendors than customers. Instead of people taking a "short drop" (cab) to the market, they rode their bicycles. The place was becoming a ghost town.

Skelly, I will never forget how Moses and his crew of AFC conmen posed at the Skelton Market and fooled the people. I am sure that the ones who listened him will now regret that decisision for their entire lives.

PNC Cake Shop economics in action.

Skelly, I will never forget how Moses and his crew of AFC conmen posed at the Skelton Market and fooled the people. I am sure that the ones who listened him will now regret that decisision for their entire lives.

PNC Cake Shop economics in action.

Coming soon will post the Commission report on GUYSUCO,it will reveal PPP economics that killed the Sugar Industry.

Shut you mouth. The AFC told sugar workers that sugar was too important to close down the estates and they turned around and closed them.

They are a pack of stinking liars. When are you going to hold them accountable ?

Day in and day out you are the first to defend lying scumbags. 

Shut you mouth. The AFC told sugar workers that sugar was too important to close down the estates and they turned around and closed them.

They are a pack of stinking liars. When are you going to hold them accountable ?

That's not the real issue that caused the death of GUYSUCO.

THE NAMAKARAM CRABDAAG LOOKED THE SUGAR WORKERS IN THEIR EYES AND LIED TO THEM KNOWING THAT THEY WILL SUFFER STARVATION AND WORST. IS THIS NAMAKARAR HUMAN??  IS FILTH MORE VALUABLE THAN THIS NAMAKARAM CRABDAAG?????????????????

Don't take footing from Nehru because he is not in your category despite of his big mouth on the same. Lol

Bai me and Mr Neroo go back a lang time. we hang out by Garmount. Hey hey hey...