Ecuador FM confirms asylum request from NSA leaker

File photo of Ecuadorian Foreign Minister Ricardo Patino

The foreign minister of Ecuador says his country is considering a request for asylum from the National Security Agency leaker Edward Snowden who is being persecuted by the United States.

Ricardo Patino also questioned on Monday the concept of treason charges against NSA leaker Edward Snowden, adding that the alleged US surveillance program is a rights abuse against the entire world.

“We will consider the position of the US government and we will take a decision in due time in line with the (Ecuadorean) constitution, the laws, international politics and sovereignty,” the foreign minister added.

Patino highlighted the importance of human rights principles as the most important consideration, noting that Ecuadorian officials are also considering “the consequences of our decisions.”

“Ecuador's government has maintained respectful contact with the Russian government and has said that it is considering the asylum request,” Patino said.

On Sunday, Snowden arrived in Moscow after he left Hong Kong to avoid US extradition.

Meanwhile, Washington has reportedly revoked Snowden’s passport, with State Department spokesperson, Jen Psaki, saying the fugitive “should not be allowed to proceed in any further international travel, other than is necessary to return him to the US.”

Snowden leaked two top secret US government spying programs under which the NSA and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) are eavesdropping on millions of American and European phone records and the Internet data from major Internet companies such as Facebook, Yahoo, Google, Apple, and Microsoft.

Several US government officials including President Obama and FBI director Robert Mueller have defended the secret spying programs claiming that they are essential to the fight against terrorism.

The granting of asylum is one thing, getting him to that destination is another. Look at Julian Assange for example. Equador granted him asylum but he's still holed up in their embassy in London. The British made it clear' if he steps outside of this protective zone he'll be promptly arrested.
It is my belief that the US will spare no effort to grab Snowden providing the Russians allow him to leave which I seriouly doubt. Besides the State Dept. stated that his passport has been annulled so how will he travel?
Anybady gat any Guyana passport fuh sell?

Originally Posted by Lucas:

He is already in Quito!

Putin said he is in Russia...they apparently want him gone since he has nothing they want ( if they did not already took it). That fool is half a step from jail.

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

What truths he told that makes the rest of us ignorant and you smart?  He sold national investigative strategies sanctioned by the congress with protections in place against misuse. He violated his employers and the national trust. He will have to answer.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

What truths he told that makes the rest of us ignorant and you smart?  He sold national investigative strategies sanctioned by the congress with protections in place against misuse. He violated his employers and the national trust. He will have to answer.

where is the lie that he told.

Even the big wigs confirms that he is telling the truth.

Pointblank

This is the one who lied

Director of National Intelligence James Clapper Lied to Congress About NSA Surveillance

The former Director of National Intelligence James Clapper undoubtedly lied to Congress about the NSA’s collection of ordinary Americans’ Internet records. This can be shown through Clapper’s testimony.

The NSA has been exposed data-mining millions of foreign and domestic cellphone records and online behavior through nine major Internet companies. Yet Clapper had the following exchange with Senator Ron Wyden on March 12th:

WYDEN: “Does the NSA collect any type of data at all on millions or hundreds of millions of Americans?”

CLAPPER: “No, sir … not wittingly.”

Of course, when the NSA goes to Verizon and pressures the company to turn over the metadata for millions of cellphone records, and as Forbes points out, the spy agency is targeting American citizens, then it is indisputable that the agency is wittingly “collecting” data.

Furthermore, when the NSA pushed 9 major Internet companies — and we’re talking Google, Yahoo, Skype, Microsoft, et al. — to allow the agency to data-mine the behavior of their users, then certainly the NSA was collecting “any type of data at all” on millions of Americans.

Former DNI James Clapper lied to Congress. But if there is still any remaining doubt, allow Clapper himself to elaborate. The following remarks were transcribed by The Hill:

“There are cases where they could inadvertently perhaps collect [intelligence on Americans], but not wittingly,” the U.S. intelligence chief told Wyden and the rest of the committee.

That said, “particularly in the case of NSA and CIA, there are structures against tracking American citizens in the United States for foreign intelligence purposes,” Clapper added.

Both agencies are focused on foreign intelligence collection, “and that’s what those agencies are set up to do,” he added.

Conducting surveillance on Americans inside U.S. borders is something “they do not engage in,” the intelligence chief added.

“The Hill” comments on the NSA’s data-mining activities with Verizon, which began after Clapper’s testimony was given; but the story was published before a second major NSA scandal came by way of the Washington Post, which is a major U.S. media outlet that actually broke the scandal.

This story regarded Project Prism, and as numerous outlets are wont to point out, it began in 2007 — six long years ago under the Bush administration. This was a sweeping domestic surveillance program that incorporated some of the biggest names on the Internet. As was earlier reported:

The National Security Agency and the FBI are tapping directly into the central servers of nine leading U.S. Internet companies, extracting audio, video, photographs, e-mails, documents and connection logs that enable analysts to track a person’s movements and contacts over time.

The highly classified program, code-named PRISM, has not been disclosed publicly before. Its establishment in 2007 and six years of exponential growth took place beneath the surface of a roiling debate over the boundaries of surveillance and privacy. Even late last year, when critics of the foreign intelligence statute argued for changes, the only members of Congress who know about PRISM were bound by oaths of office to hold their tongues. …

The technology companies, which participate knowingly in PRISM operations, include most of the dominant global players of Silicon Valley. They are listed on a roster that bears their logos in order of entry into the program: “Microsoft, Yahoo, Google, Facebook, PalTalk, AOL, Skype, YouTube, Apple.” PalTalk, although much smaller, has hosted significant traffic during the Arab Spring and in the ongoing Syrian civil war.

If James Clapper was under oath, he committed perjury. Nonetheless, it is a felony to lie to Congress, and House and Senate investigators should launch an investigation into the matter.

James Clapper was contacted by the National Journal to somehow clarify his statements. Here is the acrobatic response: “What I said was, the NSA does not voyeuristically pore through U.S. citizens’ e-mails. I stand by that.”

Great, except the record doesn’t “stand by that.”

Pointblank

I never said he told any lies. He revealed approved methodology that informs enemies of the state on methods and means. It was not his prerogative to reveal national secrets. On that account he committed treason and violated national trust and for that he must answer. If the thinks he has moral and legal grounds then he can come home willingly.

Approved by who A secret court

Pointblank

Freedom of speech is a principal pillar of a free government; when this support is taken away, the constitution of a free society is dissolved, and tyranny is erected on its ruins. Republics and limited monarchies derive their strength and vigor from a popular examination into the action of the magistrates.

Benjamin Franklin

Pointblank

Freedom of speech is a principal pillar of a free government; when this support is taken away, the constitution of a free society is dissolved, and tyranny is erected on its ruins. Republics and limited monarchies derive their strength and vigor from a popular examination into the action of the magistrates.

Benjamin Franklin

While an excellent example of general free speech, it has absolutely no relevance to being employed and engaged with a country's security information.

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.
Benjamin Franklin

We live in societies. In principle we give up a lot. We do not settle our disputes personally, and the idea of property, and liberty which are the pillars of democracy is not left to our discretion. Franklyn was for example, not giving coverage to libel, slander or a appropriation of ones copyrighted material under the umbrella of free speech. Free speech is delimited everywhere and one of the ways it is is under the secrecy act where materials deemed government secrets are legally protected from someone like Mr Snowden.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

The granting of asylum is one thing, getting him to that destination is another. Look at Julian Assange for example. Equador granted him asylum but he's still holed up in their embassy in London. The British made it clear' if he steps outside of this protective zone he'll be promptly arrested.
It is my belief that the US will spare no effort to grab Snowden providing the Russians allow him to leave which I seriouly doubt. Besides the State Dept. stated that his passport has been annulled so how will he travel?
Anybady gat any Guyana passport fuh sell?

Britain only understands the right Russian millionaires have to asylum in the islands.

Any nation's consulate in the world can issue Snowden a passpord.

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.
Benjamin Franklin

We live in societies. In principle we give up a lot. We do not settle our disputes personally, and the idea of property, and liberty which are the pillars of democracy is not left to our discretion. Franklyn was for example, not giving coverage to libel, slander or a appropriation of ones copyrighted material under the umbrella of free speech. Free speech is delimited everywhere and one of the ways it is is under the secrecy act where materials deemed government secrets are legally protected from someone like Mr Snowden.

You should change your handle to JEKYLL AND HYDE

Pointblank

You have to be a moron if you think that free speech gives you a legal right to steal government classified information and disseminate it as you please.

The ironic thing about it is that had Snowden done something like this in Russia or China his ass would have been grass a long time ago. And Ecuador passed laws recently to suppress free speech there.

Benjamin Franklin

You should change your handle to JEKYLL AND HYDE

Why. because you are unwilling to accept the reality that this gentleman is an oathbraker, a treasonous fellow and whose consorting with the enemy did great harm to his country?

Originally Posted by God:

You have to be a moron if you think that free speech gives you a legal right to steal government classified information and disseminate it as you please.

The ironic thing about it is that had Snowden done something like this in Russia or China his ass would have been grass a long time ago. And Ecuador passed laws recently to suppress free speech there.

Putin would have personally taken him out on his black sea farm and use him as target practice. His respect for freespeech is zero. I believe P u s s y Riot is in jail and others of its members in hiding for speaking their mind.

I do not want my neighbor knowing my personal business even though we are friends. If someone, ie my accountant provided him with such he would have violated my trust and I would want his ass. Ron Paul is simply being the nutty person he is. The US has lots of information ie about our weapons system that is not for public viewing, do you think we should have the personnel handling those documents put those documents into public domain?

This is as silly a statement as possible coming from the gentleman.