Ed Ahmad gears to make $600M on $80M GuySuCo land deal

APRIL 13, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

…changes from wood processing plant to housing scheme

Almost five years after acquiring a huge piece of prime, seaside property to develop a value-added wood processing operation, a New York-based Guyanese businessman has now instead converted the area into house lots.

Developer, Ed Ahmad

However, there has been no official announcement by the administration over the new arrangements and who would have given the permission.
The conditions of sale were that the company would have set up a factory to creat jobs for persons in the neighbourhood.
This condition was responsible for the low price they paid for the land. There has been no factory to date. Instead there is a multi-million-dollar housing development project.
The project, Leonora Mall and Hollywood Garden, is being managed by Leonora Projects which is owned by Shareef and Ed Ahmad. The latter is said to be a close associate of former President Bharrat Jagdeo.
The name of this project is advertised on a signboard established at the site of what was to be the location of the wood processing plant.
The conversion of the almost 17-acre plot to the Leonora Mall and Hollywood Garden has been raising eyebrows as again, it is the controversial National Industrial and Commercial Investments Ltd (NICIL) that is involved.
Winston Brassington heads NICIL although he offered his resignation almost a year ago. He was the one that piloted this deal with Ahmad.
The land, located around a scenic turn, was once the managers’ compound. It was under the control of the state-owned Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) and home to a pool and several of GuySuCo’s senior staffers.
Around 2009, NICIL reportedly sold it to Ahmad for $80M or about $4.7M per acre.
According to the company’s website, Leonora Projects is planning to construct 87 homes on the site.
Company officials said, yesterday, that a house lot is now being sold for at least $7M.  This means that the $80 million plot of land is now worth more than $600M.ed ahamad housing scheme
The company is also building homes for at least $30M each.
In announcing the sale, NICIL and its sister agency, Privatisation Unit, had said that the use of the land was restricted to value-added wood processing operations.
The sale of the land was made to one of Ahmad’s companies, South American Woods Incorporated, which is also owned by another individual whose name is given as Shareef Ahmad.
According to the website leonoraprojects.com, the initiative is one of the most grand development projects in Guyana. “It is being done with ‘you in mind’. Leonora Projects is a vision of Ed Ahmad.”
It is the plan to include a full gas and service station, facilities to house two banks and a huge shopping mall.
“Leonora Projects illustrates the envisioning of an entire community, not just homes,” the website says.
The Leonora projects are being run from Ahmad’s building materials depot at Ruimveldt, Georgetown.
NICIL itself has been embroiled in a number of questionable transactions including its privatization of the Sanata

Head of NICIL Winston Brassington

Head of NICIL
Winston Brassington0

Complex in Ruimveldt which was sold cheaply to Queens Atlantic, headed by former President Bharrat Jagdeo’s best friend, Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop.
NICIL’s point man, Winston Brassington, is at the centre of a number of questionable deals including the Marriott Hotel and financial arrangements of the Berbice River Bridge.
Ahmad was charged by the US Federal authorities for his involvement in a massive real estate fraud scheme.
In October 2012, during a plea deal in a New York court, he was found guilty of knowingly and intentionally conspiring to defraud several lending institutions over a period of 15 years.

. . . The conditions of sale were that the company would have set up a factory to creat jobs for persons in the neighbourhood.
This condition was responsible for the low price they paid for the land. There has been no factory to date. Instead there is a multi-million-dollar housing development project.
. . .
In announcing the sale, NICIL and its sister agency, Privatisation Unit, had said that the use of the land was restricted to value-added wood processing operations . . .

Originally Posted by Vish M:

I guess the US Bank is not aware of this new money as he is fore-closed on many of his Richmond Hill properties 

Vish, Vish you of all people. You thing it is easy to make 600 Million.  Do you know how much has to be invested in that Project to yield such a profit??

. . . The conditions of sale were that the company would have set up a factory to creat jobs for persons in the neighbourhood.
. . .
In announcing the sale, NICIL and its sister agency, Privatisation Unit, had said that the use of the land was restricted to value-added wood processing operations . . .

crude bait & switch shyte . . . "progress" GT style

the NICIL tiefman-in-chief and the Dr Dr Dr 'Guyana is me eyepass' ex-president deserve nothing less than JAIL alongside Ed Ahmad

. . .

the NICIL tiefman-in-chief and the Dr Dr Dr 'Guyana is me eyepass' ex-president deserve nothing less than JAIL alongside Ed Ahmad

Jail his thieving ass indeed. 

. . .

Jail his thieving ass indeed. 

Jail is too good a place for these scumbags

I guess the US Bank is not aware of this new money as he is fore-closed on many of his Richmond Hill properties 

Vish, Vish you of all people. You thing it is easy to make 600 Million.  Do you know how much has to be invested in that Project to yield such a profit??

I would like to Jagdeo to come out and state that he did not benefit and will not  benefit from this conversion of land to Ed et Al. Job creation is the snake oil that they peddle when they parcel out Guyana to their friends and relatives.

Mits, Yuh think Housing Scheme with Mall and things would create Jobs??/

Parcel out and sells Guyana to their friends and relatives, whils't the poor and hungry in Guyana cannot get house lots since four to five years of their applications.......leaves one to think that they are awaiting bribes to do their jobs

Originally Posted by asj:

Parcel out and sells Guyana to their friends and relatives, whils't the poor and hungry in Guyana cannot get house lots since four to five years of their applications.......leaves one to think that they are awaiting bribes to do their jobs

they are!! . . . i know this for a fact

How many Guyanese labourers worked on the Marriot Hotel project? This sale of prime real estate land to Ed is how Jagdeo and gang steal from the Guyana populace, Look at the price Jagdeo acquired prime real estate land in Sparendam. There are many who are waiting for years now to get a house lot. Why?

Originally Posted by asj:

they are!! . . . i know this for a fact

And it's like peeling an onion to get to the core......

just listen to this fellow-traveling idiot and you will understand why the PPP can sleep easy after bu**ering hapless Guyanese taxpayers again and again and again . . .

Batty Boe, We all know how much you enjoy that. I amd Mits(Straight Guys) having a conversation, you can move to the Batty Boys Topic.  Yuh sound like yuh gat FIRE pun yuh Batty right now.

oi u drunkard punk, if u want to have a private conversation, go hit the "Dialog" button

otherwise STFU!

The US government will get to know of this article, ED can build asset ,but will not able to enjoy outside the jail cell. When creating such a deal, there must be a clause that the change of use cannot happen until after 20years. but to bait and switch is not fair to the poor people of Guyana. The locals should squat on the land and protest, Guyanese can only talk, but no action.

oi u drunkard punk, if u want to have a private conversation, go hit the "Dialog" button

otherwise STFU!

Hey Batty Boy Redux, Go Fly Uncle Charlie Kite you THIEF and SWINDLER, YUh think Abee nak kno how much you stole???

otherwise STFU!

Hey Batty Boy Redux, Go Fly Uncle Charlie Kite you THIEF and SWINDLER, YUh think Abee nak kno how much you stole???

now u simply lost yuh mind and making a total jackass of your drunken self

jagdeo dem mussbe wish dey could clone dumbasses like u, re-populate Guyana and bu**er alyuh at will

otherwise STFU!

jagdeo dem mussbe wish dey could clone dumbasses like u, re-populate Guyana and bu**er alyuh at will

Batty Boy Redux, Are you a THIEF?? Did you stole from the Govt of Guyana??? You are subject to a Lie Detector test so be careful with your answers.

otherwise STFU!

Batty Boy Redux, Are you a THIEF?? Did you stole from the Govt of Guyana??? You are subject to a Lie Detector test so be careful with your answers.

i pity u . . . still holding on (tenaciously) to a drunk fantasy that u know me

being a drunkard, a punk, and on top of that quite stupid must be wreaking havoc on your sense of self

otherwise STFU!

i pity u . . . still holding on (tenaciously) to a drunk fantasy that u know me

being a drunkard, a punk, and on top of that quite stupid must be wreaking havoc on your sense of self

JACKASS, You need to buy a Mirror and look into it. But then again Lungeera like you who have no SHAME will be blind to their wicked deeds.

jailing the  ppp  low life will create  jobs,more prison warder 

Pavi, you did not address Vish's point - if US concerns have a hold on Ed's assets worldwide, how come these have not been "foreclosed" like his US properties. You can ask Vish to show how he knows: (1) what US concerns have claims on Ed (he mentioned US banks???); (2) are non-US holdings (he's a US citizen) fair play?

You have instinctively jumped to a position that, regardless whether you know or like Ed, the PPP's interests must be defended. And you jump straight to how much effort it takes to make millions. Not much if you're given it, right?!

Pavi, stay on topic and make this forum a better place for exchange of ideas; instead of hi-sing yuh panties every time someone says "eh?" about the PPP.

No one mentions ashni but he is the CEO of NICIL and Brazzington is his dog. Braszington has no capacity to make any moves without the minister approves. The minister would have consulted the president on these issues. This is a corrupt PPP acting according to their nature.

One knows that 29 tons of freebies did not get to Jagdeo without a clear quid prop quo. That this government can so openly conduct its perfidious behavior is because of racism plain and simple.I cannot fathom any reason why a people would fail to acknowledgment the wrongs being done to their country. To the contrary they are even bold enough to cloak  this naked thievery in celebratory phrases as patriotism and development!Like Nehru are quick to bend the knees and take it in the rear and object when others refuse to do likewise.

Originally Posted by kp:

The US government will get to know of this article, ED can build asset ,but will not able to enjoy outside the jail cell. When creating such a deal, there must be a clause that the change of use cannot happen until after 20years. but to bait and switch is not fair to the poor people of Guyana. The locals should squat on the land and protest, Guyanese can only talk, but no action.

i look forward to the majority Opposition raising this issue in parliament, and making clear that they consider these illegal transfers of the people's wealth to be null & void

i also look forward to the lisping, grasping 'chief executive' running that jagdeoite tiefman operation NICIL being subpoened to appear before the relevant committee to answer for these obscenities . . . tabling a bill for a forensic audit by a respected international accounting outfit must be in the cards

too bad this obese, no-neck toad would likely choke (and croak) on a chicken bone before justice measures him for a custom-made orange jumpsuit

Pavi, you did not address Vish's point - if US concerns have a hold on Ed's assets worldwide, how come these have not been "foreclosed" like his US properties. You can ask Vish to show how he knows: (1) what US concerns have claims on Ed (he mentioned US banks???); (2) are non-US holdings (he's a US citizen) fair play?

You have instinctively jumped to a position that, regardless whether you know or like Ed, the PPP's interests must be defended. And you jump straight to how much effort it takes to make millions. Not much if you're given it, right?!

Pavi, stay on topic and make this forum a better place for exchange of ideas; instead of hi-sing yuh panties every time someone says "eh?" about the PPP.

If you think the GREAT US needs Vishnu to find Assets then please don't talk about making the Forum a better place. If you want to question the deal, then we can start a topic on that. The FACT IS the Land was sold for 80 MILLION DOLLARS and anyone can speculate as to how much the buyer MAY now make.

Last edited by Nehru

If you think the GREAT US needs Vishnu to find Assets then please don't talk about making the Forum a better place. If you want to question the deal, then we can start a topic on that. The FACT IS the Land was sold for 80 MILLION DOLLARS and anyone can speculate as to how much the buyer MAY now make.

the FACT is that Ed Ahmad is a felon awaiting sentencing, guilty of mortgage fraud in the USA

in context, only a criminal minded and/or simple minded arsehole would regard the grand larceny unfolding before our eyes at Lenora as speculation

nehru, take a bow

no . . . nooo . . . doan cak up yuh bt . . . dat is only for when you 'performing' @ de rat's pool boy parties, arite?

Karhee is not my wife left me because she caught a man on top of me, IT WAS YOU.

?????????

?????????

What yuh bin smoking? Whey man and woman and man pan top come into all dis? Bellvue can help. They have medica-shun that can help your condition.

Well said Kari.

EHEHEH Well said from a man who just asking for another to be buggered.  These are attitudes of ancient Kings. I tell Al YUh be very careful of these people.