Edmonton weather: Extreme cold is here to stay. Or is it? Yes.

https://postmediaedmontonjournal2.files.wordpress.com/2019/02/20190206db005.jpg?quality=80&strip=all&w=840&h=630&crop=1A pedestrian walks along Strathearn Crescent near 87 Street, in Edmonton Wednesday Feb. 6, 2019. David Bloom / Postmedia

A look at today’s Edmonton weather by Environment Canada.

Thursday morning temperatures at the Edmonton Blatchford station measured -24.7 C with calm winds.

Extreme cold warning

The extreme cold warning was extended Thursday as forecasters don’t expect an end to this madness for at least another four or five days.

“A multi-day episode of very cold wind chills continues. The coldest wind chill values will be between minus 40 and minus 45.

“Regions in central and southern parts of the province will see slight moderation in temperatures today and tonight as a weather system brings in cloud and snow. However, the extreme cold is expected to return to most areas Friday night.”

Things might improve by this time next week, though. The long-term forecast right not shows sunshine with a high of -6 C Wednesday — we can only hope!

Today’s forecast

Today: Sunny. Increasing cloudiness early this afternoon. Wind up to 15 km/h. High -24 C. Wind chill -40 in the morning and -29 in the afternoon. Frostbite in minutes. UV index 1 or low.

Tonight: Light snow ending overnight then cloudy with 60 per cent chance of flurries. Wind up to 15 km/h. Low -27 C. Wind chill -29 in the evening and -39 overnight. Risk of frostbite.

Tomorrow: Mainly cloudy with 60 per cent chance of flurries. Wind becoming north 20 km/h in the afternoon. High -25 C. Wind chill -39 in the morning and -34 in the afternoon. Risk of frostbite. UV index 1 or low

Sunrise: 8:09 a.m

Sunset: 5:27 p.m.

On This Day (1996-2017)

Highest temperature: 5.0 C (2000)

Lowest temperature: -27.4 C (2017)

A few days ago we had freezing rain that is still stuck to the pavement and driveways.  We also had about 2 inches of snow on top of the ice. My driveway is like a 30-degree slope. Slippery no ass. I applied salt and sand to no avail. Today on top if the ice, we are getting about 6 inches of snow which will end tonight about 9 PM. The wind will pick up tonight to about 20-25 mph. The temperature will drop to about 16 below. We have had 20-30 below zero here already about 1 1/2 wks ago. This is the second round.

you need to pack your bundle and move!

I will indeed travel as I do every year; but will always live in Edmonton.

We have had worst weather conditions in most years and it is enjoyable; though staying indoors most of the time.  

This year has a mild weather condition.

A few days ago we had freezing rain that is still stuck to the pavement and driveways.  We also had about 2 inches of snow on top of the ice. My driveway is like a 30-degree slope. Slippery no ass. I applied salt and sand to no avail. Today on top if the ice, we are getting about 6 inches of snow which will end tonight about 9 PM. The wind will pick up tonight to about 20-25 mph. The temperature will drop to about 16 below. We have had 20-30 below zero here already about 1 1/2 wks ago. This is the second round.

The salt is damaging my walkway.

Professor/Dr. Bushmaster lived in Edmonton and used to talk about bundling up like an Eskimo. I think he's retired in Antigua now. 

You sure he is till around? He was in his sixties when he posted here. 

We have to use a special mixture of salt and sand..I went biking in the woods today in summer biking gear. 

We have a sixty foot plus driveway...allllll ice. I use cleats on the shoes if not I bust my arse trying to move around. We use a salt sand mix also ...the salt keeps the sand from freezing in the container.

I do mix salt and sand. I buy the salt that does not damage your lawn, concrete, and is pet safe.

We have a sixty foot plus driveway...allllll ice. I use cleats on the shoes if not I bust my arse trying to move around. We use a salt sand mix also ...the salt keeps the sand from freezing in the container.

Mine is about 45', double car garage. It's all ice. Last night I had to blow 6" of snow. I used my heavy duty snowblower which lets me go at my own pace. I also have a lighter one that I use for the sidewalks and walkways in my yard. It's currently -10(-35 windchill). All the schools are closed. We also had school closings 4 days last week.

I do mix salt and sand. I buy the salt that does not damage your lawn, concrete, and is pet safe.

You mean "ice melt".... I picked a bag up yesterday..friken thing is three times the price as regular salt but much better. We are on wells so cannot use salt too close to them. Wind now blowing at 60mph and cold like rass.

There are different brands. I paid $12.00 for a 25lb bag. I can use it about 3 times. Sand is now expensive here due to the ice. Most of the stores are out. We have between 5-10 MPH here with a temp of -9, with bright sun.They say it feels like -21 F. I still have to go and shovel the stuff that was blown in last night from high winds. Will bundle up and do it.

Maryland plan to reduce salt usage includes among other a detailed  protocol for drive way and parking; Here is the advisory

Many Maryland residents use salt to reduce ice accumulation on steps, walkways and driveways. Not only do deicers impact water quality, but they can damage or kill vegetation near the application sites. Harsh chemicals can also be dangerous for children and pets. Tips for reducing or eliminating the use of excessive deicers at home include: 

• Clear walkways and other areas before the snow turns to ice and avoid the need for chemical deicers.
  • Track the weather and only apply deicers when a storm is imminent. If a winter storm does not occur, sweep any unused material and store it for later use.
  • Only use deicers in critical areas and apply the least amount necessary to get the job done.
  • Store deicing materials in a dry, covered area to prevent runoff.
  • Reduce salt use by adding sand for traction, although care is needed to avoid clogging storm drains. Natural clay cat litter also works well for this purpose.
  • If your source of drinking water is from your own private well, avoid applying salt near the well head.
  • Don’t use urea-based fertilizers as melting agents. Runoff can increase nutrient pollution.

The Potomac Drinking Water Source Protection Partnership website includes more information about chemical deicers and the environment

6EE37B89-82E5-4C2A-B60B-0F1D3A54C0BC

Mars shut you rass. You photoshop the city.

The only sand I’m thinking about right now is at the beach

i feel bad for y’all peeps in Minnesota and Edmonton and dem other ice blocks. 

Don't feel sorry for us. We enjoy the high quality of life in the Northern States. There's always something to do all year around. There is only so much clothes you can take off on hot days. You can go naked and still be hot. You can always add on in the winter.

There’s always something to do where I live. I’m thinking whether I should go to the beach tomorrow, the state fair or the Gasparilla night parade. In my shorts and t shirt. That is high quality of life for me. Polo shirt and jeans I wore today and anytime I go to the office. You try deh with y’all minus wind chills. I’d rather to be out in the sun than the wind licking me upside down with wind chills below zero. What quality of life is it being cooped up in your house? 

that is where the lil girlie boys go when they can't tek de cold. Even in meh wheelchair, meh gat mo gumption than dat bai. 

People pay big money to come here on vacation and to maintain second homes during the winter months. They will also come running down this way when they retire and the bones are punishing in the cold. Feel free to brag about your toughness to withstand the cold weather. I’m enjoying life in paradise. I’m gonna enjoy my curry now outdoors and chill out for a while. Such a lovely day. 47516EF8-AC35-4288-81BB-CBD2610E6D294E69881F-D606-473B-A6B7-0C96148FBF76

Images (2)
  • 47516EF8-AC35-4288-81BB-CBD2610E6D29
  • 4E69881F-D606-473B-A6B7-0C96148FBF76

People pay big money to come here on vacation and to maintain second homes during the winter months. They will also come running down this way when they retire and the bones are punishing in the cold. Feel free to brag about your toughness to withstand the cold weather. I’m enjoying life in paradise. I’m gonna enjoy my curry now outdoors and chill out for a while. Such a lovely day. 47516EF8-AC35-4288-81BB-CBD2610E6D29

To each his own, the winter has its own beauty.  But watch out for the curry, you may soon start supporting PPP, one of the after effects.

Professor/Dr. Bushmaster lived in Edmonton and used to talk about bundling up like an Eskimo. I think he's retired in Antigua now. 

Don't know the individual; but his comments on the weather is correct.

When one bundles up for this kind of weather; in most situations; one may not recognize an acquaintance times.

He is kidmost cousin or so they intimated. Are you not related to KIdmost?

Not related, D2.

I heard of Bushmaster's name only when I started to chat on GNI.

Prof./Dr. DNP Singh from Leonora.

As the then Senior Engineer at Leonora, I knew some Singhs; but none with the DNP initials.

People pay big money to come here on vacation and to maintain second homes during the winter months. They will also come running down this way when they retire and the bones are punishing in the cold. Feel free to brag about your toughness to withstand the cold weather. I’m enjoying life in paradise. I’m gonna enjoy my curry now outdoors and chill out for a while. Such a lovely day. 47516EF8-AC35-4288-81BB-CBD2610E6D294E69881F-D606-473B-A6B7-0C96148FBF76

Why pay for what you can get at home? Bracing for the cold is a state of mind. I would not go to FL to spend my money. I would go to Guyana instead. I usually go on vacation in the summer heading out west to Montana. My wife has relatives out in Kalispell(by Glacier National Park). It's a nice drive through the mountains.

I heard that kalispell is now a white supremacy town with many neo nazi relocating there from across the US. When I am in Montana I stay in Great falls or Helena. The people are very nice.

I usually go on vacation in the summer heading out west to Montana. My wife has relatives out in Kalispell (by Glacier National Park). It's a nice drive through the mountains.

Montana is a wonderful place, among others; to visit.

I usually visit Great Falls and areas down to the Yellowstone Park; out west to places as Missoula, Kalispel , the Libby Dam and various other places.

Plus also going all the way down to California.