Education Minister visits Berbice as consultations on $10,000 grant continues 

Minister Priya Manickchand addresses students and parents in Region 6

EDUCATION Minister Priya Manickchand, accompanied by Georgetown and regional education officers, visited East Berbice (Region Six) on Friday, July 11, to continue consultations with parents and guardians on Government’s new initiative to give each school-age child a grant of $10,000.

The Minister and her entourage were warmly received by Region Six residents, who braved the rains to fill every meeting place in large numbers; and she held engagements with parents in 122 schools in several meetings on how the Education Ministry can best provide the grant to the children.

Minister Manickchand asked parents to indicate by the show of hands whether they preferred encashing a voucher or purchasing goods from accredited stores with the vouchers; and the almost unanimous choice was being able to encash the vouchers.

Education Minister Priya Manickchand is mobbed by parents in Berbice

The parents/guardians were also asked to indicate the financial service of choice they would prefer to use in encashing the vouchers; and responses ranged from the Guyana Post Office Corporation to Western Union, to various commercial banks, to Mobile Money Ltd.

The Minister encouraged parents/guardians to alert her on issues that were of concern to them, whether or not those issues were education-related; and parents/guardians expressed concerns about businesses that were taking advantage of them by increasing prices on school items when they use the uniform vouchers to purchase items for their children.

Parents and students listen to Minister Manickchand

The parents were very angry that when the voucher programme is not on, prices for school items would cost much less, but as soon as the ministry announces start of the voucher programme, stores raise their prices.

Parents expressed that they would normally be able to get many more items if they paid cash than when they purchase with the vouchers. They said they felt robbed. One woman at Tagore Memorial Secondary School said, “These stores unreasonable. The government trying to help the people and the store gouging out them eye”.

Minister Manickchand said that if this report is true, she is very disappointed with the stores. She assured the parents/guardians that if the ministry finds any store that has raised its prices for parents shopping with the government-issued vouchers, the Ministry would deal condignly with that individual business.

The Minister said that, on the other hand, she knew of some stores that would actually give special tokens to parents shopping with the vouchers. She publicly called on storeowners to have a conscience, and explained to the parents that they have the power to make the stores offer competitive prices.

Parents also expressed their views on automatic promotion, and made recommendation on how children should be promoted.

Minister Manickchand addressed a range of other issues raised by parents/guardians in the county, and committed to bringing to the attention of the various Ministers the matters that were raised.

(GINA)

This is another senseless, haphazard program that is to absolutely no ends. Combine this with a points system alone to move people to high school and our education system is plainly pedagogic with talent left shewn by the wayside.

yuh a give away money? abee guh kiss yuh abee guh pujaree yuh abee guh even kiss yuh BT if you want us to do dat.

It lil big so dat will mek it easier for abee to kiss your ass for pittance.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

This is another senseless, haphazard program that is to absolutely no ends. Combine this with a points system alone to move people to high school and our education system is plainly pedagogic with talent left shewn by the wayside.

We cannot forget to remind Ms Manaic-chand that this is taxpayer money, not CHURCH Manichand money.

PPP sharing out plenty bribe money in Berbice.

Objective: Buy votes.

Rationale: Give the children money, parents will be happy, they will vote PPP.

Possible outcome: Tek de money. Don't vote PPP.

I am sure everyone will agree that this honorable woman is getting prettier each day. She's powerful and pretty indeed. Can I get a vote of confidence for Dr. Priya?

Poor you, trying to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear!

I am sure everyone will agree that this honorable woman is getting prettier each day. She's powerful and pretty indeed. Can I get a vote of confidence for Dr. Priya?

Are you serious???   Tell that to POOR Parents who are breaking their backs to send their Children to School.  Al YUh should think before writing!!!!

Who mek the parent poor after 22 years of PPP rule?

Just a point to consider before yu write next time.

Close to 40% of Guyana lives below the poverty line and this situation getting worst every day.

PPP buying vote. 

Just like how your god father Burnham used to buy people voted in 1973.

PPP = PNC.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

PPP buying vote. 

PPP = PNC.

You is very angry Mr Singh?

Close to 40% of Guyana lives below the poverty line and this situation getting worst every day.

You have to be very Stupid indeed. There are POOR People everywhere in this World and there will ALWAYS be POOR People in this World. It is NOT difficult to understand this but then again is you I am communicating with.

Mr Nerhu how you writing so much sentence? 

Last night you inspired me so much I want to write on and on.

PPP buying vote. 

PPP = PNC.

The English Language school that I went to taught me the sentence is constructed in this manner  - You are very angry Mr. Singh.

TK, you desperation got you writing a bundle of bull sh!T every day.

Go back to school you dunce - Madam Jumbie Battie (JB) ak TK ak jumbie no 3.

This cow is trying to bribe for votes. Dem will teck de money and stay away from the polls.

PPP buying vote. 

PPP = PNC.

The English Language school that I went to taught me the sentence is constructed in this manner  - You are very angry Mr. Singh.

Mr Sing queens college teach you to curse like so? 

PPP buying vote. 

PPP = PNC.

Mr Sing queens college teach you to curse like so? 

All right Jumbie Battie (ak TK), my name is Brian.  I cannot help you if you are ready for Berbice Mad House.

Please TK, let us focus on issues, please.

Come out of the closet and stop wearing drawers and calling yourself JB.

You will earn much more respect if you post in your real name like me.

John Kerry in September 2004, then-vice presidential nominee John Edwards derided the Republicans' attempt to make lackluster job-creation numbers into a shining moment for the Bush administration. "They're going to try every way they know to put lipstick on this pig," he said.  "But you know when you put lipstick on a pig, at the end of the day, it's still a pig."

They're going to try every way they know to put lipstick on this pig," he said.  "But you know when you put lipstick on a pig, at the end of the day, it's still a pig."

OH scrunt!  Whattax Mits.