This looks bad on Govt.....
why wait until after they loose the elections in Georgetown to cut off the water...
What was Jagdeo & Irfan doing all year??????

GWI disconnects over 12,000 in December
December 31, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News
As part of their year-end campaign, Guyana Water Inc (GWI) has disconnected over 200 residents daily in region four for overdue water payments.
Collectively12, 000 citizens were disconnected this month for failing to pay their water bills.
GWI’s disconnection teams have been mobilised in several key areas which the company has identified as having the most customers who are behind in their payments. These include communities in Georgetown such as South Ruimveldt Gardens, South Ruimveldt Park, Newtown- Kitty, Tucville, Bel Air Gardens, Lamaha Springs, Prashad Nagar, North Ruimveldt, Blygezight- Campbellville and Kitty- Campbellville.
This is part of the water company’s campaign which began on December 7, 2011 and which was aimed at recovering millions of dollars in outstanding revenue. GWI stated that the campaign will not stop until outstanding fees are paid in full.
GWI noted that the company must balance its books in December, as its fiscal year runs from January to December.
GWI’s Billings Manager, Julie Ragnauth stated that the company has experienced challenges with the delivery of bills via post.
. “A number of bills were returned and we are working to rectify all issues with the Post Office.”
“However, customers are aware that they are utilizing our service and should enquire about their service charges via our call centre. Non-receipt of a bill will not bar a customer from disconnection.”
Public Relations Officer of GWI, Timothy Austin said the first priority is ensuring that disconnections run smoothly and all residents who wish to reactivate their services are given the chance to do so.
He noted that persons tampering with the lines and reconnecting themselves will be prosecuted under the Water and Sewage Act of 2002 that states anyone caught tampering will be fined $ 25,000 and GWI can take those persons to court. Presently, a few cases are currently pending.
He said a single water treatment plant has a monthly cost of more than
$6 M, and the cost of treating and transporting water is very expensive.
Adding that the water is highly subsidized, he said Guyanese need to respect the process of paying for water and through GWI’s commitment to educating the public he is sure that progress is being made.

Originally posted by Wally:
This is not good. It is a service not a utility.

Lissen up banna, people must pay for services/utilities. Dem tings costs money...big time. We who pay gafa pay high rates to offset dem skaliwags who want to tief. We pay nuff rates and taxes and Govt don't fix we roads caz we gat lil money. Is time the friggin Govt get dem head straight and tek care of who support and pay dem. Dem people wah pay no tax, wah loot and bun and tief and kill getting good road, free waata, etc and dem tun roun and kick alyuh PPP asses, alyuh deserve it. PPP prapa screwed up, now dem keching lil sense.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Lissen up banna, people must pay for services/utilities. Dem tings costs money...big time. We who pay gafa pay high rates to offset dem skaliwags who want to tief. We pay nuff rates and taxes and Govt don't fix we roads caz we gat lil money. Is time the friggin Govt get dem head straight and tek care of who support and pay dem. Dem people wah pay no tax, wah loot and bun and tief and kill getting good road, free waata, etc and dem tun roun and kick alyuh PPP asses, alyuh deserve it. PPP prapa screwed up, now dem keching lil sense.

wan trick pony bai . . . U panty smellin stink.

guh wash up lil, arite
It looks bad for the combined opposition, which you say is now running the country.

tell the people to pay their bill rather than going in the rum shops every day and spending their money, thus robbing their children of a good balanced meal.
Originally posted by redux:
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
. . . the combined opposition, which you say is now running the country.

Who seh suh?

All the AFC supporters.
Originally posted by redux:
. . . the combined opposition, which you say is now running the country.

Who seh suh?

All the AFC supporters.

Really!!? Good wan . . .
You dunces really believe that GWI should share out free water?? Try not paying your water bill in the US or CA and see how fast they cut off the water supply. Its a business dummies, not an entitlement.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
You dunces really believe that GWI should share out free water?? Try not paying your water bill in the US or CA and see how fast they cut off the water supply. Its a business dummies, not an entitlement.

Dem tekking, nobady tiefin' bai.
So finally you realised yuh talkin to DUMMIES. And some ah dem ah Professors. partybanana partybanana yippie yippie
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
there are many persons who are wasting water, GWI needs to do more to disconnect these persons and until they settle their debts and also ensure that all connections are metered. I have a metered connection and its ok, I use only what I need. I see my neighbours leaving their pipes on day and night without regards for other people and wasting a precious and costly resource.

Go GWI - disconnect all of them wasters, use my taxes wisely.
Originally posted by The Blade Runner:
there are many persons who are wasting water, GWI needs to do more to disconnect these persons and until they settle their debts and also ensure that all connections are metered. I have a metered connection and its ok, I use only what I need. I see my neighbours leaving their pipes on day and night without regards for other people and wasting a precious and costly resource.

yes take it and build the housing minister house mr ALI and also do the road in pradoville2
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Originally posted by Wally:
This is not good. It is a service not a utility.

you is a ass a complete ass.you trying to say only black people water was cut off,you moron.the ppp crime family stealing the tax payers money and building fancy house and you ranting with your racist remarks.well the oppistion is calling for a 20% increace in wages,i hope the government will grant it so the people can pay their water bill.maybe the government should tell the people how much money they own the city and GWI.you get pay by the tax payers to write shit on this forum
Originally posted by warrior:
Originally posted by The Blade Runner:

yes take it and build the housing minister house mr ALI and also do the road in pradoville2

easy there warrior, we all have to be responsible citizens. Corruption is not a one way street. Many of the persons mouthing off currently would have at some point paid a little extra to someone to get something done.

To see change we have to be the change. How do we expect and demand a responsible government when we ourselves are not responsible?

How many of us knowingly break the speed limit and when caught give the officer a "fry rice money" instead of asking for a ticket?

How many of us litter fully well knowing that it is an offense?

Wasting water is a moral crime, look at how many persons are dying of thirst while we take it for granted. They'll know how much the water they are wasting is needed when they are disconnected.