End of an era… Astor Cinema to officially close June 30 -- after 70 years in operation

Written by Telesha Ramnarine, Sunday, 23 June 2013 00:17, Source

THE Astor Cinema, proverbially the “Last of the Mohaicans” and representative of the halcyon days of a glorious bygone era when owning a cinema was engaging in big business in Guyana, has announced that, come next Sunday, June 30, its doors would be closed to the public for the very last time.

alt

Members of the public visit this poster area in Astor’s lobby on a daily basis

This ‘tragic’ announcement comes after the Astor has faithfully served the entertainment needs of the Guyanese public for some 70 years.

Standing on Lot 189, at the corner of Waterloo and Church Streets in Cummingsburg, Georgetown, the sad news of the closure was initially announced via a ‘For Sale or Rent’ sign tacked on the building since last April; and there was nothing more than a contact email address for interested persons to follow up.

The rumour mill had churned out that the cinema was to cease operating in the last week of May, but confirmed reports have indicated that the edifice will have its final commercial showing of a movie on June 30. Staff members have each received official notification in this respect via a letter that also thanked them for their years of hard work and dedicated service.

alt

The historic Astor Cinema

Most cinemas in Guyana had chosen to terminate their activities several years ago, but the Astor Cinema had persevered, perhaps in a valiant fight against impossible odds. It stood its ground, and had managed to last very much longer than skeptics had anticipated.

Remember when it was truly a unique experience being in the Astor Cinema with its full stereo surround sound and its convenient little canteen that always featured a hot puri and egg ball with sour? A diligent effort was also made to keep the surroundings clean and tidy.

Veteran entertainer Cyril Shaw, in an article published in this newspaper back in 2000, made a few observations about the Astor. Among the things he had mentioned were that this cinema had always carried ‘full houses’ on opening nights,

alt

One of the stairways in the lobby leading up to the auditorium of the cinema

and had managed to attract diverse audiences.

Astor opened its doors with the premiere boxing movie ‘Golden Boy’, starring William Holden and Barbara Stanwyck, which ran with a full house for four days!

This cinema not only provided the best in movie entertainment, but also carried news from foreign countries as well as local news on film clips.

It gave us vaudeville shows wherein some of the world’s top artistes made their early performances, among whom were the Mighty Sparrow, Madame O’Lindy, Lord Kitchener, and Small Island Pride. The first known Broadway star to come to Guyana, Lawrence Winters, performed at the Astor in the last 1940s.

“Whenever you go to a video store and rent a pirated movie, stop and think about the booming cinema industry in other countries, and the good old days when you lined up for hours to purchase a ticket to see ‘Jaws’ or ‘Saturday Night Fever’ at the same time as the rest of the world,” Shaw advised in the article.

Other popular cinemas in Guyana, all closed now, included the Star Cinema, formerly located at La Penitence Street in Albuoystown; The Globe, formerly located directly opposite the Astor on Church Street; Metropole, formerly located at Wellington and Robb Streets; Plaza, formerly on Camp Street between New Market and Middle Streets; Strand, formerly at Charlotte and Wellington Streets; and the once most popular Liberty, located at Vlissengen Road and Garnett Street in Newtown, Georgetown.

Originally Posted by God:

70 years ago, DG was most likely an excited 10 year old on opening night. 

Sad to see it go, DVD's killing the local cinemas. Hope they put the building to good use.

And you were the elderly one who accompanied me to the cinema.

If you enjoyed the company of elderly male strangers taking you to the movies when you were a little boy, it surely wasn't me. You're older than my father so I wasn't even a thought at that time and I only take females to the movies. A few more years and you'll be rivaling Methuselah. 

You have the option to quit spouting your constant nonsense.

And your reference to me being some elderly man who took you to the movies is not nonsense? 

Did I even address you in the first place? 

And your reference to me being some elderly man who took you to the movies is not nonsense? 

When apt, it is my option to highlight your constant ignorance.

Them old cinemas bring back a lot of memories.

Remember the days when you go with a lil chick, try a lil hanky-panky and get a good slap.

You probably received quite a few slaps, Baseman.

Remember the days when you go with a lil chick, try a lil hanky-panky and get a good slap.

Time cannot erase....boyhood days.

Coming from a demented ole goat who has lost his marbles eons ago.  

Time cannot erase....boyhood days.

Quite true, Baseman.

Young girls and boyhood days have lots of memories.

Unfortunate that you are still seeking your lost marbles.

I'm a young man with all my marbles intact. It's quite obvious that yours have deserted you a long time ago but this is not uncommon for octogenarians suffering from Alzheimer's. You might be in good company. 

Perpetual irrelevance.

Them old cinemas bring back a lot of memories.  Remember the days when you go with a lil chick, try a lil hanky-panky and get a good slap.

The Demented Ole Guy wouldn't know about this. He said that elderly men accompanied him to the theater when he was a boy.  

god, u won't let dat happen?

i had some great times in astor infact i had sex in the back seat of house with this crazy girl i could remember the night godfather open man it was madness the wall at pit was push down great days 

Well, you certainly seem to have floated out of a low-life clan!!

boy you call it right i guess you was a nord if you use to hang with me i would have turn you into a real man

I did expect that would be your line of thinking.  It's fits!

Astor had a special meaning for me; I met one of my girlfriends there in the mid-1970s. I escorted other girlfriends there too. Besides watching great movies I attended a live performance by Jamaican reggae star Pluto Shervington.

When someone gets down to write Georgetown's social history, Astor and the other cinemas will definitely be examined and discussed.

Life goes on.

When someone gets down to write Georgetown's social history, Astor and the other cinemas will definitely be examined and discussed.

Life goes on.

The late Godfrey Chin wrote about the cinemas and other issues in Guyana.

One of his books -- "Godfrey’s Nostalgias-Golden Memories of Guyana 1940-1980."

One great memory of Astor cinema was when they showed the Godfather. I lined up to buy tickets for pit. I reached the hole to push yuh hands with yuh money and get the ticket in return. This after several guys crawled on top of heads and the sashaying of the crowd in a veritable physics of motion. Bannaz I reached Church St in the blink of an eye with meh couple bob pieces gone in the hole. [I had a similar experience at Globe cinema for Wang Yu in the One-armed swordsman]. Anyhow I eventually poped in House - yuh see I was living in Waterloo St at the time and we had a couple of wutless people in a group. We poped one day at ringside at Eve Leary after sliding on a pipe across the trench and squeezing our way thru the ring side barrier.

Those were the days.

Look how the PPP is turning this closure into a political issue instead of a social and economic one. That can mean only one thing: the land is destined for some corrupt PPP ideals.

Astor brings back many memories.  I remember trying to get in for the 8 pm show on the first day the movie Saturday Night Fever opened at the Astor in Guyana. I almost got trampled in the crowd to get in.  But the movie was worth it.

One great memory of Astor cinema was when they showed the Godfather. I lined up to buy tickets for pit. I reached the hole to push yuh hands with yuh money and get the ticket in return. This after several guys crawled on top of heads and the sashaying of the crowd in a veritable physics of motion. Bannaz I reached Church St in the blink of an eye with meh couple bob pieces gone in the hole. [I had a similar experience at Globe cinema for Wang Yu in the One-armed swordsman]. Anyhow I eventually poped in House - yuh see I was living in Waterloo St at the time and we had a couple of wutless people in a group. We poped one day at ringside at Eve Leary after sliding on a pipe across the trench and squeezing our way thru the ring side barrier.

Those were the days.

That's interesting.  Baseman always abide with what he paid for, and paid for what he wanted.  You see, even amid decadence baseman holds true to his value.  It's a value my parents taught me an my siblings.

Those were the days.

That's interesting.  Baseman always abide with what he paid for, and paid for what he wanted.  You see, even amid decadence baseman holds true to his value.  It's a value my parents taught me an my siblings.

Baseman like yuh neva had small days???