Michael Sookoo and Avishkar Rambarran (behind) exit the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court.

June 9, 2017

-remanded to prison

TWO CIVIL engineers, who were allegedly caught with a quantity of cocaine in a car along the Grove, East Bank Demerara (EBD) public road, appeared before City Magistrate, Sunil Scarce at the Georgetown Magistrate’s Court on Friday, charged with the possession of cocaine for the purpose of trafficking.

Avishkar Rambarran of Enmore North, East Coast Demerara (ECD) and Michael Sookoo, of Corbina Park, Annandale ECD, both aged 20, pleaded not guilty to the offence, which alleged that on June 8, 2017 at Grove, EBD they had 254 grams of cocaine for the purpose of trafficking.

The men’s lawyer, Patrice Henry told the court that the vehicle in which the alleged drugs were found, is a rental car. Police prosecutor, Corporal Adoni Innis said that on the day in question, at about 13:30hrs, ranks on mobile patrol stopped and searched the vehicle the two accused were in, when the suspected narcotics were found wrapped in a parcel hidden in the glove compartment of the car.

The prosecutor further explained that the two accused reportedly told ranks “Is just a lil hustle,” and begged for a second change. Innis objected to the men being granted their pretrial liberty based on the prevalence and seriousness of the offence.

Magistrate Scarce ruled in the prosecution’s favour and remanded the duo until June 26.

Cocaine dealing has risk, but it is very profitable that highly professional people sees the profit worth the risk. Cocaine is irreversible in Guyana. Soon we will see oil and drug war in Guyana. Government is not prioritizing drug control. 

They allegedly said "is jus a lil hustle" nuh baie?

At least dem bais were not given senna to shit out the pellets as the PNC fund raisers. Allegedly means they are only accused; could have been a PNC set up to get them fired form their jobs so that some PNC card carrying, one subject GCE(Religious Knowledge) thugs can take their jobs. Sounds like the PNC MO?

Skelly,

trying to say Indos are clean as a whistle,unfortunately many in the street peddling runnings.

Just imagine how things bad in Guyana? Engineers have to hustle. If, the dudes got the drugs, they are smart enough to not to put it in the glove compartment. The PNC operatives would do that knowing they will get a free pass if caught. Ting nah look regula deh.

Skelly,

trying to say Indos are clean as a whistle,unfortunately many in the street peddling runnings.

Just imagine how things bad in Guyana? Engineers have to hustle. If, the dudes got the drugs, they are smart enough to not to put it in the glove compartment. The PNC operatives would do that knowing they will get a free pass if caught. Ting nah look regula deh.

Spinning t@rass..eh bhai !!!

Your racism shines like a beacon dude.

Ow bai, how can you say I am a racist. I am in a mixed marriage, some of my best friends are blacks, I always give panhandlers a buck or two, even  blacks and bucks get my money. Did you ever think I only despise Guyanese blacks? Could it be from experience growing up?

Skelly,

This ain't no spin!!! This is life in Guyana, whether we like it or not.

Skelly,

Skelly,

You are definitely speaking from experience, you are the one that have many families back home, are they on the streets peddling runnings, to quote your lingo. There are enough Cain ,Caribj and others on GNI to trash INDOS, but coming from your mouth, you are a coolie thinking like Blacks, maybe your are an Indian wanna be Black.

Skelly,

Skelly,

You are definitely speaking from experience, you are the one that have many families back home, are they on the streets peddling runnings, to quote your lingo. There are enough Cain ,Caribj and others on GNI to trash INDOS, but coming from your mouth, you are a coolie thinking like Blacks, maybe your are an Indian wanna be Black.

Django needs a couple extra lashes in his baxside. Drug, Nehru and the rest of the boys are tired flogging Django. He has a few layers of bubble wrap and foam on his work bench. He might need to wrap more or get padded inserts on his pants.

Looks like chronicle give wrong info, these guys are students and not engineers yet.

UG students remanded for narco-trafficking

Avishkar Rambarran and Michael Sukhu, two Civil Engineering students of the University of Guyana, were on Friday arraigned before the Georgetown Court 10 Magistrate, jointly charged with allegedly trafficking 254 grammes of cocaine on the Grove public road, East Bank Demerara on June 8th.

Investigating ranks had reportedly busted them with the narcotics allegedly contained in several transparent packets stashed in the glove compartment of the vehicle in which they were travelling along the Grove Public Road, East Bank Demerara.

Avishkar Rambarran

Defence Counsel Patrice Henry, in an application for bail that was overruled, contended that his clients had “no knowledge” of the presence of the narcotics in the car, which he added had been rented and did not belong to them. He also alleged that the rented car had been fingered as the motor vehicle used in a recent robbery, this being the sole reason for the police pursuing the vehicle. Moreover, he said the UG students are close acquaintances, are both 20 years of age, and both reside on the East Coast of Demerara.

But Police Prosecutor Adoni Innis related that, upon being busted, the men pleaded with the ranks to be released and given aa second chance, while explaining that the operation was “just a lil hustle”. The men have been remanded, and the case will continue on June 26.

Skelly,

Skelly,

Django needs a couple extra lashes in his baxside. Drug, Nehru and the rest of the boys are tired flogging Django. He has a few layers of bubble wrap and foam on his work bench. He might need to wrap more or get padded inserts on his pants.

Kp,i give jacket his jacket,every race have bad eggs,condoning wrong doings is not my fort,by the way what my family have to do with the post.

Skelly,

well if you called their post flogging,surely your judgement is poor.