Rice farmers outside the Georgetown Magistrates' Court on Monday.

DEMERARA WAVES, MARCH 25 --- Several Essequibo rice farmers on Monday picketed the National Assembly as the budget was being read despite assurances from the government that they would soon be paid monies owed to them.

Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy recently revealed that farmers were owed some $300M by millers and that his ministry would be moving to clear the debt. He explained that the ministry would recoup the money from the millers once they were paid for their shipments to neighbouring Venezuela.

But about two dozen placard-carrying individuals congregated beyond the barriers that ringed the Parliament Building Monday afternoon to voice their displeasure. “Farmers want early meeting with the president” one placard read while several others lambasted the Rice Producers Association for the representation it had afforded them.

“There is a serious situation going on right now in Essequibo where monies are being released by this present administration to pay farmers and they are not getting it. Farmers are not being paid the sums that are owed to them; if you’re owed a million you get a $500,000 cheque and the other five they give you either a post-dated cheque or tell you to come back or something of the sort,” farmer Nateram complained to opposition leader David Granger whom they had asked to meet.

The farmer acknowledged that they did meet Dr. Ramsammy last week but said they were dissatisfied with the interaction.

Granger told the group that the APNU was aware of their problems with funding in the sector.

“We support your demands that there should be a fund so that you have a stable price, you can depend on it, you can’t go from crop to crop wondering wuh gon happen, when yuh gon get pay,” he stated.

He added that the APNU would make representation on their behalf for the set up of a national fund to stabilise rice prices.

AFC executive member Moses Nagamootoo also spoke to the farmers and said they wanted a standing account with the commercial banks that would be accessible to the millers to ensure the farmers were paid in a timely manner.

Meanwhile, inside the Asembly, Minister of Finance Dr. Ashni Singh spoke about the "historic high" to which the rice industry had grown as a result of favourable market conditions. 

He also announced that some $500M had been earmarked this year to boost the industry's competitiveness and resilience.

aL yuH REMEMBER WHEN bURNHAM USED To sieze ALL rice and take them to YSM run Coops???????????

do  you remember why the black people use to call hoyte desmond persaud,because he make the rice farmers rich,but then you will know nothing about this you never plant rice 

Burnham came to a certain village on the east coast and size the land that was given to a mosque for extension and give that land to a man to plant, he na plant but rear pig which would go into the compound of the mosque, today the same farmer foot get rot and had to be amputate, I use to push a cart after school to get water from african village, as he design it that way.

Originally Posted by david:

Burnham came to a certain village on the east coast and size the land that was given to a mosque for extension and give that land to a man to plant, he na plant but rear pig which would go into the compound of the mosque, today the same farmer foot get rot and had to be amputate, I use to push a cart after school to get water from african village, as he design it that way.

And some Bannas on GNI cant wait for another Burnham.

cause them rass na live in Guyana or them did not experience the punishment in those days.

Not really, they are the type that will sell their Souls and more to look important, get a chance to  thief and so on.

aL yuH REMEMBER WHEN bURNHAM USED To sieze ALL rice and take them to YSM run Coops???????????

Like Burnham use to his way with yall....I guess is Burnham cause you to suck free rum all these years...

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Like Burnham use to his way with yall....I guess is Burnham cause you to suck free rum all these years...

It is FREE because someone close to you is paying the Bill.

Guyana has to go after the Nigerian rice market.  Every year Nigeria imports hundreds of millions of dollars in rice from India.  Guyana should try to get a piece of that market.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Guyana has to go after the Nigerian rice market.  Every year Nigeria imports hundreds of millions of dollars in rice from India.  Guyana should try to get a piece of that market.

First, we need India to help us with the Rice and Sugar Industry.

We planted rice and they never seized the rice. They prohibited a retention of more than a bag of milled rice.

The system then was the board graded the rice and paid you accordingly. The result was one was often robbed by poor grading.

Presently the rice for oil deal is essentially a ponzu scheme with the rice farmers receiving the short end of the stick. Were they concerned with proper management here they can license brokers, factors or assigners etc all with the immediate payment to rice farmers as soon as their product hits the mill.

We already had him.  The call him Baby Kong, AKA Bharrat Jagdeo.

I though was only the Berbice Indians turning but is now the Essequibo Indians turning.

Ishaik Basir, Jagan man in Essequibo was right, the PPP is dying on the Coast.

The notion that Essequibo Indians would be meeting with Granger has the PPP in the same pain that Jagdeo was in when he took his taxpayers' funded luxury jet trip to Florida to check up on his Boca Raton house.

Originally Posted by Wally:

We should sell more rice to French Guiana.

Aye yu drinkin jackass. Wah Burnham gat foh do wid de people protest? Shithead.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Please dont call Mr Nehru a shit head. 

Patacake Mouth why dont you use yuh mouth to earn a living. Now dat is a come back

Ayu hear dis hignorant jackass.

HEHEHE Pata mouth.

Burnham never tek away people land pun de East Coast Cecil Ram is de one who used to do dat. and Fatboy couldnt do anything

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Burnham never tek away people land pun de East Coast Cecil Ram is de one who used to do dat. and Fatboy couldnt do anything

HEHEHEHE Fat Boy could not do anything HEHEHEHE