Indian city to pay residents to use public toilets

ÂĐ Reuters/Adnan Abidi A groom comes out from a toilet as brides stand at the venue for a mass wedding ceremony at Ramlila ground in New Delhi, June 15, 2014. 

A city council in western India is planning to pay residents to use public toilets in a desperate attempt to stop legions of people urinating and defecating in public.

The Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation has decided to give residents one rupee a visit in a bid to draw them into its 300 public toilets and away from open areas and public walls, which often reek of urine.

AMC health officer Bhavikk Joshi said the offer would be trialed at 67 public facilities across Ahmedabad, the main city in western Gujarat state, where officers will give a coin to each user.

"Once successful the project will be implemented in all the 300 public toilets in Ahmedabad," Joshi told AFP on Monday.

The move is the latest effort to motivate people to use toilets after India's government announced a cleanliness drive last year championed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Many people in India consider toilets unhygienic and prefer to squat in the open, believing it more sanitary to defecate far from home.

AMC standing committee chairman Pravin Patel said repeat offenders would be "identified and encouraged" to use the coin-paying toilets.

"The idea behind this project is to prevent open defecation in parts of the city where people, despite having public toilets, defecate in the open," Patel told AFP.

India's government last year announced a scheme to check whether people who were given toilets as part of its cleanliness drive were actually using them, by getting sanitary inspectors to go door-to-door.

UNICEF estimates that almost 594 million people -- or nearly half of India's population -- defecate in the open, with the situation worst in dirt-poor rural areas.

Lack of toilets and other sanitation problems cause huge health problems in India by causing illnesses such as diarrhoea.

Originally Posted by Gupta:

They dont know to dig Pits and build Outhouses!!!  Disgusting indeed!!!!!!!!

Read similar article last week. In some areas, the Govt built community toilets but the people preferred to use the open fields.

Wan old man in my Village used to leave his home and go shit ah Backdam, he does tell people the shit sweeter there.

They dont know to dig Pits and build Outhouses!!!  Disgusting indeed!!!!!!!!

The issue is a bit more complex.  I saw many shitting in pastures, etc when I was there.  I took part in a project which installed 97 toilets in one hamlet.  I did not believe it will solve the issue, and it did not.  three months later, only few were making use of them.

Biggest issue was water as the toilets were designed to use water for flush.  People have to still walk long distances for a bucket of water, if you need to take a sh1t, no time for that.

Regarding pit toilets like we have in Guyana, in many places these are not allowed as they were used to hide infanticide.

That being said, there are lots of dutty habits engrained in the village people and many times, they resort to the easy solution rather than the correct.

The initiative to pay for using sounds outrageous but is actually a good idea.  In time the habit will form and use of toilet will become the norm rather than the exception.  In the most developed nations, we use incentives to drive behavior, eg recycling deposits, etc.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Y'all neva shit openelyin a pasture  in Guyana when you were kids? What was the experience like?

Us G/town folks don't know this behavior.  To shit we must sit on something so we can relax, even if just a latrine.

When I was in National Service we had an issue with some Corentyne people who didn't know how to use a latrine.  This was a new center where the proper toilets hadn't been installed yet, so we had deeply dug pit latrines.

They would squat on it, miss and then don't wipe it off, leaving the next person having to literally deal with the mess.  GNS offered exposure to the full range of the Guyana experience.

In Minimata, Japan mills spilled mercury in the ocean and the people ate the fish, resulted in deformed children. This might also happen in the Mazaruni.

All the  cemetery headstones had fresh Mandarin oranges daily.

In the nearby gardens the fertilized was from the pit toilets and the veggys grew well.

For this reason in Mexico City where water is recycles hundreds  of times, all veggys are washed with a special liquid near kitchen sinks.

I accompanied a western delegation to Delhi and Mumbai and it was embarrassing travelling to the conference, while children lined up on both sides of the streets crapping, every morning.

I will not mention how it was cleaned.

There seems to be a repulsive odour from some people in India, that might result from unsanitary conditions.          

Y'all neva shit openelyin a pasture  in Guyana when you were kids? What was the experience like?

Us G/town folks don't know this behavior.  To shit we must sit on something so we can relax, even if just a latrine.

When I was in National Service we had an issue with some Corentyne people who didn't know how to use a latrine.  This was a new center where the proper toilets hadn't been installed yet, so we had deeply dug pit latrines.

They would squat on it, miss and then don't wipe it off, leaving the next person having to literally deal with the mess.  GNS offered exposure to the full range of the Guyana experience.

You have so much shit still stick up your head.

GNS WAS A WASTE OF MONEY!

You have so much shit still stick up your head.

GNS WAS A WASTE OF MONEY!

And destroyed young lives.