BREAKING NEWS: UPDATE - Manning in Intensive Care

Former Prime Minister warded at San Fernando Hospital

By Richard Charan

By South Bureau Editor

Story Created: Jan 24, 2012 ECT
Story Updated: Jan 24, 2012 at 6:44 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...-Unit-137966068.html

It was Hazel Manning who noticed that her husband, Patrick Manning did not appear well, and called a doctor for advice late Monday night.

The former Prime Minister and People's National Movement Member of Parliament for San Fernando East was unable to stand, and his speech was slurred.

The doctor advised that the Mannings seek emergency treatment.

Manning was taken by ambulance from his home at Sumadh Gardens, Vistabella, San Fernando, and arrived at the San Fernando General Hospital at around 10 p.m.

An update released on his Facebook page at 6.15 p.m today stated:

"Mr. Manning is still warded at the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) at the San Fernando General Hospital.

"Mr. Manning’s medical team has been working overnight and he is doing well, recuperating nicely and is in a stable condition. The public would be reliably updated and informed daily at 6:00 p.m.

"Mr. Manning and his family would like to thank everyone for their words of encouragement, thoughts and prayers. We believe in a TRUE and living GOD who is never changing and by his stripes we are healed. We claim immaculate healing and divine protection over the Honourable Patrick Manning at this time."

Hazel Manning spoke with the media at around 3 a.m today at the hospital.

She said the treatment given her husband was professional, and asked that the nation pray for him. Chairman of the Southwest Regional Health Authority Dr Lackram Bodoe also came to the hospital, and doctors specialising in neurology, were called out to examine Manning who is being treated for symptoms consistent with a stroke.

Manning is this morning being treated at the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of the hospital.

Security has been heightened, and only family members are being allowed to see him.

Visiting the hospital overnight were long time Manning colleagues Joan Yuille Williams, and Gary Hunt, along with Local Government Minister Chandresh Sharma.

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley issued a statement on the Facebook page of the Opposition Leader.

He stated: "I am saddened at the news that former Political Leader of the PNM and Prime Minister Mr. Patrick Manning, Member of Parliament for San Fernando East, has been hospitalised. The news came as a complete surprise since only as recently as Friday last we were discussing matters of health and Mr. Manning was ...in good spirits and spoke positively of his fitness, diet and exercise regime.

"At this time of great stress and serious concern we stand with the Manning family and call upon the party and the entire national community to pray for a speedy and complete recovery for a man who has given forty unbroken years of sterling service to our nation and the region.

"On my own behalf and that of my family, the PNM particularly the constituency of Diego Martin West, we join the rest of the nation in expressing our deep concern and positive expectations that all would be well, that Mr Manning will soon return to the active life he knew and loved."

Political Leader of the Congress of the People Prakash Ramadhar has also issued a statement.

He stated: "Our solemn prayers go out to former Prime Minister, Patrick Manning, Member of Parliament for San Fernando East and hope he recovers fully from his latest medical challenge.

Mr. Manning is one of our nation's most experienced Parliamentarians who has served his constituents and country with great determination and sacrifice". reporting by Trevor Watson

A stroke is defined as the sudden death of some brain cells due to a lack of oxygen when the blood flow to the brain is impaired by blockage or rupture of an artery to the brain
The most common symptom is weakness or paralysis of one side of the body with partial or complete loss of voluntary movement or sensation in a leg or arm. There can be speech problems and weak face muscles.

Panday visits Manning

Wednesday, January 25, 2012 http://www.guardian.co.tt/2012...anday-visits-manning

Yvonne Webb

Former prime minister Basdeo Panday paid a brief visit to his counterpart, former prime minister Patrick Manning at the San Fernando General Hospital around noon yesterday. Even though visits were only confined to close relatives, Panday and his daughter, Mikela, were allowed to visit the ailing San Fernando East Member of Parliament during the lunch time visiting hours. In an interview after his visit, Panday said acting on the instructions of doctors, they did not stay very long. β€œI guess he needs his rest,” Panday said. He said he was deeply saddened to learn of Mr Manning’s health condition.

He added: β€œAs you know, I have never allowed my political differences to result in personal animosity. β€œHe and I were political opponents. We were not enemies. We are human beings and we had a human relationship which did not interfere with our political responsibilities.” Panday said during their tenure in the Parliament, when they both served as prime ministers and opposition leaders, β€œwe fought many political battles but it never interfered with our personal relationship. β€œAt one time we were the longest serving MPs,” he said. touching on their commonalties. The two men are also past students of Presentation College, San Fernando.

Panday said when he heard Manning had suffered a stroke and had been taken to the hospital, he called his family to offer words of comfort and convey his best wishes. β€œI asked if it was permissible to see him and they agreed. β€œI went. I saw him. He recognised us. We chatted with him and he smiled. Mikela told him he had to get better for the debate in the Parliament,” Panday said. He said Manning β€œtried to mutter something but we could not hear what he had to say. He had an oxygen mask over his face, so even if he wanted to speak he could not.”

Manning who is currently serving his 41st year as an elected MP, is being treated in the hospital’s Intensive Care Unit (ICU). β€œMost of all, I want to wish him a speedy recovery. I hope he gets better very quickly and return to his tasks that are ahead.” Told that people were already speaking about a by election in San Fernando East, Panday said it was still early days for that to be considered. β€œIt will depend on how Mr Manning feels after recovery, from a health point of view and psychologically, but I think he would do what is in his best interest,” he added.
Minister: He's slowly improving

By Susan Mohammed

Story Created: Jan 25, 2012 at 10:59 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 25, 2012 at 10:59 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...oving-138094068.html

LESS than 48 hours after former prime minister Patrick Manning suffered a stroke, he has been taken out of the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of the San Fernando General Hospital and has shown some signs he is on the road to recovery.

Minister of Health Dr Fuad Khan, who visited Manning at the hospital, said he (Manning) smiled, gave a thumbs-up sign and had regained his ability to swallow.

Khan said Manning was moved from ICU to a high-dependency unit. "He has smiled. He understands when I speak. I spent a very short time in there and I see his recovery is slowly progressing. It is better than yesterday,'' the Health Minister told reporters outside the hospital.

Khan said while Manning had at this time lost his ability to speak, he could understand what was being said to him. He said the part of the brain which controls Manning's ability to remember had been affected.

"He is lucid, but when you have a right-sided stroke, the left-sided part of your hemisphere, in your temporal lobe, is the focus area that disallows you from articulating. But you can hear, you can understand, you can shake your head. Mr Manning gave me the thumbs up when I was leaving," he said.

"When the swelling goes down, he might be able to articulate better," said Khan. "He has started to swallow, which is an extremely good sign. Initially with stroke victims, they cannot swallow because that effect has gone. But some effect has come back."

He said Manning's health condition may have recovered at least five per cent from yesterday, and like with many stroke victims, he will slowly continue to recover until as much as 80 per cent of functions return in about three to four months' time.

"Yesterday was a medical insult to his brain. So it is now resolving based on the medication that he is getting. So the swelling is depleting and the pressure is under control. So you will find his neurons will start to function at this time. We will get success (with his medical condition) as we go on."

During the interview, Khan stressed several times that Manning's visitors should be restricted to his immediate family members only, as the privacy would assist in his recovery.

"Let Mr Manning rest," Khan said. "Let his management take over and hopefully we will get a success rate that we normally find in about 20 to 30 per cent of victims of stroke, which sometimes resolve on its own."

He said there were specialists at the hospital to deal with Manning's condition; and Dr Kamta Ramcharan, who is attending to him, is a neurologist who specialises in patients who have suffered cardiovascular accidents.

Asked if Manning suffered a brain haemorrhage, Khan said: "I don't know exactly if it is. The scan does not show anything major."

The Health Minister said Manning was going to remain warded at hospital "as long as it takes".

"He is in the best hands," Khan said. "We are giving him every single thing in this hospital to make him comfortable. I have told Dr Bodoe no holds barred. Whatever Mr Manning wants, Mr Bodoe and the SWRHA (South-West Regional Health Authority) will give it to him."
Manning sits up, asking to go home Wink

By Carolyn Kissoon

Story Created: Jan 26, 2012 at 11:00 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 26, 2012 at 11:00 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com..._home-138173279.html

Former prime minister Patrick Manning sat up for the first time yesterday, three days after he was enfeebled by a stroke, and asked about the nation's plans.

And he clearly voiced his readiness to go home, his wife, Hazel Manning, said last evening.

Manning's relatives held a press conference to give an update on his medical condition at his San Fernando East constituency office yesterday.

"Today I visited him all morning and I got from doctors very positive responses. He sat up on his own, he spoke, he asked to go home and doctors had to convince him that he could not go home," Hazel said.

Manning asked doctors at the San Fernando General Hospital for an explanation of what was happening to him. He was assured his condition was improving and he would be able to resume his normal lifestyle within three to six months, he was told.

Hazel recalled her husband complimented her cooking shortly before he suffered the stroke on Monday night.

"He was not angry, he said 'this food tasting good boy'," she said.

Holding back tears, Hazel thanked the nation, doctors and nurses at the hospital for their prayers and concern. She thanked the politicians for "genuine concern and sincerity".

"There was an incident where politicians have gotten a sense that we are not happy, but that is not the case. We have never been in a situation like this and it is a little distressed and tense and you have to excuse us," she said.

Manning's staff at his constituency office and supporters have been keeping prayer vigils nightly. "The doctors have been visiting my husband almost every hour and it is really very emotional to see the concern and dedication. There is one nurse who has been there for 16 hours," Hazel said.

Dr Petronella Manning-Alleyne, the former prime minister's sister, gave a medical explanation of what happened to her brother.

"The cause was a clot and blood tests have determined that the anticoagulants or medication my brother has been taking to prevent his blood from clotting, the value was too low, and it did not do its desired effect and it is as simple as that," she said.

Dr Lackram Bodoe, chairman of the South-West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA), issued a statement on Manning's medical condition yesterday stating that Manning's condition was improving.

"He is in good spirits and seems able to understand spoken language and is reacting appropriately," the release stated.

Bodoe stated the medical team was conducting further investigations and all appropriate treatment including physiotherapy was being administered.

Dr Petronella Manning-Alleyne and Hazel Manning.
Originally posted by Eric's_Revenge:
Originally posted by kidmost:
Eric the F@#K ah bet yuh ah wan coolie docta ah tek care ah he ra55 !

He did a much better job than Panday or Kamla ever could! no need for millions of coolies from Bihar.(Chinese workers are much better too and don't cause racial trouble)

Oh ra55 bai, Chinee dont talk but dem ra55 gon tek ova T&T quietly and unexpectedly then, instead ah cussing dem dutty Bihari Coolies and Syrians yuh gon end up cussing de chinee man dem. I tink I like dat scenario . See how dem ah tek ova Africa and South America .
Originally posted by Eric's_Revenge:
Manning sits up, asking to go home Wink

By Carolyn Kissoon

Story Created: Jan 26, 2012 at 11:00 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 26, 2012 at 11:00 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com..._home-138173279.html

Former prime minister Patrick Manning sat up for the first time yesterday, three days after he was enfeebled by a stroke, and asked about the nation's plans.

And he clearly voiced his readiness to go home, his wife, Hazel Manning, said last evening.

Manning's relatives held a press conference to give an update on his medical condition at his San Fernando East constituency office yesterday.

"Today I visited him all morning and I got from doctors very positive responses. He sat up on his own, he spoke, he asked to go home and doctors had to convince him that he could not go home," Hazel said.

Manning asked doctors at the San Fernando General Hospital for an explanation of what was happening to him. He was assured his condition was improving and he would be able to resume his normal lifestyle within three to six months, he was told.

Hazel recalled her husband complimented her cooking shortly before he suffered the stroke on Monday night.

"He was not angry, he said 'this food tasting good boy'," she said.

Holding back tears, Hazel thanked the nation, doctors and nurses at the hospital for their prayers and concern. She thanked the politicians for "genuine concern and sincerity".

"There was an incident where politicians have gotten a sense that we are not happy, but that is not the case. We have never been in a situation like this and it is a little distressed and tense and you have to excuse us," she said.

Manning's staff at his constituency office and supporters have been keeping prayer vigils nightly. "The doctors have been visiting my husband almost every hour and it is really very emotional to see the concern and dedication. There is one nurse who has been there for 16 hours," Hazel said.

Dr Petronella Manning-Alleyne, the former prime minister's sister, gave a medical explanation of what happened to her brother.

"The cause was a clot and blood tests have determined that the anticoagulants or medication my brother has been taking to prevent his blood from clotting, the value was too low, and it did not do its desired effect and it is as simple as that," she said.

Dr Lackram Bodoe, chairman of the South-West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA), issued a statement on Manning's medical condition yesterday stating that Manning's condition was improving.

"He is in good spirits and seems able to understand spoken language and is reacting appropriately," the release stated.

Bodoe stated the medical team was conducting further investigations and all appropriate treatment including physiotherapy was being administered.

Dr Petronella Manning-Alleyne and Hazel Manning.

Look like dem two bandalero planning fuh Kamla from de ops room in de hospital .Manning & Panday gon both end up in the same ICU together holding hands and meking dem bucket list.
Tears of joy for Manning

Ralph Gonsalves visits

By Susan Mohammed

Story Created: Jan 27, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 27, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...nning-138241614.html

PRIME MINISTER of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr Ralph Gonsalves, yesterday wept as he spoke of his visit to see former prime minister Patrick Manning at the San Fernando General Hospital.

Speaking at the hospital following his visit, he said he was happy to see Manning recuperating after suffering a "mild" stroke five days ago.

"These are tears of joy for seeing him and see how he is recovering", Gonsalves said as he wiped the tears from his eyes. "It's a remarkable recovery for somebody who has had a stroke, but of course there is still a journey to travel. We must give him his time to rest and heal. He is obviously getting excellent treatment".

Gonsalves said Manning was equally happy upon his visit. "His eyes lit up. He smiled. I wouldn't tell you about what he spoke about. The bond is there, there was a lot of joy. He will get better", he said.

Gonsalves arrived at the hospital around 11 a.m. and was greeted by Manning's son, David, People's National Movement members Joan Yuille-Williams and Gary Hunt, as well as Chief Executive Officer of the South West Regional Health Authority a (SWRHA) Anil Gosine, and SWRHA Chairman Dr Lackram Bodoe.

A smiling Gonsalves waved to the public and the media on his way in and said:"I hope you all praying for Patrick, eh. We all have to pray for our brother."

When Gonsalves emerged from the hospital he seemed emotional when asked about the visit. "I should tell you I love Patrick", he said. "You know I love him. He has been my friend since university. We played pan together. We did a lot of things together. We worked well when he was in government. I have remained his friend through all the ups and downs of politics. He is my brother. I didn't spend a long time with him. I just wanted was for him to see my eyes and for him to see my eyes, and the love we have for each other."

Gonsalves said he prayed with Manning and gave him two books an autobiography which contains some pictures of both of them, and the other a diary which Gonsalves wrote about a ten-day visit at Mount St Benedict in 2005.

He said yesterday's visit was a special concession by Manning's family, since visitors were limited.

Of Manning as a political leader, Gonsalves said:" He is a revered political leader of Trinidad and Tobago and the region. The fact that he lost an election does not mean that he is not a person of extraordinary merit. And worse, we have this thing that when people lose elections, they don't have merit. That is an old fashioned colonial notion. We have to value our people".

Gonsalves said he was spending one day in Trinidad and Tobago, and hoped later yesterday to visit a calypso tent and Desperadoes panyard.

The San Fernando East MP suffered a "mild" stroke on Monday night and was taken to the San Fernando General Hospital. His wife, Hazel, said Manning sat up for the first time on Thursday and asked the doctors to go home. He asked about the nation's development and wanted to know what was happening to him.

Manning was assured that he was on the road to recovery and is expected to be back on his feet in three to six months time.

Doctors were unable to say when the former prime minister would be allowed to go home. A bulletin issued by the San Fernando East constituency yesterday at 5.44 p.m. stated that "Manning continues to improve daily" and that he "sat up, spoke, read the newspapers and is in good spirits".

The bulletin mentioned that Manning was visited by Gonzalves who received "clearance from the Chief of Medical Operations for a brief visit this morning".

It added: "Internationally, we have received well wishes from many countries including the Office of the President of the United States and Foreign Missions for China and Cuba."

JOY THEN SORROW: Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines Ralph Gonzales (centre) smiles broadly as he is greeted by Patrick Manning's son David Manning (left) as he went to San Fernando General Hospital yesterday to see his good friend former Prime Minister Patrick Manning who remains warded after suffering a stroke.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/day/1,56137.html#foto
Manning can't walk without help

By Carolyn Kissoon

Story Created: Feb 2, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 2, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com..._help-138615559.html

DESPITE positive reports from his San Fernando East Constituency office, former Prime Minister Patrick Manning is unable to walk without help, or speak clearly, 12 days after he suffered a stroke at his home in San Fernando.

This, according to medical specialists treating Manning.

The Express was told that Manning has shown signs of improvement and continues to undergo physiotherapy treatment at the San Fernando General Hospital.

One medical expert said: "He remains in a stable condition and has shown some improvement. He has improved in his leg movement and speech. His treatment continues, especially his physiotherapy which is extremely important at this time."

Manning was admitted to the public health facility two Mondays ago. His wife, Hazel, hosted a press conference three days later, saying her husband was sitting on his own and asking about the nation's development.

The San Fernando East Member of Parliament began eating solid foods and appears to understand what is being said, the Express was told.

And supporters continue to gather at his office at Coffee Street, San Fernando, to keep prayer vigils.

Hospital officials said Manning's visitors continue to be restricted to his immediate family.

Opposition leader Dr Keith Rowley attempted to visit Manning but was told that doctors were working on him and he was asleep.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said she would not visit Manning until his doctors advise that visitors were allowed. Persad-Bissessar said she would keep in contact with Manning's family via telephone.

A stroke is defined as the sudden death of some brain cells due to a lack of oxygen when the blood flow to the brain is impaired by blockage or rupture of an artery to the brain. The most common symptom is weakness or paralysis of one side of the body with partial or complete loss of voluntary movement or sensation in a leg or arm. There can be speech problems and weak face muscles.
Manning 'comfortable' at US hospital

By Camille Bethel

Story Created: Feb 7, 2012 at 10:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 7, 2012 at 10:57 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...pital-138903889.html

Former prime minister Patrick Manning has started treatment at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Washington DC.

Manning, Member of Parliament for San Fernando East, was released from the San Fernando General Hospital early Monday morning, where he had spent the past two weeks being treated for a stroke, and taken by air ambulance to the United States.

Manning's son, Brian, told the Express yesterday his father was pleased with the facility.

"He was admitted yesterday and he should have started his physiotherapy sessions today.

He is resting comfortably and he is doing very well," he said.

Brian said his mother Hazel, who accompanied her husband to the US, is also doing well. "We have a lot of family in that area of Washington DC and he is being well supported by them," he said.

Brian said he was unsure of the length of time his father would be required to stay in Washington DC, since that would be determined by his therapist.

Manning is expected to undergo physio therapy, speech and occupational therapy at the hospital.

The cost of his medical treatment is being funded by the State, at an estimated cost of $900,000.

Last Friday House Speaker Wade Mark granted leave to Manning to absent himself from Parliament for 90 days.

A frail looking former Prime Minister Patrick Manning, sitting up but strapped to a stretcher and wearing a white shirt and black pants, is wheeled into an ambulance outside the SanFernando General Hospital early yesterday morning. The ambulance drove to the airportwhere Manning was placed aboard a special air ambulance flight that left immediately forWalter Reed Hospital, Washington DC where he will continue treatment following a paralysing stroke two weeks ago. He was accompanied by his wife, Hazel.
Better than ever with Manning as MP Wink

San Fernando East constituents reject move to replace long-time representative after stroke The Sunday Express continues its MP Monitor series today with a look at the performance of former prime minister Patrick Manning in his San Fernando East constituency.

By by Susan Mohammed

Story Created: Feb 11, 2012 at 11:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 11, 2012 at 11:50 PM ECT http://www.trinidadexpress.com...as_MP-139168439.html

HE MAY be a political pariah within the party, and a man condemned by those left jobless, powerless or contractless because of his election-losing decision of May 24, 2010.

But to hear many of the constituents of San Fernando East tell it, Patrick Manning is still revered. Big Grin

Despite losing control of the Treasury and, as a result, the ability to turn the sod for new projects in his constituency, Manning has spent so much money and developed so much of the infrastructure in the electoral region in his 41 years of representation that there is little else to fix.

There are multiple housing developments, from starter homes to condominiums; good drainage and better roads; a sporting complex across the road from his childhood home, with an Olympic-size swimming pool open to the public; play parks; new schools; and, until the People's National Movement (PNM) lost the government, multiple Community-based Environmental Protection and En- hancement Programme (CEPEP) contractors, employing hundreds of otherwise unemployable young men and middle-aged women.

Manning was also the man behind megaprojects in the bordering San Fernando West constituency the Brian Lara Cricket Stadium, South Campus of the National Academy for the Performing Arts and the Chancery Lane Complex.

Of the three, only NAPA was completed.

These failures mean little to the constituents who spoke to the Sunday Express last week.

Many were confident that Manning, who suffered a stroke three weeks ago and is now in a Washington DC hospital in the US undergoing rehabilitation, will be back to represent them.

Which is why word last week about Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley planning a meeting with the constituency executive of the San Fernando East constituency was met with scorn.

Public relations officer in Manning's constituency office Anthony Clarke, on Thursday, adamantly denied the executive of the constituency and members the PNM have entered into any such discussions.

Clarke said the constituency office continues to run smoothly by the staff, who was anxiously awaiting Manning's return.

The coming weeks will be the first in a long time that Manning has missed attending his constituency office and meeting with the people, something he did when he was a prime minister with power and continued to as a Member of Parliament, now, with little to give.

Many of the constituents with whom the Sunday Express spoke feel Manning's impact on San Fernando East can be felt in all areas.

Randall Mitchell, 33, of Cocoyea, said the physical development in his constituency has made it a desirable place to live.

Mitchell said: "The price of real estate in the area has skyrocketed; anything that comes up for sale does not stay on the market for long.

In Cocoyea South, buyers cannot get a house for less than two million dollars. People want to live here, and that gives a sense of the development of the area. On the main roads, there is a buzz of commercial activities.

The road was paved a few times under Manning's tenure as prime minister. There is a new pool and recreation complex, and a new park for residents in Scotland Drive."

Under Manning's tenure as PM, he also opened a vending plaza, and opened a branch of Metal Industries Company Ltd in Pleasantville.

Hundreds were housed in a Housing Development Corporation (HDC) estate in Corinth.

Mitchell said when Manning was PM, a new company Community Improvement Services Ltd (CISL)was formed, which specialised in undertaking infrastructural work such as drainage, road paving and the building of pavements and parks.

CISL's pilot project was in Cocoyea.

Another resident, Navene Maharaj, 34, said Manning's projects have uplifted the residents' way of life.

Maharaj said: "Cocoyea is better than it was before. Way back, when someone heard about the place Cocoyea, it used to strike fear into people because it had a reputation for criminals and crime. There are some bad seeds, but every community has that. From then to now, it has become a lot safer than how it was. People don't really feel afraid to come out in the night."

Desmond Ribero, 37, born and raised in Pleasantville, said: "This was a squatters' area, and Manning bless up here. We have water, lights. There is no poverty or starving in Pleasantville. Manning had a big part to play in that. If it wasn't for him, we wouldn't be here.

Other people would have bulldozed here already.

I feel bad about him getting the stroke, but God will help him to recover. As he recover, he have to come back to be our MP."

Kerron Luces, 32, who has lived in Pleasantville for 25 years, said: "Manning always come around to see and meet the people. He hold meetings right here in Pleasantville. He was always good to us. We will support him any day. He do good for us."

For some, no thought should be given to replace Manning as MP, even after suffering a stroke.

Maureen Palmer, who has lived in the area for more than 60 years, said she wants no other MP.

Palmer was at the constituency office on Thursday where prayer vigils continue to be held every evening at six o'clock for Manning's recovery.

"I am very happy with him, and I don't want anybody else," Palmer said.

Sharon Garcia, 30, of Pleasantville, said although Manning has her full support as MP, if his health issues are posing a problem to do his job, then he ought to step aside.

"I think Mr Manning has represented his constituency very well. But then again, we have to be realistic," Garcia said.

Annette Diablo, 56, of Corinth, said if a replacement is to be found, it should be someone who shares Manning's passion for his job and the people in the constituency.

"Right now, he is ill, but I don't see anyone to replace him. But if they have to get somebody, I hope they get somebody who cares about San Fernando East as much as he did."

Garcia said if there is to be another candidate for San Fernando East, Manning should play a part in the selection process.

"If he is not well and not capable, well, then we will support whatever candidate he selects. I think he should play a part in the selection of the candidate. He has experience, and the passion for the job," she said.