President Donald Ramotar has guided Guyana to further development

Written by  

Rate this item
(0 votes)

December 3, 2013 marked two years in office for Presi­dent Donald Ramotar. In the two years, Guyana con­tinues its path of growth and development, adding new dimensions to the development trajectory of our country. Guyana has been recognized by the FAO as one of only 38 countries that has reduced hunger by 50% before 2015 and as one of only 17 countries that has reduced child mal-nutrition to less than 10% before 2015. It is one of few countries that have attained universal treatment for HIV positive people and a country that has reached elimination mother-to-child transmission of HIV. 

Guyana has gained recognition for its efforts to reduce poverty and further consolidating its status as a middle income country, being one of the few developing countries that have attained the 2015 MDG goal of reducing poverty by half. 

President Donald Ramotar has insisted that Guyana must develop its economy into a high middle income country in order for its citizens to have a standard of living at least equal to those of people in countries like Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago. Signs of improved standard of living are all around us. For example, more people own homes, cars, lifestyle commodities like TV, refrigerators, computers, washing machines, cameras, the latest cell phones etc. 

The President always rejected the notion that poverty and backwardness are inevitable consequences of our colonial past. He can take comfort that his country has graduated from being a least developing, bankrupt, highly indebted country in 1992 to a middle income country today. In part it has done so by reducing the debt servicing from about 94% of income to less than 10% and reducing the debt from more than700% of GDP to less than 48%, among the best debt ratio in CARICOM. 

President Ramotar has consolidated the development path that the PPP/C Government has pursued, but he is looking to accelerate the growth and diversification of the economy. Since he took office on December 3, 2011, the GDP continues to grow at over 4%, the highest GDP growth of any CARICOM country in the last two years. The GDP growth in 2012 and 2013 has been greater than 4% for each year and, in this regard, Guyana continued its GDP growth for eight years in a row. The IMF now predicts that Guyana’s GDP will be among the best two in the Caribbean and Latin America in 2014. 

Continued economic development is reflected by further increases in per capita GDP to almost $US3,500. In 1992, Guyana’s GDP was merely about $US300 per capita. The growth has led to massive infrastructure development. New roads, bridges, schools, hospitals and health centers continue to positively change the landscape in all regions of Guyana. Major upgrading of main highways is underway. Two new boats ply the Essequibo River. Work to build a new Demerara River Bridge and a bridge across the Corentyne River is underway. A new specialty hospital is being built. New secondary schools at Kato, Sand Creek and Leonora are soon to be opened. In a short while a new athletic track and a new technical center will be commissioned at Leonora. International swim competitions are already a feature of the Aqua-Sports Center at Turkeyan. 

The IMF, IDB, World Bank and the CDB continue to invest in Guyana and demonstrate confidence in the economic poli­cies and programs of the PPP/C Government. Recently, the CDB approved the first Caribbean Development Fund projects – Parika Backdam/Ruby, Laluni and Onverwagt Roads. This is an example of the confidence these multilateral funding agen­cies have in Guyana. 

Robust growth is seen in each of the sub-sectors: mining, forestry, ICT, service, manufacturing, transport, education, health and construction. Mining continues to grow, with gold mining spreading into new areas. Two examples of the robust­ness of the economy are agriculture and tourism. President Ramotar’s Government has guided the agriculture sector to expand and grow. In spite of growth of mining, tourism, ICT and manufacturing, agriculture continues to account for almost 23% of the economy of Guyana. In part, the continued growth of agriculture is attributed to the tremendous growth of the rice industry. Both 2012 and 2013 were record-breaking years as rice production surpassed 422,000 and 530,000 tons. 

Rice farmers continued to benefit from certain policies. For example, Government is making fertilizers accessible to farm­ers at a subsidized price that would save farmers more than $800M per year. In addition, Government is expending billions on improving the drainage and irrigation system and in putting more pumps in place to reduce the impact of flooding. The Rice Research Center has introduced several new varieties and in 2012 a new aromatic variety gave farmers more options. Rice farmers, buoyed with confidence in the development trajectory of Guyana, have acquired more than 1,000 tractors and 120 combines in the last two years. 

The Ramotar-led PPP/C Government recognizes that sugar is undergoing a tough time because of climate change and the loss of preferential status in Europe, difficulties that have ended the sugar industry in several countries. But the Government has invested more than $8B in the last two years to re-engineer the industry so that it could recover its glory days. The present grinding season, in spite of bad weather at the beginning and now causing a premature end of the crop, has produced more than 130,000 tons of sugar. This is an indication that given time for the changes to materialize, the industry will bounce back to new heights. 

The tourism industry has been singled out by the President as a growth pole for the economy and for small business de­velopment. In the last two years significant progress has been made in developing a strong tourism industry. Since 1992, the PPP/C Government recognized that tourism is a viable industry, a different approach from the PNC-led government before 1992 which considered this industry as not viable. 

President Ramotar has led an aggressive effort to complete two significant projects which were initiated before December 2011. These are the completion of Guyana’s first five star ho­tel, the Marriot Hotel, and the expansion and modernization of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport. The Marriot Hotel should be opened for business in 2014. The modernized and expanded Cheddi jagan International Airport should be com­pleted by 2015. 

Guyana continued to attract the interest of the international tourist industry. Recently, Guyana was named as one of the top 10 tourist destination for 2014 by the National Geographic Organization. Guyana has previously been named as one of the top bird-watching countries and increasingly Guyana is seen as an eco-tourist haven. 

President Ramotar has directed a people-centered de­velopment program. He has maintained a PPP/C tradition of increasing salaries for public servants and increasing old age pensions. Wages and salaries of public servants have in­creased by about 11% and pension by about 40% in the last two years. Sugar workers, in spite of the difficulties the industry has experienced, has had overall increases of close to 10% in the two years. More than 31,000 employees in the private sector, such as those working as security, domestics, sales people in stores, in restaurants etc. have had their wages increased by Government rules to national minimum wage levels. In addition, the income tax threshold has increased and tax rate for those who pay tax has been reduced to 30%. 

As part of the people-centered focus, the PPP/C Government has introduced credit for first time mortgage holders who could deduct the interest for mortgages up to $30M from income tax. Further, the Government has introduced an electricity relief for pensioners for up to $20,000 per year, similar to the relief they receive through exemption from water rates. The government continues to provide free school uniforms for all children in primary schools and a hinterland feeding program has led to better nutrition for our children. 

In the last two years, education, health and housing have continued to improve. Space does not allow this discussion to describe the improvements. But we note that Guyanese students continue to top the region in CXC and there is no match for Guyana’s housing program in CARICOM. New housing schemes dot Guyana’s landscape in all the Regions. Earlier this year Guyana developed a Science and Technology Policy and the University of Guyana has launched online programs for students.

Amerindian communities are being demarcated and they are receiving titles to their land. This is together with community development programs being developed by the communities and funded by government through the Norway LCDS fund. Hinterland economic and social development is unprecedented.

Investment by the local private sector continues to grow. Credit to the private sector has topped $80B in each of the last two years. Besides the large private sector investments, small entrepreneurs are flourishing across the country. Whole new town-like communities have developed in Lethem, Parika, Rosignol, Vreed-en-Hoop, Lenora, Bush Lot, Bath Settlement and dozens of other locations in all regions of Guyana. Small stores owned by ordinary Guyanese families are springing up everywhere and beauty salons, restaurants, agro-processing facilities, and other small businesses owned by young people are providing livelihood and jobs for people in every community of Guyana. Private schools and health facilities have become serious enterprises in Guyana.

The government invested in a bio-ethanol plant at Albion; it was commissioned earlier this year. This is to signal the government’s intention to promote a bio-fuel industry and several investors have shown interest. Mega-farms are being developed for corn, soya beans, palm oil etc. in the Canje Basin, Intermediate Savannahs, and Region 9.

President Donald Ramotar and his Government are trying to accelerate Guyana’s development, addressing the challenges developing countries face. Guyana continues to fight climate change, energy insecurity and unfavorable global economic conditions. It will take more than Government to overcome the barriers to development.

But the opposition and their partners continue to place unnecessary barriers to Guyana’s development. The President continues to plead with the Opposition and other stakeholders for everyone to work in solidarity for our country and our people. In spite of his willingness to work with the Opposition, the AFC and APNU have collaborated to stymie development. In the last two years, they have cut more than $50B from the national budget. This means that they have combined to limit Guyana’s growth. The shame in this is that even the people who voted for them are hurt.

The Opposition parties have combined to embarrass Guyana. They voted against an amendment to restrict trafficking of illegal arms and ammunition into Guyana, supporting criminals in our country. This is at a time when Guyana joined other countries at the UN agreeing to restrict movement of illegal arms and ammunition. In addition, in another bonus to the criminal community, they rejected the anti-money laundering bill, causing Guyana to be blacklisted.

While they supported and demanded more subsidies for electricity in Linden, the opposition voted against the development of Amaila Hydro-electricity plant in order to chase away the investors. This project would ensure all Guyanese have cheaper electricity, save Guyana more than $US300M per year and provide businesses with cheaper rates, making them more competitive. Guyana benefits from such projects, but the AFC and APNU voted against development.

The Opposition has converted the Parliament into a circus and has used parliament to diminish our democracy. They have refused to consult in good faith and have passed bills that are unconstitutional. They demanded a commission of inquiry for the Linden riots and deaths in 2012, but when the fingers pointed in their direction, they rejected the COI. The Government is trying to finally have the Walter Rodney inquiry, but the Opposition has vowed not to cooperate.

Given the absolute non-cooperation and the aggressive anti-development position of the opposition, it is remarkable what the Ramotar-led government has accomplished. Guyana can do even better, but the opposition parties have intensified their obstructionist actions. Donald Ramotar has vowed that 2014 will be an even better year for Guyana.

KN is Toilet Paper. 

KN has the largest circulation of any newspaper in Guyana and people pay for it. The market vendors use the Mirror to wrap fish after the PPP give it out for free at Stabroek and Bourda Markets.

Originally Posted by Mars:

You really getting desperate bhai.

Weren't you complaining about yellow journalism recently? The Mirror is yellow journalism at its best. They can't even give it away nowadays.

Facts are Facts. No yellow journalism in the report.

KN is Toilet Paper. 

KN has the largest circulation of any newspaper in Guyana and people pay for it. The market vendors use the Mirror to wrap fish after the PPP give it out for free at Stabroek and Bourda Markets.

Guyanese use KN for Toilet Paper.

You really getting desperate bhai.

Weren't you complaining about yellow journalism recently? The Mirror is yellow journalism at its best. They can't even give it away nowadays.

Facts are Facts. No yellow journalism in the report.

You actually look for facts in Commie propaganda. You getting real desperate. 

Yuji is a man of facts.

AFC is about misinformation. To date.. the AFC has been able to prove ZERO of its claim.

Now how about AFC an their daily Hogwash ?

The AFC rely on "Dem Boys Seh" Hogwash and Yellow Journalism for the Toilet Paper source KN.

Yuji is a man of facts.

AFC is about misinformation. To date.. the AFC has been able to prove ZERO of its claim.

The AFC rely on "Dem Boys Seh" Hogwash and Yellow Journalism for the Toilet Paper source KN.

You call yourself a Conservative and you're looking for facts in a Marxist-Leninist propaganda paper. How do you rationalize this? You are one confused individual.

Yuji is a man of facts.

In a country where the Judiciary and Executive is controlled by the PPP and the opposition is too lazy as a whole in the Legislative, it is left to one man army like Chris Ram to expose the corruption.

Yuji is a man of facts.

In a country where the Judiciary and Executive is controlled by the PPP and the opposition is too lazy as a whole in the Legislative, it is left to one man army like Chris Ram to expose the corruption.

Chris Ram is a man with ZERO credibility.

Read court documents that exposed this dirty man.

Is Chris Ram your source ? Then I am not surprised that you are posting HOGWASH and "Dem Boys Seh" Nonsense.

AFC councillor details widespread corruption within party

WEDNESDAY, 11 SEPTEMBER 2013 15:38 ADMINISTRATOR
PrintPDF

By AFC Region 6 Councillor Haseef Yusuf

AFC Councillor, Haseef Yusuf

Nothing that the Alliance For Change (AFC) does or will do in the future will ever surprise me again. There is a saying that you only know someone when you deal with him. If I had not dealt with certain executive members of the AFC, I would still be singing their praises.I knew from the inception that Nigel Hughes would rescind his resignation because in the end, when you are in the same boat, you will never want to part company with your compadres. The ‘top guns’ in the AFC need each other’s support badly. They complement each other’s corrupt practices, as they try to outsmart their members and supporters.
However, recently there was a desperate attempt to get rid of me by the National Executive Committee of the AFC since I am not part of the corrupt ‘jahaaji’ network. They sent a message with an AFC Region 6 Councillor that if I am not pleased with the current policies and actions of the party then I should resign from the party and as an AFC Councillor. I told that Councillor in no uncertain terms that if the AFC is not pleased with my stance against cronyism and corruption and my promotion of national development, then they should expel me and furthermore, it is the corrupt ones within the AFC who should resign!

Ironically, it was the same Councillor who submitted exhaustive evidence of cronyism and corruption against an AFC MP at an inquiry, who claimed that he spent in excess of $4.5M on ‘bigan’ and ‘curass’. That was a ‘whitewash inquiry’ and even the Chairman of that inquiry, the then General Secretary Mr Sextus Edwards, was not aware of the press release which concluded that the entire episode was one of ‘misunderstanding and miscommunication.’ You cannot go against your own kind!
Subsequently, there was numerous evidence of corruption but I no longer have the resolve to bring it up. It was simply a case of you cannot fight the Devil’s case in Hell!

I will just itemize a few instances:

- Certain top members of the AFC will go abroad (Canada, USA) and members in the diaspora will hold fund- raisers and give monies collected to these members who will not submit the same in its entirety since proper accounting records are not kept. I was utterly shocked when the unaudited financial statement for 2012 showed that in one year the AFC only collected $22,087,500 from its chapters in the UK, Canada, USA, etc. During the 2011 campaign alone; one of the chapters in Canada sent $55,000 Canadian or $11,000,000 (Guyana dollars). I have evidence of this.

- Certain top AFC members will collect donations and not make any recordings in any receipt book or any document whatever.

- Monies are being spent with no proper bills or vouchers;

- positions are given to cronies and those who donate a lot.

- I saw a top AFC member collect monies and issue a receipt but on looking closer I saw that there was no carbon sheet, hence no duplication made. How was the balancing done?

- Everything was donated for a fund-raiser in Berbice and it made a loss!

- On Election Day 2011, food and drinks were diverted to some AFC members’ homes for their private use while some AFC polling agents went hungry;

- During the 2012 AFC convention, a motion was passed for AFC groups to bank all monies collected in a party account, this was never done. In fact, it was I who raised that motion which was unanimously passed. So much for accountability!

- During the 2011 elections there were three factions in Berbice and all were accusing each other about theft, mismanagement and corruption, but no investigation was done. The leaders of the AFC cannot afford to ‘rock the boat.’

- During the AFC 2012 convention, members were specifically instructed not to vote for the former General Secretary but to vote in favour of David Patterson. This also happened in the case of Moses Nagamootoo and Mrs. Punalall.

- Article 15(9) of the AFC Constitution stated that the National Executive Committee shall appoint an auditor annually yet the AFC presented an unaudited and inaccurate financial statement at the AFC 2012 Convention. There is no shortage of accountants and auditors within the AFC, so why no audited accounts?

- The financial statement which ended on February 2012 showed a surplus of $464,643 yet members were told after the 2011 Elections that the AFC owed Mrs Cathy Hughes a sum in excess of $ 7,000,000 and that the AFC MPs will have to make contributions towards offsetting that liability. How can there be a surplus when monies are owed? In other words, there were no bills to support the spending of $ 7 million! The financial statement did not speak of any liability! Here is a party that is preaching accountability but is utterly devoid of that concept in its internal dealings.

Is this the party that wants to run this country? It seems as if the worst from the PNC and PPP formed the AFC; not the best as I had believed! Mr Ramjattan himself told me that if the AFC had won the elections, there would have been ‘murderation’ among members for positions. But it would have also been ‘murderation’ to fill their pockets! Imagine all the political blackmail that is going on now with the intention to fill some of the AFC’s ‘fat cats’ pockets! Come on Ramjattan, make the ‘right turn’ or resign! You cannot allow your ‘boys’ to continue their corrupt tendencies! But then can you afford “to rock the boat”?
Is it wrong for me to speak out about the very things the AFC is preaching in public about? Should I keep my mouth shut, turn a blind eye and pretend that all is well within my party?
I believe in what the Great Mahatma preached- do not be afraid to speak out against corruption even if you are alone. History will judge and absolve me for speaking out against cronyism and corruption within my party. I will have to clean my house before I clean my neighbour’s. Let us remove the ‘beam’ from our own eyes then we can see to remove the ‘speck’ from our brother’s.

Unknown-2