Jagdeo disrespected President Ramotar

December 25, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
As one of the guests attending the wedding of West Indies cricketer Ramnaresh Sarwan last Sunday night at the Convention Centre I was appalled at the gross disrespect shown to His Excellency President Donald Ramotar by former President Dr Bharat Jagdeo.
Jagdeo, who admitted to not having much experience as a husband to give advice on the subject, was in the middle of his speech when the Head of State arrived at the venue.
I was shocked when Jagdeo did not miss a beat and continued speaking even as President Ramotar was walking to his seat without any acknowledgement that he was in the same room with Jagdeo.

Jagdeo acknowledged that this was not a political podium but still could not resist taking a jab at the opposition by referring to the one seat majority they held in Parliament.
To make matters worse, during the President’s speech, just after he disclosed that unlike Jagdeo he has a wealth of experience as a married man (either by coincidence or design), the microphone was disconnected, leaving President Ramotar to finish his speech without the benefit of a mike. Only those close enough to him heard anything he had to say after that.
I was amazed at how intimidated President Ramotar seemed of Jagdeo, who acted as if he was still Guyana’s President. He surely has the current President in his shadow.
At the end of the formal part of the Wedding, Jagdeo again assumed the position of President and ‘the Boss’ as he is often called, went about meeting the guests and taking photos with them as if he was on an elections campaign.

He had in tow Housing Minister Irfaan Ali and all the while President Ramotar was in his seat.
I found Jagdeo’s arrogant behaviour distasteful as he give the impression that he was still in charge. And maybe he is.
Disappointed Wedding Guest  

Dear Editor,
As one of the guests attending the wedding of West Indies cricketer Ramnaresh Sarwan last Sunday night at the Convention Centre I was appalled at the gross disrespect shown to His Excellency President Donald Ramotar by former President Dr Bharat Jagdeo.
Jagdeo, who admitted to not having much experience as a husband to give advice on the subject, was in the middle of his speech when the Head of State arrived at the venue.
I was shocked when Jagdeo did not miss a beat and continued speaking even as President Ramotar was walking to his seat without any acknowledgement that he was in the same room with Jagdeo.

Jagdeo acknowledged that this was not a political podium but still could not resist taking a jab at the opposition by referring to the one seat majority they held in Parliament.
To make matters worse, during the President’s speech, just after he disclosed that unlike Jagdeo he has a wealth of experience as a married man (either by coincidence or design), the microphone was disconnected, leaving President Ramotar to finish his speech without the benefit of a mike. Only those close enough to him heard anything he had to say after that.
I was amazed at how intimidated President Ramotar seemed of Jagdeo, who acted as if he was still Guyana’s President. He surely has the current President in his shadow.
At the end of the formal part of the Wedding, Jagdeo again assumed the position of President and ‘the Boss’ as he is often called, went about meeting the guests and taking photos with them as if he was on an elections campaign.

He had in tow Housing Minister Irfaan Ali and all the while President Ramotar was in his seat.
I found Jagdeo’s arrogant behaviour distasteful as he give the impression that he was still in charge. And maybe he is.

Gil

You are spinning a political agenda with a wedding function here. Stay disappointed. It appears that Gil is a spin master and a genius at propaganda.

Dear Editor,

Gil

You are spinning a political agenda with a wedding function here. Stay disappointed.

yuji22, I'm only passing on a letter published in a newspaper by someone who claims to witness what he wrote about.

You call this "spinning a political agenda?" Please yourself.

I prefer to take the letter's content at face value.

In fact, I was always disappointed at Jagdeo PR skills.

Nehru, when Bharrat Jagdeo was junior Finance Minister under Asgar Ally, he was a pitiful speaker. However, over time he developed confidence and improved. We cannot compare him to great speakers like Cheddi Jagan and Forbes Burnham, but I for one recognize Jagdeo is a better speaker today than 21 years ago.

It has more to do with what he says where, when and how.

I read you. Agree.

Papa Doc(jagan)leff Baby Doc(Jagdeo) in charge fuh the life of the PPP. And Baby Doc suh powerful, kuli professors the whole wide world rush to honor him wid doctorates.

It is a terrible thing when a person percieved to 2 b stupid. Poor Ramotar.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:
I don't believe this was the first time Jagdeo overshadowed Ramoutar, neither would it be the last. But he needs to give it a rest. He is no longer the president of the Republic.

I don't believe Jagdeo will heed your advice, Sheik. He seems to be inherently arrogant, power-hungry and power-drunk.

You folks need to grow up and worry about more important subjects, such as why you don't approve the money laundering bill. Why you continue to block progress in the nation.  Instead you still got Jagdeo stuck in your craw after 2 years  since he demmited office. 

Originally Posted by Sheik101:
I don't believe this was the first time Jagdeo overshadowed Ramoutar, neither would it be the last. But he needs to give it a rest. He is no longer the president of the Republic.

I don't believe Jagdeo will heed your advice, Sheik. He seems to be inherently arrogant, power-hungry and power-drunk.

Yuh c Robert Mugabe.

You folks need to grow up and worry about more important subjects, such as why you don't approve the money laundering bill. Why you continue to block progress in the nation.  Instead you still got Jagdeo stuck in your craw after 2 years  since he demmited office. 

You are a jackass.

You doan have anything else to say to the man?

Originally Posted by Observer:

The politicos and spinmasters have run out of topics to discuss.  Guyana is progressing so there is nothing to grouch about.      

Jagdeo is not interested in you.

"I was shocked when Jagdeo did not miss a beat and continued speaking even as President Ramotar was walking to his seat without any acknowledgement that he was in the same room with Jagdeo........

To make matters worse, during the President’s speech, just after he disclosed that unlike Jagdeo he has a wealth of experience as a married man (either by coincidence or design), the microphone was disconnected, leaving President Ramotar to finish his speech without the benefit of a mike. Only those close enough to him heard anything he had to say after that."

I found Jagdeo’s arrogant behaviour distasteful as he give the impression that he was still in charge. And maybe he is."

So,Yugi, don't you find this to be offensive to Guyana's President?

Even those of us who oppose the Govt see this as an insult.

Is this what happens to you fellas who follow the PPP with your eyes and ears closed? You miss the forest for the trees?

"I was shocked when Jagdeo did not miss a beat and continued speaking even as President Ramotar was walking to his seat without any acknowledgement that he was in the same room with Jagdeo........

To make matters worse, during the President’s speech, just after he disclosed that unlike Jagdeo he has a wealth of experience as a married man (either by coincidence or design), the microphone was disconnected, leaving President Ramotar to finish his speech without the benefit of a mike. Only those close enough to him heard anything he had to say after that."

I found Jagdeo’s arrogant behaviour distasteful as he give the impression that he was still in charge. And maybe he is."

So,Yugi, don't you find this to be offensive to Guyana's President?

Even those of us who oppose the Govt see this as an insult.

Is this what happens to you fellas who follow the PPP with your eyes and ears closed? You miss the forest for the trees?

ramotar could never have made president with out bar-rat ramotar is a little boy compare to bar-rat and like all little boys he need to be treated like a little boy not because you is a president of a country people must respect you he have to earn it and he is showing this nation he is not worthy of being a president 

You are a jackass.

You doan have anything else to say to the man?

Like you want Amral to ban me.