Minister of Finance responds to Lincoln Lewis

November 18, 2018

Mr.  Adam Harris

Editor

Kaietuer News

24 Saffon Street, Charlestown

GEORGETOWN

Dear Editor,

I refer to article by Lincoln Lewis, which appeared in Kaieteur News, Sunday, November 18, 2018, under the caption “Local Government Elections, though disappointing to some, were not unexpected”. Ordinarily, I would have read the article and moved on – this being a very busy time in the calendar of the Ministry of Finance. But Mr. Lewis’ article contained a number of assertions that warrant an immediate response.

Mr Lewis claimed, “ The administration should not forget that the 50 percent and other increases paid to the President, his ministers and all the parliamentarians, in less than six months coming to office, …” This claim has been made before, on several occasions, and has been refuted by the Government, repeatedly. That it continues to be said by none other than a seasoned labour leader, convinces me of the triumph of propaganda and ‘fake news’ over truth. Here are some simple facts:

Fact 1: President David Arthur Granger has not benefited from any salary increase since coming to Office.

Fact 2: The Prime Minister (PM) benefited from a one-time, very small (5%) increase in salary in 2015. When the Coalition Government acceded to Office, it found that the salary of the Attorney General (AG) was not only tax-free, but it was also higher than the Prime Minister’s salary. To correct this anomaly, the Prime Minister’s salary was adjusted slightly above the AG’s salary. Please note however, that unlike the AG, the PM pays income tax.

Fact 3: The salaries of Cabinet Ministers, Speaker of the National Assembly and Leader of the Opposition were increased by 50 percent; those of junior Ministers by a lesser percentage; and those of the other Parliamentarians by an even lesser percentage.

I wish to reiterate that the increases granted in 2015 were one-off increases. No further increase in the salaries of Parliamentarians is contemplated for this term of Office of the Coalition Government.

The second erroneous assertion of Mr. Lewis is the following: “Taking away the subsidies in water and electricity from this vulnerable constituent, that lives on significant reduced income (pension), remains heartless.”

Fact: On entering Office in May 2015, we found the following discriminatory situation: only 30 percent and 62 percent of 42,397 pensioners were benefiting from the electricity and water subsidies, respectively. This is because the pensioner had to have both electricity and water metres in his/her name – a problem for many, especially those in indigenous, hinterland and rural areas. After 23 years of encountering discrimination of all kinds, under the previous government, the Coalition Government decided to bring a swift end to this policy. The decision was that all pensioners must benefit from the subsidies. So, the subsidies were incorporated (not removed) into the pension, which was increased by 30 percent, from $13,125 to $17,000. Today, old age pension stands at $19,500 and will be increased again, in the upcoming budget.

The next assertion of Mr. Lewis that caught my attention was the following: “I note the date designated for the Disciplined Services to vote recorded low turnout. I have written before about the error on the part of the coalition in removing the year-end bonus (i.e. one-month salary) this category of workers enjoyed for several years.”

Fact: For many years, the previous administration had adopted the practice of paying less to public sector workers, so as to retain an amount to pay year-end bonus to workers of the Disciplined Services, only. Recall that the standard wage increase was 5 percent per annum, resulting in the paltry minimum wage of $39,570, in 2015. But a higher percentage would have been budgeted to pay increases to all workers across-the-board. The difference in the two percentages was used to finance the one-month bonus to the Disciplined Services.  Even in cases where funds remained after paying the bonus, the previous administration refused to use them to pay the other public sector workers, preferring to return them to the Treasury.

I do not recall Mr. Lewis condemning this practice. In fact, I do not recall any labour leader vociferously and consistently voicing their objection to this naked attempt to divide the workers. Instead of being condemned in the strongest possible terms by Mr. Lewis, yet another discriminatory practice of the previous administration is being heralded by him.

The Coalition Government has clearly enunciated that all workers must benefit, if there are excess resources that can be shared. Hence, in 2015 and 2016, all workers benefited from the payment of bonuses of $50,000 and $25,000, respectively. Since 2017, we have had to grapple with financial challenges that have precluded the payment of bonus. However, we have paid salary increases beyond the “5 percent”, such that the minimum wage has rapidly increased by nearly 52 percent in 2 years, from $39,570, in 2015, to $60,000, in 2017. It took the PPP/C Administration 9 years to move the minimum wage by a similar percentage, or from $26,070, in 2006 to $39,570, in 2015. All workers can expect salary increases, going forward, especially in 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Editor, I found particularly nauseating, Mr. Lewis’ attempt to connect the lower voter turnout by the Disciplined Services to the ending of the one-month bonus. I firmly believe that our hard fought right to vote cannot be so easily and callously sacrificed for the proverbial “40 pieces of silver”.  Workers need to know that robbing them of their rightful increase in wages, in order to pay them a bonus, robs them of a higher pension and gratuity since those are calculated based on your gross salary, which does not include a bonus.

Yours faithfully,

Hon. Winston Jordan, MP

Minister of Finance

Nehru, what do you think about this:

Fact 2: The Prime Minister (PM) benefited from a one-time, very small (5%) increase in salary in 2015. When the Coalition Government acceded to Office, it found that the salary of the Attorney General (AG) was not only tax-free, but it was also higher than the Prime Minister’s salary. To correct this anomaly, the Prime Minister’s salary was adjusted slightly above the AG’s salary. Please note however, that unlike the AG, the PM pays income tax.

They spread Fake News and Propaganda, The Prime Minister Salary was increased by 50 percent.

Big difference between 5 % and 50 %. Noticeable the carriers of the false news emanating from Freedom House by the Rat pack are quiet as a mouse.

This is the same Jordon that said there was NO oil bonus ,re: $18M US when questioned.  Why after 3 plus years only today Jordon is aware of this information, just coincidence after APNU/AFC got trashed at the LGE, Obviously the PNC mouse on GNI would have known about this Nancy Story, unless this Jordon guy wants to throw some Slop for distraction regarding the NCV in parliament today and there is Big disharmony within the PNC camp. Look for the shine object, it's on the right then look over there, Fools!!

Ha..ha.. what a come back, that information was always out there and can be verified.The meekly only believes the Rat pack from Freedom House.

Blasted Stale News! PNC infighting, throw it out ,their supporters on GNI will have something to talk, they getting trashed.

Suh you know all the time was lie and fake news and ran with it.

Gilly,

Tell us what you think about Fact 1,2 and 3.

Fact 1: Kudos to President Granger.

Fact 2: If it's true that the AG was earning more than the PM, Sam Hinds got a raw deal. Not fair.

Fact 3: Twist it and turn it how you want, 50% hike was overkill, brazen eyepass, unconscionable.

Dj losing he touches. He needs to update the latest version of Google app. 

According to the Official Gazette, Cabinet ministers will now receive $10,439,124 annually, a 50% increase from what was previously stated in the Principal Act. Also enjoying a 50% increase will be the Speaker of the National Assembly who will remain on par with Cabinet ministers as well as the Leader of the Opposition. Their monthly earnings will be just under $870,000 from the $579,000 monthly under the previous administration.

Vice Presidents, other than the PM, are to be paid $11,135,064 per annum.

Junior Ministers of Government will earn $8,346,492, an over 16% increase from the annual salary of a Cabinet minister under the former administration who was earning $6,959,412 annually.

The Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo will now receive $20,580,000 annually, an over $2M increase from what was previously stipulated in the Principal Act, taking his monthly salary to over $1.7M

Members of Parliament without a designation will see a 20% salary increase, taking their annual salaries from $2,002,116 to $2,402,532. Parliamentary Secretaries and the Chief Whip will earn over 12% more, taking their salaries from $3,336,876 and $2,384,328 to $3,753,984 to $2,682,360 respectively.

The Deputy Speaker will now earn $2,702,880, just under a $300,000 annual increase.

Fact 3: Twist it and turn it how you want, 50% hike was overkill, brazen eyepass, unconscionable.

And this included the leader of the opposition too.  The increases were justified when Jagdeo's compensation package or Nandalall's were used as the benchmark. 

Drugb,

So what's the difference  the Finance Ministers stated in his letter ?

The question is did the Prime Minister salary increased by 50% ?

"The Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo will now receive $20,580,000 annually, an over $2M increase from what was previously stipulated in the Principal Act, taking his monthly salary to over $1.7M"

He got a new House, SUV and the ass kissing and Batty washing Jobs!!!

LOL. Dr. Moses couldn't be more blessed if he was still with the PPP/C.  De man is a Tamil Warrior you know. 

Gilly, talkin to an IDIOT will only get yuh pressure up!!!

"Idiots" don't raise my pressure bai. I love doing business with idiots. "Miserables" get my pressure up.

The PNC is wrecking Guyana again.  Get rid of this government before it's too late.  Don't forget the damage the did from 1964 to 1992.  Some said boat gone to falls and it cannot come back. But this pessimism expressed in the 1992 came from all corners of the society. However, the PPP/C government worked very hard to get Guyana out the abyss it was in.  The years of prosperity was marred by a little corruption but it's nothing compared to the corruption we have today under the APNU/AFC government.  Merely just three years in office and the economy is reeling with tens of thousand out of work. Government priority is now is using force and fraud to stay on in office and squander  and misappropriate future oil revenues.

Come on Guyana!  Your country needs your help at this time. Don't allow the people's call for democracy and progress fall on deaf ears. Fight back now or face a bleak future.

The PNC is wrecking Guyana again.  Get rid of this government before it's too late.  Don't forget the damage the did from 1964 to 1992.  Some said boat gone to falls and it cannot come back. But this pessimism expressed in the 1992 came from all corners of the society. However, the PPP/C government worked very hard to get Guyana out the abyss it was in.  The years of prosperity was marred by a little corruption but it's nothing compared to the corruption we have today under the APNU/AFC government.  Merely just three years in office and the economy is reeling with tens of thousand out of work. Government priority is now is using force and fraud to stay on in office and squander  and misappropriate future oil revenues.

Hey..hey.. who you fooling ?

David Granger went as far as denying rigged elections in Guyana from 1968 to 1985. He saw no corruption  in those years either.  He only witnessed rigged elections and corruption from 1992 to 2011. You borrowed the man's lenses. It's no wonder you can only see what they want you to see.  Stoogie boy of Congress Place, your stubborness to acknowledge the truth is expected.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

You so DUMB you will never know how foolish you are!!!

Watch your language, when responding.

David Granger went as far as denying rigged elections in Guyana from 1968 to 1985. He saw no corruption  in those years either.  He only witnessed rigged elections and corruption from 1992 to 2011. You borrowed the man's lenses. It's no wonder you can only see what they want you to see.  Stoogie boy of Congress Place, your stubborness to acknowledge the truth is expected.

I am aware of truths and have an analytical mind, unfortunately it appears you lack such, hence your remarks.

Watch your language, when responding.

It depends on the nature of the Lawlessness):

I am aware of truths and have an analytical mind, unfortunately it appears you lack such, hence your remarks.

I am aware of truths and have an analytical mind

Sir, that is half of the truth. The other half could be expressed in the formula:

APNU+AFC = GOOD/ PPP = BAD

And this formula frames your analytical mind, no?

Sir, that is half of the truth. The other half could be expressed in the formula:

Exactly. This is a hard hitting shot.

Everybody here has an analytical mind. Some more anal than others.

Come on Guyana!  Your country needs your help at this time. Don't allow the people's call for democracy and progress fall on deaf ears. Fight back now or face a bleak future.

The people did in May 2015. Like cockroach eat yuh memory cells.

No !!

What hard hitting shot ?

I don't see you boasting about your software that can ID poster's identities. Last week end, a Larki from your village got engaged to a Larka from 51 Village at a popular WI restaurant down in the west end.