Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:
Originally Posted by politikalamity:

We young people dont care dhal and flour was ban. 

You have every right to feel the way you do and I applaud and support you 100%. There was a purpose to my post and sadly it is eliciting the response I expected. If only the politicians in Gy would be mature enough to act in a more responsible way, then, there would be hope, but as of now I feel that no matter who is in power in Gy the behavior will not change and it will be business as usual. Gy needs a hero from amongst the young because at this time it seems as though there is very little hope from anyone over 40.

Yes the politicians are hopeless. My mamoo and father believe that imperfect as he be Mr Granger is the best person. They like Mr Nagamootoo more but we all know AFC cannot win. We are backing and financing Mr Granger. 

What rubber shyte is this.  APNU will win.  Like you learn maths at Patrice Lumumba in Russia.

The PPP winning the next elections hands down all because the APNU and AFC cannot get their act together.

the ppp have their act together like Bollywood,that is why they cannot pass the AML,at least the ppp can supply the hospital with some oxygen

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:
Originally Posted by politikalamity:

Yes the politicians are hopeless. My mamoo and father believe that imperfect as he be Mr Granger is the best person. They like Mr Nagamootoo more but we all know AFC cannot win. We are backing and financing Mr Granger. 

He may be better than what currently exists in Gy, however, reality is he will be hard pressed to win an elections in Gy without the Indo votes. He needs to reach out to them. There needs to be some sort of reconciliation from the PNC and that will help them because it is certainly not coming from the PPP.

I do not understand the reluctance to reach out in terms of an apology to the nation, maybe they have, but I have never seen any statement from the PNC apologizing for the mistakes they made while in government. Until such time that he shows a real reaching out and distancing himself from organizations Indo’s see as unfriendly I do not see them winning a general elections and Gy will be stuck with the same ole. Any reaching out has to be backed by actions.

In any case with the current older generation of politicians I do have my doubts, they seem to thrive on the politics of confrontation and lies. Gy needs new blood, why is it so hard forthcoming? You live there maybe you can shed some light on that.

Thx.

1000% agree with POLITKALAMITY.  Granger will never win an elections in Guyana.

Mr. Granger is a decent human being but he is carrying a heavy baggage - the PNC and its years of abuses.

Indian blood on his hands too. Don't forget that. I will be voting in the next election. I will vote early and often carrying lots of marked ballots with me stuffing the boxes. Just like dem PNC days!

Jackass de only blood is de blood de PPP drug pusha spill.

Wah happen you cunny buss when dis fact hit you?

One doesn't have to be a PPP basher or aw PNC lover to objectively look at conditions under the PNC when all these bad things happen.

The PNC rule after Independence inherited the following:

1. A decaying physical infrastructure in drainage and irrigation, roads and hospitals.
  2. A volatile commodities market in the 70s (two oil shocks) when sugar guaranteed prices rocketed (before nationalization of both Bookers and Demba) up then down (after nationalization).
  3. While cane sugar was being replaced by beet sugar and HFCS, and aluminum was being replaced in much manufacturing by advances in materials science, and new cheap sources of metallic grade bauxite were being discovered, the prospects for Guyana's hard currency earnings plunged.

The foreign currency reserves disappeared, aided partly by poor management and corruption, and no letters of credit were available for short-term financing of imports. The infamous eat-local and produce-local mantra was ill-conceived. Pricing structure for rice industries accessories (fertilizers, bags, etc.) were anemic. 

The informal economy became as big as the formal economy (with implication for tax revenues, etc. and investment decisions).

You see where I'm going with this. The PNC shot themselves in the foot and were dealt with as bad hand.

Now let's examine the PPP.

They inherited a better foreign credit situation when the Carter initiative got the Paris Club members to write off a ton of the PNC's accumulated debt. A liberalization of the economy and banking sector started by
Hoyte's PNC paved the way for a vibrant fore4ign investment under Cheddi Jagan's 4 years as President.

The PPP took over at a time when Guyanese migrant communities in the ABC countries could supplement incomes with remittances. Gold prices took off. Investment expenditure in the petroleum exploration industry. Infrastructure remains troubling. The informal economy (narcotics and its attendant laundering by-product) became as large as the formal economy - wait, that's how I ended the PNC part of this post.

One doesn't have to be a PPP basher or aw PNC lover to objectively look at conditions under the PNC when all these bad things happen.

Very objective post Kari. The PNC may have contributed to their downfall but there were also other factors that contributed and you shed light on some. I believe that in their haste to succeed some bad decisions were made which caused them to become more and more desperate leading to poor judgement, because no one ever wants to fail – even more so politicians.

By the same token the PPP has done a horrible job of managing the Guyana economy. They are very lucky that they have come into power at a time when the demand for agriculture products and natural resources are at all-time highs which have lessened the effects of their mismanagement of the economy. They could have used those revenue earned to create a vibrant manufacturing sector, to improve security, to preserve the capital city and in general to create a conducive environment to capitalize on the ecotourism trend.

This is why I think the PNC has a golden opportunity to be the next government. However, they must stay away from the politics of confrontation, they must tangibly focus on reconciliation and they must present a viable economic plan to the nation.