This November will mark two years since the PPP lost the majority in parliament. Perhaps they're not used to be on the losing end to know that they have to give a little to gain a little. Former Speaker, Ralph Ramkarran said it right that only fresh elections can break the political impasse, and yugi second it by saying that the PPP needs to be more flexible with the opposition. I agreed fully! If the PPP is right about everything, the opposition cannot be wrong about everything either. Now, we have to look at Guyana from the center, rather from the two far extremes.  

Well said Cobra. The only options are fresh elections or the second option is the PPP being more flexible with the opposition. We need to move Guyana forward. 

Option One is better for the PPP since a PPP victory is certain with a fragmented AFC. The PNC is quite content with it's 40 percent and has accepted this reality. It is for the PPP to decide but it cannot appear to exercise both options at once. It is just not possible.

That would be hard since the CHOPPOSITION already stated that they will wreck the 2014 Budget!!

Unfortunately, they were elected to wreck anything. The PPP can't do anything about it. Let say the opposition is in a position to squeeze Ramotar balls until 2016. Is either they give some and win some, or hold fresh election. 

That would be hard since the CHOPPOSITION already stated that they will wreck the 2014 Budget!!

Unfortunately, they were elected to wreck anything. The PPP can't do anything about it. Let say the opposition is in a position to squeeze Ramotar balls until 2016. Is either they give some and win some, or hold fresh election. 

I say hold fresh Election and let the People decide which way they want the Country to go.

Nehru Bhai

Sometimes the current political situation can bring out the best in great leaders. Rammo can take a page or two from President Bill Clinton, he reached across the political isle and made great economic progress. 

The opposition cannot be wrong 100 percent of the time. Let us move our country forward.

Nehru Bhai

Sometimes the current political situation can bring out the best in great leaders. Rammo can take a page or two from President Bill Clinton, he reached across the political isle and made great economic progress. 

The opposition cannot be wrong 100 percent of the time. Let us move our country forward.

Bhai, Clinton was dealing with Civilized People.

Nehru, the PPP is weak on crime period. Even when they held the majority in parliament they were also weak on crime and security. Winning an election and building mansions is not heaven without security. I can't believe what's happening at our national gateway (CJIA) at this day and age with drugs, corruption and internal bandits that set you up before you reach home. I can't blame no one else but the PPP. It's a good sign that they are being heckled by the opposition, but unfortunately they haven't learn anything. The PPP were in control for 20 years and crime escalated out of proportion under their watch. They still haven't get a firm hold on the crime issue until now. If the PPP win a new election, there will be the same or worst Guyana will ever experience. They have to try harder and work with the opposition on compromises. That's the only way the country can move forward. We are all doing injustice to the Guyanese people when we take one side and neglect the other half. It shouldn't happen that way.   

You can write in blue or red, it does not matter because you are saying some of the things I have been screaming about. Undercover Operations at CIJA, Ministries, ALL Police Stations. I agree there has to be flexibility but if you were paying attention, you would have seen the Opposition attitude is MY WAY OR THE HIGHWAY!!!!

Originally Posted by raymond:

Guyana needs a monumental change for real progress...

Well! The Burnham constitution benefits the PPP, so they will not lead the way for constitutional changes.

And if the PNC were to miraculously win the next election, they will not lead the way for the constitution to change.

BOTTOM LINE:

The racial divide will forever be a part of Guyana's politics.

Another thing:

With the PPP in power---the opposition PNC/AFC will BLAME and COMPLAIN.

And if the PNC/AFC were to take over the executive branch----then the opposition PPP would loudly BLAME and COMPLAIN.

That's politics for you---NOTHING CHANGES.

You can write in blue or red, it does not matter because you are saying some of the things I have been screaming about. Undercover Operations at CIJA, Ministries, ALL Police Stations. I agree there has to be flexibility but if you were paying attention, you would have seen the Opposition attitude is MY WAY OR THE HIGHWAY!!!!

Like you weren't paying attention either. The PPP had their way with the opposition for 18 long years. What would you do if you can finally call the shots? Do fuh do nah obyah! We all need to take a balance approach on Guyana's political affairs to see things better. Leaning on either side is not good for anyone.

Guyana needs a monumental change for real progress...first thing is to get rid of this winner take all in elections...come up with something to make all Guyanese feel that their voices are heard and they are represented in Govt

can they do that?

Good question. Can they???

I doubt it...so they will continue to battle each other...and their descendants will do the same

Guyana needs a monumental change for real progress...first thing is to get rid of this winner take all in elections...come up with something to make all Guyanese feel that their voices are heard and they are represented in Govt

can they do that?

I doubt it...so they will continue to battle each other...and their descendants will do the same

No, not at all. Guyana is changing but slowly. There are more people today Voting across racial lines and getting married to different Races. I do agree it will take a very long time but Race will become LESS important.

can they do that?

No, not at all. Guyana is changing but slowly. There are more people today Voting across racial lines and getting married to different Races. I do agree it will take a very long time but Race will become LESS important.

You mean I can marry to a Buck woman in today's Guyana?  

can they do that?

You mean I can marry to a Buck woman is today's Guyana?  

I used to date AfroGuyanese in the 70's Bro.

The people decided two years ago.  The fact that the PPP doesnt like their decision, and rather than adjusting to its ramifications, hold temper tantrums, is irrelevant.

What people will like to know is when the PPP will allow them to vote in local govt elections.  Almost all these entities are in a state of disarray as a result of not having any elections for 19 years!

The people decided two years ago.  The fact that the PPP doesnt like their decision, and rather than adjusting to its ramifications, hold temper tantrums, is irrelevant.

What people will like to know is when the PPP will allow them to vote in local govt elections.  Almost all these entities are in a state of disarray as a result of not having any elections for 19 years!

That may happen in another six to eight months.

The racial divide will forever be a part of Guyana's politics. I do not believe that but it will surely take a very long time to change a Country that was systematically divided by the CIA and MI5, which were directed by panty wearing Churchill and the Ho Kennedy!!!

Hey man, how can you say the racial divide will forever be a part of Guyana.... and right after say I do not believe that? You think Iman doan pay 'tention nuh?