Are you trying to justify yourself for copying someone else's words?
Is not about justifying or copying anything from anyone. It is about historical dates and using them. There are not too many words one can use in conjunction with historical events and dates.
Historical events occur and someone makes mention of it. Does that mean that they own the right to it because they wrote about it.
Let's for example, take Christopher Columbus. Documentation of his voyages-if someone were to make mention of the dates of his voyages in some comtemporary written work. Who must they cite? Those events have been written about so many times over the last 500 years. I would think historical dates are not the possessions of any individuals. I would certainly cite God rather than any man. In His hands he got the whole world.
Let me get some thoughts on this.
The issue is not dates and events here. It is about lifting passages from another person's writing. If you are lifting, which is permissible, you have to quote source. Even if you paraphrase but you copy the idea, you have to give credit. If you are writing about history, you could be generic and say "according to historians".quote:âLaws that banned the carrying of concealed weapons were passed in Kentucky and Louisiana in 1813. Other states soon followed. .â.â. Similar laws were passed in Texas, Florida, and Oklahoma. As the governor of Texas (Texas!) explained in 1893, the âmission of the concealed deadly weapon is murder.âââ
Is not about justifying or copying anything from anyone. It is about historical dates and using them. There are not too many words one can use in conjunction with historical events and dates.
Historical events occur and someone makes mention of it. Does that mean that they own the right to it because they wrote about it.
Let's for example, take Christopher Columbus. Documentation of his voyages-if someone were to make mention of the dates of his voyages in some comtemporary written work. Who must they cite? Those events have been written about so many times over the last 500 years. I would think historical dates are not the possessions of any individuals. I would certainly cite God rather than any man. In His hands he got the whole world.
You are a bit confused man....Don't tell me that Zakaria is historian.
You are a bit confused man....Don't tell me that Zakaria is a historian.
Bro, this has nothing to do with Zakaria. Yuh appear to be an expert on plagerism. All I am aking who owns the rights to historical events and the dates of their occurences.
Can u answer the question? Keep Zakaria out of it, I am asking a question and not on his defence.
The issue is not dates and events here. It is about lifting passages from another person's writing. If you are lifting, which is permissible, you have to quote source. Even if you paraphrase but you copy the idea, you have to give credit. If you are writing about history, you could be generic and say "according to historians".quote:âLaws that banned the carrying of concealed weapons were passed in Kentucky and Louisiana in 1813. Other states soon followed. .â.â. Similar laws were passed in Texas, Florida, and Oklahoma. As the governor of Texas (Texas!) explained in 1893, the âmission of the concealed deadly weapon is murder.âââ
TI,
I am missing something in all of this. Help me to understand. The historical dates are recorded in the respective States(Kentucky, Lousiana, Texas, etc, etc) for all to view, comprehend and cite whenever they wishes. Apart from the lifting by Zakaria, does the author have rights to the historical dates. So many other people may have cited those dates and events in other written works. Who should be cited?
Be original and write in your own hand, even if it takes longer. Oh, and keep it simple.
TI,
I am missing something in all of this. Help me to understand. The historical dates are recorded in the respective States(Kentucky, Lousiana, Texas, etc, etc) for all to view, comprehend and cite whenever they wishes. Apart from the lifting by Zakaria, does the author have rights to the historical dates. So many other people may have cited those dates and events in other written works. Who should be cited?
The rules for citation are very rigid. You cannot take whole cloth the writing of others and pass it off as your own. Mr Zakaria did a silly thing He is a far better writer than the person he supposedly filched from and was widely respected for his reporting and grasp of facts.
This is most likely laziness and has nothing to do with his abilities. He may have outsourced his work to a research assistant who is prone to these errors. Youâve got to write these things on your own. RAs can only do back up research.
What you call laziness is typical Indian mediocrity...
Most Indians living in the west use fake CVs to get jobs they are not qualified to do.. so they outsource to people back in India who email them reports they show here as their own work. This practice occurs in many disciplines not only in journalism, but also in software development and IT and in most jobs were reports can be delivered by email. It is not illegal, so many companies here turn a blind eye because hiring this way they know they are actually hiring several Indians for the price of one. Journalism is different because copyrights are core to the discipline and mistakes will be made public.
===
It is not the first time that a famous person got into trouble for using a careless research assistant. You read too much into my statement. Fareed Zakaria has the most intelligent show on CNN. You are either seriously ignorant of just a racist. Indians dominate disproportionately in many disciplines. They are outstanding engineers, doctors, scientists, venture capitalists, academics, etc. It is not possible to fake CVs for long in the US. You have to submit official transcripts or else you donât get the job. You also go through background checks for several sensitive professions.
There was a guy in England, a Persaud who was in psychology and on TV and he was accused of plagiarism. By the way he is from Guyanese stock.
Actually, for Zakaria the issue wasn't plagiarism. Everyone knew he was a cheat like many other aristocrats are.
The real issue was that the right wing didn't like the idea of a "Guns Control" article been written by mediocre writers in India and then published in an influential magazine. What do Indians know about why Americans fight for the right to bear weapons? Indians know about how to use their caste system to exploit their fellow country men and make money in the west, but have no clue about how Americans got their independence. So what Zakaria committed was gross insult against the American history, culture and sensitivities.
When Fareed Zakaria was suspended on Friday fromTime and CNN, for plagiarism, this wasn't merely justice, it was poetic justice: it rhymed.
What it rhymed with was his own lifelong devotion to the global economic star system that he, as a born aristocrat in India, who has always been loyal to the aristocracy, inherited and has always helped to advance, at the expense of the public in every nation.
He was suspended because, as a born aristocrat, who is a long-time member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Trilateral Commission, the Bilderberg Group, and many other of the global aristocracy's primary organizations, he is so well-connected that his writing-commissions are more than any one person can possibly handle, and he consequently cannot possibly actually write all that is attributed to him. He certainly cannot research it all.
Like many "writing" stars, he has a staff perform much of the research and maybe even actual writing for him, and many in his situation are actually more editors than they are writers; but, regardless, he cannot let the public know that this is the way things are, because this is simply the way that the star system works in the "writing" fields, and because the public is supposed to think that these stars in the writing fields are writers, more than editors.
wallah! Just as I thought. He was only the face.
It is indeed sad Storm. It damages the guy's career.
Things happen. He may have been writing, cut and paste a piece of text to hold a thought and later forgot he did not write it and integrated it without updating or citing it. Things happen. He is too good a writer to need help from the words of others.
I am puzzled. Historical events that occured and recorded by a historian or any writer of fiction or non fiction cannot be used in the written works of other writers? I can understand word for word could be a problem, but the central thought could be used.
he needed to cite sources properly. He is very smart.
In fictional pieces(novels with historical content), is it necessay to quote sources?
A fictional piece is a piece of literature which is also patented. Therefore if you copy one line of any piece of literature without citing the source you'll pay the price sooner or later.
Let us take this particular case. He copied word for word. That was wrong.
Had he read her article and simply worded it differently using the historical dates.
Was it necessary for him to cite the source?
You don't get it, do you? It is not only about the words, but the sentences and the ideas they convey. He didn't provided a thought of his own, he in a mediocre way paraphrased somebody's ideas and didn't even bother to acknowledge the source he paraphrased.
This is not about the present incident but the whole idea of how a historical occurance can be quoted in other pieces of work. Basically what u are saying, historical dates of events cannot be recorded on new works because somewhere someone may have citied it before. We know that history is written by different authors at times, so a person writing a new piece should cite an author even though he has not used their exact words but the dates of events.
What kind of history you are talking about. Ancient history relies on archeological evidence as well as on the accounts by different sources. You don't write a history book based on bible tales, for instance. You also need to search for evidence coming from neutral witnesses. In the case of the bible you look for stories told by the Greek, The Egyptians, the Mesopotamian, Phoenicians, etc.
For example, it is believed that the story of Sodom and Gomorrah in the bible is simply an acculturation into Judaism of the real story of the Roman cities of Pompey and Herculaneum or that Samson is the adaptation of the myth of Heracles. The columns that Heracles separated are what is today called the Strait of Gibraltar. There are plenty of similar examples throughout history every where in the world.
When Fareed Zakaria was suspended on Friday fromTime and CNN, for plagiarism, this wasn't merely justice, it was poetic justice: it rhymed.
What it rhymed with was his own lifelong devotion to the global economic star system that he, as a born aristocrat in India, who has always been loyal to the aristocracy, inherited and has always helped to advance, at the expense of the public in every nation.
He was suspended because, as a born aristocrat, who is a long-time member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Trilateral Commission, the Bilderberg Group, and many other of the global aristocracy's primary organizations, he is so well-connected that his writing-commissions are more than any one person can possibly handle, and he consequently cannot possibly actually write all that is attributed to him. He certainly cannot research it all.
Like many "writing" stars, he has a staff perform much of the research and maybe even actual writing for him, and many in his situation are actually more editors than they are writers; but, regardless, he cannot let the public know that this is the way things are, because this is simply the way that the star system works in the "writing" fields, and because the public is supposed to think that these stars in the writing fields are writers, more than editors.
Lucas, you might be right. Remember what happen to Ron Paul a few years ago. One of his staff was writing his letters to editors and Ron Paul did not know what the man was writing about.
William Shakespeare and Issac Newton were also guys who presented (signed) others people's work as theirs. This is is a practice that hasn't been eradicated. Rather, signing other people's works as yours is an indication of high status. You see George Bush for instance had his own speech writer. Bush just read what others wrote for him, the same with Tony Bliar. You don't need to be smart, just have the money to pay others to make you look smart.