Originally Posted by raymond:

PPP has always been weak on crime

Agrees to a point. There were not this much CRIME in the US, Europe or Russia either. Dis time nah laang time. Kari and Moses need to think before they open their mouths.

Crime in the US has reduced...check yuh facts

In parts of the US, you need to check your facts. The Crimes are larger and more violent. Any Lil Baby knows this Bhai.

dude, crime overall in the US has reduced...of course you will have pockets where there is more crime....that happens everywhere, but we talking overall

Take a look at NY stats...major reduction

dude, crime overall in the US has reduced...of course you will have pockets where there is more crime....that happens everywhere, but we talking overall

You are WRONG again. Crime has not reduced in the US. please check your FACTS.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:
Why must guyana always have to be compared with some other country when it comes to crime? The subject matter is crime in guyana, so let's focus there.

Well leh we go nah. Yes there is too much CRIME in Guyana but when you have a Police Force that is Corrupt and Unprofessional, you will expect that. Now, I will agree if you claim that the Govt should do more to stop the Crime. Be tougher but that needs Judges that can be tough also. Not when criminals are placed before them they are given a slap on the wrist.

Why must guyana always have to be compared with some other country when it comes to crime? The subject matter is crime in guyana, so let's focus there.

Well leh we go nah. Yes there is too much CRIME in Guyana but when you have a Police Force that is Corrupt and Unprofessional, you will expect that. Now, I will agree if you claim that the Govt should do more to stop the Crime. Be tougher but that needs Judges that can be tough also. Not when criminals are placed before them they are given a slap on the wrist.

And who are these people being let off? PPP stooges with money to bribe Chung. Even when the police catch them red handed, these PPP stooges get away. So why do you say the police is corrupt if they can't prevent criminals from bribing the PPP appointed judges?

Violent crimes are worse today than in the Burnham years.

Executions/deadly hits are worse today than in the Burnham years.

The narco trade is worse today than in the Burnham years.

Police killings and police brutality are worse today than in the Burnham years.

All these phenomena have generated a level of fear unprecedented in Guyana's post-colonial history.

All these phenomena are occurring under PPP rule.

The buck stops with the PPP government.

THe PPP/C could not or did not protect their own. It is under the PPP watch, their own minister Sat Sawh was executed.

How do you define the crime you are referring to? White collar? Blue Collar? Gun? Domestic? Reported? Unreported? etc.

Crime is worse under the PPP

October 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, I note with utter disgust an article in the independent media that was attributable to the Minister of Legal Affairs and captioned “PPP blames opposition for crime”.  What is clear is that the PPP operators are extremely dishonest people when it comes to their accountability and performance in the “fight against crime”. The historical records will reveal that since the death of Monica Reece in 1993, Guyana has never been the same again; we are a nation at war with ourselves.  During this entire war, the hopelessly incompetent leadership from the PPP in the security sector has failed to offer any serious solutions. Since the murder of Monica Reece, over nine (9) incidents of serious crime are reported per day and it all happened under an avalanche of failed PPP Ministers starting with Feroze Mohamed, Gail Teixeira, Ronald Gajraj and now the worst of this failed bunch – Clement Rohee.  Judge them on their record! How dare Clement Rohee and his PPP reactionaries lecture the nation on the PPP’s failure to “confronting crime” by trying to pin the tail on people who do not have the executive authority over the crime fighting machinery of the state? Do these PPP failures have any modicum of dignity to propagate such an “ugly untruth”? The crime situation is so bad under the PPP that even the family members of many PPP big-wigs are paying US$1 million to become economic migrants to Canada and other countries. By their actions, are the family members of the PPP big-wigs telling the rest of the nation something? Then there is that elementary Budget mistake that occurred in April 2013 where one of the opposition parties committed “political befuddlement” by claiming that the explanation given by the Minister was “sufficient” to provide them reason enough to vote G$1.1 billion to fund the Ministerial Secretariat of Clement Rohee. This “political befuddlement” must be contextualized against a background that only nine months before that Budget vote in favour of Rohee, those same  MPs of that political party raised their hands and voted for a “Motion of No-confidence against the said Rohee”. This issue has bothered me for months and I continued to comforted myself that it was a political oversight even though one politicians tried to bamboozle me with the excuse that “we cannot cut policemen salary” which is a deliberate attempt to confuse the facts. The truth remains the funds for the Ministerial Secretariat has nothing to do with the Guyana Police Force. I trust we all will practice “politics of principle” in the 2014 Budget by stick to the principle that the majority in the opposition has lost CONFIDENCE in Mr. Rohee as the Minister of Home Affairs and thus his Secretariat cannot be funded.  For clarity sake, the Office of the Minister of Home Affairs (Ministerial Secretariat) is distinct and separate from the Budget Line item for the police and other Departments in the Ministry of Home Affairs. There remain over 500 unsolved murders in Guyana since the death of Monica Reece in 1993.  With such a track record, the PPP leaders have no moral authority to lecture anyone. All of it happened under their watch but they were too busy plundering the Treasury to have any time to concern themselves with the most significant developmental retardant in the nation. It is only a “political retard” who will not get it that Rohee is an absolute failure in the fight against crime and thus he should not be the beneficiary of any taxpayers’ funds once he continue to sit in that Chair in the Ministerial Secretariat at the Ministry of Home Affairs. Sasenarine Singh

Violent crimes are worse today than in the Burnham years.

Executions/deadly hits are worse today than in the Burnham years.

The narco trade is worse today than in the Burnham years.

Police killings and police brutality are worse today than in the Burnham years.

All these phenomena have generated a level of fear unprecedented in Guyana's post-colonial history.

All these phenomena are occurring under PPP rule.

The buck stops with the PPP government.

THe PPP/C could not or did not protect their own. It is under the PPP watch, their own minister Sat Sawh was executed.

Trafficking in persons for the purpose of prostitution is worse today than in the Burnham years. Young girls in the hinterland live in fear of being kidnapped, conscripted or deceived by the vultures who perpetrate such trafficking.

Moses knows these things of which you speak - the past regime, Father D'Arke, etc. He uses these as exhibits of how that PPP fought against these. Where is he rewriting history? C'mon man, here's your opportunity to show all on this Board that you are right about this current iteration of the PPP.

He KNOWS of all this, then why is me making wild statements???

You have failed yet again to refute the idea that there is more fear in Guyana today than under the Burnham regime.

To repeat - fear of violence; fear of a breakdown in civil society - see procurement contracts; see the drug involvement - fear of State assets being given to an oligarchy.

Pavi, these truths are glaring for the independent observer to see.

You need to stop hal;lucinating about what Moses says and what I say - what you call it? Screaming? You are an Apologist par excellence. Why? Why defend the iniquity being perpetrated on Guyanese society? Do you not see the rampant poverty all over the place and the ostentatious wealth of the tiny majority?

Do you not see the rampant poverty all over the place and the ostentatious wealth of the tiny majority?

I am seeing that quite clearly here in the USA.

Pavi, your two next door neighbors' sons beat up on their fathers; therefore if your son were to beat you up it would be acceptable.

What nonsense logic is it to say that the USA has poverty and a 1% real wealthy, and so it is acceptable for Guyana to have the same. The USA is 300 million people; Guyana is around three-quarter of a million. You have to stop justifying Guyana's shortcomings by pointing to other places on the planet.

Do you not see the rampant poverty all over the place and the ostentatious wealth of the tiny majority?

I am seeing that quite clearly here in the USA.

Pavi, your two next door neighbors' sons beat up on their fathers; therefore if your son were to beat you up it would be acceptable.

What nonsense logic is it to say that the USA has poverty and a 1% real wealthy, and so it is acceptable for Guyana to have the same. The USA is 300 million people; Guyana is around three-quarter of a million. You have to stop justifying Guyana's shortcomings by pointing to other places on the planet.

If that is what you got from it then you are even more shallow than I thought.

Crime is worse under the PPP

October 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, I note with utter disgust an article in the independent media that was attributable to the Minister of Legal Affairs and captioned “PPP blames opposition for crime”.  What is clear is that the PPP operators are extremely dishonest people when it comes to their accountability and performance in the “fight against crime”. The historical records will reveal that since the death of Monica Reece in 1993, Guyana has never been the same again; we are a nation at war with ourselves.  During this entire war, the hopelessly incompetent leadership from the PPP in the security sector has failed to offer any serious solutions. Since the murder of Monica Reece, over nine (9) incidents of serious crime are reported per day and it all happened under an avalanche of failed PPP Ministers starting with Feroze Mohamed, Gail Teixeira, Ronald Gajraj and now the worst of this failed bunch – Clement Rohee.  Judge them on their record!

You are not aware of the 1% theory in the US. You are quick to judge Guyana by US standards so don't give me that Bull!!!

Pavi, you have become a wasted cause. I figured that you had some modicum of decency for the plight of the hundreds of thousands of Guyanese who live in despair. Just go back and visit Guyana. Travel up and down the coast and the banks of river - just stay away from Georgetown's suburbs.

You are not aware of the 1% theory in the US. You are quick to judge Guyana by US standards so don't give me that Bull!!!

Pavi, you have become a wasted cause. I figured that you had some modicum of decency for the plight of the hundreds of thousands of Guyanese who live in despair. Just go back and visit Guyana. Travel up and down the coast and the banks of river - just stay away from Georgetown's suburbs.

yOU ARE TALKING bull. gUYANA IS A poor Country, has always been and will be for a long time to come. HOWEVER, the quality of their lives have improved to a far better position than it was 20 years ago. Those who work hard and use their skills are living much BETTER than the rest BUT can you tell me of ONE place on this PLANET that it is not so???

You Pavi Nehru are the bull shyter.

You people keep talking about ho bharat carrying Guyana up but still the poverty fails to abandon 40% of the people.  Kari is right, nah just look at nice house in Pradoville, look at the rural communities and feel the poverty.

Berbicians have never been this poor as they are today.  Even under Burnham Berbicians did well.

SHAME on the PPP for bringing poverty to the homes of so many people.

You Pavi Nehru are the bull shyter.

You people keep talking about ho bharat carrying Guyana up but still the poverty fails to abandon 40% of the people.  Kari is right, nah just look at nice house in Pradoville, look at the rural communities and feel the poverty.

Berbicians have never been this poor as they are today.  Even under Burnham Berbicians did well.

SHAME on the PPP for bringing poverty to the homes of so many people.

Uncle Picha Laka Picha Moe Piche, Picha Laka Picha yes Picha. This discussion is about you brail level

I don't know why Nehru don't shut his trap and cut his losses while he's ahead. He speaks like he's some authority on guyana affairs. But what puzzles me is, how come a man who don't go to guyana or couldn't find the place on a map even if it was highlighted, knows from his hammock in R\H the crime situation or anything else in guyana. this is very strange indeed.

There are lots of things that you will never know. It is not your fault Bhai.

Sheik, Here is a hint, I never went to China, Russia, England, France and Mexico but I am capable to discuss them. is not that difficult, give it a try.

I've been to all the countries except Russia and I only care to discuss Guyana that I don't know according to Shiek.  

Sheik, Here is a hint, I never went to China, Russia, England, France and Mexico but I am capable to discuss them. is not that difficult, give it a try.

I've been to all the countries except Russia and I only care to discuss Guyana that I don't know according to Shiek.  

Ah stupid he Rass ah get stupid. He mad blood ah tek over.

Sheik,

I wish you could ask the danayael dude this question too. Thanks man!

Sheik,

I wish you could ask the danayael dude this question too. Thanks man!

Bhai, Skeldon don't ask meh Padna dem Haad haad questions.

You?? Discuss? You don't know anything about guyana. Nothing! Zip! Zilch! This is what you know; that the supposedly led 'INDO' Government is in charge, and that is good enough for you. you need to go there and see the reality, afterwards, you can talk.

Cobra, When yuh see Al Yuh 2 land there in April I gun get Customs to lock him up for a night.

Just like you, Cobra isn't going anywhere. For years I've been asking you two coolie cowards to fly with me, to no avail. what makes u think he's gonna go now. Remember, there's black people there and that's where the buck stops for you two sad sacks.

You?? Discuss? You don't know anything about guyana. Nothing! Zip! Zilch! This is what you know; that the supposedly led 'INDO' Government is in charge, and that is good enough for you. you need to go there and see the reality, afterwards, you can talk.

Sheik, it would be nice if you can visit Nehru and tell him what he don't know rather than insulting the man's intelligence in public. Is this how you get your satisfaction from friends? I am not impress with what you going on with, bro.

ppp is the one that is committing the crime the phantom,cocaine trade,murder the rest of the population is just catching up

Sheik, it would be nice if you can visit Nehru and tell him what he don't know rather than insulting the man's intelligence in public. Is this how you get your satisfaction from friends? I am not impress with what you going on with, bro.

First off, there is no insult. During the course of my travels, I have spoken to both of you indepthly regarding situations that plague the land. I have explained, in detail and at lenght situations that affect those at home. Still when you and him come here you paint guyana as a paradise. it is I who should be insulted after wasting my time with u two. smh