Felix and Patterson erred on violence compensation

Dear Editor,
Reference is made to Winston Felix’s comment in parliament on the motion to compensate victims of Election Day violence. “… when you administer the State where you cannot protect your citizens and you allow their properties to be destroyed by their (?) negligence, you should not come to parliament and ask for compensation. We cannot reward you for negligence”.

For clarification, the properties of individuals who were thought to be supporters of PPP were set on fire (allegedly by supporters of PNC). Other supporters of PPP were beaten and robbed. The police stood by and did nothing as the victims were harassed and intimidated and beaten and their properties set on fire. The fire department did not perform their duties to their level best to reach the fire and save the properties. The mob blocked access to the fire. The arsonists were not pursued and arrested and charged even though they were identified and photos are available to go after them.

There was no investigation into those criminal activities. Is it because the perpetrators were supporters of the PNC (APNU)?
Now Felix blames the victims, telling them they were negligent for their choice of party they supported. What kind of justice is that? How exactly were they negligent? What should they have done? These were innocent people who had their rights violated under the laws on political participation. Their homes were invaded by supporters of Felix’s party. By Felix’s comments alone, they should be compensated.

And Minister David Patterson chimed in stating “there is no innocent party”. Really? What kind of logic is that? A mob affiliated with the PNC set upon people who were thought to be supporters of the PPP and Patterson concluded there was “no innocent party”. What kind of logic is that?

No sir, the victims were innocent whereas the perpetrators were not. In the name of justice, the attackers should be prosecuted and the victims compensated.

Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan and Charandass Persaud sat in parliament and were silent as those asinine comments were made. Worse the three voted for a motion denying compensation to innocent victims.
What a shame given that so many people placed their faith in justice in those three gentlemen who are lawyers and who should have supported compensation for victims?

Yours truly,
Vishnu Bisram

You mentioned the names of Naga, Rumjaat and Charass ,these are three puppets of the PNC, they are no different than the tiger skin on Rumjaat office wall, they are" road kill", dead meat. They are not Indians, they sold their families to the PNC.

Moses and Rumjumbie believe that they are more important than the mission they chose to undertake. They live in a bubble and are only concerned about their pensions, salaries and benefits. They vehemently criticised the PPP for corruption and when they got their chance, they resort to worse form of corruption. They are both guilty of legalized financial theft. Shame on the two house negroes. I hope one day they take god out of their minds and put the devil in them. They will achieve their karmas.

Alyuh keep the pace going on attacking the Indians in the coalition,if you all think that will change the outcome,some body naa see far from their nose.

Puppets are Puppets, maybe you lack the ability to recognize this basic FACT!

Alyuh keep the pace going on attacking the Indians in the coalition,if you all think that will change the outcome,some body naa see far from their nose.

Not me buddy.  I do not attack the Indians in the coalition.  I am a fair person.  I attack all of them.  But these are powerful words from Vinod.

"Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan and Charandass Persaud sat in parliament and were silent as those asinine comments were made. Worse the three voted for a motion denying compensation to innocent victims.
What a shame given that so many people placed their faith in justice in those three gentlemen who are lawyers and who should have supported compensation for victims?"

Puppets are Puppets, maybe you lack the ability to recognize this basic FACT!

Some nah deh pun you side too.

This is a message for Prakash and Moses. Always remember that Karma has no Menu. You will be served what you deserve. It will be those whom you have abandoned and thrown on the wayside that will take you down. Your actions inside of APNU should make the the PPP supporters proud of BJ. He saw you and Prakash in a way that many others did not see.

Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan and Charandass Persaud sat in parliament and were silent as those asinine comments were made. Worse the three voted for a motion denying compensation to innocent victims.

The Linden riot that the PNC/AFC caused, the PPP had to compensate those victims. 

Acts commited by the Guyana Police Force under the PPP

Linden massacre

MURDERED

Shemroy Bouyea of Silvertown
Allen Lewis of Wismar Hill
Ron Somerset of Wisrock

INJURED

1. Alice Shaw Barker- 34 years old of Half Mile, Wismar, gunshot wounds to both thighs

2. Michael Roberts- 47 years old, of 45 Independence Avenue, patient of the Intensive Care Unit nursing gunshot wounds to the right side of face.

3. Hector Solomon- 23 years old, of 22 Alley Wismar, hospitalized with gunshot wound to the chest.

4. Ulric Michael- 33 years old, of 23 Canvas City, admitted to the Intensive Care Unit nursing gunshot wounds to the chest.

5. Reuben Bowen- 56 years old, of 27 Silver City, hospitalized at the GPHC with a fractured femur and gunshot wound to the left leg.

6. Dexter Scotland- 38 years old, of 104 Victory Valley, hospitalized with trauma to the nose.

7. Janice Burgan- 52 years old, of Industrial Area Linden, hospitalized with gunshot wounds to the back.

8. Yolanda Hinds- 35 years old, of 150 South Road Silverton, kept under observation with gunshot wounds to the right leg.

9. Brian Charles- 45 years old, of 30 Half Mile, Wismar treated and sent away for trauma to the right hand

10. Collis Duke- 26 years old, of 768 South Amelia’s Ward, treated and sent away for gunshot wound to the left side of face.

11. Cleveland Barker- 35 years old, of 114 Wisroc Housing Scheme, treated and sent away for gunshot wound to the back.

12. Dwight Yaw- 25 years old, of 23 Victory Valley, hospitalized with gunshot wounds to the left side of face.

13. Marlon Hartman- 39 years old, of Central Amelia’s Ward, treated for injuries sustained by rubber pellets and a gunshot wound under the left armpit

14. Troy Nestor- 24 years old, of 23 Third Alley, treated for injuries sustained by rubber pellets on his left foot.

15. Jermaine Allicock- 35 years old, of 195 One Mile, Wismar, treated for gunshot wound to buttocks

16. Malim Spencer- 39 years old, of West Watooka, treated for gunshot wound to the left shoulder

17. Shandra Lyte- 29 years old, of John Alley, Christianburg, treated for blunt trauma to the head.

18. Andy Bobb Semple- 34 years old of 207 Cedar Street McKenzie, treated for injuries sustained by rubber pellets to his back, side and elbow.

19. Collin Adams- 24 years old of 22 Danjou Hill, treated for injuries sustained by rubber pellets to the neck and ankle.

20. Trelon Piggot- 21 years old of 2338 Central Amelia’s Ward, treated for injuries sustained by rubber pellets to his elbows and abrasions to his left arm and under the neck.