Female Soesdyke taxi driver found dead in car with her son

Sunday, 16 February 2014 10:09

Published in Latest News

The body of a female taxi driver was found early Sunday morning in her car at Splashmin’s Resort.
Her son was found alive in the vehicle. He was not injured, a member of the search party told Demerara Waves Online News.
The woman was identified as Savitri Palmer also known as Maya. Said to be in her early 30s, she lived at Soesdyke, East Bank Demerara.
Maya was last seen at the Soesdyke Highway junction about 6 PM Saturday.
The source said a search was launched after the woman failed to return home after 10 PM. The vehicle was spotted in a loam pit aback Jubilee within the resort.

Everyday you opened the Guyanese papers and you are confronted with Robberies, Corruptions, Murders, can someone tell that ass hole of a Minister Irfaat Alli that the Corrupt PPP/C needs to put law and order in Guyana before he opens his white mouth Keerah and tell people to come visit Guyana.

There are two ways crime can go down.

1. The state has full employment, free education , free land to farm, free health care and free housing for everyone.  With a population of less than one million it is possible to do this.

2. Go back to Malcolm Harrypaul's idea of having armed units of a volunteer militia in every part of the country.

Originally Posted by Wally:

1. The state has full employment, free education , free land to farm, free health care and free housing for everyone.  With a population of less than one million it is possible to do this.

2. Go back to Malcolm Harrypaul's idea of having armed units of a volunteer militia in every part of the country.

For Part 2:   PNC/AFC will holler racism when Indo Guyanese units take action against Afro Criminals. 

with the ppp government you is embarking on mission impossible 4.ali giving away free land i do not think so.the government arming the villages i do not think so

Updated: Labourer arrested for

murder of female Soesdyke taxi driver

Sunday, 16 February 2014 10:09

A sandpit labourer was Sunday night arrested and believed to be the prime suspect in the killing of a female taxi driver whose nude body was found next to her car at a loam pit off the Soesdyke-Linden Highway.
The dead woman has been identified as 31-year old Savitri β€œMia” Parma of Lot 4 Soesdyke Public Road.
Investigators were able to identify and arrest the 23-year old man who is a labourer at Bashir Loam and Sandpit, based on information provided by Parma’s husband.
She had apparently called her husband on his phone about 8:45 Sunday night that she had just dropped of someone at Buddy’s Farm and someone else wanted to go to the loam pit. She had told him that the person looked like someone who worked at the pit.
Demerara Waves Online News was told that the suspect of Yarrowkabra was caught a short distance away from the crime scene and was badly beaten by citizens.
Parma’s body was found outside her car on the sand.
Members of a search-party also found her eight-year old son, who had slept through the fatal ordeal of his mother, in the back seat of the car. He was unhurt.

Female taxi driver’s nude body found in Timehri backlands

February 17, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

- suspect admits strangling her with shoe lace

By Rabindra Rooplall The nude body of a female taxi driver was found in a clump of bushes, one mile from Jubilee Fun Park and Resort, Timehri, East Bank Demerara (EBD) early yesterday morning.

The taxi Savitri Palmer was driving at the time of her demise impounded at the Timehri Police Station

From all indications Savitri Palmer, also known as Maya, a mother of two who resided at Loncke’s Avenue, Soesdyke, EBD, was raped and strangled on Saturday night, several hours before her body was discovered. Her body was found lying face down with her head pressed into the earth. The woman’s eight-year-old son was found sleeping in the rear seat of her abandoned taxi hours later by her husband Kissoon Palmer, who had decided to search for her after she went missing. The car, a silver grey Toyota Carina 212, PPP 2183 was parked several yards from where her body was dumped. All reports indicate that Ms. Palmer was murdered by a young sand pit employee who she had offered a lift, after picking him up at his workplace. The alleged killer is said to have used one of the laces from his boots to strangle Palmer. The alleged perpetrator, who was only identified as β€œRambo”, was apprehended yesterday by the police after he was found hiding in a wardrobe at the living quarters at Bashir Sandpit, Linden/ Soesdyke Highway. He reportedly gave investigators a statement in which he admitted to killing the woman.

The perpetrator β€œRambo” who allegedly committed the murder

This was after he was caught with Palmer’s gold ring and her cell phone in his pocket. He also had several scratches and lacerations around his neck. Palmer operated a snackette at the Soesdyke Junction and has been working taxi for several years. Reports reveal that on Saturday night, after dropping off passengers at a Buddy’s Chicken Farm in Yarrowkabra on the Soesdyke-Linden Highway, Palmer picked up the suspect, who is known to her, while he was standing alone on the roadside. This newspaper was told that the man had begged for a drop to the Loam Pit in Timehri. However, when they reached the location, Palmer was overpowered and dragged into an isolated bushy area where she was raped and strangled with a black bootlace. All of this happened as her son lay sleeping in the back seat of the car. Kamal Kissoon Palmer, the husband, who is also a taxi driver, told Kaieteur News that while returning from a trip with a customer on Saturday evening, he received a call from his wife, stating that she was dropping off two persons at Buddy’s Chicken Farm at Yarrowkabra. β€œThen (she said) this person (Rambo) stop she and ask for a drop to loam pit, so I ask she if she know the person; she said not really, but the person working with Bashir Sandpit…she described the customer as a dougla boy.” He said that he cautioned his wife to β€œdeh pun yuh heights,” before the conversation ended. He explained that the next occasion when he called his wife on her phone, all he heard was β€œWalk! Walk! and the phone cut off, so I try calling she back but there was no answer.” Palmer said that he then stopped his car in the vicinity of the Yarrowkabra Glass Factory and kept trying to contact his wife. He then noticed a Community Policing Group pick-up β€œand someone that knows me ask me what I doing there, and I told him that I am waiting on my girl. I don’t really call her my wife, I does say girl, and I told them that I was having problems getting onto her.” After becoming impatient, he decided to venture in search of his wife. Mr. Palmer said that while taking the trail his wife used, he eventually discovered her vehicle near the β€˜loam pit.’ His eight-year-old son was asleep in the back seat but there was no sign of his wife. β€œI go in my car and collect my torchlight and start to look, then I see her slippers, footprint and some of her clothes, I also found my son in the back seat of the car. Then I start to call out for she. Then I pick up my phone and call the police and they say they coming.” Adding that he had to head out from the loam pit to the public road to escort the police to the crime scene, Mr. Palmer said β€œwhen we reach in now, I show them everything, then we hear a scream and we didn’t know directly which part the scream coming from, then the police say, β€˜the woman gone with she sweet man,’ and he (a police rank) say he got orders from some big one that he got to carry in the car and lodge it with the clothes and everything, and I got to cooperate with he.” Lamenting that he eventually left the scene and was escorted to the Timehri Police Station, Mr Palmer said he gave a statement and left the station at 4:00 hrs yesterday. β€œAt that same time when I was leaving with my son, I received a call from my wife cell phone and when I answer, nobody answering. Then when I give my son Carlos to answer the phone, which was on β€˜speaker’; the person on the other end say β€˜you mommy ain’t coming home’, and although the police hear that, they said I have to wait until 24 hours after and if she don’t turn up then they will search.” He said that a search was launched early Sunday morning at 6:00 hrs, and two hours later, the body of his wife was found, after which a call was made to the Timehri Police Station. The police arrived hours later. A relative of the slain woman suggested that Savitri Palmer could have been saved had the police ranks who first arrived on Saturday night acted swiftly. β€œImagine he (husband) said that when the police come and he was telling them what happened, they suddenly heard a woman screaming through the bushes. And because they turn up without guns, they didn’t want to go and help or even check where the screams were coming from, and they already saw clues with the abandoned car and clothes all over,” the relative explained. β€œThey then turned back and arrested the husband and remove the vehicle and the child and carried them to the station after saying that is the β€˜sweet man’ the woman deh with!” β€œShe was alive at the time and they could’a save her life, but they left her for dead and waited until the next day to go back in. And is only because family and relatives decided to go in search, then police arrived hours after when the body was already discovered.” Reports revealed that several reports of rape were previously made against the suspect. Kaieteur News was reliably informed that the suspect previously lived on the East Coast Demerara but fled that location after a report of rape was made against him. Reports were also made at Timehri Police Station since on many occasions he would follow his victims and attack them when he was sure that no one had seen him. Relatives of the dead woman are lamenting the fact that despite all these reports, the suspect was never charged.

For Part 2:   PNC/AFC will holler racism when Indo Guyanese units take action against Afro Criminals. 

ASJ, this is racist.  NOT ONLY blackman ah criminals.

Indians too are gun criminals now.  _ Inspector Gadjet was 100% Indian.

That 19 year old bloke in Corentyne is 100% Indian.

Stop this racist shyte.

This is a perfect example of why malcolm harripaul's suggestion in 1993 to the head of state for armed militia units are needed in Guyana.   

Wally, That is indeed a great idea on paper. In reality, it will most likely lead to a disaster. The Policing Groups are similar and we know of the problems there.

Nehru the idea should be tested out to see if it would work instead of dismissing it outright. Usually a policing group is made up of 6 to 12 men with one shotgun who have to deal with criminals armed with multiple weapons.

When Syria invaded a lawless Lebanon in 1990 they set up militia units every two miles from each other. Almost instantly the situation changed in Lebanon.

Nehru the idea should be tested out to see if it would work instead of dismissing it outright. Usually a policing group is made up of 6 to 12 men with one shotgun who have to deal with criminals armed with multiple weapons.

When Syria invaded a lawless Lebanon in 1990 they set up militia units every two miles from each other. Almost instantly the situation changed in Lebanon.

I believe that the Israel has the same model where settlers are armed with ak47.  But we have seen in the past that these community policing groups lend out their weapons to bandits. Too much corruption in Guyana for this to work.

Hey Racist scumbag, have you looked at wh the criminals are, you arsehole? IS coolie people like yourself also doing these acts and here you are bringing in race here, you are a filthy fin racial scumbag.

Female taxi driver’s death…Divisional Commander to investigate CPG, Timehri police

February 18, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Divisional Commander, Assistant Commissioner George Vyphuis, will be investigating allegations against members of the Timehri Police Station and the area’s Community Policing Group (CPG) after reports that they failed to render assistance to Soesdyke taxi driver, Savitri Gangadeen Parma, 33.

Dead: Savitri Parma

The woman was murdered on Saturday night in Timehri backlands. A post mortem was done yesterday and it revealed that Ms Parma died of manual strangulation. The woman’s husband, Kamal Kissoon Parma, had previously stated that after escorting police to the crime scene, β€œI show them everything. Then we hear a scream and we didn’t know directly which part the scream coming from. Then the police say, β€˜The woman gone with she sweet man.’ β€œA police rank say he got orders from some big one that he got to carry in the car and lodge it with the clothes and everything, and I got to cooperate with he.” According to the Commander, they checked Mr. Parma’s statement that he gave to the police at the Timehri station. The allegations were not included and neither was it reflected in the statement he gave. However, the Commander and Commissioner Leroy Brumell had a discussion yesterday and underlined all the words in the newspaper reports. Investigations are afoot since the Timehri Police Station has been under the spotlight given the negative reports and publicity. β€œWe have to check it out to see if the man’s story is true.” The suspect, known as β€œRambo” who is being held for the woman’s murder is likely to be charged shortly. β€œRambo” reportedly told ranks that he hired the woman to take him to the loam pit and on his way; he made a pass at the woman, who in turn threatened to make a complaint to the police. It was then, he confessed, that he pulled out a sharp object and ordered her to strip. He said that he later dragged her into the dense jungle where she was raped and succumbed shortly after being strangled. The nude body of the female taxi driver was found in a clump of bushes, one mile from Jubilee Fun Park and Resort, Timehri, East Bank Demerara early Sunday morning. From all indications Savitri Parma, also known as Maya, a mother of two who resided at Loncke’s Avenue, Soesdyke, East Bank Demerara, was raped and strangled with a bootlace on Saturday night, several hours before her body was discovered. Her body was found face down with her head pressed into the earth.

The suspect know as β€œRambo”

The woman’s eight-year-old son was found sleeping in the rear seat of her abandoned taxi hours by her husband Kamal Kissoon Palmer, who had decided to search for her after she went missing. Kamal Kissoon Palmer, the husband, who is also a taxi driver, told Kaieteur News that after he confirmed his wife missing he contacted the police and escorted them to the loam pit where she had previously related that she was making a drop off. When he reached the location and discovered her car, he said, β€œI go in my car and collect my torchlight and start to look. Then I see her slippers, footprint and some of her clothes, I also found my son in the back seat of the car. Then I start to call out for she. Then I pick up my phone and call the police and they say they coming.” Adding that he had to head out from the loam pit to the public road to escort the police to the crime scene, Mr. Palmer said, β€œWhen we reach in now, I show them everything, then we hear a scream and we didn’t know directly which part the scream coming from, then the police say, β€˜the woman gone with she sweet man,’ and he (a police rank) say he got orders from some big one that he got to carry in the car and lodge it with the clothes and everything, and I got to cooperate with he.” He said that a search was launched early Sunday morning at 6:00 hrs, and two hours later, the body of his wife was found, after which a call was made to the Timehri Police Station. The police arrived hours later. A relative of the slain woman suggested that Savitri Parma could have been saved had the police ranks who first arrived on Saturday night acted swiftly. Kaieteur News was reliably informed that the suspect previously lived on the East Coast Demerara but fled that location after a report of rape was made against him. Reports were also made at Timehri Police Station since on many occasions he would follow his victims and attack them when he was sure that no one had seen him.