HAVANA TIMES, August 20 — Former Cuban President Fidel Castro received the Venezuelan leader Nicolas Maduro at his home in Havana on Tuesday. Castro congratulated Maduro for his sending a plane of assistance to the population in Gaza, reported dpa news.

In an article published in the official press, Castro stated: “I congratulated Maduro for his extraordinary solidarity with the heroic people of the Gaza Strip.”

Castro, who turned 88 on August 13, called the Israeli military offensive against Gaza a “genocide” and “holocaust” for Palestinians.

Fidel continues to be the leading advisor to his brother President Raul Castro, especially regarding foreign affairs. He refrains from commenting in public about domestic issues.

Maduro is in the midst of a cabinet shuffle in Venezuela as his government moves to take drastic measures to confront the difficult economic situation facing the country, which includes acute shortages of basic consumer items.

Fidel Castro was like a father and mentor to the late Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez and it is suspected that he, and his brother Raul, play a key advice-giving role with Maduro.

In an article published in the official press, Castro stated: “I congratulated Maduro for his extraordinary solidarity with the heroic people of the Gaza Strip.”

Castro, who turned 88 on August 13, called the Israeli military offensive against Gaza a “genocide” and “holocaust” for Palestinians.

Though issues progress extremely slowly, there will be improvements and betterment for the people in the region.

All you communist sympathizers. Question for you all. "Yuh think the Castros goan permit the Chinese to do wah dey doing in Guyana?"

The Chinese respect the Castros. They don't respect the PPP moguls.

All you communist sympathizers. Question for you all. "Yuh think the Castros goan permit the Chinese to do wah dey doing in Guyana?"

Guyana is a free country unlike Cuba. Guyana is open to foreign investors and that's how a free country conduct its business. The Chinese are not the enemies of our country, it's the people who're attacking the Chinese for doing their business are guilty as charged. Chinese is one our six races of people in Guyana. They work and support Guyana's economy and they have ever right to be protected under the laws of Guyana. Investments has nothing to do with respect to one leader as opposed to another. It's a mutual agreement of understanding.

Okay.

Suh because a few Chinese came to B.G in 1836 and their children no longer live in Guyana that gives the Chinese the rights plunder the country. The evidence is every where in the world wah dem chinese do.

I suppose, with that mind set, the Indians have the right to rob us too.

Fella, you ain't a Nationalist. From yuh been writing, I can deduct, you like the PPP-nation building is not a serious business. Try and study the Chinese, they raping every country in the world to add wealth to China-the country.

You straying from the focal point...

No countryman, I ain't straying from the topic. The Chinese pays taxes in China. PPP emperors doan pay taxes, they theifing the country's wealth. The Chinese strive to improve the lives of their citizens. Guyanese politicians are opportunists-every one of them. Their only aim is to make life better for themselves.

When they die, they will stink the same way as the citizens they robbed.

No countryman, I ain't straying from the topic. The Chinese pays taxes in China. PPP emperors doan pay taxes, they theifing the country's wealth. The Chinese strive to improve the lives of their citizens.Guyanese politicians are opportunists-every one of them. Their only aim is to make life better for themselves.

Now you're on the other foot. Yes, they're thieves, selfish and shameless, and they should all die a miserable death. You feel better now?

No countryman, I ain't straying from the topic. The Chinese pays taxes in China. PPP emperors doan pay taxes, they theifing the country's wealth. The Chinese strive to improve the lives of their citizens.Guyanese politicians are opportunists-every one of them. Their only aim is to make life better for themselves.

Now you're on the other foot. Yes, they're thieves, selfish and shameless, and they should all die a miserable death. You feel better now?

Nope. I want yuh to stop supporting thieves and strive for your country to be a better place. Then I will feel better.

I do not support thieves and Guyana has always been beautiful for me. Guyana is far better than many countries around the world. I earn the right to say that because I have traveled half the world over and I know that for a fact.

The AFC/PNC's racist attacks on Chinese must end.

I do not see the AFC/PNC coalition attacking Africans. How about the AFC/PNC attracting some African investments to Guyana ?

I do not support thieves and Guyana has always been beautiful for me. Guyana is far better than many countries around the world. I earn the right to say that because I have traveled half the world over and I know that for a fact.

Good grief-only half u travelled. I been around three timeeeeeees already.

Wah yuh think of the ladies of the night in Naples?

How many Afro-Guyanese investments are in Guyana today?

Hits and Jams - PPP operation.

UNAMCO which was a Malaysian operation that employed a lot of PNC folks were driven out of town. They have a complete plywood factory in the bush in crates. The PPP refuse to allow them to operate, because as we know, no kickbacks to the ruling cabal.

They actually brought the plant in and had it on the ground unlike BSL and VHPI who are claiming for 5 years now dem building factory.

Now when you done wipe the shyte off your face come back and leh we talk in detail.

I ask this question in a favorable sense towards the Afro-Guyanese citizens. I am pro investment and everyone should be allowed to invest freely. I don't think by asking a question deserves an aggressive answer as though I meant to discredit the Afro-Guyanese. People must thing before they shoot.

I understand your point, Cobs.

One can only invest one's money if one has confidence in the investment market.

In the Guyana context, dominated by race-based politics, one cannot reasonably expect an Afro-Guyanese investor to have confidence in the economic system.

Like all others, an Afro-Guyanese investor wants his investments to be secure, to yield reasonable returns, to be hassle-free.

Compared to generous concessions and tax holidays granted to certain foreign investors, the average Guyanese investor has complained ever so often [like Yesu Persaud] that the playing field isn't level.

Unless he/she is a PPP favorite, an Afro-Guyanese investor has to overcome two daunting obstacles: an unequal playing field and racial/political discrimination.

Those two factors, combined with bureaucratic bungling, are inhibiting Afro-Guyanese investors.

They have a lot of Afro Guyanese investors but most of them have sold their soul to the PPP and the only way they are successful is because of hanky panky engagement with the PPP.

Lets highlight the newly successful land Barron and MP, Odinga Lumumba who is selling house lots on east bank for ridiculous sums of money but he is paying a few laborers to dig the drain wid a shovel.

His competitors are using backhoes...............Gotta love the PPP.