“Fiery Friday” at Linden

-    Anger boils over at Police pre-dawn tear gas offensive
-    Buildings razed on both sides  river
-    Police say suspected acts of arson
-    Joint Services deny operation to clear barriers
-    Six detained for various offences

August 11, 2012 | By | Filed Under News -- Source

Anger at a surprise tear gas offensive, smoldering debris from buildings burnt to the ground, and a battle to keep the streets clear, characterized the town of Linden yesterday as the government put off a key meeting intended to hammer out a deal and return the town to normalcy.

The protest against electricity tariff increase in the town is now into its fourth week and Lindeners are maintaining their demand – for the increases to be withdrawn and for President Donald Ramotar to meet them and thrash out the events that followed the first day of the protest when three residents were shot dead by Police.

Palpable tension gripped the town in the wee hours of the morning as conflagrations raged on both sides of the Demerara River. A total of six buildings and two vehicles were destroyed.

Residents claimed that the mayhem started when ranks of the Joint Services swooped down on the community in an effort to remove barricades, using teargas to disperse those present, and even throwing canisters with the pungent substance into people’s yards.

A nurse at the town’s main hospital confirmed that one of the tear gas canisters was hurled into the office of the Chief Executive Farouk Riyastat, and he had to be rushed to the emergency room along with his secretary.

The Joint Services Coordinating Council (JSCC) denied that it was involved in any operation to clear barriers in the early morning hours yesterday at the western end of the Wismar Bridge.

In a statement, the Council said that at approximately 02:20 hours, protestors raised an alarm that the Joint Services were on their way to clear barriers, “but that was not the case at all.”

“As a result, protestors and supporters numbering thirty, including women, stormed past the Joint Services Standing Patrol on the western end of the bridge and lit the bridge afire at the centre. The Joint Services Standing Patrol summoned the Police and the Fire Service. The Police cleared the protestors using tear smoke and the Fire Service put out the fire. By the time the fire was out, more residents came out of their homes and the situation deteriorated. The Joint Services did not escalate the situation at Linden.”

The day was dubbed “Fiery Friday” by many of the residents who stressed that they had never experienced anything similar.

First it was the Linden Salvation Council building and the Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints Church at Silvertown, Wismar, and another edifice aback of it, which housed the old GECOM Office. Those went up in flames in the wee hours of the morning.

A few hours later on the Mackenzie side, at least four buildings were also ablaze – among them, structures which housed the offices of the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), Linden Care Foundation and Linden Electricity Company Incorporated (LECI) and the IDCE (Institute of Distance and Continuing Education). A canteen was also razed. The Linmine Secretariat annex was the only structure left standing. Two trucks belonging to LECI were also ruined.

The burnt buildings up until recently stood a mere stone’s throw away from the Linmine Secretariat building which was gutted on July 18, the first day of protest in the community. The incident occurred shortly after the shooting to death of three Lindeners, allegedly by police.

In both instances yesterday, no fire tender made it to the scene, because of blockades, which included logs, burning tyres and broken bottles, on the roads.

At Mackenzie, several heaped up tyres were used to light a huge fire at the Five Corner.  Some traffic was allowed to certain areas in the town.

The Wismar fire reportedly erupted at the old GECOM building after it was claimed that police ‘shot’ tear gas canisters into a group of individuals indiscriminately. The building reportedly belonged to Phillip Bynoe. There are conflicting reports as to the origin of the fire.

Canisters of tear gas were also reportedly thrown into a few yards in Silvertown, with the result that residents had to run out of their homes in the wee hours, and seek refuge in the nearby New Silver City School. Some of the affected included babies and senior citizens.

When this newspaper arrived on the scene, people were seen running down the streets with rags and pieces of clothing covering their faces. Others rushed to get water to wash their faces and bodies.

The atmosphere was acrid from the burning buildings along with the tear gas.

A number of persons vociferously condemned this action by the police, who came in for further criticism after reports were made that they threw away ration from at least one food camp.

Residents reacted by hauling a huge log to the Wismar end of the Mackenzie/Wismar Bridge, right under the noses of the soldiers who remonstrated with the crowd.

In the end it was the soldiers who were forced to back down.

Fire in Mackenzie
No one seemed to know how the buildings on Casuarina Drive, Mackenzie, caught fire; but the GRA Office was the first to go up in flames. Then it was the LECI building.

Because all of the structures there were wooden, they ignited quickly forming a huge inferno. The heat from these burning buildings was so intense, that residents stood some distance away watching.

Some public-spirited citizens and a few soldiers, assisted in removing several pieces of furniture and appliances from the Linden Care Foundation premises.
Nothing was retrieved from the other buildings.

The toll booth, GEA booth and Linmine security huts were also torched.
These booths were located at the Mackenzie end of the Wismar / Mackenzie Bridge.

Meanwhile, late yesterday afternoon the Guyana Police Force issued a release in relation to the incidents saying: “At about 0210h. on Friday August 10, 2012, ranks of the Joint Services observed that a fire with the use of tyres, wood and other combustible materials was set on the wooden portion at the Wismar end of the Wismar-Mackenzie Bridge.

“A crowd of persons had gathered at the location of the fire and in efforts to have them remove in order that the Guyana Fire Service personnel can extinguish the blaze, the police were forced to resort to the use of tear smoke.

The crowd was dispersed and the fire extinguished. The Wismar-Mackenzie Bridge is still in use and the Joint Services are maintaining security.

Later, at about 0700h. another crowd of persons came across the Wismar-Mackenzie Bridge from the Wismar end with the apparent intention of immobilizing a front-end-loader that was parked in the vicinity of the bridge on the Mackenzie side. Persons placed themselves on the roadway in front of the machine, but were eventually removed and the equipment was removed to another location.

While the police ranks were dealing with the persons around the front-end-loader, it is suspected that other persons from the crowd set a fire which resulted in the destruction of the toll booth and the LINMINE Security guard hut located at the Mackenzie end of the bridge.

Fires caused by suspected acts of arson have destroyed a number of buildings in the Linden community.”

The release then identified the buildings that were destroyed, and continued:
“Efforts by the Guyana Fire Service personnel to get to the scene of the fire at the office complex were hampered by obstacles blocking the roadways and which also caused the destruction of the wheels of one of the fire-trucks.

Six men have been arrested by the police pending investigations into various offences and are in custody.”

Sleepless night
Most of Linden was uneasy on Thursday night, and many residents complained of not being able to sleep as they were agitated over flyers that were dropped by the Joint Services, and reports that additional troops would be deployed to the area, to clear the roads “by whatever means.”

The troops came in by river, according to reports, and landed at the Mackenzie /Wismar Bridge.

Their presence in the mining town served to further stir up residents. They reacted by burning tyres and re-blocking roads. Many roads in Linden have been blocked for over three weeks now in protest against the imposition of increased electricity tariffs for the community.

During this period there have been several clashes between residents and the police, who along with the Joint Services have been fighting a valiant but losing battle to clear the roads.

Residents, including major stakeholders in the town, have resolved not to ‘retreat or surrender’ until the electricity tariffs are withdrawn.

They have vowed not to accept Government’s ‘on hold’ proposal, which was put forward by President Ramotar a few days ago.

Many Lindeners have opined that the government has shown total disrespect to the people, as not once during the entire period of protest has any government Minister visited the town.

The President has expressed that he will not visit the area once the situation remains the same in terms of blockades.

Meanwhile, a few persons were detained at the Mackenzie Police Station, in relation to the attempted burning of the Mackenzie/Wismar Bridge, and the torching of the toll and GEA booths, according to reports.

Ramjattan, GR, Moses Hughes and the incompetent Sharma Solomon gun tell we nah man was electrical Fire. The Protestors are true believers of Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela. Dem ah really good people!!!

DOGS like Ramjattan, Moses and GR know quite well that MPOSt East Indian Villages ONLY got water, Electricity and Roads AFTER 1992!!!!! These SHAMEFUL (WORST THAN HOES) CRABDAAG!!!

Such Eloquence! You're such a sweetheart Nehru.

DOGS like Ramjattan, Moses and GR know quite well that MPOSt East Indian Villages ONLY got water, Electricity and Roads AFTER 1992!!!!! These SHAMEFUL (WORST THAN HOES) CRABDAAG!!!

tHANK YOU bHAI cAIM. mEH tECHA USED TO TELL aBEE: fACTS BEAT FIGGA.

Did yuh tacah kno yuh dos dig the figgas out yuh kakahole...

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

YUh come back fuh more KAKAHOLE PUTTY. YOU ARE A UNIQUE CHAP, YOU DOES USE TOOTHPICK PUN YUH KAKAHOLE.

What yuh trying so haad to say is yuh gat a lat moh stench wey dat com from...

No, I am saying that I have NEVER met a BIGGER JACKASS than you.

“Fiery Friday” at Linden pictures

Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it.

Why don't you post pictures of Syria, Tunisia, Egypt etc. If you act like barbarians you are met with resistance. Note that started with one frustrated street vender tired of the oppressive state of his nation and give his life in a moment of ultimate protestation.

The PPP are evil thugs who listen to no one and believe because the semblance of democracy gives them cover, they can use it as a club to act as autocrats, steal at will, flout obscene life styles, refuse to account for the nations cash and then as in this instance rail road poor people out of pure venom. They lost 1 billion in subsidy to the incompetent, inefficient GPL so the sought to get 1 billion back from poor Lindeners.

They spent a whole month calling them parasites, lazy, brutish, criminals etc and then discounted t hem so much they used violence against them believing they will remain sheep. Well, they are angry and angry and this is what you get.

Ramotar need not be as stupid as you fellows here. He needs to show some backbone and go and engage them. Nothing will change with long distance name calling. Further, only one mistake and GT will look like above. It is  a powder keg. It is what you get in a race based society. This is the low level war you folks wage against each other by embracing victim hood and saying never again as you do.  Well, the other side say the same thing.

Why don't you post pictures of Syria, Tunisia, Egypt etc.

I never knew those nations had freely and democratically elected Govts!

Democracy by race based majority is an autocratic club of kith and kin.

Maybe not perfect, but it is the constitutional democracy which we have.  There are ways and means of engaging the Govt to secure rights, balance and equity.  Bullyism, looting, burning and intimidation will get you no where.  No one will buckle under threats, you bring it on, you get push back.  The GoG is perfectly in-line with the nations constitution in a free and fair election.

The PPP and the Indian masses survived the onslaught of 1960-1992 and the sponsored terrorism subsequently.  You think a new pres who seems softer and want dialogue as a weakness, it will be another mis-calculation.

The PPP and the Indian masses survived the onslaught of 1960-1992 and the sponsored terrorism subsequently.

. . . You think a new pres who seems softer and want dialogue as a weakness, it will be another mis-calculation.

Your apocalyptic nonsense notwithstanding . . . how does state murder of innocent citizens represent "dialogue" and "weakness" ??

The "mis-calculation" is YOURS and that of the race supremacist wing of the PPP.

I suggest you contemplate the fate of Reich Minister Joseph Goebbels and his Brownshirt comrades who [similarly] cynically exploited the tragedy inflicted upon Germany via the Treaty of Versailles.

Maybe not perfect, but it is the constitutional democracy which we have.  There are ways and means of engaging the Govt to secure rights, balance and equity.  Bullyism, looting, burning and intimidation will get you no where.  No one will buckle under threats, you bring it on, you get push back.  The GoG is perfectly in-line with the nations constitution in a free and fair election.

The PPP and the Indian masses survived the onslaught of 1960-1992 and the sponsored terrorism subsequently.  You think a new pres who seems softer and want dialogue as a weakness, it will be another mis-calculation.

There are no way to engage this government to bring it to right under this system if it sits with a majority in parliament. They will continue to steal us blind and consolidate PPPinc with only kith and kin as share holders. Imagine NICIL, the holding company of state assets has not  generated a report as to its business in 10 years and they are appealed if one ask why not. Our state properties keep turning up in PPP cronies hands and no one knows why.

Your  preoccupation with the Indian masses when the indian elite steals and keep them in the poor house is self delusion. Nothing is fair about that. And they are manipulated to vote as a loyal herd for the corrupt PPP  because Indians are dreadfully afraid of the black man. Well, the poor black man knows the composition of PPP inc and they have no less contempt for the PPP because of it. They do not see themselves there.

I do not use threats. Consider it a warning. It is what the scholars say and what history has shown happens in systems as ours. Be it racial, tribal or religious; if one side dominates all power, it is only a matter of time before the other side tries to veto their power. Often it is with violence People in power never give it up willingly or even dilute it to balance the fairness equation.The entitlement quotient is maximized if they can shout democracy

There are no way to engage this government to bring it to right under this system if it sits with a majority in parliament. They will continue to steal us blind and consolidate PPPinc with only kith and kin as share holders. Imagine NICIL, the holding company of state assets has not  generated a report as to its business in 10 years and they are appealed if one ask why not. Our state properties keep turning up in PPP cronies hands and no one knows why.

Your  preoccupation with the Indian masses when the indian elite steals and keep them in the poor house is self delusion. Nothing is fair about that. And they are manipulated to vote as a loyal herd for the corrupt PPP  because Indians are dreadfully afraid of the black man. Well, the poor black man knows the composition of PPP inc and they have no less contempt for the PPP because of it. They do not see themselves there.

I do not use threats. Consider it a warning. It is what the scholars say and what history has shown happens in systems as ours. Be it racial, tribal or religious; if one side dominates all power, it is only a matter of time before the other side tries to veto their power. Often it is with violence People in power never give it up willingly or even dilute it to balance the fairness equation.The entitlement quotient is maximized if they can shout democracy

Then sit it out in a corner and hibernate.  The GoG is a democratically elected Govt as per well accepted norms.

What will never happen is a return to brutality, oppression and the quasi-apartheid policies backed by a military machine.  The last election was proof the old dream of a return of the old order is alive and well in the minds of many.

Then sit it out in a corner and hibernate.  The GoG is a democratically elected Govt as per well accepted norms.

What will never happen is a return to brutality, oppression and the quasi-apartheid policies backed by a military machine.  The last election was proof the old dream of a return of the old order is alive and well in the minds of many.

The elections that got them removed from power was accepted norm bur they still complained. When things suit them the PPP are quite happy.

We are in a most brutal period. The PPP murdered many of our people undet the banner of democracy. They are as brutal and vastly more corrupt than the PNC.

Your view of the last election is different from mine. In it I see hope as the two political juggernauts are forced to understand the dynamics of totalizing political power. What is unfolding is the PPP trying to enforce the old paradigm without acknowledging they need to consult with their political peers.

The elections that got them removed from power was accepted norm bur they still complained. When things suit them the PPP are quite happy.

We are in a most brutal period. The PPP murdered many of our people undet the banner of democracy. They are as brutal and vastly more corrupt than the PNC.

Your view of the last election is different from mine. In it I see hope as the two political juggernauts are forced to understand the dynamics of totalizing political power. What is unfolding is the PPP trying to enforce the old paradigm without acknowledging they need to consult with their political peers.

Well, as I said, go sit in corner and quiver.  You may not like or accept it, but this is a democratically elected Govt acting within the constraint of their mandate.

I never expect a Buckman to understand the issues.

The fascist PPP criminals are guilty of ALL that and more . . . the missing part that you lament is a 'reliable"military [killing] machine" that will guarantee sustainability of 1-race rule.

I am talking about the kind of extra-constitutional 'loyalty' that was on offer from RK and his "special forces."

Yesss . . . Adolf Hitler was appointed Chancellor in a democracy.

You and the Indo-supremacist GT cabal are willing Guyana down the path of Germany after the Reichstag fire

Your view of the last election is different from mine.

They are indeed quite different due to your blurred vision.

Well, as I said, go sit in corner and quiver.  You may not like or accept it, but this is a democratically elected Govt acting within the constraint of their mandate.

It is always the mangy mutt who is concerned with pedigree. I am happy with who I am. My mother is a Native woman  and my father an uneducated Hald Indian half Anglo. Yes I am a mutt. But you are a mangy mutt. Mangy mutts like you find hard to come to terms with who you are from. You are dalit stock.

Your people are domms, dossa, danglars, pillars, chamars,....yes Indian mutt with kindred dating 6000 years. That reality is  makes life uncomfortable if you are not well grounded so you forget quickly and assume the character of  the noblesse oblige.   Sorry, you clearly are still mentally in a logie dalit mutt.

Here you are yapping about grand intellect and trying you hardest to be racially insulting and still coming up short. Apparently, it is  quite an arduous feat to grasp the reality that the Westminster system with its executive presidency and closed list  is fertile ground for an autocracy.

This is especially so in  our racially bifurcated electorate and slight margins separating the groups. There are a list of scholars I can rattle off who are authorities on this matter but you would still willingly remain dumb. That is what racism does to you.

"View" here is a metaphor old man. Even a blind man could "see" our last elections changed things. I cannot guarantee one with age depleted glial cells can get it though. That is why you probably missed it.

Your sight is "excellent" for blind man as you bumble and fumble your way. 

It is always the mangy mutt who is concerned with pedigree. I am happy with who I am. My mother is a Native woman  and my father an uneducated Hald Indian half Anglo. Yes I am a mutt. But you are a mangy mutt. Mangy mutts like you find hard to come to terms with who you are from. You are dalit stock.

Your people are domms, dossa, danglars, pillars, chamars,....yes Indian mutt with kindred dating 6000 years. That reality is  makes life uncomfortable if you are not well grounded so you forget quickly and assume the character of  the noblesse oblige.   Sorry, you clearly are still mentally in a logie dalit mutt.

Here you are yapping about grand intellect and trying you hardest to be racially insulting and still coming up short. Apparently, it is  quite an arduous feat to grasp the reality that the Westminster system with its executive presidency and closed list  is fertile ground for an autocracy.

This is especially so in  our racially bifurcated electorate and slight margins separating the groups. There are a list of scholars I can rattle off who are authorities on this matter but you would still willingly remain dumb. That is what racism does to you.

Wow, you certainly took this very personal.  Were'nt you the one who openly stated you Indian dalit grandfather unceremoniously impregnated you buck grandmother and thus started your pedigree.  I really pity you.

I could only imagine the feeling of discount and somewhat shorted you must live with.  You seems certainly consumed by these issues.  I don't know what Indian mixtures I have and it certainly does not consume or bother me one way or the other.

Now, I hope you had a good stiff one and slept it off.

The fascist PPP criminals are guilty of ALL that and more . . . the missing part that you lament is a 'reliable"military [killing] machine" that will guarantee sustainability of 1-race rule.

I am talking about the kind of extra-constitutional 'loyalty' that was on offer from RK and his "special forces."

You and the Indo-supremacist GT cabal are willing Guyana down the path of Germany after the Reichstag fire

Nah, I would not call the military a [killing] machine.  But surely was THE critical arm of oppression and deprivation of the Indian masses.

Wasn't RK a drug lord who had a big fight with another group resulting in many gang member deaths?  Many police got killed trying to separate the fighters so the GoG had no option but to return law and order in the nation, which was done constitutionally.  You are mixing up the inter-gang warfare and ligit police action.

On Hitler and Germany, yes he was initially elected after his failed "bier-hall putsch", and proceeded to subvert the democratic process naming himself supreme leader.  He never again submitted himself to popular vote.

It's an absolutely ludicrous comparison with PPP Guyana  Maybe the PNC, as they formed a coalition, threw out the partner, then proceeded to rule with the military, subverting the democratic process.

Under the PPP, they won free and fair in 1992, then again in 1997, then there was a transition via Janet to Jagdeo.  Jagdeo was reaffirmed by popular vote via free and fair elections twice.  His term expired, he demitted office and his successor was reaffirmed via free and fair elections in 2011.

How in the hell you draw parallels with Hitler's Germany.

Wow, you certainly took this very personal.  Were'nt you the one who openly stated you Indian dalit grandfather unceremoniously impregnated you buck grandmother and thus started your pedigree.  I really pity you.

I could only imagine the feeling of discount and somewhat shorted you must live with.  You seems certainly consumed by these issues.  I don't know what Indian mixtures I have and it certainly does not consume or bother me one way or the other.

Pitiful man, I am trying to provide you with what you missed out on, the basis for a moral center.  You are from dalit stock and that meant your ancestors were on the bottom of a shit pile for 600 years.

Trying to be ugly and racist while  knowing that is the legacy from which you emerged ought to remind you of the fiction of superiority.  Attempting at  at every instance to disparage and demean others on account of race is pathetic, backward and most of all speaks to what other racists held as your subaltern legacy. You waste your time trying that hapless tactic with me.

I came from a long line of carousers and happily my dad broke the curse. Again, you got the wrong person.  You would not find me in bars or wasting my time under a tent drinking and telling fish stories. That would bore me senseless. Just to remind you again; to you that is a useful imagery because you still believe that is an opiate for present misery. I manage adversity with my wits.

Pitiful man, I am trying to provide you with what you missed out on, the basis for a moral center.  You are from dalit stock and that meant your ancestors were on the bottom of a shit pile for 600 years.

Oh, well thank your for enlightening me about my pedigree, I certainly would have never known.  My "stock" is not the highest priority as it's of little consequence in this modern flat world.  If my ancestry was at the bottom of the pile for 600 years, certainly I'm proud as I, and my relatives, are looking down at the likes of you still wallowing in the sh1t pile.

I really am convinced you suffered a piwari overdose as a kid.

Oh, well thank your for enlightening me about my pedigree, I certainly would have never known.  My "stock" is not the highest priority as it's of little consequence in this modern flat world.  If my ancestry was at the bottom of the pile for 600 years, certainly I'm proud as I, and my relatives, are looking down at the likes of you still wallowing in the sh1t pile.

Again twit, how in the world can you get personal with me? You do not have a damn thing to say that would diminish who I am. I gladly accept I am culturally an Amerindian.

I reject any claims of yours you came from better and on that account can leverage racist satisfaction. That is delusional given you are from the bottom of a pit my people can never ever conceptually grasp as it is outside their cultural experience.

You are just an odious racist who instead of concerning yourself with the corruption in the PPP chose to dissimulate on these racist commentary. It cannot dilute what is imprinted from top to bottom with the wicked hand print of the  kleptocracy.

Again twit, how in the world can you get personal with me? You do not have a damn thing to say that would diminish who I am. I gladly accept I am culturally an Amerindian.

Listen lil mut, I never questioned your potential to rise or not based on your admitted buck/dalit pedigree.  You are the one who choose to embrace the racist line of calling Indians dalit and all other derogatory terms.  You are the one who, carte-blanche, referred to Indians as mostly racist while some Afros are, in response to Indo-racism.

You throw stones, you will get some big rocks coming your way.  Just keep you guard up, the bushes won't shelter you.

Listen lil mut, I never questioned your potential to rise or not based on your admitted buck/dalit pedigree.  You are the one who choose to embrace the racist line of calling Indians dalit and all other derogatory terms.  You are the one who, carte-blanche, referred to Indians as mostly racist while some Afros are, in response to Indo-racism.

You throw stones, you will get some big rocks coming your way.  Just keep you guard up, the bushes won't shelter you.

Me does call am wan Piwari drinking stupid Buck.

[1] Nah, I would not call the military a [killing] machine.  But surely was THE critical arm of oppression and deprivation of the Indian masses.

[ii] Wasn't RK a drug lord who had a big fight with another group resulting in many gang member deaths?  Many police got killed trying to separate the fighters so the GoG had no option but to return law and order in the nation, which was done constitutionally.  You are mixing up the inter-gang warfare and ligit police action.

[iii] On Hitler and Germany, yes he was initially elected after his failed "bier-hall putsch", and proceeded to subvert the democratic process naming himself supreme leader.  He never again submitted himself to popular vote.

[iv] It's an absolutely ludicrous comparison with PPP Guyana  Maybe the PNC, as they formed a coalition, threw out the partner, then proceeded to rule with the military, subverting the democratic process.

[v] Under the PPP, they won free and fair in 1992, then again in 1997, then there was a transition via Janet to Jagdeo.  Jagdeo was reaffirmed by popular vote via free and fair elections twice.  His term expired, he demitted office and his successor was reaffirmed via free and fair elections in 2011.

[vi] How in the hell you draw parallels with Hitler's Germany.

re:

[i] The "killing machine" part actually refers to the the PPP dream of 'disciplined force(s)' committed to extra-judicial murder in the style of RK and his phantom gang . . . not the military under the PNC.

[ii] Really? You have NO shame. This was YOU a scant month ago . . .

Baseman, July 12, 2012: ". . . and the duly elected Govt used special forces to rein them in and return law and order."

and

"The fact that the GoG's response was "unprecedented" does not mean it was wrong."

[iii], [iv] & [v] . . . all factual; but apropos of . . .?

[vi] I re-post for you to contemplate anew . . . pay attention, you may actually learn something: 

"You and the Indo-supremacist GT cabal are willing Guyana down the path of Germany after the Reichstag fire"