Burnham was a great President. He did a lot of good things for Guyana but Guyanese, especially the Indo Guyanese, all they could talk about is his flaws. I left Guyana in '73 and I was mad with him. But over the years, I realized that he was before his time, Guyanese were not ready for Burnham, they had small minds.

Originally Posted by Bourdaboy:

Burnham was a great President. He did a lot of good things for Guyana but Guyanese, especially the Indo Guyanese, all they could talk about is his flaws. I left Guyana in '73 and I was mad with him. But over the years, I realized that he was before his time, Guyanese were not ready for Burnham, they had small minds.

Please do name the good things Burnham did for Guyana.  The man bankrupted the country.  He stole US$360 million from Guyana and move it to his Swiss bank account.   He created national service where Indian Girls were raped on a daily basis.   He formed the 'black clothes police' who became the 'kick down the door' bandits.    His ministers form separate lodges where crimes were centrally directed.   

Go ahead! name the good things Burnham did.

Let remind you about the 5000 projects that Jagdeo complete and turn Guyana into the most beautiful country in the Caribbean.

Bourda:

Burnham cannot be called a great president when he got the job by fraud.

It was an illegitimate, fraudulent, illegal regime based on stolen power.

The first time PNC became a legal govt is as part of the Coalition in 2015.

The PPP's good points (the 5000) projects are also its bad points, although it is a legal, legitimate Govt.  PPP used the 5000 projects as opportunities for looting the treasury.

Rama, here you go again. The PPP was not cheated, they were out smarted by Burnham who outsmarted the UF. Rama, let me tell you something. Where I used to live in Bourda, I used to see Burnham and Jagan all the time hanging out together at a PPPite's home. When I hear the Afro and Indo quarreling over these two men, these men were playing a chess game with Guyanese.

Tell me something that I don't know.  Jagan was honest but Burnham was crooked.

Please do name the good things Burnham did for Guyana.  The man bankrupted the country.  He stole US$360 million from Guyana and move it to his Swiss bank account.     

What is your source, Rama?

The Jagans never mentioned that in parliament or public meetings or press statements or in the MIRROR.

Burnham's children don't know that.

Please do name the good things Burnham did for Guyana.  The man bankrupted the country.  He stole US$360 million from Guyana and move it to his Swiss bank account.     

The Jagans never mentioned that in parliament or public meetings or press statements or in the MIRROR.

When Burnham's will was read, it was mentioned.

And they still have small minds, both black and indian. As I said before on another thread, fat boy knew the importance to Guyana's economy of reducing imports and increasing exports. He wanted to make use of our abundance of natural resources and export them, building local businesses and increasing the use of local goods.

Look at rice. It is gluten free in a world where advanced nations are more health conscious. Fifty plus years now we can't go beyond just growing and cutting rice!

Small minded Guyanese never caught the vision, and yes, LFS was ahead of his time. Too bad he was so corrupt and such a meglomaniac!

Originally Posted by sachin_05:
Originally Posted by Itaname:

This is a fREE Country, you call even call Hitler great.

Nehru, were you wining up at the parade in Brooklyn this weekend?

He afraid Dem PNC bais...if dem recognize he and buss wan cap up he kakahole....

Hey Bugga Batty Sachin yuh still ah tek KAAK up yuh Pie Hole?????????!!!!!!!!!!!

I guess you leaving in 1973 didn't afford you the opportunity to experience the daily blackouts, no water coming from pipes even though they were at ground level. Lines for rice, flour, butter, cooking oil, toothpaste, toilet paper to name a few. And I wouldn't even bore you with the ones that were banned. People getting their vehicles seized and left to rot at Brickdam impound for as little as a pound of flour. He insisting that public servants use the only day off they had (Sunday) to spend it at Hope estate where he rides a horse and pretend he was some plantation owner overlord demeaning and cussing people out as he wishes. Putting little children to go plant Sophia when they should be in school and out of that horrible heat.

Come to think of it. Burnham was indeed a great president. Too bad Guyanese, especially Indo Guyanese can't acknowledge his greatness.