• Wednesday, 21 August 2013 22:07

Doodnauth Singh, SC. [Stabroek News photo)

Doodnauth Singh, SC.

Former Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Doodnauth Singh died on Wednesday at the Balwant Singh Hospital hours after he was admitted.
He was 80 years old.
Singh, who was the Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) for the 1997 general and regional elections, had been suffering from heart and lung problems for several years now.
The well-respected criminal lawyer in the Caribbean, served as Guyana’s Attorney General from 2001 to 2009 when he resigned from the position.

Current Attorney General, Anil Nandlall, who regarded Singh as his mentor, said the legal fraternity has suffered a tremendous loss especially in the arena of jury trials. “It is a tremendous personal loss and it is a terrible loss to the profession,” said Nandlall of the man who was his first employer, presenter of his petition to practice law and “greatest inspiration in my legal career.”

“I always tell young lawyers that they never had the opportunity to see Doodnauth Singh in full flow before a jury as a defence counsel.”

Singh was admitted to practice in Guyana in January 1959.

President Donald Ramotar was quoted by the Government Information Agency (GINA) as saying that that he was saddened by the news of Singh's death.

"Mr. Singh, also a Senior Counsel, was a man of high intellect, having amassed great experience during his legal life, both locally and internationally. He served Guyana with utmost distinction, pride and selflessness.

He had given decades of service to Guyana, most in the legal profession, in which he was known as an outstanding legal luminary.

President Ramotar and First Lady Deolatchmee Ramotar, on behalf of the Government and people of Guyana express deepest condolence to the family and friends of the late Doodnauth Singh," the brief statement reads.

Among the notable cases he was involved in was as Special Prosecutor against Patrick John, former Prime Minister and Members of the Dominican Defence Force for treason and murder, and Special Prosecutor in Grenada against Bernard Coard and others for the murder of Maurice Bishop, former Prime Minister and others.

Here at home, the former long-time associate of the opposition Working Peoples Alliance (WPA) was Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine’s lawyer in an arson case for burning down the then Camp Street headquarters of the Peoples National Congress (PNC).

Roopnarine said that while was unsurprised by Singh’s passing, he was extremely saddened. “It has still struck me with extreme sadness.

Doodnauth was a good friend. He defended me in the arson trial and I had known him for many, many years and we remained friends throughout the years,” Roopnaraine told Demerara Waves. “His last days were days of extreme suffering and I’m glad that the days are at an end but I will miss him,” he said.

Asked what Singh’s relationship with the WPA was, Roopnaraine said “I can safely say that he was at the side of the civil rebellion and he was very close to both myself and Walter (Rodney).”

The WPA had fought bitterly against the PNC-led authoritarian rule under then President Forbes Burnham.

Parliament bids farewell to Attorney-General Doodnauth Singh

February 1, 2009

…contribution to Guyana will be etched in annals of history — MPs

By Gary Eleazar

The last session for the House came to an emotional end on Thursday last, as Members bade farewell to the Attorney-General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Doodnauth Singh.

The minister, who has served in that capacity since 2001, had tendered his resignation recently, and Thursday’s session was the last time he would be attending in the capacity of Attorney-General, given that, according to his resignation, his tenure in that capacity officially came to an end yesterday.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran, on wishing Singh all the best in his future endeavours, told the House that it was a rare opportunity to actually have the opportunity of bidding a Member of the House farewell.

Attorney-General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Doodnauth Singh

“This is the case,” he explained, given that Members usually leave the House without notice after an election, or as in the case recently with James McAllister, who was recalled.

Singh was described by the Speaker as a moderate man of conservative instincts but who is always on the side of justice, reason and good sense.

Ramkarran added that, as it relates to Mr Singh’s contributions in his 50 years at the Bar as an Attorney-at-Law, he has been a man of exceedingly high erudition, which is derived from his vast experience in a wide range of cases in the legal system in many countries, representing not only individuals, but Governments also.

He posited that Singh was a man who had a commanding courtroom presence, which is aided by skillful cross examination techniques, “in a powerful voice of sustained menace, intimidating judge, jury and witness.”

Leader of the Opposition, Robert Corbin, also expressed similar sentiments whilst wishing Singh all the best, whether he was “riding into the sunset or into the dawn of a new era of activities.” Corbin added that Singh’s contribution to the Parliament, the legal system and to Guyana in general will be recognised duly by the people of Guyana.

Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee, commenting on Singh’s departure, described him as a modest man who was very respectful. He pointed out an interesting fact about Singh in Parliament, in that he was arguably the only MP who was not heckled in the House when he made his presentations on different occasions, given his commanding voice and edifying presentations. “We will miss his learned opinions expressed in these hallowed chambers…We will miss his eloquence and erudite presentations.” His contributions will be etched in the annals of history, Rohee added.

Leader of the Alliance For Change, Raphael Trotman, told the House that Singh has earned the right to say, “I have fought the good fight…I have finished the course, and I have kept the faith.”

Trotman noted that Singh has served his country well, and has been involved in several high-profile and controversial cases which will be a source of debate for years to come. “And that in itself is the mark of a man who has left an indelible impression on a country.”

Singh acknowledged the remarks in his usual gracefulness, whilst adding that it was a privilege to serve in that capacity since 2001.

In his final words of advice to the gathering, Singh urged a more civilised manner in the deliberations in the House.

“Heckling is an art..... It is not a means to transform the National Assembly into a fish market…People must be conscious of what this National Assembly is…It is the highest forum of the land…it is where the people’s business is to be debated…it must be debated in a civilized and decent atmosphere,” advised Singh.

Born on June 16, 1933, Singh pursued a career in the legal field, and was admitted to the practice in January 1959. Singh was the Special Prosecutor in Grenada against Bernard Coard and others for the murder of the former Grenadian Prime Minister Maurice Bishop, among others.

Appointed Senior Counsel in 1985, he continued in private practice until June 2001, when he was appointed Attorney-General and Minister of Legal Affairs.

His final act as Minister of Legal Affairs was to successfully amend the Constitution of Guyana to establish a Parliamentary Oversight Committee which will examine the affairs of the Disciplined Forces.

Former AG Doodnauth Singh sues for gratuity.....

What a Shame....Jagdeo set he self up with super Pension....

But refused to pay Doodnauth Singh his graturity...

September 24, 2009 | By | Filed Under News 

…Chief Justice orders govt to pay $14.6M

Chief Justice Ian Chang has issued an order directing the Minister of Finance, the Secretary to the Treasury and the Accountant General of Guyana to forthwith pay to former Attorney General, Doodnauth Singh, $14.6M. The money represents his gratuity.

Doodnauth Singh S.C.

The order was served on the defendants, Minister of Finance, Dr Ashni Singh; Secretary to the Treasury, Nirmal Rekha, and Accountant General ….

The Chief Justice also quashed a decision by the defendants, contained in a letter, which required the former Attorney General to submit his Income Tax Liability Statement before the payment of his gratuity could be made.

Doodnauth Singh SC, had moved to the court through his attorneys Edward Luckhoo, SC and Neil Boston, following the delay in the payment of his gratuity.

According to an affidavit in support of the motion, Singh stated that he was appointed Attorney General of Guyana and Minister of Legal Affairs in June 2001, and served in those offices until last January.

He noted that from the commencement of his appointments PAYE and pension were deducted from his salary on a monthly basis.

But in June 2004, his salary was declared to be free of tax and the deductions ceased, but he continued to make pension payments until he demitted office early this year.

After serving seven years one month, the former Attorney General’s Gratuity amounting to $14,650,750 was payable with effect from February 1, 2009.

Additionally, his pension of $3,516,180 per annum was due.

This was confirmed by a letter from the Clerk of the National Assembly, Sherlock Isaacs, dated April 6, 2009, in which he stated that the sum of Singh’s entitlements were verified by the Auditor General.

The Clerk of the National Assembly had also indicated that he had discussed the matter with Secretary to the Treasury, Nirmal Rekha, and he advised the former Attorney General to contact the Accountant General with respect to the payment.

A letter dated September 1, 2009 was sent by the former Attorney General’s lawyer to Rekha formally requesting the payment of Singh’s gratuity and pension.

However, a reply signed by Grace McKend, on behalf of the Accountant General, indicated that an income tax liability statement or special approval exemption was a requirement before the payment.

Singh’s lawyer then indicated that all of his client’s Income Tax Returns were submitted by his accountant, Lance Atherley.

Nevertheless, the former Attorney General is of the view that to deny him the benefits until he submits the Income Tax Liability Statement is ultra vires, unlawful, unreasonable without lawful authority and null and void and of no legal effect.

His attorney had also written to the Ministry of Finance requesting that the Ministry provide the regulation or law under which Singh is required to provide an Income Tax Liability Statement.

Chief Justice Ian Chang concurred and ordered that Singh’s gratuity and pension should be paid out of the Consolidated Fund, pursuant to the Pensions (President, Parliamentary and Special Officers) Act, Chapter 27:03, and Article 217 of the Constitution of Guyana.

Singh, who took ill and was hospitalised at Balwant Singh’s Hospital in June this year, was advised to seek medical attention in the United States.

In a letter to the Secretary to the Treasury he pointed out that Cabinet had taken a decision to give each Minister the sum of US$1500 for medical insurance, a decision which was never implemented.

According to the former Attorney General since June 14, he has been in the United States of America seeking medical attention and he has no medical insurance.

He therefore had requested that the gratuity and pension due to him be paid into his local account to assist in the payment of his medical expenses.

The defendants have until October 1 to show cause why the said orders should not be made absolute.

RIP Mr. Singh.  Probably one of the most brilliant lawyers Guyana ever produced.  He was also a very brilliant law student. I had the pleasure of seeing him in action.  The man was all class. For his clients he was like a Roger Moore James Bond in the courtroom.

A very distinguished lawyer. He was very good and highly regarded. I met him in court several times.  My condolences!

On a side note, I am trying to locate one of his ex-secretaries, Rita Roberts.

Last time I saw her she was in NY, but may be in the Myrtle Beach area,

She once told me he was a kind and caring boss.  If you know where she is, please let me know.

Originally Posted by TI:

A very distinguished lawyer. He was very good and highly regarded. I met him in court several times.  My condolences!

She once told me he was a kind and caring boss.  If you know where she is, please let me know.

Guyana has lost one of it's greatest SON. My sincere condolences to the Family.GOD WILL BLESS HIS SOUL.

Originally Posted by TI:

Guyana has lost one of it's greatest SON. My sincere condolences to the Family.GOD WILL BLESS HIS SOUL.

He will be missed. A brilliant lawyer and a gentleman. 

Among the legal fraternity in Guyana, Senior Counsel Doodnauth Singh stood tall like a Colossus.

In and out of court he commanded widespread respect.

In the history books on Guyana's legal system, Doodnauth Singh will be given honorable mention, I'm sure.

A great Guyanese, served his country well....

and walked away from the politics of Lies,

Corruption and Thiefing....

and will always be remembered for

his final words of advice to the Guyana Parliament,

Doodnauth  Singh urged a more civilised manner

in the deliberations in the House.

“Heckling is an art.....

It is not a means to transform

the National Assembly into a fish market…

People must be conscious of what this National Assembly is…

It is the highest forum of the land…

it is where the people’s business is to be debated…

it must be debated in a civilized and decent atmosphere,”

advised Singh.

Rest-in-peace Dood

RIP Mr Singh.

You served well, brilliant attorney and a decent human being.

Born in Skeldon and never forgot where he came from.   Last time we met was last year when he visited our Mosque.

Originally Posted by Vish M:

I can only echo what Kari stated.

My personal and professional opinion, we lost a great soul

I did not see you at the Tradeswind Concert. Ruben Willis was there.  Why?  I don't know.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

He was a great son of the soil, my his soul rest in peace....

the ignorant cabal whose arse u lick daily FOR PAY humiliated this "great son of the soil" over payment of his gratuity and other pension benefits

the PPP philistines who feed u shyte to post here daily have no shame

Originally Posted by Conscience:

He was a great son of the soil, my his soul rest in peace....

the ignorant cabal whose arse u lick daily FOR PAY humiliated this "great son of the soil" over payment of his gratuity and other pension benefits

the PPP philistines who feed u shyte to post here daily have no shame

Councie....Quote ...."He was a great son of the soil, my his soul rest in peace"....

How come De Great Indian sons

who serve their country well

have to go to Court and

fight Ramotar & Jagdeo

to get their little entitlement......

But....

The Black House Of Isreal PNC Chamars

and Loud mouth Pigs

like  Councie, Lamumba, Hamilton,

Bynoe, Nascimento and McClean......

are given everything they demand,

like all de top Jobs

at Office at the President or Freedom House,

Land, Mansions, Luxary Cars,

Driver, Gardner, Cook,

Indian Maid.... and lil boys.....

and anything else aya Demand.

Councie.......Dood was not afraid to speak up

about this Injustice against Indians in Guyana

by all aya Bread-mouth Chamars.

Doodnauth Singh's View of Chammars

Former Guyana Attorney General Doodnauth Singh is quoted as once having told a lawyer in a public gathering, after the reading of Hindu Scriptures:

"You are a good lawyer

but you are too aggressive. ....

I could have understood your loudness if you were a Chammar......
but you are not."

As Redux say....."What a Shame....

today all them loud mouth stinker

and Black PNC Chamar

wuking fuh Jagdeo & Ramotar...

Doodnauth Singh refused ........

to wuk with Aya Chamar....

and asked

What could any stink loud-mouth thug...like...

Kwame, Lamumba,

Nascimento, McClean,

Bynoe or Hamilton...

teach our Indian Kids????"

We often boast about our fine lawyers and yet we have a justice system that runs like a donkey-cart on the Audibon. I would imagine a nation with great lawyers should have a justice system that dispenses justice fairly and squarely.

Guyana is far from that.

Last rites for Doodnauth Singh Notice- No Govt Official,

No PPP Executive,

No Thiefman or Chamar

allowed to get close.....

20130827remainsLast rites for Doodnauth Singh: The coffin bearing the remains of former Minister of Legal Affairs and Attorney General Doodnauth Singh (SC) being borne from his residence on Forshaw Street yesterday for cremation at Kaashi Dam, West Demerara.  Singh died on Wednesday at the age of 80.

Doodnauth Singh has to Drag the Guyana Govt  to court

just one month after he resigned as Attorney General 

to get his Medical benefits paid....

because Jagdeo held it up.

Doodnauth Singh was not afraid to expose Injustice....

and refused to be part of the Corruption & Thiefing.

Doodnauth Singh will always be remembered for

his final words of advice to the Guyana Parliament,

Doodnauth  Singh urged a more civilised manner

in the deliberations in the House.

“Heckling is an art.....

It is not a means to transform

the National Assembly into a fish market…

People must be conscious of what this National Assembly is…

It is the highest forum of the land…

it is where the people’s business is to be debated…

it must be debated in a civilized and decent atmosphere,”

advised Singh.

Doodnauth Singh was not afraid to speak up

about this Injustice against Indians in Guyana

by all Dem Bread-mouth Chamars.

Doodnauth Singh's View of Chammars

Former Guyana Attorney General Doodnauth Singh is quoted as once having told a lawyer in a public gathering, after the reading of Hindu Scriptures:
"You are a good lawyer

but you are too aggressive. ....

I could have understood your loudness....

if you were a Chammar...... but you are not."

"What a Shame....

today all them loud mouth stinker

and Black PNC Chamar

wuking fuh Jagdeo & Ramotar...

Doodnauth Singh refused ........

to wuk with Any Chamar....

and always ask Jagdeo, Ramotar & Luncheon

What could any stink loud-mouth thug...like...

Kwame, Lamumba,

Nascimento, McClean,

Bynoe or Hamilton...

teach our Indian Kids????

or PPP supporters????"