Does forming an alliance contain the promise of an effective strategy of dethroning the PPP?

Posted By Staff Writer On February 17, 2015 @ 5:07 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

I favour the system of post-election coalitions, if only as a strategy to maximize each party’s votes. The pre-election alliance of opposition parties is not a strategy for anything. It is certainly not a strategy to increase the combined share of votes compared to the 2011 elections.

The opposition could have secretly sold this plan to the PPP for a few million dollars – the PPP has been spending large sums campaigning on the slogan AFC=PNC for the last 8 years. Now the slogan is handed to them on a platter.

This alliance was formed under the gun of the constitution which bans post-election party coalitions and which would have handed power to a minority party with a plurality of the votes, as happened in 2011. The opposition parties are acting as if the constitution is sacrosanct. They are making a big mistake. They should act as if the constitution does not matter. The AFC is putting at risk everything it gained at the last election. There is no justification for such risk-taking.

The consciousness of the Guyanese people is tied deeply to race. They are traumatized by race. Their voting preferences are conditioned by race. And, though, there has been some evidence of a changed consciousness in some parts of the country, it is not widespread; it is still fickle and subject to backsliding.

Some years ago Prof Randy Persaud (who ran the PPP’s propaganda department) coined the phrase “AFC and PNC a wan.” The PPP has test-marketed the message and found that it resonates among Indian village folk. It arouses some of the darkest fears while at once being racist; they know it is effective. They have since hired bloggers who would repeat the phrase as many as 5 times in a 50-word post. And the AFC has no message to counter it. The AFC’s base could be devastated – ripped to shreds.

In recent times, I have been fortunate to get to meet and talk personally with leaders of the AFC and PNCR leader David Granger. They are all decent, honourable and trustworthy gentlemen. I would vote for any of them (or all of them) at the drop of a hat, but I have grave doubts about these gentlemen correctly understanding the psychology of the average Guyanese voter and of having a good strategy on how to amend the constitution.

For the good of the nation, I hope and wish my point of view does turn out to be wrong. I sincerely hope that the majority of the Guyanese voters have matured sufficiently and are ready to turn away from race-based voting.

The ruling PPP is an extremely corrupt party. The PPP is running Guyana as if it is their personally-owned plantation. Only recently Chief Justice Chang handed down a decision declaring the government’s expenditure of $4.5 billion without parliamentary approval illegal. This government neither believes in parliamentary democracy nor has the concept of a genuine multi-racial democracy. The PPP’s core campaign message is to drive home fear of the other in the Indian villages so as to secure their votes. Their messages are not subtle, not subliminal. Have we as a nation of diverse peoples not moved on from the era of the 1960s? For the current crop of PPP leaders, it’s doing what works for them, election after election.

Does the concept of forming an alliance contain the promise and an effective strategy of dethroning the PPP? I can only hold my breath and wait. I have no choice but to support the Alliance.

Yours faithfully,

Mike Persaud

Mike is a good man. Sound man. A principled man. He's anti PPP. Pro Opposition. He was the one who arranged for David Granger to interact with Indians in Queens last year.

And his sentiments do not inspire confidence.

"The opposition parties are acting as if the constitution is sacrosanct. They are making a big mistake. They should act as if the constitution does not matter."

While still the supreme law of the land, it is the monstrosity illegally created by Burhman and no self respecting politician who become leader of Guyana will ever care to give up the power that Constitution brings them. Anyone who believes an APNU/AFC government will screw themselves by changing it may also be interested in that Brooklyn Bridge I have to sell.

The APNU/AFC alliance has been agreed on, and debating whether it was right or wrong is a waste of time.

The larger issue is that PPP needs to go.  The people of St Kitts Nevus ridded themselves of an arrogant regime which ruled that nation for 20 years.  Guyanese need to look and learn.

So all I wish to focus on is discussing how to ensure the alliance defeats the PPP, and to prevent people like HM and Mitwah from bringing in their old PPP attitude of disrespect for PNC supporters.  To suggest that Stormy that there are real problems ahead, and to Mars to stop fooling himself that Indians aren't a larger % of the voters than they are of the population at large.

And to help push dear redux out of the mud which he sometimes gets stuck on.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

"The opposition parties are acting as if the constitution is sacrosanct. They are making a big mistake. They should act as if the constitution does not matter."

While still the supreme law of the land, it is the monstrosity illegally created by Burhman and no self respecting politician who become leader of Guyana will ever care to give up the power that Constitution brings them. Anyone who believes an APNU/AFC government will screw themselves by changing it may also be interested in that Brooklyn Bridge I have to sell.

That's what also worries me. This Constitution is the source of many of our evils. And everyone hates it while they're in Opposition. Then suddenly when they win Government, it's the most democratic parchment on earth.

I'm terribly pessimistic when it comes to Guyana. The Government is lackluster. The Opposition is lackluster with rare exception. Even if the Coalition wins, I don't expect radical change.

That's what also worries me. This Constitution is the source of many of our evils. And everyone hates it while they're in Opposition. Then suddenly when they win Government, it's the most democratic parchment on earth.

I'm terribly pessimistic when it comes to Guyana. The Government is lackluster. The Opposition is lackluster with rare exception. Even if the Coalition wins, I don't expect radical change.

The predominant feature of Guyanese is they are all for themselves. Everyone is friendly but only f it does not cost them to be friendly. The private sector has been screwing their workers forever while the Government/Public sector workers have been doing the same to their employees. Those long lines to get a birth certificate would not be necessary if it did not result in people paying bribes to speed up the process. Same at the passport offices. Sure the opposition talks about change but I know better.

Shaitan....while yuh sucking cane

yuh must read below and understand who yuh dealing with.

Jalil,

Caribny and I are not your enemies. We're actually on your side. We're just examining the situation from all angles is all.

This isn't the old days where the Leader makes a decision and the sheep obey and are grateful for the opportunity to obey. This is 2015. This is how politics is. We all agree on the need to remove the PPP. This Coalition is brand new, seems to go against conventional thinking (in every way possible), and needs all the help it can get. I don't know this for a fact but I can guarantee you that some Guyanese voter might read this forum and find something of use in our discussions.

Attempting to shut us up is not the way to advance your cause. And neither is insulting Caribny. He's no John Talbot. And he's not a racist. I think this word racist gets thrown about too often around here. Let's be careful about using such a loaded term for a fellow poster.

Let me show you the difference between these NYC based AFC clowns and those who live in NYC.

In 2011 I argued that the AFC was placing too much energy on Regions 5 and 6 and were ignoring the black vote.  And that this would hurt them at the elections. 

Gerhard and eye got into a debate and eventually he explained that the AFC lacked the resources to mount a nationwide debate so decided to focus on the regions where Nagamootoo would be most effective. They hoped that APNU would focus on getting the black vote out, so didn't want to waste their scarce resources fighting them.  Gerhard saw my point of view, and hoped that I wasn't right.

The 2011 results came in and as expected, the AFC lost votes almost every where except Regions 5 and 6.  They lost significant traction in the PNC strongholds.  Gerhard conceded that I was right, but explained again that it couldn't be helped, its a risk that they took, and that fortunately APNU was more successful in 2011 with their base than they were in 2006.  The result being the higher APNU turn out, combined with AFC inroads into Berbice PPP strongholds deprived the PPP of the majority vote.

Reasonable responses which suggested that while there was merit in my argument it wasn't realistic given the AFCs lack of resources.

Jalil, Mitwah, and HM_redux seem determined to make me their enemy.  In the interim my alert box is packed with comments agreeing with me. Almost 100 at this point.  They seem intent to paint me as a black obsessed "racist", failing to understand that the PNC is packed with people whose views are similar to mine, some even more hardline.

I wonder what will happen to these cretins when an APNU government sets out to address the imbalance in Indo vs. Afro involvement in top slots. 

If Nagamootoo thinks that he will pack his appointments with his Indo friends, then he is in for a shock.

CaribJ......Quote....

"I wonder what will happen to these cretins when an APNU government sets out to address the imbalance in Indo vs. Afro involvement in top slots. 

If Nagamootoo thinks that he will pack his appointments with his Indo friends, then he is in for a shock."

Look at this Dishonest Black Burnhamite Racist

AFC chose 2 Blacks & 1 Indian

to sit and negotiate with an all Black APNU team.

AND THERE WAS NO PROBLEM...

Now them Old Black PNC Racist

Showing their Hands...

Shaitan

look who is casting Doubts

and Injecting Race...

Into a Historic Agreement that

Jagan & Burnham could not get close to. 

IF CARIBJ SPEAKS FOR GRANGER, PNC OR APNU THIS AGREEMENT WILL FAIL.

Shaitan I do not have a Problem if you Blow J..

it is your mouth...

Sir,

I have you know that Shaitaan would never blow anyone.....unless it was for a little crack...or may 10 bucks. But other than those two very specific instances, I take deep exception to your charge

it is your mouth...

Sir,

I have you know that Shaitaan would never blow anyone.....unless it was for a little crack...or may 10 bucks. But other than those two very specific instances, I take deep exception to your charge

Please you have a record of eating fried rice wid Kwame in Double Happiness or so you claim. 

Shitstains yuh gone off the deep end.

it is your mouth...

Sir,

I hope so....certainly not CaribJ.

But he certainly was enjoying some sensation as you pat him along and Cover up his Racism.

Can he deny any of this.....

CaribJ Quote-

"I wonder what will happen to these cretins when an APNU government sets out to address the imbalance in Indo vs. Afro involvement in top slots. 

If Nagamootoo thinks that he will pack his appointments with his Indo friends, then he is in for a shock."

Shaitan

look who is casting Doubts

and Injecting Race...

Into a Historic Agreement that

Jagan & Burnham could not get close to. 

IF CARIBJ SPEAKS FOR GRANGER, PNC OR APNU THIS AGREEMENT WILL FAIL.

Shaitan are you afraid

to ask him if he said those Racist things.....

and if he did ask him ....why?

I can tell you there is no way in hell Caribj speaks for Granger or APNU/PNC.

This old fart is here wasting away in the US waiting for his day like Sanko.

Bhai we all are going to Die.

But Please do not mix up CaribJ & Sanko in the same sentence.

Yuh elevating an Old Racist PNC Crab Louse with my friend Sanko....and tha aint nice.

I can tell you there is no way in hell Caribj speaks for Granger or APNU/PNC.

This old fart is here wasting away in the US waiting for his day like Sanko.

Bhai we all are going to Die.

But Please do not mix up CaribJ & Sanko in the same sentence.

Yuh elevating an Old Racist PNC Crab Louse with my friend Sanko....and tha aint nice.

hehehehe my bad Honorable Jalil. I will let Sanko rest in peace.

I do remember he also used to antagonize J here back in the day.

translating y'all chorus:

dem PPP bais wicked, teef like raas, but abee pan tap . . . nah rock de boat; anadda 5 [more] years nah gon make any difference