@Former Member all jokes aside, serious question for you. Need something explained in layman terms cuz I ain't too bright. I read that all the oil revenues are being put into a fund (sovereign wealth kinda thing) and considered "generational wealth". Experts recommend it not be spent.

These are oil "revenues". Or is this profit? What about the expenses associated with these oil revenues? How is that accounted for, does it just get chalked up to the national debt?

Assuming these revenues / profits are not being touched, then how are they paying for these generous giveaway programs? Sugar is dead, rice etc. So what's bringing in the revenue to pay for all these "programs" they're talking about. Is this sheer deficit spending or is oil money being used?

Ah gat one mo, but ah kno yuh busy. Tek yuh time, but not too much.

Guyana not yet in position to adopt Norway model for a wealth fund – Ali

Irfaan Ali
Irfaan Ali

President Irfaan Ali yesterday announced that while his government is committed to the transparent spending of Guyana’s oil revenue, it cannot at this stage commit to implementing the internationally praised Norway model for a Sovereign Wealth Fund (SWF).

During the opening session of the inaugural Diaspora Conference, held virtually, Ali along with Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo responded to series of questions from participants.

Asked specifically if the PPP/C government plans to use the Norway model to manage oil revenues both men said that Guyana situation is very different from Norway. “There is a lot of academic debate on different funds and different ways in which Natural Resources Funds are managed globally but what a lot of academic debate don’t tell you is that for example in the Norwegian model it was adopted after the country had a certain level of infrastructure, a certain level of service, a certain level of development,” Ali noted.

He stressed that in considering the best model to implement, discussions must include the state of the country when a particular model was approved. His government, he noted, is currently examining several models, including the Kazakhstan model.

This model prioritises the dual purposes of economic stabilisation and savings. Notably while the National Bank of Kazakhstan serves as operational manager for the fund, all major strategic and policy decisions regarding the fund are made by the management council, consisting of the President, Prime Minister and high-ranking ministers, government officials and parliamentarians.

While deposit and withdrawal amounts are made public, there is virtually no public reporting on specific assets or asset allocation and the transfer of funds in and out of the National Fund is governed by presidential decrees.

In contrast the Norwegian model, which also performs both budget-stabilisation and saving, is an integrated part of the government’s annual budget with its income providing stable, predictable funding of up to 3% of the fund’s capital in the annual national budget. That means Norway can withdraw as much as 3% of the fund each year.

‘Dire need’

According to Ali, Guyana’s is in dire need of infrastructure transformation, in dire need of transformation in the health sector, in the education sector and in the energy sector. “We have to create the framework for the expansion of these and other important sectors that will bring jobs and create the platform through which our country will evolve into the future, and through which these funds can be modelled, and that is the stage we are in now in Guyana,” he stressed explaining that the drive is to enhance the lives of all Guyanese and give the country the opportunity to become competitive, to access world-class services and world-class infrastructure.

The model adopted will suit these needs, allow for transparency and include input from local sectors, he explained.

“Look at the Petroleum Commission. We are going to establish the involvement of the Parliament and everything we have outlined layers in management of the fund,” he said.

Jagdeo reminded that his party was very critical of the current Natural Resource Fund Act because it did not believe that the model used did not offer enough distance for politicians from its management. “We have always adopted one principal of the Norwegian fund. The fund must be managed in a professional manner distanced from political interference. Second, we are committed to the Santiago principles in terms of transparency in use of the Natural Resources Fund. Thirdly it was the PPP/C government which signed up for the Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative, so we are fully committed to that,” he said, before adding that the PPP/C will also criminalise non-disclosure of receipts from oil companies.

These principles aside, Jagdeo stressed that it would be unconscionable to have children in the present day unable to attend school while the country saves for the future.  

President Irfaan Ali yesterday announced that while his government is committed to the transparent spending of Guyana’s oil revenue, it cannot at this stage commit to implementing the internationally praised Norway model for a Sovereign Wealth Fund (SWF).

So what model are they following?

Ali also said the PPP:is currently examining several models, including the Kazakhstan model.

This model prioritises the dual purposes of economic stabilisation and savings. Notably while the National Bank of Kazakhstan serves as operational manager for the fund, all major strategic and policy decisions regarding the fund are made by the management council, consisting of the President, Prime Minister and high-ranking ministers, government officials and parliamentarians.

Last edited by Mitwah

Who is Labbadulla? Lol? That would mek a good handle name. Lol

Anyway the government take is 2% royalty + 50% profit share. That's what dem boys deposit in the NY account.

Exxon Tek out it's cost. They recouping each month.

Meh went to August school after meh ketch buck crab...but that is what me read in TK column pon Stabroek. Lol!

Exxon recouping cost foh years to come because dem boys didn't do any ring fencing. De cost is exploration, etc, plus operating. Dem cyant tek out more that 75% of de market price of cost in any month.

Dem boys at OGGN gat de formula pon Dem website.

Suh yuh sehin' dat Exxon can be recouping "costs" for eternity. Suh is there a possibility that costs exceed de lil aile money we get over the long term?

I mean how do we know if this thing really wukking fuh we over the long term?

@Mitwah posted:

So what model are they following?

Ali also said the PPP:is currently examining several models, including the Kazakhstan model.

Thanks Mits. Ignoring the eye raising choice of the Kazak model and the opportunity it gives for teefing, let's assume they use this "fund" for all the handouts and grand "programs" such as gas to shore. I take it then that it is quite possible for the cost of these programs PLUS the repayment of costs to Exxon could possibly result in a deficit.

So bottom line - net net, we are in the same boat as we would have been without oil (with the hope that the country's infrastructure etc. could be improved)

Your thoughts?

Suh yuh sehin' dat Exxon can be recouping "costs" for eternity. Suh is there a possibility that costs exceed de lil aile money we get over the long term?

I mean how do we know if this thing really wukking fuh we over the long term?

GUY will get money long term. But as Dem bannas said, they will get far less than what Dem could if abie only work together. Guyana will need nuff, nuff money. De contract short change we. We could have much better contact if PPP/PNC/AFC and civil society negotiable dis contract. There should be no politics on this matter.

@cain posted:

Labbadullaski busy..hehehe..busy preparing for winter foraging for nuts an fruit.

Banna, yuh ever see the size of that man Labbadulla? Foraging for nuts and fruit? LMAO. Last time he touch a nut and a fruit he was in the shower.

Ah hear we fren Labbadulla does knack down 2 roti while at he desk marking papers lol

https://www.pwc.com/gy/en/asse...a-2020-21-budget.pdf

https://www.pwc.com/gy/en/libr...onal-budget-2021.pdf

On 12 February 2021, Senior Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Finance, the Honourable Dr. Ashni Singh delivered Guyana’s GY$383.1bn (US$1.84bn) national budget in Parliament. The 2021 budget was delivered under the theme “A path to recovery: Economic dynamism and resilience”.

The budget presentation was also done in the context of the following other key macroeconomic indicators:

● Total central Government revenue (excluding Guyana REDD-Plus Investment Fund -GRIF) - GY$257.9bn/US$1.24bn
(2020 - GY$227.4bn/US$1.09bn)
○ Tax revenue - GY$242.1bn/US$1.16bn (2020 - GY$218.3bn/US$1.05bn)
○ Non-tax revenue - GY$15.8bn/US$76m (2020 - GY$9.1bn/US$44m)
● Total expenditure - GY$366.9bn (US$1.76bn)
● Budget deficit - GY$109 bn or 8.7% of GDP (2020 - 9.4%)
● Budget deficit for non financial sector - GY$100.9 bn or 9.8 % of GDP
● Projected Inflation - 0.9%.

Info on Budget.

Yes, Exxon and dem Chinese partner recouping 'cost' forever. Lol

So same question I posed to Mits - is it possible that given the never ending run on "costs" combined with all the of Ratman's grand programs that we are in the red eventually?

And I'm not even touching the subject of whether what they spend on will even be useful. History will say NO, it won't.

thx. Labbadulla is saying that Exxon will be extracting royalties and costs for years to come from these figures. I'm curious as to whether this venture has a chance of being profitable

The Liza Phase 1 development includes a subsea production system and a floating production, storage and offloading (FPSO) vessel designed to produce up to 120,000 barrels of oil per day. Production is expected to begin by 2020, less than five years after discovery of the field. Phase 1 is expected to cost just over $4.4 billion, which includes a lease capitalization cost of approximately $1.2 billion for the FPSO facility, and will develop approximately 450 million barrels of oil.

https://corporate.exxonmobil.c...evelopment-in-Guyana

Thanks Mits. Ignoring the eye raising choice of the Kazak model and the opportunity it gives for teefing, let's assume they use this "fund" for all the handouts and grand "programs" such as gas to shore. I take it then that it is quite possible for the cost of these programs PLUS the repayment of costs to Exxon could possibly result in a deficit.

So bottom line - net net, we are in the same boat as we would have been without oil (with the hope that the country's infrastructure etc. could be improved)

Your thoughts?

This Kazak model would allow them to spend without any caps. Plus they will install one of their cronies at the bank to manage the funds. It seems that they don't believe in saving some for the future generations. Hence, I agree with you that we are in the same boat as we would have been without oil.

@Mitwah posted:

This Kazak model would allow them to spend without any caps. Plus they will install one of their cronies at the bank to manage the funds. It seems that they don't believe in saving some for the future generations. Hence, I agree with you that we are in the same boat as we would have been without oil.

Thx for a straightforward answer. That Labbadulla one dancing around talking about buck crab...lol.

I thought it was just me. So with all this talk of oil nation and Guyana becoming the dubai of the Caribbean, we're still in the shithole. The lilves of the average Guyanese, of ALL races, will remain the same. Just as is the case of Trinidad and Venezuela (geographically closest neighbors).

And all the PPP morons celebrating. SMFH. People just don't get that we need to rise above these 2 parties in their present form.

The PPP have their new leaders and they are worse than the old. It remains to be seen which new, young leaders in the PNC will emerge. The old ones are visionless and on their way out.

Thx for a straightforward answer. That Labbadulla one dancing around talking about buck crab...lol.

I thought it was just me. So with all this talk of oil nation and Guyana becoming the dubai of the Caribbean, we're still in the shithole. The lilves of the average Guyanese, of ALL races, will remain the same. Just as is the case of Trinidad and Venezuela (geographically closest neighbors).

And all the PPP morons celebrating. SMFH. People just don't get that we need to rise above these 2 parties in their present form.

The PPP have their new leaders and they are worse than the old. It remains to be seen which new, young leaders in the PNC will emerge. The old ones are visionless and on their way out.

a major factor that should be considered as we try to wrap our heads around how much guyana gains from the project is the danger of a deepwater blowout and major oil spill

exxon is breaking new ground in terms of depth of operation and the new technology employed. some experts warned that exxon is playing for high stakes and risks environmental desaster in the event of a blowout. lives could be lost and ecosystems guyanese rely on for food destroyed

it's not altogether clear who foots the bill for the clean up so whatever revenues we make could well disappear with such an event

experts say the risk it too high for guyana. exxon is not only dangerously deep but oil production is double where it should be at this stage of the project

@Spugum posted:

a major factor that should be considered as we try to wrap our heads around how much guyana gains from the project is the danger of a deepwater blowout and major oil spill

exxon is breaking new ground in terms of depth of operation and the new technology employed. some experts warned that exxon is playing for high stakes and risks environmental desaster in the event of a blowout. lives could be lost and ecosystems guyanese rely on for food destroyed

it's not altogether clear who foots the bill for the clean up so whatever revenues we make could well disappear with such an event

experts say the risk it too high for guyana. exxon is not only dangerously deep but oil production is double where it should be at this stage of the project

Absolutely. the greatest cost if it ever occurs. Sadly our "leaders" negotiated a bunch of piss poor agreements. One oil spill or blowout, story done, story finish. Then it's blame black man time from the PPP sycophants. These fools simply cannot place country ahead of their Indian race.