For opposition parties…
Written by Chevon Singh
Thursday, 05 January 2012 01:53

Forging alliance against PPP/C proving much more difficult - Guyana Chronicle

Said Luncheon - THE efforts of the two opposition political parties, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance for Change (AFC), to forge a relationship for a joint purpose against the governing People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) is proving much more difficult than they anticipated.Head of the Presidential Secretariat (HPS), Dr. Roger Luncheon made this observation yesterday, at the first post-Cabinet media briefing for 2012, at Office of the President, where he noted the Administration’s “remorse” at the way in which the other two parties have been dealing with the Tripartite Initiative.

According to him, Cabinet has taken note of the media reports of the “travails” of the two parliamentary opposition parties, particularly their inability to agree on the selection of a Speaker of the National Assembly.

Luncheon said: “The Tripartite Initiative evolved a flurry of expectations of consummating energies that should be used productively…it was waylaid. My own impression is that APNU and AFC got together and thought it would have been rather simple to gang up on the governing party and to present us with, essentially, a fait accompli and to restore some ‘bilaterality’ in this engagement, government versus opposition.”

The HPS said the first hurdle that presented itself is the parties’ inability to come to consensus on the selection of the Speaker and that reinforces the perception that their politics is not based on reason.
“The apparent abandonment of consensus seeking embodied in the notions of the Tripartite Initiative does not augur well for the future. Other than a duel fist fight, there is nothing much left for them (APNU and AFC) to register their disagreements about,” he remarked.
Luncheon said, too, that most of the issues which were identified in the parties’ mutual submissions needed to be addressed in the context of the tripartite agreement. As such, he affirmed that the PPP/C has been respectful of the promise of the tripartite approach to mutual concerns.

He said: “We have not sought to cut a deal or to have some privileged agreement with either of the two parties. In the meanwhile, the Administration is moving apace to refine its position on those matters it identified and submitted to the other two parties, as it relates to the appointment of the panel to review VAT and the tax system in general.”

Luncheon said one of the issues which will be addressed at the tripartite level is the conclusion of the Local Government Reform, which has already been publicly identified in the PPP/C Manifesto 2012, to allow for Local Government Elections this year, in addition to the successful conclusion of the selection of the executives of the ten Administrative Regions.

As to the importance of these, Luncheon said: “Those conclusions would anticipate consensus building and thrust being exuded by the three parties, as they move to put executives in the three Regions, Four (Demerara/Mahaica), Seven (Cuyuni/Mazaruni) and Eight (Potaro/Siparuni), where none enjoys an absolute majority.”

The Cabinet Secretary reiterated that the performance of the Tripartite Initiative and its expectations will be tested when the Tenth Parliament is convened, which, constitutionally, can be no later than January 28.

“Our expectation is, as we seek to re-engage in the New Year, definitely before the proclamation, to be issued by the President, to reconvene the Tenth Parliament is the promise that that expectation, that fulfillment is still out there and, at the level of the three parties, it is still something worth committing to. This is what we hope,” Luncheon said.

APNU-AFC is dog fighting while the PPP is hoping to make changes for the new year. Why do we need oppositions? They are just bickering and fighting for power and compromise their promises to the people? Let's have another election and get them out for good.
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by raymond:
Why do we need oppositions?

damn...you're stupid
You are so kind!

Kind of being what? We don't need bickering of power hungry between two reform parties that come from the same-old block. You blindly support a party that forgot about promises to the people just weeks after election. Both you and Raymond can eat back your stupidness. Let's get real with what's going on in Guyana politics. APNU-AFC is all about what was expected of them....nothing or obstacles.
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
[ APNU-AFC is all about what was expected of them....nothing or obstacles.

Just remember that more people voted for those two than for the PPP.
Originally posted by D2:

damn...you're stupid
You are so kind!

Kind of being what? We don't need bickering of power hungry between two reform parties that come from the same-old block. You blindly support a party that forgot about promises to the people just weeks after election. Both you and Raymond can eat back your stupidness. Let's get real with what's going on in Guyana politics. APNU-AFC is all about what was expected of them....nothing or obstacles.
He was kind to call you a fool for the above statement. The idea that they two party have differing viewpoints on who should hold a post is no different than the PPP thinking they ought to have it. Why are they not part of the bickering crew/ Note, the opposition parties are not making public statements. It is the PPP and its agents doing so.

And we do not need the PPP totalitarianism to continue. Absent the opposition, holding a slim majority, the result would be the same corrupt, autocratic party. Further, we do aspire for a democracy
Originally posted by D2:

damn...you're stupid
You are so kind!

dead people have more shame than you ppp crime family,no oppisition more taking of the tax payers money and i am not asying thiefing,you people stop thief you start taking.
power hungry

why did the PPP contest the election, since you feel that they are not part of the power hungry lot? Were they doing it to hold on to power...or just for the heck of it?

...you're stepping out of the realm of stupidity into one of dunceness...soon you will be a stupid dunce
power hungry

why did the PPP contest the election, since you feel that they are not part of the power hungry lot? Were they doing it to hold on to power...or just for the heck of it?

...you're stepping out of the realm of stupidity into one of dunceness...soon you will be a stupid dunce
bai they contest to steal the tax payers money.that is all these low life is doing building fancy house and telling the poor people that there is no money to give them a raise
Let's have another election and get them out for good.

Tell the Duck to call an election nuh. 65% of the people did not vote for the PPP in the last election and much more will not vote for them.
Originally posted by D2:

damn...you're stupid
You are so kind!

the ppp have oppisition and is still thiefing so much,without oppisition what will they do.