Obamas Buy $8.1 Million DC Mansion. NYPost, June 1, 2017

Obamas buy $8.1 million DC mansion

Barack and Michelle Obama have snapped up the 1920s brick house they were renting in the posh Washington, DC, neighborhood of Kalorama for $8.1 million.

The former president and his family plan to spend at least another two-and-a-half years in the nation’s capital, said Kevin Lewis, spokesman for the Obamas.

“It made sense for them to buy a home rather than continuing to rent,” Lewis said in an email confirming the purchase.

The Obamas have been living in the 8,200-square-foot home since leaving the White House in January. Obama, 55, has said in the past that the family intends to stay in Washington until their younger daughter, Sasha, finishes school.

The house was renovated in 2011, includes up to nine bedrooms, eight-and-a-half bathrooms, a finished basement with room for staff, an oversize terrace and formal gardens, according to a former listing with Washington Fine Properties. There’s also a two-car garage plus ample parking for a Secret Service detail in a gated courtyard that can fit eight to 10 cars.

The sellers, Joe Lockhart, Glover Park Group co-founder, and his wife, Giovanna Gray Lockhart, the Washington editor of Glamour, bought the home in 2014 for $5.3 million, according to property records.

Kalorama is a popular spot for DC elite. Obama’s neighbors include Ivanka Trump and her husband, Jared Kushner, as well as Secretary of State Rex Tillerson.

I am looking for the Pradoville cussbirds to show up.  This man best job was a community leader before he became President.

He and his wife are qualified lawyers and is the highest paid most sough after ex president for speech making.

I am looking for the Pradoville cussbirds to show up.  This man best job was a community leader before he became President.

He and his wife are qualified lawyers and is the highest paid most sough after ex president for speech making.

I don't know if he is the most sought after ex-President for speech making.  But, that said, the man deserves to live anywhere he can afford.  I applaud him and his lovely home.

However, when Guyana former President for 11 years, who was also Finance Minister for many years before that, and who doesn't have a wife or pickney to spend his money build a house, people here on GNI were getting epileptic seizures!!

And for all intents and purposes, both him and his wife are unemployed so they shouldn't qualify for a mortgage according to bank rules.

But, the pragmatist in me tells me that he may have bought a few thousand shares of that Amazon stock for $16 and sold it for $1,000.  (The gist of the story is he may have had investments.)

Maam are you comparing Guyana with the ole USA ??

Well, of course.  Didn't you say you came from Guyana with nothing and almost no education and end up living in a nice, white neighborhood and own several businesses and buildings?  But yet, you start to cry when Jagdeo build a house.

Oh please stop the bullshit. Django got there by working hard with his hands and putting his earnings in the cookie jar. What we hear is BJ got there by hardly working...yet using his hands to take from the cookie jar.

In the end, I don't care a rat's ass what y'all seh. Between President Obama, President Jagdeo, and President Burnham, that Guyana blackman turned out to be the best.

Papa Burnham never built an ordinary house, much less a mansion, for himself. And he was a brilliant lawyer for 15 years before he became Prime Minister in 1964 and ruled for 21 years.

The Residence on Vlissengen Road was and remains State property. Belfield was not Burnham's house. He served his country without thinking about acquiring real estate. His salary was spent on his Chivas Regal whisky, his Benson & Hedges cigarettes, his purple shoes, his horses and saddles etc. 

Belfield is whose house?  I passed it a few times and it has fallen into disrepair with overgrown bushes.  Look like someone lives there as I saw clothes hung out on a clothes line in the backyard.

Well, of course.  Didn't you say you came from Guyana with nothing and almost no education and end up living in a nice, white neighborhood and own several businesses and buildings?  But yet, you start to cry when Jagdeo build a house.

Madam,where did i cry about your hero Jagdeo house ??

Let me inform you I am an Electronics Technician-Work Shop Manager for 5 yrs of the 8 yrs working for a private company in the homeland,resigned and had my own business until migrated,did what i had to do in the ole USA.I presume in your book that isn't an Education.

Go pick on someone else,you seem to make up stories as you go along.

Let me inform you I am an Electronics Technician-Work Shop Manager for 5 yrs of the 8 yrs working for a private company in the homeland,resigned and had my own business until migrated,did what i had to do in the ole USA.I presume in your book that isn't an Education.

Haha.  You didn't just say that did you?????  Dementia????? 

"Madam,where did i cry about your hero Jagdeo house ??"

Probably stepping in on you,watch out.

Hey Django, tek one tip from old Gilly: a woman may offend a man, but a man must never respond in kind. I also recommend you also read Jeffery's book and learn something. You and Bibi knocking each other for too long.