<select class="mobileMainMenu" id="mobileMainMenu"><option selected="selected" value="">Go To..</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/">Home</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/politics/">Politics</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/crime/">Crime</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/business/">Business</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/mining/">- Mining</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/health/">Health</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/sports/">Sports</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/opinion/">Opinion</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/entertainment/">Entertainment</option><option value="#">Other</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/local-news/">- Local News</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/regional/">- Regional</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/category/world/">- World</option><option value="http://www.inewsguyana.com/contact-us/">Contact us</option></select>
Home » latest news » “Slap and strip” statement: Manickchand says it was “nothing short of sexist”

“Slap and strip” statement: Manickchand says it was “nothing short of sexist”

April 22, 2015 9:31 am Category: latest news A+ / A-
Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Hours after Health Minister, Dr Bheri Ramsaran issued an apology for some disparaging remarks that were made to a female women’s right activist, Education Minister Priya Manickchand condemned her cabinet colleague for the statement, calling it “sexist.”

“Shut your mouth and get out my face…I am not entertaining you…You idiot, we have less maternal deaths. I am a Candidate leading these people. We are going to win the elections and do better….Get the hell out of my face… eff off”, said Dr Ramsaran in the audio recording.

He went on to tell the woman that she is “a little piece of shit…idiot,” and asked a nearby police officer to intervene.

“I would slap her ass, you know. Just for the fun. I can have some woman strip her right there,” the Minister said in his diatribe

Manickchand, in her a social media post, described the remarks as “nothing short of sexist (he wouldn’t have thought of stripping a man), disrespectful, vulgar and stupid. He must apologise and retract what he said.”

The Minister said she unreservedly condemn his choice of words.

Minister of Health, Dr Bheri Ramsaran and Sherlina Nageer during the exchange in front the Whim's Magistrate's Court. [Mark Jacobs' Photo]

Minister of Health, Dr Bheri Ramsaran and Sherlina Nageer during the exchange in front the Whim’s Magistrate’s Court. [Mark Jacobs’ Photo]

“I believe he could have and indeed he was entitled to defend himself if he felt threatened by an assault. I don’t believe he is entitled to slap anybody just for fun or to strip anybody….and it is these backward utterances that he must apologise for. He may also wish to do some soul searching and see if that is really how he feels about women, irrespective of whether they are irritants. He must examine how he feels about his responsibility to answer members of the public irrespective of if those said members are asking questions in an unconventional way,” Manickchand stated.

However, she said that it was the moral ills of society that have manifested to allow such sentiments to be expressed in the public without having to be uncomfortable about it.

“When you didn’t speak about Henry Green getting an injunction against a woman who was claiming he raped her, you laid the ground for this sentiment and comfort expressing this sentiment.When you failed to speak up when Raphael Trotman got an injunction against a rape victim, prohibiting that victim from telling his story, you laid the ground for this sentiment and comfort expressing this sentiment. When you heard Felix saying on a tape he will plant drugs on a maid at the airport because his friend had complained that she had stolen some money from Congress Place and you failed to then call for his resignation and further accepted him as a leader now of the opposition, you essentially built a throne for sentiments like Ramsaran’s.”

I am tempted to post that naked batty pitcha with Ramo doing the Bugs Bunny shuffle with dat Leopold night worker.

On a serious note, it is extremely troubling to speak out in Guyana for women's right under the PPP/C.

PPP/C leaders are known for their verbal, mental and physical abuse of Guyanese.

Last edited by Mitwah

WHy didn't she bring up Jagdeo locking he wife out since she using other examples...?

What is wrong with you guys and Jagdeo and his x-wife, do you know what went wrong in their home. She is in Toronto playing the field, she was a gold digger, but it didn't pay off.Why the coalition didn't put her on their list, if she was creditable, she could have been an asset .

Originally Posted by kp:

WHy didn't she bring up Jagdeo locking he wife out since she using other examples...?

What is wrong with you guys and Jagdeo and his x-wife, do you know what went wrong in their home. She is in Toronto playing the field, she was a gold digger, but it didn't pay off.Why the coalition didn't put her on their list, if she was creditable, she could have been an asset .

Pray that you don't get a son in law like Jagdeo.

Originally Posted by kp:

Pray that you don't get a son in law like Jagdeo.

Did you actually think of that statement, or you cut and paste.

Originally Posted by kp:

Aya PPP auuntyman got to mek up yuh mind.

Last week aya saying Varshnie is a good Girl and she love & supporting Jagdeo & De PPP.

Now yuh telling abee de pickney leff  state house and in Canada teking real hion because jagabat could not supply wha any human want.

Originally Posted by kp:

Last week aya saying Varshnie is a good Girl and she love & supporting Jagdeo & De PPP.

Now yuh telling abee de pickney leff  state house and in Canada teking real hion because jagabat could not supply wha any human want.

The entire GDF could not supply wha the woman want.

Originally Posted by kp:

I am sure them got nuff decent man in the GDF....

I understand she happily married to one.

KP ....We must also be fair to Jagabat,

We cannot expect him to love Kwame

and pretty Women at the same time

Originally Posted by kp:

You are just another example of how PPP regard women

Originally Posted by kp:

She met jagdeo when he was a poor church mice. He is the one that mined gold in the coffers of the state. She like our country is his victim.

you are poor example of a man if you disrespect the woman who stood before us as our first lady for seven years because of a lie by her husband. That skunk of a half man abused her.

I personally will demand of the opposition if the becomes the administration that the award h er full first lady rights even if it means pruning some of the give away to Jagdeo or splitting it in half. That is my promise

Originally Posted by kp:

This statement from you says quite a lot. Would you say that if the person you are referring to is your daughter? Are you not worst than Jagdeo by making that statement. You are just nasty and disgusting.

We dont know that.  Never trust a BITTER woman. Take my advise, I had quite a few.

Where were all of you when Cain, Warrior and Jalil was DISRESPECTING Alena right here?????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! @!#$%^&

I did say to cut it out...suh ress yuself

Where were all of you when Cain, Warrior and Jalil was DISRESPECTING Alena right here?????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! @!#$%^&

You are one of the few good one.  The rest are hypocrites and shamelessly so.  Fair is Fair, who vex vex!!

Originally Posted by Dondadda:
Originally Posted by kp:

This statement from you says quite a lot. Would you say that if the person you are referring to is your daughter? Are you not worst than Jagdeo by making that statement. You are just nasty and disgusting.

I would say that if the person was your daughter, looser.

Originally Posted by kp:

Do you know where that woman is and what she is doing?? The mere idea you guys started this subject of Jagdeo and his x-wife,well they are both open for criticism. Remember the coin has two sides.

Originally Posted by kp:

Do you know where that woman is and what she is doing?? The mere idea you guys started this subject of Jagdeo and his x-wife,well they are both open for criticism. Remember the coin has two sides.

You is a rale anti man.

APNUAFC's photo.

Last edited by Mitwah
Originally Posted by kp:

You is a rale anti man.

APNUAFC's photo.

You low life coolie, the only man you know is antiman. Have you gotten you Canadian status, I know where you live, so take it easy or I send you back to Canjie.

Respect goes both ways. Women should not be disrespected to men and wanted to be respected. She was rude and in the man's face yelling and talking over the man.

Cobra Bhai, I agree she was rude, obnoxious, being an IDIOT BUT that does not give him the right to cures and threaten her.  As an educated man he should be able to deal with such a situation. And did I mention he is a Minister of the Govt.

You are one of the few good one.  The rest are hypocrites and shamelessly so.  Fair is Fair, who vex vex!!

You provide me with what you accuse me of, dipshit.

Originally Posted by kp:

The entire GDF could not supply wha Jagdeo want.

Prime Minister Kamla fired about 10 of her ministers. No where in the Caribbean, let alone TT with Kamla he would still be a Minister. You guys want to bet he is getting a promotion?

Originally Posted by kp:

APNUAFC's photo.

You low life coolie, the only man you know is antiman. Have you gotten you Canadian status, I know where you live, so take it easy or I send you back to Canjie.

Oh skites Mitwah watch yo back people know weh you live and them can drop wan penny pon yo all the way back to shee tan ka

ball
Last edited by ball

Respect goes both ways. Women should not be disrespected to men and wanted to be respected. She was rude and in the man's face yelling and talking over the man.

Even if she rude, this crullie daag called Bheri should not have told her he will get his people to strip her.  

Why don't he strip the lil gyal who he raped in 1988 in Lamaha Street?

Why he don't strip Bharat ropey sisters and their ugly faces?

Originally Posted by kp:

You is a rale anti man.

APNUAFC's photo.

Why yuh fretting like a rejected antiman? You already have one foot in the grave... ease up before you bust a blood vessel.

Your boyfriend  sure as hell isn't with you for your intelligence or personality.

She was not as disrespectful as he turned out to be...but yuh know what...if that's the way stupid collie men wanna behave...so be it

He sound like a typical low breed...same as some on here

Originally Posted by kp:

You is a rale anti man.

APNUAFC's photo.

Why yuh fretting like a rejected antiman? You already have one foot in the grave... ease up before you bust a blood vessel.

Your boyfriend  sure as hell isn't with you for your intelligence or personality.

Now you are talking drunk, or is stupid,yo stupid. Shut up and stay smart.

Originally Posted by kp:

You is a rale anti man.

APNUAFC's photo.

Now you are talking drunk, or is stupid,yo stupid. Shut up and stay smart.

Antiman runnings.