Three government ministers are technocrats as APNU+AFC submits final list for parliament

The technocrat Ministers are Minister of Indigenous People’s Affairs Sydney Allicock, Citizenship Minister Winston Felix and Minister within the Ministry of Communities Keith Scott.

Three government ministers are technocrats as APNU+AFC submits final list for parliament

Three of the Ministers in the new APNU+AFC administration are technocrat Ministers and therefore will have no voting rights in the new parliament.

The technocrat Ministers are Minister of Indigenous People’s Affairs Sydney Allicock, Citizenship Minister Winston Felix and Minister within the Ministry of Communities Keith Scott.

“These technocrat Ministers are persons appointed by the President but will not be allowed voting rights in the Assembly,” Social Cohesion Minister Amna Ally told News Source on Monday.

The announcement means that the governing party will have 36 Members of Parliament but only 33 of them will be allowed voting rights.  The Guyana Constitution mandates that only members who are elected officials will be given rights to vote in the Assembly.

The President however can appoint a total of four technocrats to represent his government’s interest in the House. The coalition’s final Parliamentary list comprises 20 persons from its National Top-Up List and 13 from the Geographic list. Ally is confident that the administration has put together the “best of the flock” to give representation in Parliament.

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 5.22.37 AM

The government’s list includes its 15 senior ministers and 12 junior ministers along with other members including Richard Allen, Audwin Rutherford, Jermaine Figueira, John Adams, Haimraj Rajkumar, Rajcoomarie Bancroft, Charandass Persaud, Valerie Patterson, and Jennifer Wade.

Rajkumar, Bancroft and Patterson were not previously listed as Members of Parliament but were settled on following consultations.

Patterson and Figueira are both from the Region 10 list of candidates and are both members of the APNU. The final list will also see the AFC being allocated the 12 seats in parliament that it bargained for as part of the Cummingsburg Accord, which created the coalition.

Some of the other new faces that will grace the 11th Parliament will be Agriculture Minister Noel Holder, Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection, Simona Broomes, Finance Minister Winston Jordan, Minister within the Ministry of Education Dr. Nicolette Henry and Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin.

Meanwhile, the opposition People’s Progressive Party on Monday said it is still consulting on the likely list of party members that will occupy its 32 seats.

The PPP is yet to decide on whether it will occupy those seats at all as it continues to allege electoral fraud at the level of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) in the May 11 elections.

Three of the Ministers in the new APNU+AFC administration are technocrat Ministers and therefore will have no voting rights in the new parliament.

“These technocrat Ministers are persons appointed by the President but will not be allowed voting rights in the Assembly,” Social Cohesion Minister Amna Ally told News Source on Monday.

The announcement means that the governing party will have 36 Members of Parliament but only 33 of them will be allowed voting rights.  The Guyana Constitution mandates that only members who are elected officials will be given rights to vote in the Assembly.

The President however can appoint a total of four technocrats to represent his government’s interest in the House. The coalition’s final Parliamentary list comprises 20 persons from its National Top-Up List and 13 from the Geographic list. Ally is confident that the administration has put together the “best of the flock” to give representation in Parliament.

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 5.22.37 AM

The government’s list includes its 15 senior ministers and 12 junior ministers along with other members including Richard Allen, Audwin Rutherford, Jermaine Figueira, John Adams, Haimraj Rajkumar, Rajcoomarie Bancroft, Charandass Persaud, Valerie Patterson, and Jennifer Wade.

Rajkumar, Bancroft and Patterson were not previously listed as Members of Parliament but were settled on following consultations.

Patterson and Figueira are both from the Region 10 list of candidates and are both members of the APNU. The final list will also see the AFC being allocated the 12 seats in parliament that it bargained for as part of the Cummingsburg Accord, which created the coalition.

Some of the other new faces that will grace the 11th Parliament will be Agriculture Minister Noel Holder, Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection, Simona Broomes, Finance Minister Winston Jordan, Minister within the Ministry of Education Dr. Nicolette Henry and Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin.

Meanwhile, the opposition People’s Progressive Party on Monday said it is still consulting on the likely list of party members that will occupy its 32 seats.

The PPP is yet to decide on whether it will occupy those seats at all as it continues to allege electoral fraud at the level of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) in the May 11 elections.

Thank you

Still room for 1 more technocrat Minister, 2 Parliamentary Secretaries, and 1 Speaker.

The man won 33 seats and now has 36.

Remember we were talking about this a few days ago about the provisions for nonvoting MPs who can sit in the Cabinet and the sub-Cabinet?

aaand . . . what's novel about this again?

Still room for 1 more technocrat Minister, 2 Parliamentary Secretaries, and 1 Speaker.

Remember we were talking about this a few days ago about the provisions for nonvoting MPs who can sit in the Cabinet and the sub-Cabinet?

Nothing novel. It's just what it is. It is yet another move by the PNC to neuter+bugger the AFC (the coolie faction anyways)

"Capoon" I believe is the coolie term fuh dis.

You and I may know this as the process whereby one makes a delicious capon.

Nothing novel. It's just what it is. It is yet another move by the PNC to neuter+bugger the AFC (the coolie faction anyways)

how long now have we known that these 3 were tipped to take on these portfolios?

what exactly is the jumping up and down today about?

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

OK, Mit.  Be more optimistic.

Our critical support will keep him honest, despite any initial missteps.

LMAO

Critical support? Delusional Jaganite idiots. Granger doesn't need anything from the AFC anymore.

As far as he's concerned, he'd like an excuse to kick the AFC coolies from the Government benches and replace them with some AFC "ex-PNC" folks

What's new?  These additional 3 cannot vote so the AFC gets its 12 out of the total 33, with the PNC getting 17, and the 4 smaller parties within APNU getting 1 each.

So how is APNU screwing over the AFC.

The conspiracy that you seek might be more within the AFC.  I just don't see most of the AFC MPs (who come out of the Trotman/Hughes faction) leaving the coalition, unless APNU really behaves badly.

I suggest that it is WITHIN the AFC than between APNU and the AFC that there might the conspiracy that you seek.  I am sure that Granger will ensure that folks like Hughes, Trotman, etc., remain quite happy.

What's new?  These additional 3 cannot vote so the AFC gets its 12 out of the total 33, with the PNC getting 17, and the 4 smaller parties within APNU getting 1 each.

The conspiracy that you seek might be more within the AFC.  I just don't see most of the AFC MPs (who come out of the Trotman/Hughes faction) leaving the coalition, unless APNU really behaves badly.

I suggest that it is WITHIN the AFC than between APNU and the AFC that there might the conspiracy that you seek.  I am sure that Granger will ensure that folks like Hughes, Trotman, etc., remain quite happy.

Thank you for a wonderful and positive post.

That's how we rig bud.  33 becomes 36.  At one time the PNC's official name was PNC-RIG.

You must be proud. Granger gave 2 coolie idiots worthless seats in Parliament and then promptly diluted even those 2 seats.

I'm so proud of you all.

Granger didn't "give" these two "idiots" anything.  These are 2 out of the 12 which the AFC selected.

Given that the 3 cannot vote, then how can Granger be diluting?

Dem bais happy as it is, PNC pon tap.  They are the trojan horses to keep any "c00lie" misbehavior in the flank (AFC) in check.  C00lies are really stupid people.

someone needs to explain to me how 3 "MP's" with modest responsibilities who cannot vote in parliament represent a "neutering" of the full complement of voting AFC parliamentarians rather than a creative effort to accommodate party stalwarts and constituencies within the constraints of the Cummingsburg Accord

that there is a jockeying for power, positioning, etc., going on, there is no doubt . . . however, common sense should tell you this is not it!

mountains out of anthills; the quality of discourse suffering horribly in the process

, he'd like an excuse to kick the AFC coolies from the Government benches and replace them with some AFC "ex-PNC" folks

Tell you what.  Granger will play Machiavellian games with the various factions, as I am sure that the AFC will play with the various PNC factions, and also with the smaller APNU parties.  That's life.

But the minute that Granger starts getting into the AFC's business, even his "allies" like Hughes and Trotman will rebel, and that is when those 12 seats might go.  Granger is NOT so stupid!

BOTTOM line is that the coalition consists of a variety of people coming from the broad cross section of Guyana, and they will need to learn how to work with each other.

someone needs to explain to me how 3 "MP's" with modest responsibilities who cannot vote in parliament represent a "neutering" of the full complement of voting AFC parliamentarians rather than a creative effort to accommodate party stalwarts and constituencies within the constraints of the Cummingsburg Accord

Shaitaan being mischievous again.

Dem bais happy as it is, PNC pon tap.  They are the trojan horses to keep any "c00lie" misbehavior in the flank (AFC) in check.  C00lies are really stupid people.

Better believe that Trotman does NOT want the PNC on top.  If he did he would return to that party.

As usual you play your usual "black man baad harassing the poor innocent Indo".

Try to be a little bit more sophisticated and understand that various entities will play games to secure their INDIVIDUAL position.  Trotman has as much of a need for power as does any other politician, and isn't going to subordinated himself to Granger.

OK, Mit.  Be more optimistic.

Our critical support will keep him honest, despite any initial missteps.

LMAO

Critical support? Delusional Jaganite idiots. Granger doesn't need anything from the AFC anymore.

As far as he's concerned, he'd like an excuse to kick the AFC coolies from the Government benches and replace them with some AFC "ex-PNC" folks

grinding and turning hard with the bait & divide lathe, eh?

the perverted appeal to vanity strategy . . . race defined

note to self: people like u must never get even within hailing distance of true political power . . . anywhere

Shaitaan being mischievous again.

A wrathful man stirreth up strife. Proverbs 25.18