Foreign Affairs Minister announces new diplomatic appointments

Georgetown, GINA January 05, 2012
Source - GINA

Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett with diplomats who have new postings

The Guyana Government’s efforts to strengthen relations at the bilateral, regional and international levels have seen a number of new appointments which were announced by Minister of Foreign Affairs Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett today.

Mr. George Talbot who dedicated 18 years of service in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has been appointed Permanent Representative of Guyana to the United Nations with the rank of Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary.

Prior to his appointment Mr Talbot, who boasts varied experience in multilateral diplomacy, economic, social and political issues, served as Charge’ d’ Affaires of Guyana to the UN in New York, with the rank of Minister Counsellor and prior to that served as first and second secretary in the Permanent Mission.

Mr. Keith George who served in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for 19 years, working in the technical cooperation and political departments of the Ministry, has been appointed as Guyana’s Ambassador to Suriname.

As Director of the Frontier Department Mr. George was instrumental in the efforts at protecting the territorial integrity of Guyana and ensuring that the obligations with respect to the maritime space over which Guyana exercises jurisdiction under international law is met.

He led the team at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in preparation for Guyana’s submission for an extended continental shelf and has been a member of several Guyana delegations overseas.

Mrs. Audrey Jardine-Waddell who joined the Guyana Foreign Service in 1985 has been appointed as Guyana’s Ambassador to the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR).

She was attached to the Embassy of Guyana in Caracas as First Secretary and subsequently in the same capacity at the Embassy of Guyana in Brasilia. In 2003, Mrs. Waddell was assigned Director of the Department of Americas and Asia.

Michael Brotherson was appointed to the post as Guyana’s Consul General in Barbados. Guyana’s representation on the island was facilitated through a Consul General who passed away.

Brotherson in 2003 was posted to the Guyana High Commission in London as first Secretary before promoted to the rank of Counsellor in 2008.

The following year he assumed a special assignment in the Office of Climate Change in the Office of the President. During his career he was a member of the Guyana delegation to several regional and international for a including the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and United Nations Heads of Government meetings.

Mrs. Satyawattie Sawh remains as the acting Consul General of Guyana to Canada. She has worked at the Guyana Consulate in Toronto since 2006, serving in the capacity of trade attaché to the consulate.

Ms Esther Griffith who worked in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for 23 years has been appointed as Chief of Protocol. She was involved in several important events such as the hosting of the CARICOM Heads of Government Conference, Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Rio Group, and the UNASUR.

Minister Rodrigues-Birkett, prior to announcing the new appointments, said that a significant milestone in Guyana’s relations with Australia was reached in the first half of 2011 when Honorary Consulate of the Commonwealth of Australia was set up in Georgetown.

Additionally, an Argentine Embassy, which is yet to be formally opened, was set up representing the fourth South American country to have a mission in Guyana.

“We see this as important for bilateral relations but also for relations within UNASUR,” Minister Rodrigues Birkett said.

Guyana’s representation overseas was evident by the establishment of an embassy in Kuwait in April 2011 with the accreditation of Ambassador Udine Ishmael.

Meanwhile a Guyana Consulate was established in Boa Vista and in like manner Brazil established a consulate in Lethem.

Minister Rodrigues-Birkett said decisions have also been made on concurrent accreditation that would see the appointment of some existing missions to more than 20 other countries in Asia, the Middle East, Europe, Africa and South America. The rationale according to the Minister is to maximize Guyana’s human and financial resources.

Following in the footsteps of other country Minister Rordigues-Birkett said there will be more than 30 Honorary Consuls appointed to supplement the 22 existing Honorary Consuls.

Originally posted by Inqubus:
very good give all them black people insignificant ambassador and consul general positions very nice indeed what the hell do they do?

Wah, you anadda ungrate, me wish fa waan dem jaab bai. Dem is nice cushy wuk, alyuh should cheer and dance. Alyuh PNC losing some points nah.
very good give all them black people insignificant ambassador and consul general positions very nice indeed what the hell do they do?

What the rass ayuh want?
does anything ever please you? what do you want, diamonds on a platter?
this is a good start for the ramottar government,i do hope its not window dressing.now if the man want to score big let him start by firing green and investgate some of his ministers,sent them on leave and set up independent bodys to investgate
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
New diplomatic appointments announced

January 6, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source and Article

Of course this is all because of Freddie Kissoon and Nigel Hughes calling the PPP anti black.

Now will we see more of the govt corporations, commissions and committees headed by blacks? And will the selection of these people be based on their expertise and not on being PPP stooges?
Originally posted by albert:
The New Diplomats will continue to serve Guyana well...

How come you all only just found out that AfroGuyanese can function in this capacity after Luncheon was unable to answer as to why there were virtually no appointed black ambassadors.
Caribj...this Guyanese that was recently selected will do Guyana Proud....lets give them our support...

I repeat, how come you all suddenly realized that AfroGuyanese can do this job...after Bharat Jagdeo was exposed by Freddie K and Nigel Hughes as a racist?
Originally posted by caribj:

I repeat, how come you all suddenly realized that AfroGuyanese can do this job...after Bharat Jagdeo was exposed by Freddie K and Nigel Hughes as a racist?

Don't get ahead of yourself, these people are tokens but I don't understand why Ramotar would reward them with position when they didn't even vote PPP nor brought in any other Black supporters as evidenced by the recent elections and current minority govt.
Originally posted by caribj:
Caribj...this Guyanese that was recently selected will do Guyana Proud....lets give them our support...

Nah badda bai, at least dem a lissen. In alyuh days, coolie talk up, we get wan baton or gun but pon we head. Mi tell yuh, alyuh do right protst, will bear dividends. But nah try no funny business again.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
I don't understand why Ramotar would reward them with position when they didn't even vote PPP .
How do you know who the appointees voted for? Did you went into the polling stations with them?

I am glad Ramotar recognizes their competence, unlike Jagdeo.

De Guyanese people won!!! yippie
Originally posted by Gupta:
I don't understand why Ramotar would reward them with position when they didn't even vote PPP .
How do you know who the appointees voted for? Did you went into the polling stations with them?

Ramoutar gon show a softer side, but BJ had to be tough, da maan had to silence dem Buxton and PNC freedom fightas. Da man BJ did a good job fixing datt prablim. But alyuh na push Ramoutar too much, you gon see da r
bad side real qik.
make sure you guys send lunchon a list,so next time in court he will not have to lie.

Blacks vote PNC, this you can verify with CaribJ. Even if they did, it is not deserving of a post, they can only be valuable to the party if they bring additional supporters to the party other than themselves. As we saw from the recent elections, this did not happen.

so what the ppp will do with bynoe and joe,shoot them,they did not bring in any vote.
Originally posted by warrior:

so what the ppp will do with bynoe and joe,shoot them,they did not bring in any vote.

Don't put ideas in their head. Only you can come up with that..
Originally posted by Na Cl:
Most of these appointments are comical.

Harper is way pass her prime.

The Subject Minister is out of her league. The Rat is not there to steer her.

More antics to follow

Cover up, The douglas won...