Foreign mission delegation tours EBD housing projects

August 11, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source - Kaieteur News

Representatives from Guyana missions overseas joined Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Ali, and a team from the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CHPA) last Saturday, on a tour of housing development projects along the East Bank Demerara corridor.

Members of the overseas delegation with Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, Minister of Housing & Water Irfaan Ali [third and fourth from right).

Members of the overseas delegation with Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, Minister of Housing & Water Irfaan Ali (third and fourth from right).

The delegation from Suriname, Venezuela, Brazil, Barbados, Kuwait, Washington D.C and the United Kingdom was also accompanied by Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues –Birkett.

Minister Ali updated the team on the various economic benefits of the ongoing expansion projects.

Ali said that “the trickle-down effects,” of housing development projects include economic gains for hardware stores, commercial banks as well as the thousands employed in the local construction sector.

“One very important initiative that we were able to create from these projects was small contractors who have worked and positioned themselves to be able to bid now for large government contracts,” the Minister said while speaking of the projects located aback of Eccles and New Providence.

The community located behind Eccles, which consists of houses for young professionals, middle- income or turn-key houses, already has occupancy of approximately 80%.

The diplomats interacted with some of the residents and were even given the opportunity to view the interior of some of the houses at the Providence Moderate Housing Scheme and the Remigrants’ Housing Scheme.

The cottage houses for young professionals consist of two bedrooms, complete with wash-rooms, kitchen, common dining area and living area and patio, all at a cost of $13.7M. Two-storey concrete houses in the adjoining community are valued at approximately $19.5 million.

These are fully painted with finished floors, PVC ceilings, modern lighting fixtures, zinc roof and sash windows, three bedrooms, two washrooms, a modern kitchen and dining area as well as a living area and patio.

The community is complete with most of the infrastructural works, which includes fully asphalted road, bridges, water and lighting fixtures.

Housing Ministry officials noted that the communities will soon be serviced with a number of commercial factories and supermarkets. The development will also house educational and recreational facilities.

CHPA’s Chief Executive Officer, Myrna Pitt, noted that the financial sector has reinvented itself through the opportunities of the Housing Sector.

She explained that Guyanese are more able to become home owners since the interest rate for repayment on loans is only 4.25% per annum owing to a government amendment in the Income Tax and New Building Society Act, which has enabled the financial sector to better respond to the mortgage needs.

Director of Finance at CHPA, Taslim Baksh, said that $600M was invested by the private sector for the young professionals’ home project which started in 2012.

He noted that the project was completed some six months later with aid of approximately three hundred construction workers.

Source -- http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....bd-housing-projects/

The community located behind Eccles, which consists of houses for young professionals, middle- income or turn-key houses, already has occupancy of approximately 80%.

The diplomats interacted with some of the residents and were even given the opportunity to view the interior of some of the houses at the Providence Moderate Housing Scheme and the Remigrants’ Housing Scheme.

Excellent developments taking place in various locations.

In time, I will purchase a two-story fully developed house where I will spend some time every year.

I will select a family - not a relative - with children to occupy one story of the house. No rent will be needed; I will pay for all of the upkeep. The head of the family needs keep the place neat and tidy.

I will occupy the other separate part of the home, whenever I visit Guyana.

In time, I will purchase a two-story fully developed house where I will spend some time every year.

I will select a family - not a relative - with children to occupy one story of the house. No rent will be needed; I will pay for all of the upkeep. The head of the family needs keep the place neat and tidy.

DG...yuh aint going anywhere

Originally Posted by raymond:

not easy with a walker in GY!

In time Raymond .. in time.

not easy with a walker in GY!

So you have lots of experience using a walker for your personal needs.

D_G, Let's hope that it could be coincident that we may be neighbors in paradise Guyana.  

Perhaps, one day we may see each other from houses across the road.

Yuh tink dem Guyanese wud change yuh diapa in exchange fuh a living downstairs...yuh guh dance laka kankawa kite wen dem stuck some bird pepper in de diapa....

Last edited by sachin_05

D_G, Let's hope that it could be coincident that we may be neighbors in paradise Guyana.  

you two fools can call the place dumb paradise 

this is a lie,i live right around there the place have no water and bush is growing back

You betta nah live near dem in you ole age. Dem go put cow itch in you diapa.

i living next to those two fool i will borrow your gun,its murder charge

Dem guh put you fuh waak naked in GT.

they already trying that with helping the ppp government

Nah, you hallucinating man.

Guyana is where I shall retire with my U.S. retirement funds.

We gon kech up dong deh bai.

I hope we can all live in the same vicinity. I have many friends that already build vacation homes on East Bank Demerara. I can't wait.