Originally posted by comrade:
oh gosh, this hit me hard. Isn't Asgar Ally the same man Comrade Cheddi knocked off from his post as Minister of Finance?
Wasn't this the same Asgar Ally who formed the Guyana Democratic Movement and later joined with N.K. Gopaul in the Guyana Labour Party to fight the PPP and Comrade Cheddi?
Gopaul was the man who burnt Comrade Effigy, and Ally said in New York that Comrade Cheddi made Burnham look like a saint, as he attacked Comrade Cheddi for corruption.
Shame that he could be resurrected and brought back on the PPP platform.
But the Jagdeo-Ramoutar PPP has strange bedfellows, and the birds of a feather are flocking together.
Now I know that the Jagdeo-PPP will not win the coming elections.

Comrade,

Like you not seeing the trees from the forest. Wha going on wid you? You nah see the reason for this? This is a historic moment in Guyana's history. Cheddi and Janet are not around to hold the fort and as you know, they have been the founding members of the party, have swam in the trenches, long and arduous on many occasions. This absence is pivotal in this time, especially since Jagdeo cannot run again. Those who chose to send a message in this way - such as Asgar, and he is in fact sending a very strong message - is say that Guyana is going nowhere without the PPP/C.

Every citizen has the right to chose.

One will not discount certain elements of any previous 'strange bedfellow', but one must be prepared to accept a genuine offer and it seems that Asgar must have done so.

Our friend Moses is a good man, but perhaps not so wise.

The ancient Greeks considered wisdom to be an important virtue, personified as the goddesses Metis and Athena. Socrates and Plato also....
C
Originally posted by The Judge:
Originally posted by Churchill:

I am glad he didn't retire....am also glad that he had the balls to take on the present clique which has hijacked the party....

Only now? After his failed attempt at becoming the Party's Presidential candidate.
Have you ever thought about what would've been Nagamootoo's tune had he been the PPP's Presidential candidate? He would've been singing praises on Jagdeo

Exactly. Let's offer some sympathy to Moses for being misdirected and misalligned with the wrong Alliance. But then, maybe he had no choice but to join an opposition party since he does not have the strength to create his own independent voice. Now he is going to be chanting with Ramjattan and Trotman. He better not cross those two fellas!
C
Originally posted by Mitwah:
LHM.

Sensing defeat, the PPP is grasping at straws. panman

I am not a PPP supporter and I live in Guyana...The PPP is going to win this election based on race vote, nothing has changed drastically here. The fear tactics used by them and there housing racord etc have made the Indians clamour under the PPP for 'protection' and will continue to do so for years to come.
In the name of 'development and growth' the PPP/C continues to pave the way for Guyanese to have a better life than before.

When faced with the power hungry Opposition who does not have the comprehensive strength to run a government, then the only party who has this strength (and currently the ruling party), must develop the acumen to combat the viciousness of the opposition. It must let the people know where their bread is buttered.

Guyanese are not stupid. They know that without the PPP/C, Guyana is a doomed place.
C
Originally posted by Catherine:
In the name of 'development and growth' the PPP/C continues to pave the way for Guyanese to have a better life than before.

When faced with the power hungry Opposition who does not have the comprehensive strength to run a government, then the only party who has this strength (and currently the ruling party), must develop the acumen to combat the viciousness of the opposition. It must let the people know where their bread is buttered.

Guyanese are not stupid. They know that without the PPP/C, Guyana is a doomed place.
with the ppp guyana is a doom place,the ppp have guyanese living in dog pen in barbadoes,because they cannot give them a good standard of living.the guyanese think a dog pen in barbadoes is better than guyana
Originally posted by alex:
LHM.

I am not a PPP supporter and I live in Guyana...The PPP is going to win this election based on race vote, nothing has changed drastically here. The fear tactics used by them and there housing racord etc have made the Indians clamour under the PPP for 'protection' and will continue to do so for years to come.
what kind of protection,the ppp cannot protect the guyanese people.
Originally posted by Wally:
Wally,I have a very short fuse for ignorance and stupidity and I have ZERO tolerance for corruption

Kidmost, you sound like Hoyte. Particularly, when he had an ashtray. (I heard what may have happened to Festus)

the difference between me and Hoyte and many many others is that he talks the talk and I walk the talk.
Originally posted by warrior:
Originally posted by alex:
LHM.

what kind of protection,the ppp cannot protect the guyanese people.

even as a govt in power they failed to protect people .
Originally posted by kidmost:
Asgar was the friken architect of Guyana's financial salvage. CBJ, Janet & B F*#cking J learnt from Asgar's economic plan yto salvage Guyana but ah tink Asgar is an Assgar fuh supporting the PPP under Donald Quack Duck . The man is an a55hole !

Kiddie....understand that the architect of Guyana's financial salvage (as you put it) was the write-off of sovereign debts through the Paris Club negotiations following the PPP victory in 1992. This debt was the majority of the US $1 billion debt racked up under the PNC up to 1992.

Asgar ali brought some credentials to the table when he was a top Finance person in Jamaica prior to joining the PPP after the 1992 victory. He was to become the man responsible for fiscal matters and finance matters. Finance matters were largely in building a local credit banking infrastructure. And Fiscal matters were to do with taxes and incentives. Government investment in the dominant public sector was largely a role filled by the top dogs like Cheddi.

So let's not make out Asgar or Jagdeo for that matter as having solved anything yet as Guyana still has an antiquarian production infrastructure and workers' technology capacity is still at an agrarian level. Look at the investments in the last decade - public works and mining. Have we had a small business climate that encouraged small scale and technology manufacturing? The true measure of economic advancement is when industries that require an educated workforce grow. Has Guyana witnessed any of that?
Originally posted by warrior:
Originally posted by Catherine:

with the ppp guyana is a doom place,the ppp have guyanese living in dog pen in barbadoes,because they cannot give them a good standard of living.the guyanese think a dog pen in barbadoes is better than guyana

Didn't Barbados ban dogs? Big Grin
C
Originally posted by Kari:
Originally posted by kidmost:
Asgar was the friken architect of Guyana's financial salvage. CBJ, Janet & B F*#cking J learnt from Asgar's economic plan yto salvage Guyana but ah tink Asgar is an Assgar fuh supporting the PPP under Donald Quack Duck . The man is an a55hole !

Kiddie....understand that the architect of Guyana's financial salvage (as you put it) was the write-off of sovereign debts through the Paris Club negotiations following the PPP victory in 1992. This debt was the majority of the US $1 billion debt racked up under the PNC up to 1992.

Asgar ali brought some credentials to the table when he was a top Finance person in Jamaica prior to joining the PPP after the 1992 victory. He was to become the man responsible for fiscal matters and finance matters. Finance matters were largely in building a local credit banking infrastructure. And Fiscal matters were to do with taxes and incentives. Government investment in the dominant public sector was largely a role filled by the top dogs like Cheddi.

So let's not make out Asgar or Jagdeo for that matter as having solved anything yet as Guyana still has an antiquarian production infrastructure and workers' technology capacity is still at an agrarian level. Look at the investments in the last decade - public works and mining. Have we had a small business climate that encouraged small scale and technology manufacturing? The true measure of economic advancement is when industries that require an educated workforce grow. Has Guyana witnessed any of that?

Kari , I dont know if you know but Hoyte was talking to Asgar long before 1991 elections about salvaging the Guyana economy. Asgar presented Cheddi with a real plan and strategy but Jagan did not follow through on all of them, he was afraid of PNC backlashes . Why do you think Cheddi and Asgar feel out ? Jacka55 Jagan and his stupid backward thinking ! Bharrat on the other hand , nowhere as knowledgeable as Asgar implemented most of Asgar's plans but for self serving reasons. The reason antiquation and corrutption persists is because Jagan backtracked on Asgars recommendations for economic growth , expansion etc . Asgar also recommended plans for integration of expat assets skills etc to invest in Guyana. Since you and the prophet are so close ask him why Cheddi did not follow through with Asgar's recommendations. I'll say this once more . The PPP does not like to see Guyanese acquire wealth and those who are able to break out and do so either become their enemies or use the PPP to gain access to OPM$$$.
Originally posted by seignet:
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Donald Ramoutar will listen to asgar ali..
Donald is very approachable..

Do you know that Asgar owns a very large store in GT. It appears, many joining the PPP realizes that Ramotar encourages free for all.

Guyana enjoys a free market enterprise system. I did not know that it was a crime to open a your own business..