Frank Anthony criticises government for chalking up huge public debt; Jordan says treasury bills will be issued

July 24 2018

Opposition MP Dr Frank Anthony

The opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is increasingly hammering government over spending billions of tapping into more GY$50 billion from the Bank of Guyana for public spending, the latest critic being parliamentary front-bencher Dr. Frank Anthony.

“As a Member of Parliament, it is my responsibility to continue to use my office to bring light to these significant bread and butter issues that are adversely affecting the poor and the working class in particular. As the former Minister of Youth, the responsibility is mine to speak up for the youths of Guyana as this Granger Government continues to pawn their future,” Anthony said in a statement.

However, Finance Minister Winston Jordan has already downplayed concerns by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and has assured that government would settle those balances with Treasury Bills. “We have indicated to them that we’ll cover that by Treasury Bills before the end of the year. They weren’t critical as such. They were just observing that you know what you have to do…,” he told Demerara Waves Online News.

Using Bank of Guyana statistics, Anthony accused government of racking up a public debt of 52.2 percent at the end of 2017 and by the end of March, 2018 54 percent of Gross Domestic Product was classified as public debt.  He said the International Monetary Fund (IMF) forecasts that figure will grow to 57 percent by year-end.

Since 2016 the Government of Guyana has recklessly expanded public sector spending by way of rudderless fiscal policy.  The outcome of this irresponsible public behaviour has resulted in all the available cash that the PPP left in the public treasury being significantly depleted,” said Anthony, a PPP Central Executive member who several sources said is expected to seek his party’s endorsement for the 2020 presidential candidacy.

He cited the example of a public deposit of GY$10.4 billion at the Bank of Guyana.  “All that cash has disappeared, and the Granger Government has now incurred an overdraft at the end of June of GY$53.5 billion,” he added.

Saying that he has lost confidence in the Granger-led administration’s management of Guyana’s economy, Anthony called on Finance Minister Jordan to craft a strategic plan to cushion the impact of rising public debt,  stop wasting time on sloganeering like the ‘good life for all’ and “just get on with the job at hand”

However, the Finance Ministers cautioned that the “numbers are changing everyday” based on revenues garnered and withdrawals made to finance operations pending the acquisition of external financing.

Guyana’s National Budget has a deficit of 5.5 percent of GDP.

However, Finance Minister Winston Jordan has already downplayed concerns by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and has assured that government would settle those balances with Treasury Bills.

De man sayin, nah worry wide dem IMF. Me no moe dan dem. Maybe he is thinking like Greenidge...empty the treasury. It's only the shithole country people. Nobody really cares for these shitholes.

alena06 posted:

Frank is not a Finance person by profession and has the vision to see the disaster that the entire Government is headed into. Gross incompetence, get them out in 2020. 

So you can fail Econ 101and still be smarter than Winston Jordan? I am not saying that Frank failed Econ 101.

Hey hey hey...

instead of wasting bandwidth with the klown act mumblings,

gie abie yuh hexpert analysis nah?

The expert analysis is that you are working out the PNC ping pong scholarship money. You cannot PING, I don't know how you can PONG.

stupidness on Frank Anthony’s part

i understand raising your profile in the PPP nomination race

this is not the way

Yall cry day and night about PPP raising Guyana's debt with the various spending on poorly conceived projects. Now look how yuh rushing to give pnc a pass on poor economics and wasteful spending, while they bank on oil money thanks to the PPP.

this is not the way

Yall cry day and night about PPP raising Guyana's debt with the various spending on poorly conceived projects. Now look how yuh rushing to give pnc a pass on poor economics and wasteful spending, while they bank on oil money thanks to the PPP.

facts and reason are your enemy

your stupidity and prancing klownishness are unworthy of my attention much less debate

this is not the way

facts and reason are your enemy

your stupidity and prancing klownishness are unworthy of my attention much less debate

You are a legend in your own mind.  Now hurry along and empty that slop can before I get djangy to whip you.