January 22 2019

Two of the three PPP members who withdrew from the party’s presidential race on Saturday have said they did so due to insufficient support from the Central Committee and backed Anil Nandlall in the ensuing two-man race which he eventually lost to Irfaan Ali.

Early yesterday Dr. Vindhya Persaud said she pulled out on account of “insufficient support” while Dr. Frank Anthony last evening noted that he did not have a clear majority of votes from the 35-member committee.

“I withdrew on the day of voting on account of insufficient support for me among the 35- member Central Committee and supported Anil Nandlall in the ensuing two man race. Dr. Frank Anthony and Gail Teixeira had also withdrawn,”  Persaud said on her Facebook page yesterday.

Anthony, later indicated in a similar post that “while I knew that I had the support of some of my fellow Central Committee members, I felt I did not have a clear majority of votes to win. I decided that it was appropriate to withdraw and gave my support to Anil Nandlall.”

Both politicians have stressed that they have been repeatedly questioned about their decision to withdraw and acknowledged that an explanation was due to the many who have supported and encouraged them.

“I was encouraged by many, many persons to be a part of the PPP Presidential candidacy process. I participated fully in that process; presenting my vision for Guyana and being questioned intensively,” Persaud explained.

The daughter of the now deceased former Agriculture Minister and longtime party member Pundit Reepu Daman Persaud, thanked all who sent messages, called and expressed encouragement before and after the process, adding that she is touched and humbled by the outpouring of support.

“I remain committed to working for a better Guyana,” she ended.

Anthony, too, expressed his gratitude to those who supported and motivated him over the years to continue to work in the best interest of the Party and people of the country before committing to remain “a humble servant of the people of Guyana.”

“Sincere thanks to those who believed in and stood by me as the Party went through its process of selecting the presidential candidate. Your kind words, phone calls, messages and candid conversations have all served to motivate and encourage me,” he said, adding that the decision to exit the race was not an easy one.

“As leaders, we are often called upon to make tough and selfless decisions. In this instance, I did it with the belief that it was in the best interest of the Party and country,” the former Minister of Youth, Culture and Sport stressed.

Ali secured 24 votes, significantly more than the 11 secured by Nandlall and was therefore confirmed as the party’s presidential candidate on Saturday. Since then there has been criticisms especially on social media over his election with many supporters expressing the view that Anthony or Nandlall would have been better choices.

Ali is currently at the centre of two controversies. The first related to his tenure as Minister of Housing in the PPP/C government and sees him facing 19 charges over the allocation of house lots to Cabinet members and other persons in the ‘Pradoville 2’ Housing Scheme. According to the case submission the lots were sold far below market value thereby defrauding the state of millions of dollars. 

Additionally the elected candidate, who has since promised $100 billon investments and 50,000 jobs should he be elected President, has seen his academic credentials questioned.

Frank Anthony is “the epitome of decency, integrity and commitment”- Indra Chandrapal as calls mount for withdrawal of Irfan Ali candidacy

PPP Central Committee member, Indra Chandrapal.

A woman who irated Mrs. Jagan at she and her husband's barrel schemes. Corruption and the corrupted have no bounds. Why these ppl juss doan disappear from the political scene in Guyana. Extracting bribes from the poor and innocent for house-lots is a shameful act against the impoverished.

So many minister got rich from that Ministry.

Jagdeo is correct in marginalizing the pro-Jagan gang, they were all crookisk and he came to join dem. He knows dem, well.

If Anthony needs that woman to plead his suitability, then Jagdeo was right in selecting Ali.

Even though Indian women had to part with their jewelry to bribe their own party, and they still swallow the PPP coolade, I doubt whether they would discard their puishers.

“I remain committed to working for a better Guyana,” she ended.

This was also echoed by Dr. Frank Anthony. The unknown here is who will they work with to make a better Guyana? Will we see the disenchanted joining with the new parties?

Skelly

Vindhya’s father was a loyal PPP man and leader of GHDS. She is also the leader of GHDS which is Pro PPP. I predict that she will become a minister of health under a PPP administration. 

Skelly

Vindhya’s father was a loyal PPP man and leader of GHDS. She is also the leader of GHDS which is Pro PPP. I predict that she will become a minister of health under a PPP administration. 

I hope so bro. I would like them to publicly declare their support for the PPP.

Why is she calling for the withdrawal of Irfaan?  Her person withdrew. She should scold him.  

Some of these old Jaganites need to be retired and bring in couple dugla and putagee.  

Why is she calling for the withdrawal of Irfaan?  Her person withdrew. She should scold him.  

Some of these old Jaganites need to be retired and bring in couple dugla and putagee.  

Base, those old School people need to take  their space on the rocking Chairs. But if we apply that RULE, the PNC will have no one. Two in Hospital right now and many cant walk without help the others are BRAIN DEAD!!!

There were 35 CC members that voted, can someone list their names?

PPP-Central Committee

1. Bharrat Jagdeo 

2.Dr. Frank Anthony 

3.Gail Teixeira 

4.Donald Ramotar 

5.Anil Nandlall 

6.Clement Rohee

7.Ganga Persaud 

8.Irfaan Ali 

9.Zulfikar Mustapha 

10.Shyam Nokta 

11.Indra Chandarpal

12.Roger Luncheon

13.Pauline Sukhai

14.Nigel Dharamlall

15.Vindi Persaud

16.Hydar Ally

17.Vickram Bharrat

18.Dharamnkumar Seeraj

19.Komal Chan

20.Colin Croal

21.A. Charlie

22. Brian Allicock

23. Neil Kumar

24. David Armogan

25.Jennnifer Westford

26. Vishwa Mahadeo

27. Clinton Collymore

28.Kwame McCoy

29.Bheri Ramsaran

30. Faizal Jaffaraly

31.Majeed Hussain

32.Rickey Ramdat

33.Claire Singh

34.Anand Persaud

35.Mitra Devi Ally

Regardless of the list of people. The process of selecting a candidate is over. Whether we like it or not, Irfan Ali was selected. We must leave our disappointment behind us and help all we can to throw out Granger, Moses and the rest of the PNC/AFC. We are not doing this for Irfan or BJ or for anyone else, we are doing this for our struggling unfortunate brothers and sisters in Guyana. PNC has had more time governing than the PPP did. They did more damage than anyone had envisioned. Time to unite and move on to throw these bums out on their asses.

That the problem, nothing about quality of leadership, it's about PPP in power. How do the supporters of the Multi Party Government, will view that statement ? do you think some will want to support the PPP in the future ?

I always mentioned some folks thinks some people are fools.

AMEN!!!  The BUMS are RACIST DOGS who will spread SUFFERING to all Guyanese!!!

There were 35 CC members that voted, can someone list their names?

PPP-Central Committee

1. Bharrat Jagdeo 

2.Dr. Frank Anthony 

3.Gail Teixeira 

4.Donald Ramotar 

5.Anil Nandlall 

6.Clement Rohee

7.Ganga Persaud 

8.Irfaan Ali 

9.Zulfikar Mustapha 

10.Shyam Nokta 

11.Indra Chandarpal

12.Roger Luncheon

13.Pauline Sukhai

14.Nigel Dharamlall

15.Vindi Persaud

16.Hydar Ally

17.Vickram Bharrat

18.Dharamnkumar Seeraj

19.Komal Chan

20.Colin Croal

21.A. Charlie

22. Brian Allicock

23. Neil Kumar

24. David Armogan

25.Jennnifer Westford

26. Vishwa Mahadeo

27. Clinton Collymore

28.Kwame McCoy

29.Bheri Ramsaran

30. Faizal Jaffaraly

31.Majeed Hussain

32.Rickey Ramdat

33.Claire Singh

34.Anand Persaud

35.Mitra Devi Ally

Thank you Sir.

January 22 2019, Source

Two of the three PPP members who withdrew from the party’s presidential race on Saturday have said they did so due to insufficient support from the Central Committee and backed Anil Nandlall in the ensuing two-man race which he eventually lost to Irfaan Ali.

Two individuals for serious consideration for cabinet positions, should the PPPC win the next elections.

Glad to see you have overcome your anger, Skelly. 

Kudos Bhai.

That the problem, nothing about quality of leadership, it's about PPP in power. How do the supporters of the Multi Party Government, will view that statement ? do you think some will want to support the PPP in the future ?

I always mentioned some folks thinks some people are fools.

Bai tek it easy. I was also hoping for either Nandlall or Anthony.  The CC has spoken, move on or get off. Irfaan it will be with his pretty First Lady.

How about your PNC?  Old sick man granger it will be.  Maybe he can take the GECOM Banna as Veep!!   Not sure what the young and restless in the PNC thinking!  Go quarrel deh!

Good to see you done cry 😢!

At least I did not go beat up my wife, get drunk or try to commit suicide. I wanted to prove our GNI Prince(ss) wrong). You can only be pissed off for so long. Can't lose sleep over spilled milk.