Looks like an accident. But his deposition should be suffice to convict the criminals, hopefully.

Home > TOP STORY > Freddie Kissoon faeces-throwing trial: Key witness killed
Dead: Osmond Griffith

Freddie Kissoon faeces-throwing trial: Key witness killed

…speeding driver claims was hired by two gunmen

By Michel Outridge

FORTY–year–old Osmond Griffith of Durban Backlands, Georgetown was struck down by a speeding car while urinating on the Goedverwagting Railway Embankment early on Friday morning.

‘C’ Division Police Commander Paul Williams confirmed to the Guyana Chronicle that Griffith had been a key witness in the ongoing ‘Freddie Kissoon faeces-throwing’ trial being heard in the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court, and had been slated to testify before Magistrate Judy Latchman.

The Commander explained that Griffith and his friend, driver of motor car PJJ 8028, had left the usual “Thursday night Line Top Lime” at Plaisance at about 1:00hr, and as the vehicle was nearing the Goedverwagting Road, Griffith had asked that the car be stopped so he could urinate. While relieving himself at the side of the road, a speeding and seemingly out-of-control hire car, HC 4399, reportedly struck down Griffith, who early Friday morning succumbed to the severe injuries he had sustained.

The car in which Griffith was travelling was reportedly proceeding west along the Plaisance Railway Embankment, and the taxi was heading in the same direction, according to Commander Williams.

A breathalyser test done on the taxi driver revealed that his alcohol consumption was above the prescribed limit, and he remains in police custody following the incident.

This newspaper understands that the taxi driver reportedly told the police that he was also liming at the “Line Top”, and was hired by two persons, one of whom he claimed placed a gun to his head. The taxi driver reportedly stated that when he turned to look at the gunman, he lost control of the car and struck down Griffith.

Given that Griffith was a key witness in the trial, the Commander said, the police will conduct a thorough investigation into the accident in order to clarify if there was foul play.

Kwame McCoy, Jason Abdulla and Shawn Hinds have been charged in relation to the 2010 assault on newspaper columnist Freddie Kissoon. MCcoy is a former Liaison Officer under the PPP government, Hinds is a self-confessed death squad member, and Abdulla is a PPP member. The men are currently each on $100,000 bail for allegedly assaulting Kissoon on May 24, 2010 at Georgetown.

McCoy, Abdulla and Hinds allegedly walked up to Kissoon and threw faeces in his face after he had emerged from the Nigel Supermarket at Robb Street, Georgetown. Kissoon managed to drive behind the perpetrator, who ran north along Light Street, then west into North Road, before jumping into a waiting white AT 192 Toyota Carina motorcar and escaping. A soiled Kissoon tried to intercept the car, but backed off to avoid a collision.

Abdulla and Hinds have reportedly confessed to the crime while in custody.

The Commander explained that Griffith and his friend, driver of motor car PJJ 8028, had left the usual “Thursday night Line Top Lime” at Plaisance at about 1:00hr, and as the vehicle was nearing the Goedverwagting Road, Griffith had asked that the car be stopped so he could urinate. While relieving himself at the side of the road, a speeding and seemingly out-of-control hire car, HC 4399, reportedly struck down Griffith, who early Friday morning succumbed to the severe injuries he had sustained.

A breathalyser test done on the taxi driver revealed that his alcohol consumption was above the prescribed limit, and he remains in police custody following the incident.

This newspaper understands that the taxi driver reportedly told the police that he was also liming at the “Line Top”, and was hired by two persons, one of whom he claimed placed a gun to his head. The taxi driver reportedly stated that when he turned to look at the gunman, he lost control of the car and struck down Griffith.

The taxi driver story stinks,waiting on the results of the investigation.

Django, it looks like you are hoping that it is a hit job? Those are some dangerous shyte throwers!

Django bai, you tah taak sheer shit and piss hey. How can the driver recognize Griffith at 1:00 am? Your conspiracy shit stinks.

Wha happen the car head light was out,well he will be facing a charge for death by dangerous driving.

Can you 100% identify a person at 1:00 am from a distance with a car headlights on? If you do, then you are in the wrong profession. If you have to be on the witness stand, the judge would throw you in jail for uttering nonsense.

I can prove a lot to you,an object within the distance of head light beam,and methods of recognizing some one,taking in to consideration if you are trailing the individual,i would not argue with you,use your noodle.

What a dud. The man was standing there pissing. How would you know what direction he was facing when he was taking a piss. Are you an expert on recognizing people when they are taking a piss? Is there any reasonable doubt that it could not have been that man?

FK is lucky those men did not use a larger bucket. FK and Glen Khan aka Glen Lall associated with known anti-koolie like Greene and Jranger and expect East Indians will welcome them with open arms. F that.

A larger bucket with a longer fermenting period might have been fatal to Freddie. But, yet he deserved what he got.

Skeldon man you are just like those PPP people dem, rude, crude, socially unacceptable and a much bigger idiot than I thought.  What I see there could be a hit.

Let's say the driver was at the same lime with the victim, the guys with the gun were at the same lime, when the victim left they could have followed him in the other cab, ironic as it seems, the victim gave them the opportunity they needed, they then ordered the driver to run the man down, simple.

A larger bucket with a longer fermenting period might have been fatal to Freddie. But, yet he deserved what he got.

Yall dumb rass oles vex because the stuff thrown was wasted on Freddie, it could have been used as brains in you both.

Just imagine if that shit was dry you would have rammed it into your bong and have a good shit head time. Too bad you were not there to experience  the "splattering".