Basically, I admire FK. He seems to have his finger on the pulse of Guyana - especially regarding political issues. He has been doing his daily column in KN for more years than I can remember. If all the columns he ever wrote were printed and bound, it would run into several volumes. Whenever I go to KN online, I first scroll down to his article and read that first.  I suspect (though some won't admit it) many others do so too.

Is FK perfect? No. Who is? The man has done yeoman service to Guyana and Guyanese. He has lived in Guyana practically his whole life. And we know that Guyana is not an easy place to live - to put it mildly!  He frequently laments the deplorable state of the country - its politics, people, infrastructure etc. Yet he remains there. He is not too fond of overseas Guyanese.

We are all heavily influenced by the environment we grew up in and the upbringing we had. Freddie grew up in a blue collar area Georgetown. He openly says that his background has influenced his outlook, as he mingled with all ethnicities.  Now, the bulk of Guyanese Indians are rural folks. Things are a lot less cosmopolitan in the countryside, so they have a different outlook and consciousness. The thing is, that doesn't make them better or worse than town people. Just different. Freddie is often harsh with these folks and considers them narrow and prejudiced because they do not share his outlook and have a stronger sense of Indian identity than he has.  In fact, he has said that no part of his consciousness is Indian - or words pretty close to that.  I think that it unfair to lump a whole group of people into one category like that. He does tend to see these things in stark black and white. Life is more nuanced and subtle than that - they are shades of grey.  

Where he is absolutely correct is in unmasking the hypocrisy of 'Indian rights activists' in ONE regard. Which is this: they complain about political and social issues which adversely affect Indians. They criticize the policies and actions of the PNC. That is their right to do so and, if they have the evidence to back it up, they should do so. However, as FK has frequently pointed out, during the long years of PPP rule, when corruption, discrimination and other ills skyrocketed, not ONE of these 'Indian rights activists' opened their mouths to criticize the regime. None of them said a work. They really have no response to Freddie's observation....so he continues to spank them. 

Heving a daily column and the ability to be an opinion maker is a lot of power. I do think that that power sometimes goes to Freddie's head and he becomes excessive with his personal or blanket remarks. He has a hefty ego for sure. He has mellowed with age and there are signs that he is tempering that tendency. He has intense dislike for the PPP but, of late, seems to be taking a more balanced approach and is becoming increasingly critical of the Coalition's policies and actions, sometimes even comparing the PPP's record favourably.

There is something curious. Freddie never completed his doctorate. He should. He was at the University of Toronto doing a Ph.d many years ago. He himself has mentioned that sometimes.  For a person who makes his career on unearthing scoops, he has been quite 'shy' and coy about the reason he discontinued (or was discontinued?). Can anyone throw some light on the reason why he did not complete his doctorate at U of T?

OK, that's my take on FK. What's yours?

Hey hey hey...Mr Freddie seh how Mr TK want big wuk at central bank. He bin a tell Mr Khemraj Ramjattan doh. Mr Ramjattan kick Mr TK, Mr Dr Dr Dr Dr Dr Jagdoe kick Mr TK and Mr Granger kick Mr TK. LOL  He put a good cuss pon Mr TK and everybady. Hey hey hey...Mr Freddie is hit and miss. He get some right and nuff wrong nowadays. But na matta what abie seh, Mr Fredrick Kissoon stay in Guyana and ban he belly. He teach nuff nuff peopkle. Mr Fredrick Kissoon MUST get one of Guyana top TWO national award. 

not ONE of these 'Indian rights activists' opened their mouths to criticize the regime.

Big Lie!  The AFC Indians attacked the PPP government for corruption.

Indians in Guyana will never rise above the ashes.  The minute one see another progressing, they do whatever it takes to drag them down.  Other races support each other and encourage growth and success.

not ONE of these 'Indian rights activists' opened their mouths to criticize the regime.

Indians in Guyana will never rise above the ashes.  The minute one see another progressing, they do whatever it takes to drag them down.  Other races support each other and encourage growth and success.

Oh skites,look who is talking.

Did I hit a raw nerve with that comment?   You are still recovering from the heartache of the house that Jagdeo built after being President for eleven years.

You know there is no room for your there? I feel sorry for you.

Total nonsense,

you are the one drooling to be a resident of ill gotten house.

Total nonsense,

you are the one drooling to be a resident of ill gotten house.

I feel very sorry for her. 

Interesting you would say that when people like Caribj accuses Indians of "Clannishness", which cause them to rise and succeed in business!

So who is correct?

Billy, indeed the AFC Indians attacked the PPP on the issue of corruption. The thing is they did so a politicians not as Indian rights activists, which is a label they neither use or accept to describe themselves. If you a chance to re-read some of FK's past columns you will see who he is referring to. Or you can ask around. Most Guyanese know the trio quite well. The trio would proudly accept the label of Indian rights activists - as is their right.

Quantum posted:

Billy, indeed the AFC Indians attacked the PPP on the issue of corruption. The thing is they did so a politicians not as Indian rights activists, which is a label they neither use or accept to describe themselves. If you a chance to re-read some of FK's past columns you will see who he is referring to. Or you can ask around. Most Guyanese know the trio quite well. The trio would proudly accept the label of Indian rights activists - as is their right.

Nonsense, the AFC bannas hated the PPP on a personal level.  They had their own corrupt tendencies, don't be fooled for one moment!

Quantum posted:

Base, indeed they hated the PPP. All I am saying is that they attacked the PPP as politicians NOT as Indian rights  activists - at least not publicly anyway.  If, on reflection, you agree, feel free to concede this point graciously.

They were blinded by hatred and naive, forgetting who they dealing with in the PNC.

I agree, GNI's AFC groupies are a very good example. They envy known wealthy GNI members.

Granger kicked them in the nuts and they keep begging for more. They suffer from some sort of Carb Dawg mentality. 

Looks like I only know the non wealthy ones. Who are these wealthy GNI members?

Never see cum fuh see is wan bad thing.

Braggadocio exposing their dirty buctas.

I agree, GNI's AFC groupies are a very good example. They envy known wealthy GNI members.

Granger kicked them in the nuts and they keep begging for more. They suffer from some sort of Carb Dawg mentality. 

Yuji can buy and sell both of you three times and ten.

Miss Haniffa how yu reason like dem big market fish vendor and yuh gat Ivy league degree? Hey hey hey. Lemme undastaan what yuh sayin. Ayoo hero dem muss tief good and prappa and get contracta foh mek dem house, abuse dem powah, get wan buyer foh buy de house he contracta mek foh free,..., and all abie coolie muss beat abie chess and seh coolie pan tap? Hey hey hey...arite gyal...abie go fall in line when ayoo tief again. Hey hey hey...

And perhaps throw you in for bonus.  

Quantum posted:

Nonsense, the AFC bannas hated the PPP on a personal level.  They had their own corrupt tendencies, don't be fooled for one moment!

Ohhhh...only blackman fram WPA cyan attack dem mattie because dem is nationalis and dem do it foh make wan better kuntry? Coolie do it because dem envy Mr Dr Dr Dr Dr Dr big house dem contracta mek foh free? Hey hey hey...

Quantum posted:

Base, indeed they hated the PPP. All I am saying is that they attacked the PPP as politicians NOT as Indian rights  activists - at least not publicly anyway.  If, on reflection, you agree, feel free to concede this point graciously.

Hey hey hey....Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh...dem ACDA bais and gyals bin a comout pon de PNC...dem suh quiet after Mr Granger speech...hey hey hey...coolie attack PPP foh some selfish motive. Blackman attack PNC because dem is nationalis...hey hey hey....coolie is scamp and blackman is one love, do gooder and church goer...hey hey hey...

Quantum posted:

Ohhhh...only blackman fram WPA cyan attack dem mattie because dem is nationalis and dem do it foh make wan better kuntry? Coolie do it because dem envy Mr Dr Dr Dr Dr Dr big house dem contracta mek foh free? Hey hey hey...

Hey hey hey, is the WPA still existing?

And perhaps throw you in for bonus.  

Bai, Gilbakka is PRICELESS. Ask yuji.

This is FK's column in KN today.  Intersting how he sees the wind blowing re 2010:

Race, teachers and the 2020 general elections

All kinds of people tell me that the 2020 elections will be rigged. I am sure other social activists have been approached with that prediction. I don’t see anything at the moment that points in that direction.
In life, particularly in politics, do not discount any possibility but for now, I do not see a trend that would lead me to that suggestion.
What is bewildering in terms of governance is the poor politics of the APNU+AFC and I suspect this is what is driving the prediction of a rigged 2020 poll. Forget any discussion of fraudulent election and let’s concentrate on that poor politics.

Electorally it doesn’t make sense to alienate constituencies that are indispensible to an election victory. But this is what the APNU+AFC leadership is doing and I fear that as the incompetent performance continues, the cries of rigged elections in some quarters will begin to echo.
Is there another explanation? What about racial solidarity? That strategy worked for decades for the PPP. The PPP went out of power without putting a passport office in Berbice. PPP supporters migrate at a rate faster than the members of other parties yet then Home Affairs Minister, Rohee, insisted that when applying for a passport your birth certificate must not be older than six months.

This was a huge imposition on Berbicians for two reasons. One is that they had to come to Georgetown to do the transaction. Secondly, getting a birth certificate was a nightmare at the time Rohee made his edict.
Why did the PPP so neglect its hard core voters and neglected they were from the East Coast where Mahaica/Mahaicony never had street lights right into the heart of Berbice where the bridge toll became exorbitant straight into Black Bush Polder which put Guyana on the world map because of its suicide rate. Three years ago, per capita, Guyana had the highest suicide rate in the entire world.

There is no difficulty in understanding why the PPP behaved this way to its constituencies. The collective belief system of the PPP is that suspicion of Black control of the government inheres in Indian people who do not have a choice and would have to vote for the PPP. And indeed they did.  The 2015 election results were extremely close because the PPP’s explanation was deadly accurate. One thing is sure; after the performance of the APNU+AFC regime, should the PPP win in 2020, PPP leaders wouldn’t pay even scant attention to Indian needs because they know in 2025 Indians will have no alternative but to vote for racial reasons.

Is it possible that the PNC sees politics in the same way and that explains some terrible attitudes to African Guyanese? I will briefly dwell on four examples. First, urban vendors who are predominantly Africans have no friends in the PNC leadership. The future of vendors is not guaranteed under the rule of the PNC.

Secondly, the ban on used tyres and the edict that cars must not be older than eight years have impacted more adversely on African Guyanese than any other race group. The PNC has to be ignorant not to have done a statistical analysis of incomes to know who will be harder hit by those two bans.

Thirdly, the blatant removal of two African icons as columnists from the Chronicle must have been met with disappointment by countless PNC supporters.

Fourthly, the teachers. From time immemorial, teachers have been perceived by society as one of the priceless sectors of society. It is not the rejection of the forty percent increase the teachers want that is at the heart of the impasse. It is the flippant and insensitive attitudes on the part of the government to the entire agenda of Guyana’s teachers.
So we come now to the answer. Do we have a PPP situation here where an ethnic community is perceived by its political party as having no escape route and must vote for their party because the alternative is domination from the other side?

If the elections will not be rigged, then this is the obvious answer for the three years of terribly poor politics of the APNU+AFC. It means just as the way the PPP treats Indian entrapment, the PNC does the same with Africans.

Whoever is advising the PNC then the analysis is flawed. Demographically, it is not possible for the PNC to win in 2020 unless it gets the ballots of the Indigenous people and Blacks. This is not possible. The PPP and the new Amerindian party will get votes. Black votes will be split by a credible third party that is on the horizon.