Tired of the same same music from Nehru. This is music of our region. I am going to post some gujero, cumbia, norteno, Bossa Nova, salsa, romanticos, etc all that makes up the music that is the most popular rhythms we should know as well as the stuff Nehru posts.
Bossa Nova is cool.
ksazma posted:Bossa Nova is cool.
You are in the heart of this kind of music. Miami is the heart of bossa, reggaeton, salsa etc. That bossa song Nora Jones...Ravi Shankar's daughter
Note it is our music. At the heart of it is West Indian music.
The band I play with some times plays mainly ethnic clubs ....spanish and brazilian, so we play every thing from bossa to ranchero, norteno, cumbia reggaeton, salsa. I like this music. I came to it late but I have afro cuban and mexican musicians as well as west Indian and they teach me a lot. Took lots of classes in flamenco so it was easy to get the afro cuban stuff especially. Mexican music is rich and diverse and another life time to learn.
Stormborn posted:ksazma posted:Bossa Nova is cool.
You are in the heart of this kind of music. Miami is the heart of bossa, reggaeton, salsa etc. That bossa song Nora Jones...Ravi Shankar's daughter
Note it is our music. At the heart of it is West Indian music.
The band I play with some times plays mainly ethnic clubs ....spanish and brazilian, so we play every thing from bossa to ranchero, norteno, cumbia reggaeton, salsa. I like this music. I came to it late but I have afro cuban and mexican musicians as well as west Indian and they teach me a lot. Took lots of classes in flamenco so it was easy to get the afro cuban stuff especially. Mexican music is rich and diverse and another life time to learn.
Indeed Miami is truly a melting pot. The different mixing of music, foods and culture does create a beautiful tapestry. Latin music itself comes in so many forms as does music from the English speaking Caribbean not to leave out the French Caribbeans. On any given day we can be privileged to lot of good entertainment in Miami. I particularly like Bossa Nova because it appeals to lovers.
By the way Stormy. That is some cool stuff you involve in there. Nothing bland about those genres. ð
THEY ARE ok BUT DONT GIVES YOU THE BUTTERFLY LIKE HINDI SONGS DO.
Nehru posted:THEY ARE ok BUT DONT GIVES YOU THE BUTTERFLY LIKE HINDI SONGS DO.
Banna, Shakira donât give you butterflies? ð
Yuh nah like merengue tuh?
I am in love with northern Spain so I am ending my posts today with an old song about the love for Galicia.
Bossa Nova - Latin Jazz
Spanish Confusion
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vY1bV_TFBcQ
Sharlene Flores with Flores De San Jose- Spanish Confusion (Music Video), Source -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vY1bV_TFBcQ
Hopefully Stromy doesn't have any objections to this one.
Remember Ksazma, it is ....
Friday Music...broadening our horizon
Last one for now.
Easy Strumming
I love strumming this one. Chords are easy
A Medley of hindi raag based songs with the western bossa nova beat
Anan posted:
That was cooler than cool!!!!
Those two Amerindian guys from Brazil are famous.
If I may, it is Saturday, well errr, Sunday but somewhere, someone is still celebrating Friday, so here goes.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gdVjVtpr55M
The Sounds of Silence by Pentatonic
One word...AWESOME!