UPDATE: 1/15 -- Duke University has backtracked on allowing the Muslim call to prayer to emanate from the Duke Chapel bell tower. 

“Duke remains committed to fostering an inclusive, tolerant and welcoming campus for all of its students,” Michael Schoenfeld, vice president for public affairs and government relations, said in a statement on Duke Today. “However, it was clear that what was conceived as an effort to unify was not having the intended effect.”

Previously ...

The Muslim call to prayer will be heard from Duke University’s chapel every Friday beginning Jan. 16, in an effort to make the campus a welcoming place for its over 700 Muslims students, faculty, and staff.

But some conservatives aren’t too happy about the decision.

Franklin Graham, son of Christian televangelist Billy Graham, slammed the university’s actions in a Facebook post and urged donors to withdraw their support until Duke reverses the policy.

“As Christianity is being excluded from the public square and followers of Islam are raping, butchering, and beheading Christians, Jews, and anyone who doesn’t submit to their Sharia Islamic law, Duke is promoting this in the name of religious pluralism,” Graham wrote.

The post has been shared more than 65,000 times. This isn't the first time Graham has spoken out against Islam. According to The Charlotte Observer, the pastor has been been criticizing the religion since the Sept. 11, 2001 attacks.

Omid Safi, director of Duke’s Islamic Studies Center, had a few choice words for Graham during an interview with HuffPost Live. 

Every day from that same Duke chapel, church bells ring, and twice on Sunday. The cross is on the emblem of Duke University. The entire quad, and the entire campus of Duke University is laid out as a cross. And the Christian chapel is the very symbol of Duke University. So the kind of fanatical proclamation that Christianity is being erased from Duke’s campus is frankly a poor indication of the intelligence of that argument.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

I don't feel bad for Franklin Graham because he is an idiot. I feel bad for all the people who send him their hard earned money. Negative return on their investments.

Franklin Graham is a red neck jackass. He will never be a fraction of what his father is. He could not be gainfully employed, so he was forced to take the baton from his father. Unfortunately, those confused old ladies and and Jesus freaks who believe we live in Bible America continue to send their money to this piece of hog wash.

I don't feel bad for Franklin Graham because he is an idiot. I feel bad for all the people who send him their hard earned money. Negative return on their investments.

Franklin Graham is a red neck jackass. He will never be a fraction of what his father is. He could not be gainfully employed, so he was forced to take the baton from his father. Unfortunately, those confused old ladies and and Jesus freaks who believe we live in Bible America continue to send their money to this piece of hog wash.

You know, is a good thing, the God of Christ doan strike ahyuh down DEAD when alyuh utter such ignorance. Think of all the people who wish to talk and write and can't do it.

The proof of the authenticity of Jesus, lies in the ignorance of your own religions rift with rituals and incantations. You two chaps, are like programmer monkeys-imitators. Believing in Christ, is definitely not for u two fools.  

You know, is a good thing, the God of Christ doan strike ahyuh down DEAD when alyuh utter such ignorance. Think of all the people who wish to talk and write and can't do it.

The proof of the authenticity of Jesus, lies in the ignorance of your own religions rift with rituals and incantations. You two chaps, are like programmer monkeys-imitators. Believing in Christ, is definitely not for u two fools.  

Everyone believes in their own Bera Nancy stories.

Of course Jesus is authentic. He did exist. Now tell us about his racist and bigoted tendencies. Why did he call non-Jews dogs, pigs and swines?

Al Yuh please take this o a Special Religious Site. I for one did not go far in school so I would not understand.  Please, Al YUh continue gaffing but ask Amral to start a Religion Forum.

In the 70's I worked for Billy Graham Association in Minneapolis at their bulk mailing facility. I know what I am talking about. I met Dr. Billy Graham a few times. Dr. Graham said "I am not saying only Christians go to heaven". What does tht say?

You believe there is no other god than Christ. The Christian freaks believe this too. I have met many of these shallow minded fools. God did not make religion; man did. When you receive a letter from your god that says there is no other religion in this world but Christianity, send me a copy and I will believe you.