Rohan Kanhai
Cricket has played a pivotal role in the development of Guyana as a nation long before Independence in May 1966. There are a many outstanding Guyanese cricketers whose contribution to the glorious game will never be forgotten. Today Guyana Times Sport looks at Rohan Kanhai
The greatest Guyanese Cricketer after Shiv Chanderpaul.
Nehru posted:The greatest Guyanese Cricketer after Shiv Chanderpaul.
here's my order of Guyanese batsmen:
Rohan
Kalli
Shiv
Lloyd
Freddo
Sarwan
I respect your opinion. Shiv has a loner, better record.
I look at pure enjoyable batsmen...we can include Hooper in that
Then you need to watch Rohit Sharma
Kanhai #1, Chanderpaul #2, Lloyd #3, Kallicharan # 4, Fredricks #5, Seeram #6, Lambert #7, ayoo pick de ress...Sarwan aint ready yet...hey hey hey...
Labba # 10,009
Demerara_Guy posted:Labba # 10,009
Hey hey hey...Labba was de woss batsman ever...cyant bat foh save he life...hey hey hey.
All respect to Shiv but looks like a pokknocker compare to the great Sir Rohan K.
Dis banna still alive? I heard of him.
Freddo has the hardest coconut head for a dougla man. He once got hit in the head by Thompson. It was so hard that Prashad heard the knock in the stands. Freddo did not even blink.
Labba posted:Kanhai #1, Chanderpaul #2, Lloyd #3, Kallicharan # 4, Fredricks #5, Seeram #6, Lambert #7, ayoo pick de ress...Sarwan aint ready yet...hey hey hey...
Seeram (Will that be Blacks?) he is good but not so good to make this list. We were classmates in Secondary School at Stewartville.
Faood Bachus was nice to watch but he was too rash and got out quickly at times.
VishMahabir posted:Dis banna still alive? I heard of him.
What happen to your Google skills?
Labba posted:Demerara_Guy posted:Labba # 10,009
Hey hey hey...Labba was de woss batsman ever...cyant bat foh save he life...hey hey hey.
Dats why yuh tun SPIN bowler now. Spinning history, economics and everything yuh write. LOL
Iguana posted:Labba posted:Demerara_Guy posted:Labba # 10,009
Dats why yuh tun SPIN bowler now. Spinning history, economics and everything yuh write. LOL
Hey hey hey...Labba doan know bout economy and history...hey hey hey.
Amral posted:Labba posted:Kanhai #1, Chanderpaul #2, Lloyd #3, Kallicharan # 4, Fredricks #5, Seeram #6, Lambert #7, ayoo pick de ress...Sarwan aint ready yet...hey hey hey...
Seeram (Will that be Blacks?) he is good but not so good to make this list. We were classmates in Secondary School at Stewartville.
Faood Bachus was nice to watch but he was too rash and got out quickly at times.
Bai yuh have to look at de chance Lambert and Seeram get. Dem man didnt get WI play cause de team was too good. If Seeram deh get de chance Hooper and Sarwan get he would a be super bat man. Same foh Clayton Lambert. When Labba was in he rickatics he does go Bourda all day foh see Seeram and Lambert bat...hey hey hey...dat lady by Regent sterreet end use to see good fry shark and dhal puri wid sour...hey hey hey...sweet lika soomootoo...
Labba posted:Kanhai #1, Chanderpaul #2, Lloyd #3, Kallicharan # 4, Fredricks #5, Seeram #6, Lambert #7, ayoo pick de ress...Sarwan aint ready yet...hey hey hey...
Na. This is my list.
Lloyd
Kalli
Chanders
Rohan
Colin Croft
Carl Hooper
Sarwan ain't on my list.
Labba posted:Amral posted:Labba posted:Kanhai #1, Chanderpaul #2, Lloyd #3, Kallicharan # 4, Fredricks #5, Seeram #6, Lambert #7, ayoo pick de ress...Sarwan aint ready yet...hey hey hey...
Bai yuh have to look at de chance Lambert and Seeram get. Dem man didnt get WI play cause de team was too good. If Seeram deh get de chance Hooper and Sarwan get he would a be super bat man. Same foh Clayton Lambert. When Labba was in he rickatics he does go Bourda all day foh see Seeram and Lambert bat...hey hey hey...dat lady by Regent sterreet end use to see good fry shark and dhal puri wid sour...hey hey hey...sweet lika soomootoo...
Let us not forget the biologist Timour Muhammed. He could bat for hours on end.
Amral posted:Labba posted:Kanhai #1, Chanderpaul #2, Lloyd #3, Kallicharan # 4, Fredricks #5, Seeram #6, Lambert #7, ayoo pick de ress...Sarwan aint ready yet...hey hey hey...
The original blacks was the cricketer Sue Shivnarine from Berbice. He was 10 years before Seeram. The Australian cricket team were so impressed with Sue Shivnarine's cricketing ability that for many tours to the West Indies after they played cricket with him they would ask what happen to Shivnarine. They could not believe that the West Indies squandered his cricketing talents.
The last time me see Rohan Kanhai in person, was at a social event at Albion Community Centre[Sports Complex]in the 1960s . The place had only one building at that time, which is now named after cricketer Jack Shivnarine from Belvedere, Albion. Additional buildings and flood lights were later erected around the cricket field.
Jack is the brother of my late friend Ron. He lives in New York with his own and extended family and involved with the yearly Albion reunion.
Until recently, the Berbice Fair was held at Albion Sports Complex, but vehicles damage the field and pitch. So after a long haul, the fair was moved.
Albion produced some good cricketers like Versammy[Michael] Permaul and they still have a vibrant cricket club.
In 1988, at a Indo-Caribbean historical conference held at York university in Toronto. Many cricketers were invited to the banquet, who signed my book about cricketers, published by Hanslib [sp] in London. At this conference a famous photo was taken of Cheddi Jagan and Sash Shaw together, who hosted Cheddi's visit to Toronto.
Is Sew Shivnarine related to Jack?
Prashad posted:Is Sew Shivnarine related to Jack?
They are the same person.
He also has other calling names. Sew is short for an Indian legal name and Jack is a calling name. His brother Ron also had an Indian first name.
A lot of those old heads hang out in Florida when they have cricket here. We have photos with my FIL and Kanhai from 2016 or maybe it was 2015.
You fellas know Kanhai wife is Jamaican. He got several Jamaican kids. The man is a true West Indian.
Prashad posted:You fellas know Kanhai wife is Jamaican. He got several Jamaican kids. The man is a true West Indian.
No Guyanese kids? What happened. A Jamaican man was there instead of Rohan? Oh Skoant! How come de man nah no dis?
Prashad posted:You fellas know Kanhai wife is Jamaican. He got several Jamaican kids. The man is a true West Indian.
I think he married an English woman named Phylis(sp)
seignet posted:Prashad posted:You fellas know Kanhai wife is Jamaican. He got several Jamaican kids. The man is a true West Indian.
You are correct sir. Phyllis Brenda Hague.
skeldon_man posted:seignet posted:Prashad posted:You fellas know Kanhai wife is Jamaican. He got several Jamaican kids. The man is a true West Indian.
You are correct sir. Phyllis Brenda Hague.
So a Guyanese married an English woman and have Jamaican kids.
A nice contribution to world unity, only on GNI.
seignet posted:Prashad posted:You fellas know Kanhai wife is Jamaican. He got several Jamaican kids. The man is a true West Indian.
Kanhai divorce the English woman and then marry a young Jamaican. He got two sets of children. An old set with the English girl and a young set with the Jamaican girl. Hopefully one of them young ones will take up cricket.
Sean posted:Labba posted:Kanhai #1, Chanderpaul #2, Lloyd #3, Kallicharan # 4, Fredricks #5, Seeram #6, Lambert #7, ayoo pick de ress...Sarwan aint ready yet...hey hey hey...
Na. This is my list.
Lloyd
Kalli
Chanders
Rohan
Colin Croft
Carl Hooper
Sarwan ain't on my list.
Bai you start dis board wid wan bang. Me like you poase dem so far...but dis poase bout Guyana batsman lil lametha yuh know...how yuh go put bowler with batman? Hey hey hey...Croft is we bess fast bowler and Gibbs de bess spinner...but dem is in wan next liss...Lloyd #1? Me still tink Kanhai...
Prashad list.
1. Rohan Kanhai
2. Clive Lloyd
3. Shiv
4. Kalicharan
5. Sir Carl
6. Gibbs
7. Croft
8. Freddo
9. Sarwan
10. Butcher
11. Solomon
According to Sir Carl he was inspired to become a test cricketer after watching Sunil Gavaskar bat at bourda.
Leonard Baichan was Guyana's best batsman.
Billy Ram Balgobin posted:Leonard Baichan was Guyana's best batsman.
Baichan was a good batsman. The problem is he liked to bat too much.
Sunil Gavaskar and Vivian Richards are the 2 best i ever seen
ronan posted:Sunil Gavaskar and Vivian Richards are the 2 best i ever seen
Pay close attention to Lara, that fella knew how make shots and after his body positioning with bat in hand is classy.
Richards admired Sunil style and he says so all the time. Now, he is a Virat fan.