GECOM appoints new Deputy Chief Elections Officer

Vishnu Persaud [Guyana Times photo)Vishnu Persaud (Guyana Times photo)

Rate this item
The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has filled the post of Deputy Chief Elections Officer (DCEO), according to well-placed sources.

Mr. Vishnu Persaud’s appointment was ratified by the seven-member commission on Tuesday, one day before he is due to be sworn in. He will be Head of Operations.

Persaud, a long-serving Public Relations Officer of GECOM, recently attained a Higher National Diploma in Election Management from the Chartered Management Institute of the United Kingdom,

He fills the post left vacant by Calvin Benn who opted in April, 2014 not to seek a renewal of his contract due to poor health.

Persaud's appointment comes at a time when preparations are being accelerated for the holding of general and regional elections either later this year or in early 2015. GECOM is currently preparing the voters list that will be valid until January 31, 2015.

The government has hinted that President Donald Ramotar might call elections before the opposition-controlled National Assembly debates and approves an Alliance For Change-sponsored No Confidence Motion when the parliamentary recess ends on October 10.

If passed, the President and Cabinet will have to resign but remain in office until elections are held within 90 days.

We must always be grateful for our freedom and the freedom to vote without fear in Guyana. Our people and leadership have struggled long and hard to win this day for Guyanese all across the land. Guyana didn't inherit freedom, she won it through her leaders who believe in a free people.          

In March 1775, "Give Me Liberty Or Give Me Death"
By: Patrick Henry, March 23, 1775.

A no-confidence vote in October is bad strategy

AUGUST 13, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER FEATURES / COLUMNISTSFREDDIE KISSOON 

You can look at it a million ways, the AFC’s decision to hold a no-confidence vote and the PNC’s (yes, the PNC not APNU; one has to understand that policies for APNU are made by the PNC) decision to support it, was based on the acceptance that the PPP should no longer remain in office. If the two opposition parties want the PPP out of office, then why wait until March next year? Why give the PPP three months from December 2014 to March 2015?

I wish Vishnu Persaud well in his new post. I hope he takes a no-nonsense stance like his boss Steve Surujbally. Professionalism is all I ask for. GECOM's management team cannot please all parties at the same time, simply because each party pushes for its own interests to gain an advantage over rivals.

I disagree. Professionalism means to be impartial and to let the people voice be heard through a fair voting process. GECOM is not there to favor any party in particular. They are an independent agency assigned by a tripartite agreement if I remember correctly. Free voting also means fair voting practices.

I wish Vishnu Persaud well in his new post. I hope he takes a no-nonsense stance like his boss Steve Surujbally. Professionalism is all I ask for. GECOM's management team cannot please all parties at the same time, simply because each party pushes for its own interests to gain an advantage over rivals.

I disagree. Professionalism means to be impartial and to let the people voice be heard through a fair voting process. GECOM is not there to favor any party in particular. They are an independent agency assigned by a tripartite agreement if I remember correctly. Free voting also means fair voting practices.

Bhai, Why yuh wasting time with stupid people.

You misunderstand me, Cobs. What I mean to say is that once GECOM runs the show professionally without fear or favor, one or two political parties will still be dissatisfied. That's because each party pushes its own interests to get an advantage in the electoral process. A professional GECOM decision may not please that party.

We must always be grateful for our freedom and the freedom to vote without fear in Guyana. Our people and leadership have struggled long and hard to win this day for Guyanese all across the land. Guyana didn't inherit freedom, she won it through her leaders who believe in a free people.          

In March 1775, "Give Me Liberty Or Give Me Death"
By: Patrick Henry, March 23, 1775.

a cobra snake with a fork tongue  

You misunderstand me, Cobs. What I mean to say is that once GECOM runs the show professionally without fear or favor, one or two political parties will still be dissatisfied. That's because each party pushes its own interests to get an advantage in the electoral process. A professional GECOM decision may not please that party.

Ok, I read you loud and clear now. 

Gil

I have to agree.

I may have criticized Steve in the past in haste but he is a man of integrity and honesty. Let us hope that GECOM remains impartial.  Let us wish Vishnu all the best.

Well said Gilly