Home > TOP STORY > GECOM ready to go ‘full throttle’ – Surujbally
gecom_office

GECOM ready to go ‘full throttle’ – Surujbally

THE Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) is ready to move forward “full throttle”, according to its Chairman, Dr. Steve Surujbally.

Dr. Steve Surujbally, GECOM Chairman

His comments follow yesterday’s announcement of May 11 as the date for General and Regional Elections by President Donald Ramotar.
In an interview via telephone, he said, “Now that we have a date we can go full throttle. Our action plan will kick into operation.”
The Commission has been engaged by President Ramotar, who in yesterday’s address to the nation, said, “Meetings were also held with the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) to emphasise the need for their readiness for holding free, fair, transparent and efficient elections…I am advised that GECOM would be in a state of readiness for these polls on that date.”
Dr. Surujbally confirmed this, stressing that the Commission has a framework in place to facilitate the conduct of elections.
Within the framework, there are various statutory and administrative requirements, which must be completed and are relevant to the efficient management and conduct of general and regional elections.
The GECOM Chairman explained that GECOM’s civic and voter education programme will be “unleashed” to ensure that every eligible Guyanese is able to cast their vote come Election Day.
“We are also working to enable persons with disabilities to ensure that they are also able to cast their vote,” Dr. Surujbally said.
In the last few months, GECOM has also engaged political parties, as well as several other key stakeholders.
He disclosed too that the logistics of GECOM’s work will have to be “fine-tuned” to ensure that concerns, particularly regarding the time within which the results are announced, are addressed.
“I have every confidence in GECOM’s A-List team under the supervision of the Chief Elections Officer, Mr. Keith Lowenfield, as well as the Commission itself,” he stressed.
The GECOM Chairman concluded that the current focus of the Commission is to “get it right” as was done in the last few elections.

According to Gil, Surujbally is the most impartial man around. This bring reassurance of free and fair elections. 

The election will be free but unfair.

“We are also working to enable persons with disabilities to ensure that they are also able to cast their vote,” Dr. Surujbally said.

He disclosed too that the logistics of GECOM’s work will have to be “fine-tuned” to ensure that concerns, particularly regarding the time within which the results are announced, are addressed.

Home > TOP STORY > GECOM ready to go ‘full throttle’ – Surujbally

Among others, two important issues.

Originally Posted by TK:

According to Gil, Surujbally is the most impartial man around. This bring reassurance of free and fair elections. 

I see that your are making excuses in light of an impending AFC/PNC defeat.

Originally Posted by TK:

Not really. You forgot the PPP refused to make public the ethnic breakdown of the 2012 census. That could only mean the Indian pop is down to 38-40%. I don't see how the PPP can get 51% again. The numbers boat has sailed. Regimes do change but Burnham's constitution will be in place. Buckle up and get ready for the ride.

@ Redux

So you do not have faith in Surujbally ? How about Granger's rigger Oscar Clarke ?

Check with Boodhoo Jagdeo's rigger and let me know what is his take on the matter. Next!!

Originally Posted by TK:

Not really. You forgot the PPP refused to make public the ethnic breakdown of the 2012 census. That could only mean the Indian pop is down to 38-40%. I don't see how the PPP can get 51% again. The numbers boat has sailed. Regimes do change but Burnham's constitution will be in place. Buckle up and get ready for the ride.

Where are you getting the 38-40 percent number from ? Stop making up numbers. I expect a lot better from you.

Originally Posted by TK:

Where are you getting the 38-40 percent number from ? Stop making up numbers. I expect a lot better from you.

You can always ask the PPP to release the complete 2012 census. We are now in 2015, no?

Originally Posted by TK:

Yugi...you got the census data share it nuh man.

Originally Posted by TK:

You can always ask the PPP to release the complete 2012 census. We are now in 2015, no?

The question was, Where did you get the 38-40 percent from ?

Originally Posted by TK:

I know what I am saying. You just buckle up and get ready for the ride.

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by TK:

the man is ducking the question. Where did he get the 38-40 percent number from ? Source Please.

Originally Posted by TK:

I know what I am saying. You just buckle up and get ready for the ride.

That is not an answer. That's ok if you want to duck and hide. 

Next time, back up what you can say with actual facts. You should know better.

Originally Posted by TK:

the man is ducking the question. Where did he get the 38-40 percent number from ? Source Please.

You seem agitated. You just fasten your seat belt! It is the best for the turbulence.

Goodnight all. See you tomorrow. Have some very important business to deal with tomorrow.

Hopefully you are meeting with your guidance counsellor for night school...

Originally Posted by TK:

He is not Ducking......He give PPP the Benefit.......by Doubling the 20% Expected because of their Marriage to (1)House of Israel Thugs,(2) Former Black PNC Riggers & Rapist and (3) De Kwame Buggery & Sex Workers following.

PPP will suffer a fall out of Sugar Workers & Rice Farmers because of Pundit Kwame being on their List of Candidates..... and a Member of the PPP Leadership.

Originally Posted by TK:

How does Surujbally ensure that the Election workers are impartial and unbiased? Can he do this between now and May 11th?

yuji, this Surujbally GECOM is the most professional and efficient from what I have observed.

While rigging is not completely ruled out, it will be minimal considering the ironclad systems in place at GECOM.

It's good that some stakeholders are protesting against the possible use of private homes as polling places. Only public buildings should be polling places.

yuji, this Surujbally GECOM is the most professional and efficient from what I have observed.

While rigging is not completely ruled out, it will be minimal considering the ironclad systems in place at GECOM.

It's good that some stakeholders are protesting against the possible use of private homes as polling places. Only public buildings should be polling places.

Is the Chief Elections Officer an unbiased person? Which political party leaning does he favour? I heard that he is an APNU boy? I hope that this is not true.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Is the Chief Elections Officer an unbiased person? Which political party leaning does he favour? I heard that he is an APNU boy? I hope that this is not true.

Don, every citizen of Guyana enjoys a constitutional right to vote for a chosen political party.

GECOM employees are not exempt from enjoying the right to vote.

The previous Chief Elections Officer voted for a political party of his choice.

This current Chief Elections Officer has an equal right.

The point is not what political party the Officer favours, but how he performs his functions as stipulated in his list of duties.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:
Originally Posted by TK:

How does Surujbally ensure that the Election workers are impartial and unbiased? Can he do this between now and May 11th?

how can anybody be certain that a person will be impartial,the man have to do what the world was doing from creation trust that each man can trust himself to be honest in his or her duty 

The opposition needs to force GECOM to abandon bottom house polling stations. Guyana should not have those bottom house polling stations.

They are used to disenfranchise voters this practice is PPP thief man operation and we have to shut it down.

One other thing to add Gerry Gouviea should not be used to fly any ballot boxes back to GY.

The opposition needs to force GECOM to abandon bottom house polling stations. Guyana should not have those bottom house polling stations.

They are used to disenfranchise voters this practice is PPP thief man operation and we have to shut it down.

One other thing to add Gerry Gouviea should not be used to fly any ballot boxes back to GY.

Hey buss calabash, wah kountry he guh fly dem baxes fram? You gat wan plane fuh len am?

Dem can hire Trans or some other service in Guyana basically we need to adopt a anybody but gerry program.

How about you flying the boxes back? I am going to take mine home myself. I am awaiting for a copy of the official ballot. I will make copies putting the "X" by the PPP. I plan on making 10 reams to take home. Just like Forbes did.