─Preparation may go beyond 100 days says President Granger

DPI, Guyana, Sunday, June 14, 2020

There may be difficulty in the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) holding a Snap-Election at this time. This view was expressed by His Excellency President David Granger, in response to questions about the possible pronouncement of GECOM Chair, Justice Claudette Singh, on the recently concluded National Recount of ballots of the March 2nd General and Regional Elections.

David Granger

“If the declaration of the commission at present is that the election is to be done over, we might be waiting another hundred days. The Elections Commission is simply not capable of having snap elections” the Head of State said

To emphasize his point the President spoke of the challenging task undertaken by GECOM staff and Chief Elections Officer, Keith Lowenfield, is preparing for the March 2nd General and Regional Election.

“It is extremely difficult in this country to do what he (Mr. Lowenfield) had to do. I could not print ballot papers, I could not decide where polling stations would be, train officers, all these things had to be done and that is one of the reasons why it was difficult to have snap elections.” The Head of State expressed.

A snap election is an election that is called earlier than a scheduled election. It is also called in a parliamentary system to decide on a pressing issue. It differs from a by-election, as this is held in a single political constituency to fill a vacancy arising during a government’s term of office.

Snap elections are not new to the region having taken place in; Trinidad and Tobago, Dominica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Lucia.

These fellas need to listen to themselves??? How the hell can he do a remarkable well job when he discredited the entire process he was in charge off.. I fedup.

You fedup?  Isn't that the name of a party in Guyana?

GECOM unable to host Snap-Elections at this time.

─Preparation may go beyond 100 days says President Granger

DPI, Guyana, Sunday, June 14, 2020

A snap election is an election that is called earlier than a scheduled election. It is also called in a parliamentary system to decide on a pressing issue. It differs from a by-election, as this is held in a single political constituency to fill a vacancy arising during a government’s term of office.

“If the declaration of the commission at present is that the election is to be done over, we might be waiting another hundred days. The Elections Commission is simply not capable of having snap elections” the Head of State said

Perhaps, Granger is completely unaware that the constitution specifically states that a snap elections must be held within three months from the date of the decision in parliament.

Also, the constitution states that if the election cannot be held within the prescribed three-months' period, an extension can be granted with the approval of two-thirds or more of the Members of Parliament.

Hence, one of the main focus of GECOM is to ensure that this activity can be accomplished should the situation arises.

It is of interest to know what Steve Surujbally - 2001 to 2017 -  and David Patterson - 2017 to 2019 - did during past 18 years on this matter.

Rama,

Claudette  might decide to use Lowenfield's fake numbers to declare a winner.  That would give APNU 67% of the seats in parliament.  It is not far-fetched to think this way given how they have done things thus far.

Rama,

Claudette  might decide to use Lowenfield's fake numbers to declare a winner.  That would give APNU 67% of the seats in parliament.  It is not far-fetched to think this way given how they have done things thus far.

It would be a glaring case of fraud.  I believe they planned it from the begining. Claudette would be that stupid to give the PNC 67% win.

Rama,

Whew! There is a God. Soontime Iman  can say PPP Lost.

They will really set up the rigging to get 75%. The army and police will switch the boxes again, just like before. Django, Rochelle, Terry, Covidram, and the rest of the PNC supporters will believe the numbers then.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The results haven't been announced as yet and that President Granger wants to hold a snap Election, which he would lose again.

Well, tomorrow is when the chair is supposed to  issue a ruling. I want to know which way she's going to go with this. I've said it many times. APNU is not going to relinquish power.

They will really set up the rigging to get 75%. The army and police will switch the boxes again, just like before. Django, Rochelle, Terry, Covidram, and the rest of the PNC supporters will believe the numbers then.

I didn't know Terry was part of the group of APNU supporters.
And who the hell is Covidram. I hopes is nah meh bai Toats yuh talking bout.

@Sheik101 posted:

I didn't know Terry was part of the group of APNU supporters.
And who the hell is Covidram. I hopes is nah meh bai Toats yuh talking bout.

Bhai read between the lines nah! Me ah watch dem. Me tink de adda Ram gaan ah Banbas, like my parents use to say.