General store, other businesses destroyed by fire in Georgetown

By Leroy Smith, July 12, 2015 5:03 am, Source[www.inewsguyana.com]   

An early morning fire at Camp and Robb Streets, Georgetown spread to other nearby buildings causing complete destruction on Sunday, July 12.

The fire left millions in damage to the Chinese General Store, which was housed in the AH&L Kissoon’s Building. Fire Chief, Marlon Gentle told members of the media that the Fire Service received the call just after 03:00 hrs by a male who said that he heard an explosion and then saw a ball of fire inside the building.

The former Kissoon’s Furniture Building was bought by a businessman who operates a general store, selling various items and also had a storage bond in another property to the back of that building, which was also completely destroyed.

The media was told that the Guyana Fire Service responded with 11 tankers, which was used from fire stations within Georgetown.

There was however the challenge of containing the fire to one building since the structures are very close to each other and after exhausting the water in the tankers, the firefighters had to resort to taking water from the North Road canal.

The nearby Republic Bank also will now have to count its damage as the heat from the burning buildings caused the glass on the front of the building to shatter.

The fire, according to Gentle, was fueled by the wind and other items which were in the buildings, including gas bottles. It should be noted that this is not the first time that a fire has completely destroyed the Kissoon’s building.

General store, other businesses destroyed by fire in Georgetown

By Leroy Smith, July 12, 2015 5:03 am, Source[www.inewsguyana.com]   

An early morning fire at Camp and Robb Streets, Georgetown spread to other nearby buildings causing complete destruction on Sunday, July 12.

The fire left millions in damage to the Chinese General Store, which was housed in the AH&L Kissoon’s Building. Fire Chief, Marlon Gentle told members of the media that the Fire Service received the call just after 03:00 hrs by a male who said that he heard an explosion and then saw a ball of fire inside the building.

The former Kissoon’s Furniture Building was bought by a businessman who operates a general store, selling various items and also had a storage bond in another property to the back of that building, which was also completely destroyed.

The media was told that the Guyana Fire Service responded with 11 tankers, which was used from fire stations within Georgetown.

There was however the challenge of containing the fire to one building since the structures are very close to each other and after exhausting the water in the tankers, the firefighters had to resort to taking water from the North Road canal.

The nearby Republic Bank also will now have to count its damage as the heat from the burning buildings caused the glass on the front of the building to shatter.

The fire, according to Gentle, was fueled by the wind and other items which were in the buildings, including gas bottles. It should be noted that this is not the first time that a fire has completely destroyed the Kissoon’s building.

DG, Where do you find the time to do all of this stuff??>>?

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA BUT THE WESTERN MASTERS ONLY INTERESTING IN THE OIL. HOUSE SLAVE MOSES IS WORST THAN A GAUMONT PIMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

makes one wonder why u hiding out so tenaciously all these years in the belly of the "Western" beast u despise so much

doesn't it?

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA BUT THE WESTERN MASTERS ONLY INTERESTING IN THE OIL. HOUSE SLAVE MOSES IS WORST THAN A GAUMONT PIMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

makes one wonder why u hiding out so tenaciously all these years in the belly of the "Western" beast u despise so much

doesn't it?

AHOLES like you are too DUNCE, NAIVE AND STUPID to understans simple matters!!

Last edited by Nehru

doesn't it?

uh huh . . .

again, when u planning to abandon living under the "WESTERN MASTERS" u despise so much and return to Guyana as a PPP soldier?

doesn't it?

uh huh . . .

again, when u planning to abandon living under the "WESTERN MASTERS" u despise so much?

DUNCE JACKASS LIKE YOU THINK THE WEST IS ALWAYS RIGHT AND ARE THE MOST COMPASSIONATE AND CARING IN THE WORLD.  THAT IS BECAUSE PEA BRAIN AHOLES LIKE YOU ARE TOO DUMB TO UNDERSTAND SIMPLE MATTERS!!!!!!!!!!!

doesn't it?

uh huh . . .

again, when u planning to abandon living under the "WESTERN MASTERS" u despise so much?

DUNCE JACKASS LIKE YOU THINK THE WEST IS ALWAYS RIGHT AND ARE THE MOST COMPASSIONATE AND CARING IN THE WORLD.  THAT IS BECAUSE PEA BRAIN AHOLES LIKE YOU ARE TOO DUMB TO UNDERSTAND SIMPLE MATTERS!!!!!!!!!!!

i am a creature of "THE WEST" . . . that's why i live here

whither u with your "WESTERN MASTERS" ignorance?

i rather suspect that you would slit your bloody wrists if the "Western Masters" ship your drunken ass back to GT

doesn't it?

uh huh . . .

i rather suspect that you would slit your bloody wrists if the "Western Masters" ship your drunken ass back to GT

I rest my case DUMB ASS!!  Try understanding the Constitution and the 27 Amendments DUMB ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!

doesn't it?

uh huh . . .

I rest my case DUMB ASS!!  Try understanding the Constitution and the 27 Amendments DUMB ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!

the belly of the "WESTERN" beast mussbe quite comfy, no?

u are a walking, talking mashup of idiot racist and drunken hypocrite

WTF does this have to do with the heading....a fire?