WOW I thought I was looking at Dubai. Abee SWEET, SWEET Buxton Spice Guyana.  To the moon, to the moon we go.  God BLESS the Govt and People of Guyana.

For the less traveled and the PPP stooges who are constantly trying tell shit is really gold. This is what Dubai looks like.....citiview......

Originally Posted by ball:
Originally Posted by Conscience:

That building is located at the corner of Lamaha and Camp street.

Isn't that around the funeral home?

Lee's funeral home that's it, dead is good bisness in GY

Is that right so the PPP is celebrating that they are the country with the highest amount of suicides per year now? is that what the PPP is adding to their repertoire?

Its inconceivable to believe those building would be built within fire escape and safety. The goons on this thread are up to their daily mischief...smh

That should be easy for you to answer nuh? show the fire escape routes in the designs for these buildings nuh?

PPP should be able to easily produce that right? it should be available to the public online right?

Digital age? what did ***** hole anus tell us he was bringing how many hundreds of GB of bandwidth from Brazil? Therefore we should be able to ensure all building blue prints for buildings in Georgetown at least are online and available for public to view nuh?

Originally Posted by ball:

That building is located at the corner of Lamaha and Camp street.

Isn't that around the funeral home?

Lee's funeral home that's it, dead is good bisness in GY

Not for Lee, seems he gone outta business as per my good good buddy.

"Don't be a preacher of doom, HM_Redux, yes cain a funeral home was several hundred meters away, its no longer in operation."

While I was in Guyana in late October I noticed that the minimum height of building construction in GT and East Coast was 7 and 8 storeys.

There is a real estate boom of sorts - and it's not only in GRT and the surrounding areas but along the coast. Parika got tall buildings to match GT's.

Miami in the 80's as with columbia and other areas all experienced similar real estate building frenzies powered by NARCO money.

Watch the film cocaine cowboys, its on Netflix.

http://www.miamicondoinvestmen...the-1970s-and-1980s/

Look how de coke money bring development foh de worker...hey hey hey. Doh is de real ecanamy dey bai Kari. 

Hotel Tower staff still to be paid

Posted By Stabroek editor On January 2, 2015 @ 10:42 am In Local News | No Comments

Going into 2015 with wages and benefits still owed to them, Hotel Tower workers are hoping that the solidarity and support received from international unions would hasten a resolution to their problem.

“It’s a little over $200,000 they have for me and I was hoping to get it for the holidays, because it would have come in good but I guess when it comes is the right time,” an employee told Stabroek News on December 31.

“I didn’t know the union write to the other international unions but I am happy. You know more people hear about our dilemma it’s the more support and the pressure will be on them to pay us, well hopefully soon,” she added.

Some 67 workers are owed a total of $5,577,633 in wages, salaries and other benefits.

In May last year, the hotel abruptly closed and workers protested for their owed salaries. The hotel subsequently said business had declined dramatically in recent times but that assets would be liquidated to pay outstanding amounts to its employees, although it subsequently broke several promises to pay them. The Ministry of Labour intervened and has since taken the hotel’s management to court to get payments for the workers.

The next court date is set for January 12.

Sherwood Clarke, President of the Clerical and Commercial Workers Union, which represents the Hotel Tower employees, told Stabroek News on Wednesday that he has written to, among other global unions, the International Union of Food, Agricultural, Hotel, Restaurant, Catering, Tobacco and Allied Workers’ Associations (IUF) seeking solidarity.

“We have written to international bodies and affiliates calling for their solidarity in this matter. We are hoping that by doing so they will send letters and other correspondence to our government and the employer and this will speed up the process so that workers could be paid,” Clarke said.

An ex-employee said that all the owed workers are following the developments and that they have worked out a plan to take turns in going to listen to the court proceedings, whenever they are called.

The employee lamented that a new year has come and that they are still without their monies while he informed that others have not yet been able to find employment at other places.

“For some of us it is hard, real hard and not to say this or that or talk Salim [the owner’s] name but this should not have beenâ€Ķ The hotel run down because of poor management. It’s not to say they aint use to get people but is what they do with the moneyâ€Ķ Now look who have to suffer is we not he,” the man said.

In October Canadian Michael Mosgrove announced that he was buying the hotel at a price pegged at US$8 million.

However in early December sources informed that the deal for the sale of the hotel had collapsed and workers hired by the prospective buyer were ejected from the property.

“Salim [Azeez] called off the deal because the man was all talk and no actionâ€Ķ A day the new people get put out and Salim lock up back he place and that’s where it is at currently,” a source told Stabroek News.

Efforts to contact Mosgrove proved futile.

Councie do these buildings have fire suppression systems like sprinklers and suh?

No? 

How come man wah kinda ***** hole building standards PPP gat in GY? 22 years and they have not improved any building codes eh? ow ow.......what a shitty government......

Whah rass yuh asking bai. We hardly gat watah to our 2nd floor. Some people had to dig below ground tuh get watah. How can they get watah to dem watah sprinklah?

Someone once said that cocaine money in GY cannot go above 5 stories.................I wonder what they meant by that councie?

BTW where are the fire escape stairs on those lovely buildings you posted?

Every single one of those things are a god damn death trap...........

Told the following by an architect/engineer.

1.  Most of those buildings aren't fully occupied and the owners don't care as that is not the point.

2.  This is the main way that coke money is laundered in Guyana.

3.  Many of these buildings aren't constructed based on code, and so their foundations don't take into account G/town's high water table and semi liquid soil structure.  Expect some of these buildings to start cracking.

Of course Georgetown used to have some unique architecture that added to the ambience of the city, and was a tourist attraction.  Of course the reality of many of these old structures is that they are rotting and to costly to maintain.  But couldn't some attempt have been made to have these newer buildings fit in so as to maintain that famous G/town look? 

We claim that we want tourists yet we are determined to destroy our heritage!  Remember that even if the architects of those buildings were English the craftsmen were the descendants of slaves, and often indentured workers, so we should celebrate this craftsmanship.

any sprinkler and fire suppression systems pun this recently completed building?

Where is the Certificate of occupancy?

How much fire exit dem ting dis gat? or dem gat a bucket wid sand by the door?

Come on  A quick bribe and who cares?  Until there is a fire and of course no one is Guyana can evacuate a building that high!

And with all that flooding and poor foundations.  I guess we will soon have many "leaning towers of Georgetown!"

Guyana is a zoo!

Whatever the source of the boom it is trickling into the real economy.

Economy boom for the PPP elite...

You should be talking to locals in Berbice who struggle to feed dem family and send dem pickney to school, wid PPP so-call free education.

They all gun be dunce like Rumatar  and Jagdeo, because dem stupid, according to Rumatar.