The message of the AFC is premised on change, peace, harmony and forgiveness

Posted By Stabroek staff On August 14, 2011 @ 5:01 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

The Alliance For Change is profoundly disappointed, but not the least bit surprised at the slandering of the political opposition at the PPP’s youth event at the International Conference Centre. Participants were told the AFC goes to Berbice, Linden and the hinterland regions with contrasting messages, where we suggest to Berbicians that the government favours Linden and the hinterland and neglects Berbice. Then they were told the party goes to Linden and the hinterland positing that the administration favours Berbice and neglects Linden and the hinterland. Nothing could be further from the truth.

The message of the AFC throughout the length and breadth of Guyana has been one that is premised on change, peace, harmony and forgiveness. We have championed, perhaps more than any other political party, the causes of the sugar worker in Berbice, the bauxite worker in Berbice and the small farmer in Paramakatoi in a way that pursues their common interest of economic well-being.

The only thing that is contrasting about our work in these regions is its distinct variance from the indifference shown by the government. We encourage our young people to study the PPP’s response to the plight of the bauxite workers in Berbice.

It is certainly alarming that the PPP at this early stage of its campaign has chosen to adopt the strategy of slander. In a functioning democracy, there are supposed to be viable avenues for redress for those who are victims of such untruthfulness. We have on previous occasions pointed to the referee role of Gecom in ensuring fairness. That body has however displayed a marked reluctance to be so inclined.

The President has asserted too, “… the Alliance For Change has a way of going to different parts of the country to divide along racial lines.” We challenge the PPP to produce one sentence emanating from the AFC in which such can be inferred. However, we would not be holding our breath in this regard. We remind the young people of this country that it is the President who had to be chided by the ERC for racially charged statements at Babu Jaan. The ERC, closely tied to the government, has previously cleared statements made by the AFC’s Presidential Candidate Khemraj Ramjattan. The ERC has also sent observers to all our meetings and have found nothing untoward so far.

Khemraj Ramjattan along with Raphael Trotman and Sheila Holder in 2006 accomplished an unprecedented feat in the history of the Anglo-Caribbean by winning 5 parliamentary seats (6, if you count the one stolen) at their first electoral entreaty of the Guyanese people. Messrs Ramotar and Jagdeo inherited their party edifice from the Jagans whose legacy they have completely abandoned. We encourage the young people of Guyana to investigate Mr Jagdeo’s retirement rewards which Mr Ramotar is certainly enamoured with. They, like all Guyanese, will be aghast at the figure of some 36 million dollars per annum.

Mr Ramjattan has also served as Vice President and President of the Guyana Bar Association and as President of the Gandhi Youth Organisation Sports Club, and he is currently engaged in a grass roots project intended to build a cricket nursery and also to promote educational upliftment irrespective of race. Such initiatives engaging youths from primarily poor families are what grounds Mr Ramjattan to the harsh reality of Guyanese society.

The AFC is thus disappointed, but not surprised that the PPP has failed to capitalise on a sizeable youth turnout to articulate a vision of youth development in our country, but rather chosen to electioneer with innuendoes laden with a racist subtext. We suspect that this failure is largely as a result of the absence of any vision for youth development.

An AFC government, on the other hand, will stop importing computers and will order from local computer manufacturers instead. The resulting hundreds of jobs created would go mostly to our young people. The AFC will revive government mechanical workshops, some of which were the best in the Caribbean not so long ago, to serve as vocational training centres for our youth. The AFC will also embark upon a comprehensive programme toward the retention of our teachers, including increasing salaries, and will not be seeking foreign recruits. Unlike the PPP simply telling the youth to go out there and do your best, the AFC will actually equip our youth with the tools to succeed.

Finally, I remain confident in the intelligence of our young people to make the right choices for themselves, not just based on the words of this government, but its actions.

Actions such as those embodied in the recent case of the 14-year-old youth, Twyon Thomas, who was brutally tortured by employees of the state in a police station, and after he was awarded a paltry 6.5 million dollars in compensation, the government has now refused to pay it.

Yours faithfully,
Gerhard Ramsaroop

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ony-and-forgiveness/

Click here to print.

GERHARD, PLEASE EASE UP ON THIS JUGABATS.

you stress them out.

SOON YOU GUN SEE THEM HORSEMAN HORSING AROUND JUST NOW, WHERE IS THE PPP HORSEMAN AND BOOKMAN AND TEKMAN AND KWAME-MAN
Originally posted by Sase Singh:
The message of the AFC is premised on change, peace, harmony and forgiveness

Posted By Stabroek staff On August 14, 2011 @ 5:01 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

The Alliance For Change is profoundly disappointed, but not the least bit surprised at the slandering of the political opposition at the PPP’s youth event at the International Conference Centre. Participants were told the AFC goes to Berbice, Linden and the hinterland regions with contrasting messages, where we suggest to Berbicians that the government favours Linden and the hinterland and neglects Berbice. Then they were told the party goes to Linden and the hinterland positing that the administration favours Berbice and neglects Linden and the hinterland. Nothing could be further from the truth.

The message of the AFC throughout the length and breadth of Guyana has been one that is premised on change, peace, harmony and forgiveness. We have championed, perhaps more than any other political party, the causes of the sugar worker in Berbice, the bauxite worker in Berbice and the small farmer in Paramakatoi in a way that pursues their common interest of economic well-being.

The only thing that is contrasting about our work in these regions is its distinct variance from the indifference shown by the government. We encourage our young people to study the PPP’s response to the plight of the bauxite workers in Berbice.

It is certainly alarming that the PPP at this early stage of its campaign has chosen to adopt the strategy of slander. In a functioning democracy, there are supposed to be viable avenues for redress for those who are victims of such untruthfulness. We have on previous occasions pointed to the referee role of Gecom in ensuring fairness. That body has however displayed a marked reluctance to be so inclined.

The President has asserted too, “… the Alliance For Change has a way of going to different parts of the country to divide along racial lines.” We challenge the PPP to produce one sentence emanating from the AFC in which such can be inferred. However, we would not be holding our breath in this regard. We remind the young people of this country that it is the President who had to be chided by the ERC for racially charged statements at Babu Jaan. The ERC, closely tied to the government, has previously cleared statements made by the AFC’s Presidential Candidate Khemraj Ramjattan. The ERC has also sent observers to all our meetings and have found nothing untoward so far.

Khemraj Ramjattan along with Raphael Trotman and Sheila Holder in 2006 accomplished an unprecedented feat in the history of the Anglo-Caribbean by winning 5 parliamentary seats (6, if you count the one stolen) at their first electoral entreaty of the Guyanese people. Messrs Ramotar and Jagdeo inherited their party edifice from the Jagans whose legacy they have completely abandoned. We encourage the young people of Guyana to investigate Mr Jagdeo’s retirement rewards which Mr Ramotar is certainly enamoured with. They, like all Guyanese, will be aghast at the figure of some 36 million dollars per annum.

Mr Ramjattan has also served as Vice President and President of the Guyana Bar Association and as President of the Gandhi Youth Organisation Sports Club, and he is currently engaged in a grass roots project intended to build a cricket nursery and also to promote educational upliftment irrespective of race. Such initiatives engaging youths from primarily poor families are what grounds Mr Ramjattan to the harsh reality of Guyanese society.

The AFC is thus disappointed, but not surprised that the PPP has failed to capitalise on a sizeable youth turnout to articulate a vision of youth development in our country, but rather chosen to electioneer with innuendoes laden with a racist subtext. We suspect that this failure is largely as a result of the absence of any vision for youth development.

An AFC government, on the other hand, will stop importing computers and will order from local computer manufacturers instead. The resulting hundreds of jobs created would go mostly to our young people. The AFC will revive government mechanical workshops, some of which were the best in the Caribbean not so long ago, to serve as vocational training centres for our youth. The AFC will also embark upon a comprehensive programme toward the retention of our teachers, including increasing salaries, and will not be seeking foreign recruits. Unlike the PPP simply telling the youth to go out there and do your best, the AFC will actually equip our youth with the tools to succeed.

Finally, I remain confident in the intelligence of our young people to make the right choices for themselves, not just based on the words of this government, but its actions.

Actions such as those embodied in the recent case of the 14-year-old youth, Twyon Thomas, who was brutally tortured by employees of the state in a police station, and after he was awarded a paltry 6.5 million dollars in compensation, the government has now refused to pay it.

Yours faithfully,
Gerhard Ramsaroop

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ony-and-forgiveness/

Click here to print.
Sase writes:
"SOON YOU GUN SEE THEM HORSEMAN HORSING AROUND JUST NOW, WHERE IS THE PPP HORSEMAN AND BOOKMAN AND TEKMAN AND KWAME-MAN..."

Sase, without doubt, Gerhard Ramsaroop is a very valuable asset to the AFC. I dare say: much more valuable than Sasenarine Singh. I can only hope the party leadership treats Gerhard with the great respect he deserves. Although we support opposing political parties, I recognize and respect his competence and drive. I wish I could say the same about you, Sase.
B
Originally posted by Bookman:
Sase writes:
"SOON YOU GUN SEE THEM HORSEMAN HORSING AROUND JUST NOW, WHERE IS THE PPP HORSEMAN AND BOOKMAN AND TEKMAN AND KWAME-MAN..."

Sase, without doubt, Gerhard Ramsaroop is a very valuable asset to the AFC. I dare say: much more valuable than Sasenarine Singh. I can only hope the party leadership treats Gerhard with the great respect he deserves. Although we support opposing political parties, I recognize and respect his competence and drive. I wish I could say the same about you, Sase.

THERE u go again.

Please contribute to the debate sensibly, please!

If you do not have any value to add, please stan easy. Why babble with hot air.

I suspect the PPP got much time for his, he is also a valuable asset when he buss Reepu head in 1992

[IMG] http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....lumumba-recent-1.jpg [/IMG]
Sase writes:

]
Sase writes:

]

tHIS IS the PPP assets. In 1992 at Yarrow dam, somebody buss Reepur head. Who did it as a PNC thug in 1992???

Sase I know that meeting. One stone passed very close to my head also!! This man is now a few yards from Jagdeo's door at OP.
Look how Gerhard exposed the hocus pocus nature of the one lap top project. Gerhard is showing the way how to do the same thing and create jobs at the same time. They were hoping share lap tops at election time and yet pocket some funds through an oligarchic link with an obscure contractor. Thankfully the AFC protested and protested. Now they are forced to reopen the bids...let's wait and see what will happen.
] [/QUOTE]

tHIS IS the PPP assets. In 1992 at Yarrow dam, somebody buss Reepur head. Who did it as a PNC thug in 1992???[/QUOTE]

who was the man that buss Reepu head as a PNC thug in 1992 that sits across the hall for Guyana stalin today and gets girls and boys for the Guyana rasputin today?
HEHEHE A SHAMELESS Political PROSTITUTE!!!
Sase writes:

]

tHIS IS the PPP assets. In 1992 at Yarrow dam, somebody buss Reepur head. Who did it as a PNC thug in 1992???[/QUOTE]

Nehru Bhai:

look at this picture carefully. The old people say, we jusge you by the friends u keep.

who was the man that buss Reepu head as a PNC thug in 1992 that sits across the hall for Guyana stalin today and gets girls and boys for the Guyana rasputin today?[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Sase Singh:
]

People, please leave Nehru alone, he is having a mental melt down. Even the gods are against him.

His Guyanese Putin is in NY and the rain wash he rass out.

Even the god's are angry at the extravangant theives.
Uncle Book like dem AFC Bai's huttin up yuh head lil bit eh? hehehehee nah tek dem on man nah tek dem on.

They want to be as good as Uncle Nehru, Albert and SJ but they are not even close.
HM
Originally posted by Horse Man:
Uncle Book like dem AFC Bai's huttin up yuh head lil bit eh? hehehehee nah tek dem on man nah tek dem on.

They want to be as good as Uncle Nehru, Albert and SJ but they are not even close.

Time have changed.

The progressive forces are all working for a better Guyana.
Originally posted by Nehru:
HEHEHE A SHAMELESS Political PROSTITUTE!!!
Sase writes:

And you, the champion BATTY WASH WhO*E ?
]

who was the man that buss Reepu head as a PNC thug in 1992 that sits across the hall for Guyana stalin today and gets girls and boys for the Guyana rasputin today?[/QUOTE]

I wonder what Ishak Basir will say about this man?
]

I wonder what Ishak Basir will say about this man?[/QUOTE]

I wonder what Boysie Ramkarran would have said about this man? Wink
]

who was the man that buss Reepu head as a PNC thug in 1992 that sits across the hall for Guyana stalin today and gets girls and boys for the Guyana rasputin today?

I wonder what Ishak Basir will say about this man?[/QUOTE]

I wonder what Boysie Ramkarran would have said about this man? Wink[/QUOTE]

What will they say about Jagdeo having him at the OP ?

HOW DO YOU SHAME THOSE WHO ARE SHAMELESS.
Originally posted by Tola:
]

I wonder what Ishak Basir will say about this man?

I wonder what Boysie Ramkarran would have said about this man? Wink[/QUOTE]

What will they say about Jagdeo having him at the OP ?

HOW DO YOU SHAME THOSE WHO ARE SHAMELESS.[/QUOTE]

BY VOTING THEM OUT! DO NOT GO TO ALBION TODAY.
D

Come on Sase spit it out......get it out of your system....... BLACKMAN ......say it......

Now let me show you hypocrisy.....

In 1997 when Trotman, Hoyte and Norton were waging 'more fire' on Regent street.......Ramjattan told Indo PPP supporters to at Freedom House one midday 'lick dem down' and 'i(he) will defend you all in court'. Ramjattan then teamed up with Trotman to form the AFC.........

Stop picking on the BLACKMAN Sase............
Originally posted by jags:
Ramotar intends to continue getting more PNC nut cases and the worst of the PNC into the PPP.

This is a dangerous trend. We need to reverse it.

Yes. "Keep dem black man out" Even the bad ones who the PPP loves.
Originally posted by caribj:
Ramotar intends to continue getting more PNC nut cases and the worst of the PNC into the PPP.

Yes. "Keep dem black man out" Even the bad ones who the PPP loves.

Whew we need to get you some serious psycho Therapy you are totally f'd up!
J

he need them to scare indian people that fight against injust
W
What is funny is that the PPP is sending Odinga lumbadinga into PPP strong hold areas to campaign with their crew.

Boy I tell you whoever is this campaign manager wants a lash in e BT.
J
What is funny is that the PPP is sending Odinga lumbadinga into PPP strong hold areas to campaign with their crew.

He is telling them that "good black man" (PNC thugs) will protect them against "bad black man"....any black the PPP doesnt own. They already know Indians cant get that job done.
Originally posted by warrior:
tell him to bring back the people dolphin

They are on a world tour the trainer has not sold them permanently they will be returned at some point in the future we are not sure when but sometime soon we hope.
J
Originally posted by The Judge:

Come on Sase spit it out......get it out of your system....... BLACKMAN ......say it......

Now let me show you hypocrisy.....

In 1997 when Trotman, Hoyte and Norton were waging 'more fire' on Regent street.......Ramjattan told Indo PPP supporters to at Freedom House one midday 'lick dem down' and 'i(he) will defend you all in court'. Ramjattan then teamed up with Trotman to form the AFC.........

Stop picking on the BLACKMAN Sase............

I do not know what you are talking about. One of my political idol is Dr Roger Forbes Luncheon, he is my PPP Leader.

So shut up and run under your bed with your PPP racism.

When you all run to the PNC begging for an alliance, we want to see what you going to tell the people. Since the information we have the PPP still spreading the message a vote against the PPP is a vote for the PNC.

Good night
Since the information we have the PPP still spreading the message a vote against the PPP is a vote for the PNC.

Good night

and they are going to be nasty this year with their fear that the Indo vote might stray, or stay home.