Girl Guides of Canada suspend trips to U.S. citing border concerns

Girl Guides of Canada announced Monday it would cancel any future travel to the U.S. amid concerns some of its members could be turned away at the border.

Girl Guides of Canada has chosen to cancel future travel to the United States amid concerns that some members would face difficulty at the border amid recent changes under U.S. President Donald Trump.  (GIRLS GUIDES OF CANADA FILE PHOTO)  

• mceclip0

Girl Guides of Canada suspend trips to U.S. citing border concerns

Girl Guides of Canada announced Monday it would cancel any future travel to the U.S. amid concerns some of its members could be turned away at the border.

Most of the Girl Guides’ trips to the U.S. are planned at the regional and local offices, Kiriliuk said. These trips include a wide variety of things such as tourism, history or, sometimes, simply socializing.

Travelling, especially as a young girl with peers and away from parents, teaches independence, she said.

β€œThere’s a really big learning curve for girls in that sense as well β€” going across the ocean, far away from home,” Kiriliuk said.

If there’s a trip that has been planned and paid for, Kiriliuk said, then the organization is doing a risk assessment on those trips.

β€œWe are not breaching anyone’s confidentiality,” she said. β€œThe risk assessment will be done within a small circle to assess whether we think whether that trip can safely go ahead or not.”

The organization is encouraging people to take domestic trips especially because this is 150th anniversary of Confederation.

Girl Guides is not the first organization to suspend trips to the U.S.

Several schools and school districts across Canada debated going ahead with trips south of the border following the first executive order issued by Trump In January.

A Winnipeg junior high school cancelled a trip by its track team to Minnesota in January because it wasn’t certain all students would be able to cross the border.

The Greater Essex County School Board in southwestern Ontario decided in February to cancel a handful of trips over concerns of safety and equity, while districts in southern Vancouver Island debated whether to ban all U.S. travel or handle each trip on a case-by-case basis.

With files from The Canadian Press

NEW YORK: In yet another incident highlighting the dangerously growing trend of racist attacks in the United States, a man in Florida tried to burn down a convenience store owned by Indian-Americans, thinking they were β€˜Muslims’. 

A 64-year-old man tried to set the store on fire because he thought the owners were Muslim, St. Lucie County Sheriff Ken Mascara said, reports CNN. 

The accused named Richard Lloyd confessed that he wanted to "run the Arabs out of our country" so he pushed a dumpster in front of the Port St. Lucie store and set the contents on fire.

Lloyd was charged with first-degree arson and booked into the St. Lucie County Jail in lieu of a $30,000 bond.

Also read: After Srinivas Kuchibhotla, Indian businessman Harnish Patel shot dead in US

Lloyd told detectives he assumed the owner was Muslim and that made him livid because of "what they are doing in the Middle East," Mascara said.

"It's unfortunate that Mr. Lloyd made the assumption that the store owners were Arabic when, in fact, they are of Indian descent," Mascara said.

The sheriff also noted that Lloyd's mental health will be evaluated and the state attorney's office will decide if this was a hate crime.

Read more: Sikh man injured in US after stranger shoots him

Lloyd told investigators he planned to burn the building because he "was doing his part for America." 

Mascara further informed that when deputies arrived Friday morning and found the fire, a man in front of the store put his hands behind his back and told officers to "take me away." 

Last month, Srinivas Kuchibhotla was killed in an alleged hate crime in Kansas, as the gunman shot him dead thinking he was an β€œIranian’.

Yuh should be worried.

You expect the white biggots to do what they are doing.

I think you would be disappointed if they didn't. Just to prove that white people doan want muslims in the USA.

I think people should know their place. Just imagine an immigrant wanting more rights than a white american. I prefer them rather than blacks, muslims and hindus. What a racist bunch of brown and black people. White is ALL RIGHT, dem is civil people. The OTHER people are prone to voilence, a culture of too many prejudices. That is the only reason why some people can't let things slide and simmer.