Glenn Lall threatens Khurshid Sattaur

Kaieteur News Publisher Glenn Lall

Kaieteur News Publisher
Glenn Lall

Remigrant scam deepens…

Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) Commissioner General Khurshid Sattaur said last evening that publisher of Kaieteur News Glenn Lall of issued grave threats to him on the phone following the publication of a story in which he (Lall) was pin pointed in a scam robbing Government of import duty on two luxury SUVs.

The GRA is currently in the middle of an investigation in which the Government was cheated out of $40 million in import duties for vehicles that are being driven by Lall and his wife Bhena, who is the owner of Bhena’s Footwear.

Sattaur told Guyana Times that Lall contacted him Friday evening in an effort to intimidate him not to pursue the investigation. But the GRA head said all the threat did was to strengthen his resolve to get to the bottom of the issue.

“Glenn Lall called me from an overseas number and threatened to expose me; he threatened to deal with me in a matter, as if I’m a thief and he’s going to do this thing because I am using my office to deal with the matters I normally deal with.

“He threatened to use his newspaper to expose me; I don’t know what wrong I am doing. If I am trying to do the Government’s work…. I don’t know why people should be upset, if they are doing wrong things they should be subject the laws as well,” explained Sattaur.

GRA Commissioner General Khurshid Sattaur

The GRA Head further told Guyana Times that from his conversation with the newspaper publisher, it would seem as though Lall considers himself above the law and not subject to the same laws as every Guyanese.

“It seems like Mr Glenn Lall is not subject to the laws of this country like any one else,” Sattaur said.

The scandal involving Lall came to the fore after extensive investigation was done by another media house. It appears that Lall was at the centre of a remigration scam involving a Guyanese couple who returned to Guyana, importing vehicles under the guise of ownership.

Documents obtained indicate that this issue started with husband and wife Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan, who were on July 3, 2013 granted permission by the Foreign Affairs Ministry to return to Guyana as “remigrants”, along with the concomitant incentives of the scheme.

Under the remigrant programme, Guyanese who would have resided overseas for more than five years may return home with a number of benefits. These include an import duty-free waiver for vehicles, and tax exemptions for household items, once these are owned for six months or more.

As husband and wife, Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan were entitled to concessions as two separate individuals, although a joint application was submitted.

The Brijananans, on their application form, indicated that besides household items, they were returning with two 2013 Lexus Suburban L57 vehicles, the chassis numbers of which were listed along with other required information. One chassis number however did not match what was in the original application.

Lall, was listed as the closest relative of Naratootandeo Brijnanan on the application form. The Brijnanans gave as their address in Guyana 221 Number 61 Village, Corentyne Berbice.

What would have occurred is that the Brijnanans successfully obtained duty-free concession for each vehicle, totalling in excess of $40 million.

The GRA License Revenue Processing System (GRA -LRPS) form indicates that the licence plate numbers for the two vehicles are PRR 8398 and PRR 8399, which are driven by Lall and his wife, Bhena.

Lall has been a widely accused backtracker for some time now. He was also named by the US authorities as having translated a shoe trading business and involvement with alien smuggling into a muckraking newspaper, and has a finger firmly on the pulse of Guyana’s criminal underworld, which serves his media enterprise well.

Glen Lalla is a thug and must be jailed.

Yuji,

I am sure Mr. Sattaur will do what is right. As the Chief said, the man is and outstanding civil servant. Never heard of anything negative about him. Two outstanding civil servants.. Shalimar Hack and Kurshid Sattaur. Guyana needs more of them.  

Yuji,

I am sure Mr. Sattaur will do what is right. As the Chief said, the man is and outstanding civil servant. Never heard of anything negative about him. Two outstanding civil servants.. Shalimar Hack and Kurshid Sattaur. Guyana needs more of them.  

Guyana is being represented by some outstanding citizens in Mr. Sattur and Shalimar Hack. I salute them for their bravery and dedication to their country.

We cannot have a Newspaper that is claiming about the champion in fighting crime and their owner is involved in fraudulent activities and threatening investigators as posted above.

This man must be dealt with the full force of the law. No one is above the law.

A high School Drop out is the Editor and Publisher of ASS WIPE which many on GNI accepts as the Holy Bible!!!!!

This is where the problem start.

KN has a right to publish what they deem as corrupt practises and who are you to call the paper asswipe?

A high School Drop out is the Editor and Publisher of ASS WIPE which many on GNI accepts as the Holy Bible!!!!!

Nehru Bhai

I always spoke out against KN.

I was right about this newspaper and look at the disgraceful behaviour of the owner. It is a disgrace for anyone to quote this newspaper.

Notice how dem AFC boys are hollering about corruption and fraud. To date, not one single of these guys have condemned Lall and disgraceful behaviour.

KN must practice what it preaches.

This might be the beginning of the end of KN.

KN has a right to publish what they deem as corrupt practises and who are you to call the paper asswipe?

YUh see how yuh does get stupid. They have a RIGHT to print AND I have a RIGHT to call it ASS WIPE. Samje???

I try to start you but you ain't take the bait

Marning.

Chief I agree with you on this. Bear in mind all these are accusations. No conviction in court. So if one accuses the govt of stealing and he or she is accused of the same, should he not come out in public and defend himself? It's only fair. Let's hear his side of his story.

Marning.

Marnin Bhai Chief. Yuh went to Uncle Loinel Peters wake??  I heard he is a very good man and close friend of Uncle Churchy.

Marning.

Marnin Bhai Chief. Yuh went to Uncle Loinel Peters wake??  I heard he is a very good man and close friend of Uncle Churchy.

Did not know that the wake was last night. This bhai Kari is not staying in touch.

I was a bit tired last evening because the day before I was down at The Jersey Shores, tide was rough and I was in the water for like 3 hrs.

Sorry I missed Churchy, did not see the man in long time.

Notice how dem AFC boys are hollering about corruption and fraud. To date, not one single of these guys have condemned Lall and disgraceful behaviour.

On August 25 Gilbakka posted the following in another thread:

"Indeed, the Brijnanans and Glenn Lall owe the public a convincing explanation. I hope they come straight."

In my opinion, they haven't come straight yet on the matter in dispute.

Meanwhile, I still hold the Kaieteur News in high regard. Yesterday KN online edition got 109,378 hits. That doesn't look like the beginning of any end.

I agree that KN must practise what it preaches.

"Indeed, the Brijnanans and Glenn Lall owe the public a convincing explanation. I hope they come straight."

Meanwhile, I still hold the Kaieteur News in high regard. Yesterday KN online edition got 109,378 hits. That doesn't look like the beginning of any end.

He DID come straight.  He called the HONORABLE Commish and threatened him!!!!!

Gil

That is fair. 

Let us see what happens next. Looks like the prosecutor is preparing a very strong case to convict. 

I predict the beginning of the end of KN.

He DID come straight.  He called the HONORABLE Commish and threatened him!!!!!

Teacha Nehru, the word "straight" has multiple meanings. Your meaning is not my meaning.

Yugi,

You have to be naive to think that this is the end for KN.

If indeed dutoies were not paid and it can be proved that Mr Lall is the owner for the vehicles then all he has to do is pay the duty.

Yugi,

If indeed dutoies were not paid and it can be proved that Mr Lall is the owner for the vehicles then all he has to do is pay the duty.

Chief,

There are a lot of grudges that will play out regarding this matter.

I doubt that Glenn will survive this and even if he does, he will have a badly bruised ego and image after this is all over.

Chief 40 million tax evasion in Canada and USA amounts to jail time for tax evasion.

Time will tell.

Yugi,

Chief,

I doubt that Glenn will survive this and even if he does, he will have a badly bruised ego and image after this is all over.

Time will tell.

Don't forget that President Ramothar attended the opening of one of Mr Lal's business just a few months ago.

Yugi,

Chief,

Time will tell.

Don't forget that President Ramothar attended the opening of one of Mr Lal's business just a few months ago.

Chief,

Political grudges are at hand here and politics is a very dirty game.

Yugi,

That's right Chief! So far, it's allegations from both sides.

Yugi,

Chief,

Time will tell.

All the publications have grudges. It depends on which side of the fence you are standing. I think if Lall is found guilty, he might appeal and wait it out hoping for a favourable decision.

Yugi,

Chief,

Time will tell.

All the publications have grudges. It depends on which side of the fence you are standing. I think if Lall is found guilty, he might appeal and wait it out hoping for a favourable decision.

Like Sharma who was charged with Rape, right???

Chief,

KN never go hard on President Ramouthar.

Glenn Lall beef is with Jagdeo and how he blawayed everything to his friend Bobby Ramroop who now owns the other daily publication and control the media in Guyana.

Last edited by Chief

If we can set aside political differences and have a civil discussion on this one:

Tax evasion is jail time. Al Capone was convicted for Jail time, it was the federal government's only avenue for nailing him.

Given Glen's relentless attack on the PPP, do you honestly think that the PPP will not take advantage of this blunder that Glen made ?

This one will be very messy. Hope Glen, hires some very good lawyers to avoid jail time if this goes to trial.

But honestly, he should not have threatened Mr. Sattaur. Glen might not be receiving proper legal advise. 

Time will tell.

Chief,

Glenn Lall beef is with Jagdeo and how he blawayed everything to his friend Bobby Ramroop who now owns the other daily publication and control the media in Guyana.

Chief,

The PPP is on the receiving end of Glen's attack. Elections are around the corner. There will be a war cry on this one and it may calm down after election.

Politics is dirty business.

look who is reporting the news. The threat by Lall to Sattur is only in Bobby Ramroop paper.

there is a long running feud between Lall and Ramroop.

Let us not forget, that Mr. Sattaur is an honourable man and will not be dragged into a propaganda war. This story seems credible as the one reported in the article.

We must also remember that KN reports on headlines in the same manner.

All is fair here.

Chief,

Chief,

The PPP is on the receiving end of Glen's attack. Elections are around the corner. There will be a war cry on this one and it may calm down after election.

Politics is dirty business.

There are decent people within the PPP who are happy with some of the things that KN exposes about the gOV'T.

Yuji,

They are just two PPP lapdogs. 

If Mr. Lall is guilty of a crime then he should be charged but this would be selective prosecution on the part of the GRA and DPP. They are gunning for Lall because he exposes the scams of the dirty PPP tiefmen who by the way are never prosecuted by Hack and Sattaur. 

When Government employees are doing a good job that are labelled all typ of names.

I remeber when Mr Yesu Persaud was doing a heck of a job for DDL he was referred to as a Hoyte and PNC man.

When it comes to Glen Lall of KN News, it is allegations, which is what I agree with. However, let me be fair here. Although I do not belong to a political party in Guyana, when KN News makes allegations against the PPP, some of you on GNI fail to treat them as allegations. Instead,some of you start convicting the PPP.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

When it comes to Glen Lall of KN News, it is allegations, which is what I agree with. However, let me be fair here. Although I do not belong to a political party in Guyana, when KN News makes allegations against the PPP, some of you on GNI fail to treat them as allegations. Instead,some of you start convicting the PPP.

You cannot blame  KN for their behavior.

When Government employees are doing a good job that are labelled all typ of names.

I remeber when Mr Yesu Persaud was doing a heck of a job for DDL he was referred to as a Hoyte and PNC man.

Politics is a very dirty game.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

You cannot blame  KN for their behavior.

No but you can blame people for blindly following their disgraceful Headlines as the whole truth.

Kaieteur News has the right, just like established newspapers worldwide, to publish authentic and verified news; not what KN deems/thinks as corrupt practices.

I do not know what you are speaking about or if you read American Newspapers.

Israel is murdering the Palestinians and all the American media is saying it's a conflict .